Peggy O'Neal interview

There's an interview with Peggy O'Neal on the Richmond website.

http://www.richmondfc.com.au/news/2015-03-25/peggys-tiger-passion

There's a couple of points that I'll pick up, because they are examples of how I think Richmond FC is in a much better position now, than it was a decade ago.

Richmond is no longer the volatile club it once was. The days of ruthlessly sacking its coaches are long gone and as O'Neal rightly points out, both Danny Frawley and Terry Wallace served out their full terms as coach. Damien Hardwick has already had his contract extended once since his appointment in 2010.

Regarding the terrible start to 2014:

There were few angry outbursts from former greats. Neither O'Neal nor chief executive Brendon Gale gave the media anything even slightly worthy of a screaming headline despite calls from them to do so, chiefly from Matthew Lloyd, who got into a shouting match with Caroline Wilson on Footy Classified one evening when he demanded to know what O'Neal brought to the club in this time of apparent crisis.

"It wouldn't have happened to a male president," Wilson said. "Peggy did so much behind the scenes and because she and her high-profile chief executive didn't speak out, it was amazing.

"One of the reasons the club didn't implode because it had a woman president, someone who was steadying the ship. She maintained that air of stability and kept things calm."

O'Neal says her silence should not have been mistaken for a lack of concern. "I'm still surprised that people think that if they're not reading about it in the paper, then nothing's happening," she said.

"I think the best work is done when you have the freedom to talk among yourselves and not have to pay attention to those who may not have your best interests at heart. The ones who have committed many years with the club and have the right talent are the ones who will go through the process to get us out of this."

Good on ya Prez Peggy, and go Tigers!

LOL at Matthew Lloyd... absolute punce!

This man is paid a lot of money to voice his opinion that nobody wants.

So many bad journos in footy, you know there's a problem when Sheahan is often regarded as the best.

This man is paid a lot of money to voice his opinion that nobody wants.

So many bad journos in footy, you know there's a problem when Sheahan is often regarded as the best.

I actually don't mind Lloyd, he actually gives his own opinions, and doesn't parrot what the rest say (ie the sen approach)

He made a big blue on this one though

There's an interview with Peggy O'Neal on the Richmond website.

http://www.richmondfc.com.au/news/2015-03-25/peggys-tiger-passion

There's a couple of points that I'll pick up, because they are examples of how I think Richmond FC is in a much better position now, than it was a decade ago.

Richmond is no longer the volatile club it once was. The days of ruthlessly sacking its coaches are long gone and as O'Neal rightly points out, both Danny Frawley and Terry Wallace served out their full terms as coach. Damien Hardwick has already had his contract extended once since his appointment in 2010.

Regarding the terrible start to 2014:

There were few angry outbursts from former greats. Neither O'Neal nor chief executive Brendon Gale gave the media anything even slightly worthy of a screaming headline despite calls from them to do so, chiefly from Matthew Lloyd, who got into a shouting match with Caroline Wilson on Footy Classified one evening when he demanded to know what O'Neal brought to the club in this time of apparent crisis.

"It wouldn't have happened to a male president," Wilson said. "Peggy did so much behind the scenes and because she and her high-profile chief executive didn't speak out, it was amazing.

"One of the reasons the club didn't implode because it had a woman president, someone who was steadying the ship. She maintained that air of stability and kept things calm."

O'Neal says her silence should not have been mistaken for a lack of concern. "I'm still surprised that people think that if they're not reading about it in the paper, then nothing's happening," she said.

"I think the best work is done when you have the freedom to talk among yourselves and not have to pay attention to those who may not have your best interests at heart. The ones who have committed many years with the club and have the right talent are the ones who will go through the process to get us out of this."

Good on ya Prez Peggy, and go Tigers!

Peggy can cook my dinner anytime, she's a star

I actually don't mind Lloyd, he actually gives his own opinions, and doesn't parrot what the rest say (ie the sen approach)

Actually I agree with that too

I agree mate, at least he makes up his own mind even if it is still shit that comes out of his mouth :)

Anyone can have their own opinions, it's just that he's a simpleton. So he's a simpleton with his own opinions.

Thats exactly what i was going to say. He tries to come across as educated but he isnt the sharpest TOOL in the shed..
But well done Peggy. We really are in great shape

On topic i must admit i was little skeptical on the appointment of Peggy not because she was a woman but because she is a yank and i wondered if she was competent in running an AFL club. So far so good so keep up the good work!.

seeing as your simple i might have to take you up on that sleep over offer, could just toss you a blow up doll and sleep unmolested :D

I am simple mate, not an idiot. After our night, people seeing you walk would think you have ridden a horse for 15 weeks straight with nothing but you speedo's for comfort :P

I am simple mate, not an idiot. After our night, people seeing you walk would think you have ridden a horse for 15 weeks straight with nothing but you speedo's for comfort :p
I have many replies to that but none suitable for here 71, sadly im not drunk enough to forget rules yet :p

Just finished reading the whole article. She sounds like a quality woman. A big high five needs to be delivered to the person who recruited her to the Tiger army in the first place. I've recruited a few foreigners to the Tigers. Italians, Brits, Koreans, South Africans. Even a Queenslander. I'm sure most of us have. Don't ever underestimate what impact that might have one day. :thumbsu:

Lloyd is a decent commentator and at least gives a different opinion to most of the duds out there. Much better than flogs like Carey (who seems like he tries to give 'hard' opinions but is just another 'expert' who reckons his word is gospel because he was a champion player).

Suspect Lloyd had a few glasses of himself before he decided to butt heads with Caro though.

00v0d1d921p47_375x500.jpg

Also, that's a really good piece on Peggy! I was one of the people not too fussed last season when Peggy and Gale were relatively quiet in the media at the time of our horror start (didn't Gale even go overseas amidst 'the crisis'?).

Article just gives us a fresh reminder that people who are emotionally invested in the club (like us as fans) are always doing things that we can't necessarily see. Just because there isn't an official statement or quote, doesn't mean the club is sitting on its hands.

Love this new era of professionalism at Tigerland! :thumbsu:

You've hit the nail on the head! That's what it is.

No emotional outbursts from the leaders, even when flogs in the media poke and poke and poke to get one. Would I be correct saying that Matt White is the only required player that's left in the past, what, 3 seasons? Maybe 4? I can't remember any messy, controversial mid-season sacking since Greg Miller.

We've come a long way. Still a long way to go on-field, but I'm pretty comfortable the off-field stuff.

You've hit the nail on the head! That's what it is.

No emotional outbursts from the leaders, even when flogs in the media poke and poke and poke to get one. Would I be correct saying that Matt White is the only required player that's left in the past, what, 3 seasons? Maybe 4? I can't remember any messy, controversial mid-season sacking since Greg Miller.

We've come a long way. Still a long way to go on-field, but I'm pretty comfortable the off-field stuff.

Agreed mate - even the Dan Connors/Martin incident at the time was handled pretty measurably despite the huge controversy at the time. Passion is a great thing for a club like ours to have but a cool and calm head at times goes a long way too!

Loved the article. Met Peggy early on when she first was President. She was walking to the club. We crossed the road with her. She was a little cautious at first. But after we congratulated her on her appointment. She relaxed as we walked & chatted to RFC. Very measured & thoughtful. Liked the appointment then loving it even more now , along with B. Gale.

it would be interesting to look back at some of the posters who were bagging her 14-15 months ago. From memory, Lloyd wasn't the only one saying a woman was the wrong person for this job