- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Carlton
- Other Teams
- Mel Heart, Leeds Utd
- Banned
Mclean is no longer part of our best 22, like Thornton the game has passed him by

PLUS Your club board comp is now up!
BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Opening Round
The Golden Ticket - Official AFL on-seller of MCG and Marvel Medallion Club tickets and Corporate Box tickets at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
Mclean is no longer part of our best 22, like Thornton the game has passed him by
Right now we are being carried by our juniors and rookies and little men - (Yarren, Garlett, Murphy), while senior players and big men failing miserably.
I second this post. Laidler and Duigan are not superstars, and I think it's fair to say that not many non-Carlton people expected them to have much of an impact at all, but they have been really solid for us so far, and are fitting in well in the backline. They're really making it difficult for the MC to drop either of them to get Bower, Watson or anyone else into the side.
As for Curnow, I agree that he has been a revelation and has come right when we needed him. I still think Brock McLean is a top-quality inside midfielder, but you can never been too sure about how long he will play without injuries coming into it. We needed another tough, bottom-of-the-pack inside midfielder to provide us some depth and to come in and have an impact, and we got 3 of them. Ellard and Robinson are looking great in there, and Curnow just attacks the footy with such heart and dedication. There are a few other guys in the team who could benefit from watching him work, with Gibbs being the obvious one.
I agree that Henderson and Betts will improve as the year goes on, as you said. Henderson is a really talented CHF who can take a mark and kick some goals for us, and Betts will start hitting the scoreboard harder as his confidence and form improve. As for Hampson though, I'm not holding my breath. I was a big supporter of his previously because that combination of size and athleticism is just so mouth-watering, but the more I see of him, the more I'm reminded that I don't think he has ever really shown any football ability other than in short bursts here and there. If he does come good though, that would be an extra string to our bow, but I'm not expecting or relying on it.
Kreuzer and Bower will be big inclusions for us as well, and hopefully we can get a couple of games into some of the young blokes along the way as well.
You said that injuries are going to be one of the deciding factors for this team, and I really agree with you there as well. With a fully healthy team, I think we are EASILY a top 4 team. If we get a good run with injuries, we could beat almost anyone. If they hit us hard though, we could be in real trouble. I think the ability (or lack of) to keep everyone fit and on the park is the major key to our season.
the last couple of years we've always had 3-4 of our best 22 out- I'd love to see how we'll go with all of them in. If you add Kreuzer, Henderson, Bower and McLean is our list really that far off Collingwoods? I think not.
That's not exactly true now, is it?
Warnock has not been beaten yet and mids have been very good overall.
Backline needs height but for now has plenty of heart.
Forward line does run hot and cold but that is somewhat understandable until we're able to get our keys back in place.
How's your glass audas?
Need a little topping up?
Warnock is rucking ok, but thats it
People need to wake up to Eddie - his nick name - JUNK TIME is there for a reason. His goals ESPECIALLY LAST YEAR were in junk time, either the match was entirely lost or in the bag before eddie shows up. Eddie is a liability - needs to be dropped. Being able to tackle is absolutely not good enough for a forward - he must be able to score.
but the 1st thing I noticed was it was played at a much more intense tempo. We had pressure but this game was fast!You might want to seek solace in the Freo v Dogs game last night. Worst exhibition of skills I have seen. Fair dinkum looked like wet weather football with the amount of shanked kicks, fumbling, spilled marks and errant handballs. At least some of our top 4 competition are struggling with their skills at times also.
Great post except for this line. I love my Navy Blues, but people on this board are jumping the gun a lot.
There is 4 teams that are comfortably ahead of where we are while fit, and 2 or 3 teams around our level at least.
I think IF we have a good year, definitely expect top 6. If we play a blinder of a year, of which there is no indication yet (but I do appreciate it is more important to peak later in the year), we COULD finish top 4.
I think while wishing for the best, we shouldn't expect top 4. The blokes we are waiting to come back might not even have an impact this year. Both MK and Bower, while guns, may take a long time to find full flight. They have played basically no footy for a year. Same goes for Houlihan.
Collingwood, Geelong, Fremantle, Hawthorn, Bulldogs, Sydney and possibly even Essendon (who I expect will drop off) are all stiff competition to finish top 4. We literally need a blistering year to finish top 4. Top 6 and a win in a final is a reasonable expectation.
Loving this thread.
I just got home from the 'G and I've got to say, for a game between the two teams that are generally proffered as the major threats to Collingwood this year, there were plenty of errors.
How does this relate? I guess I'm trying to point out that no-one is peaking yet. In our case, we really need to find some consistency. Our inability to swing momentum back our way worried me after Richmond, hence why Saturday night was so pleasing. Should never have been in that situation in the first place though! Throw the second quarter against Collingwood and the first against Essendon into the mix and its a bad habit that MUST be rectified before we can claim to have taken the next step in our development.
In my opinion, the back six have come along in leaps and bounds, but they aren't anywhere near where they need to be just yet. At times today Franklin and Roughead looked like they were about to destroy Geelong and it worries me that our currently undersized group might not have been able to hold them up. Admittedly, most of Geelong's ability to weather the storm was due to one bloke, Harry Taylor. Anyways, it is a concern. The forward line also worries me, Hendo and Kreuze, in form, are desperately needed before we are anywhere near being a serious top four contender.
Probably the thing that gave me the most heart today was that neither side looked particularly quick (with a few exceptions of course). I think this is an area we could really use to our advantage, just think back to our wins over Geelong and St Kilda last year.
Long story long, we've come a bloody long way but there is still a ton of work to do.
We easily should be able to compete but we need discipline, execution of skills and game plan, better decision making and better structure and Kreuz/Bower/Hendo would help that!
Why should we be negative?I'm all for positive, but lets take into account our wins have been over Richmond, Gold Coast and Adelaide, who have 3 wins between them, and we have lost/drew to two teams that are better/equal to us.
We can only beat the teams that we come across, but lets not get too excited. At the end of the day it comes down to the teams better/equal to us.
Completely left field but I'm friends with a band called the Peaking Ducks. I think thats how they spelt it. Lol.
Can we change the prefix from Toast to Roast?
That'll match audas' typical negativity and a few other posts.
If Pendlebury and Swan are more proven big game players than Murphy and Judd, then I'll eat an endangered species.
I guess we should bemoan Murphy not having an Anzac Day Medal and a Norm Smith Medal because he doesn't play for Collingwood.
Murphy hasn't failed to fire in the finals.
Warnock beat Jolly.
LOL at Leon Davis and Blair being world beaters...It isn't too late to make a player for Toovey if we need players of their calibre.
Dawes didn't fire a shot against Jamison.
Only Carlton supporters can turn a positive thread into a negative one.
Quacks on MDMA?
Hahaha wow. I wasn't being negative mate. Our team is going in the right direction, and growing every week. I write a lot of positive things.
But to compare a list that has barely lost a game in 18 months, to ours, is absurd.
Just because Dawes played average against Jamison, doesn't mean he isn't exactly the type of player we need in our forward line.
Just because Warnock (who I love a lot) played well on Jolly in one game doesn't make him a better player.
They have a much better functioning forward line. Their backline is the best or second best around, and their midfield is about on par with ours.
And to "LOL" like a little kid at Blair and Davis. Blair is at the moment, one of the best in form small forwards going around, and Daviis racked up 30 touches in a tough game. While they are not world beaters, they are examples of role players doing their job.
You are viewing the game like a school kid. Just because one game was semi-close, doesn't mean our list is close.
They probably win 18 games this year. We will be having a blinder if we win 14.
And, they have a flag, and they have a whole team that has stood upon numerous occasions in big games.
We do have a couple big game players...literally a couple. And until we consistently win the blockbusters, we won't have any more..And until we have players push us to victory in a final, we won't have any more.
Realism is not negativity.
As I said, healthy, and in a year or two, we will be close. We are too short in defence (albeit functioning pretty well), still rely on Judd and Murph too much in the guts (although Ed is a massive pickup), and have no forward structure whatsoever.
We have MASSIVE scope for improvement, and I am hoping some of that will come this year.
We will struggle to win a final unless we find a tall marking option up forward, and add size to our defence.
While it is nice winning now with a small defence in good weather, in finals you need big bodies. Especially down back.
We can look for a lot more out of Gibbs, JR, Hendo, hopefully Bower and MK and we will push top 5 or 6.
Being obejective as possible, it is laughable to compare the lists right now.
If Pendlebury and Swan are more proven big game players than Murphy and Judd, then I'll eat an endangered species.

No one is denying that Collingwood is the in form team at the moment and the bench mark by which Carlton should be striving for. .. however the examples were poor ones as we have the players to match those mentioned. ..
Garlett's form is at least on par with Blairs
Yarren is playing a role, for multiple games now just like Neon Leon has for one game (admittedly a good game)
Would love to have Dawes in our forward half but I wouldn't swap him for Waite. .. However Collingwood also have Cloke and our other KPF's are either injured or coming back from injury. ..
As for Warnock, on exposed form he is in the top few ruckman in the league ATM, it hasn't been one game against Jolly, he has won his position in every game so far this year. ..
Where Collingwood is ahead of us is team structures and been relatively injury free. .. couple that with big game experience and they are plenty ahead of us. ..
However its early doors and we are building up well and I look forward to seeing how we go against the rest of the bench mark teams esp. toward the end of the year. ..
Then you better go eat a few.
Just because Murphy hasn't played in many finals doesn't disqualify him from comparison. Pendles is a proven big game performer, on multiple occassions. Murphy has had two decent games in elimination finals. Hardly the same stakes.