Oct 9, 2006
Perth Wildcats basketball
Now we wait until the Vic DPP's charging of up to 71 Australian journalists for contempt of court hits the media (they've been sitting on it for weeks, unable to report it until the suppression order is lifted)...

Know nothing about Pell, his guilt or innocence , but forget him completely, and just look at the law in itself, and assess the trial, at the same time assess the media reporting, and the fact that they had been hunting him for years.
If this was Mick Gatto or Billy Longley at trial I wonder if the media would be allowed to report as they did, I wonder if anyone on BF thinks they could describe the trial as anything close to fair?

And the fact that many had him guilty before it started, and what about the packs of people who were very angry outside court , but who had definitely decided he should swing, before the trial was over.

I personally think the trial should have been held outside Australia, or out of Melbourne at least.
If it was me going to be hanged , I wouldn't like that kind of trial deciding my life.

If he's guilty lock him up forever. But got to be beyond reasonable doubt surely???

And the trial by media as well, What if he is innocent?

What if we hanged him last week and he wasn't a pedaphile? We could have hanged Lindy Chamberlain too , lucky we don't.

And there is an appeal so this is the weirdest case I 've heard of, as far as fair goes????

Oct 9, 2006
Dude, you wanted to get in a competition about who is the best lawyer and you offered to educate me.
You're the bestest lawyer, congrats.

Discuss the topic and leave the ad-homs.

No 37, do you know what a dude really is ? Well he wears chaps if you know what they are heh heh seriously? He rides horses and he has a ten gallon hat, he is very well dressed up and fancy very clean and polished and he maybe, or... maybe not be able to ride a bucking bronco or a bull?

Stop using that word, DUDE!!! really where is Australia going.

Its gone the way of the tat! Tattoos meant something once , now its the Chardonnay set "dudes" and the women, and even coppers, its fashionable , like using the word DUDE is "cool". Ha ha ha , now I don't really mind, but fair dinkum stop trying to be a yank! No I don't have a tat .
But I'm the best lawyer in the world because I can argue til the cows come home, and then milk them, and argue some more!

And worse, I 'm never wrong!

Oct 9, 2006
The crucial part you would think.

I don't think you can draw that conclusion.

About 50/50 ratio in Victoria I believe. Less for sentencing appeals.

I must have heard it wrong but when I read some of the judgement in the paper, I thought he was going to town on Pell, but when I heard... it, in full, and remember I am no lawyer or expert, but it sounded like the Judge qualified everything he said, after he had laid it on pretty hard and in fact I would have said this judge was thinking to himself , this case if far far from over.

How others took it I don't know, but when you consider the term reasonable doubt , then think on how the judge may have felt about the jury's finding well he seemed to me to be heavy with strong powerful words then almost explained why he had to put it that way, as it was in law.

Weirdly enough for layman me,
I thought he was kicking hard then patting it down , because I reckon that he was unsure of the finding himself.

But when a judge has got the decision of the jury he has to behave in a manner to suit the finding.
Well he sort of hedged his bets, and foresaw a definite appeal.

The crucial part you would think.

I don't think you can draw that conclusion.

About 50/50 ratio in Victoria I believe. Less for sentencing appeals.

No 37, do you know what a dude really is ? Well he wears chaps if you know what they are heh heh seriously? He rides horses and he has a ten gallon hat, he is very well dressed up and fancy very clean and polished and he maybe, or... maybe not be able to ride a bucking bronco or a bull?

Its gone the way of the tat! Tattoos meant something once , now its the Chardonnay set "dudes" and the women, and even coppers, its fashionable , like using the word DUDE is "cool". Ha ha ha , now I don't really mind, but fair dinkum stop trying to be a yank! No I don't have a tat .
But I'm the best lawyer in the world because I can argue til the cows come home, and then milk them, and argue some more!

Aw you just put fair dinkum there to fly the Aussie flag. Haven't heard anyone say that in a long, long time.:D
dude - a man; a guy (often as a form of address).

Oct 9, 2006
Aw you just put fair dinkum there to fly the Aussie flag. Haven't heard anyone say that in a long, long time.:D
dude - a man; a guy (often as a form of address).

Well starve the bloody lizards mate! Dude = a true enough bronc rider in a continental suit. That is a dude, dude ha ha ha ha.

And very very American , but you got a big dude in your team!

AM

The standard you walk past is the one you accept
Aug 18, 2006
Here there and everywhere
Very much looking forward to reading this account of proceedings.

iYg3O1c.jpg

Aug 21, 2016
Oldham
There's a remarkable similarity between the version of events told by Pell's accuser and a story that appeared in Rolling Stone in 2011.

“Billy” was a 10-year-old student at St. Jerome School in 1998, and an altar boy just like his older brother before him. A sweet, gentle kid with boyish good looks, Billy was outgoing and well-liked. One morning, after serving Mass, Rev. Charles Engelhardt caught Billy in the church sacristy sipping leftover wine. Rather than get mad, however, the priest poured Billy more wine. According to the grand jury, he also showed him some pornographic magazines, asking the boy how the pictures made him feel and whether he preferred the images of naked men or women. He told Billy it was time to become a man and that they would soon begin their “sessions.”​
A week later, Billy learned what Engelhardt meant. After Mass, the priest allegedly fondled the boy, sucked his penis and ordered Billy to kneel and fellate him – calling him “son” while instructing him to move his head faster or slower – until Engelhardt ejaculated. The priest later suggested another “session,” but Billy refused and Engelhardt let him be.​

Hard to draw any conclusions from it but it would be interesting to know if the defence questioned "The Kid", as Louise Milligan refers to him, about it. Were the jury made aware of this story and the possibility that "The Kid" could have read it?

https://www.rollingstone.com/cultur...tholic-churchs-secret-sex-crime-files-243513/

Oct 3, 2010
Chicago Cubs

Here is a picture of a dude
the dude.png

Aug 21, 2016
Oldham
There's a remarkable similarity between the version of events told by Pell's accuser and a story that appeared in Rolling Stone in 2011.

“Billy” was a 10-year-old student at St. Jerome School in 1998, and an altar boy just like his older brother before him. A sweet, gentle kid with boyish good looks, Billy was outgoing and well-liked. One morning, after serving Mass, Rev. Charles Engelhardt caught Billy in the church sacristy sipping leftover wine. Rather than get mad, however, the priest poured Billy more wine. According to the grand jury, he also showed him some pornographic magazines, asking the boy how the pictures made him feel and whether he preferred the images of naked men or women. He told Billy it was time to become a man and that they would soon begin their “sessions.”​
A week later, Billy learned what Engelhardt meant. After Mass, the priest allegedly fondled the boy, sucked his penis and ordered Billy to kneel and fellate him – calling him “son” while instructing him to move his head faster or slower – until Engelhardt ejaculated. The priest later suggested another “session,” but Billy refused and Engelhardt let him be.​

Hard to draw any conclusions from it but it would be interesting to know if the defence questioned "The Kid", as Louise Milligan refers to him, about it. Were the jury made aware of this story and the possibility that "The Kid" could have read it?

https://www.rollingstone.com/cultur...tholic-churchs-secret-sex-crime-files-243513/

No comments because it's an inconvenient fact?

Seriously? The two accounts are hugely different - notably Pell didn't ejaculate, nor did he show any magazines.

Aug 21, 2016
Oldham
Seriously? The two accounts are hugely different - notably Pell didn't ejaculate, nor did he show any magazines.

Both incidents involved -

young altar boys drinking wine​
that they found in the sacristy​
after Sunday Mass​

where they had assisted​
the priest fondling their genitals​
they were made to kneel before the priest​
made to perform fellatio on the priest​
there were no other witnesses to the events​

Like I said, you can't draw conclusions from the extraordinary coincidences in themselves but it would be interesting to know whether questions were asked about the Rolling Stone article to the accuser in front of the juries.

Boston tiger

May 10, 2010
Where it all began

after Sunday Mass​

where they had assisted​

Like I said, you can't draw conclusions from the extraordinary coincidences in themselves but it would be interesting to know whether questions were asked about the Rolling Stone article to the accuser in front of the juries.

They are not extraordinary coincidences. Altar boys sneaking wine is not extraordinary. Fondling genitalia in abuse is not extraordinary. No witnesses is not extraordinary. If you are an alter boy the only time you will be molested is either before or after mass because any other time you aren’t an altar boy. etc etc etc.

Aug 21, 2016
Oldham
They are not extraordinary coincidences. Altar boys sneaking wine is not extraordinary. Fondling genitalia in abuse is not extraordinary. No witnesses is not extraordinary. If you are an alter boy the only time you will be molested is either before or after mass because any other time you aren’t an altar boy. etc etc etc.

I would argue the events in both incidents are very unusual. The coincidences are extraordinary.

after Sunday Mass​

where they had assisted​

They really aren't extraordinary, let alone even coincidences.

I would argue the events in both incidents are very unusual. The coincidences are extraordinary.

It is like taking two workplace assault cases and saying "There was a photocopier in both offices,oh my god!"

Coincidental enough that the accuser should have been questioned about it and the jury asked to consider it.

I don't who this bullshit is more offensive toward,the now vindicated victim or Robert Richter's professionalism.

I hope you're trolling here.

Craven Morehead

I really don't care what you think.
Jan 2, 2019
Gold Coast
So the accusation here is "witness J" read a magazine article and decided to put himself through a personal hell in order to "Get Pell"?
FMD!