Pendlebury vs Selwood

Who is the better player?

• S. Pendlebury

Votes: 161 67.9%
  • J. Selwood

Votes: 76 32.1%

It was used as an excuse after he was tagged out of the game by Ray. No mention before the game. Apparently it was nerves in the build up that then built to be near death after a quiet game.
Sorry but are you really so cynical as to believe that a man and his club would make up a story just to protect his game from being critiqued?

And secondly, why on earth would someone announce pre game that they were sick. Thats really doesn't make sense as an argument.

Hmmm. You'd think so but the poll is probably more reflective of how much Joel annoys opposition fans.

No way is the gap between the two so large for such a landslide poll result o_O
I don't think it's that. 100 people could think Pendles was 1% better than Selwood and we'd still have a 100-0 result.

I think that Pendles is a better player but I don't think that the landslide represents people thinking Pendles is 3 times the player of Selwood or that people dislike Selwood.

I think many just realise that as it sits Pendles is a bit of a better player. I'm sure a lot of the people who voted Pendles would rate Selwood highly also.

Sorry but are you really so cynical as to believe that a man and his club would make up a story just to protect his game from being critiqued?

And secondly, why on earth would someone announce pre game that they were sick. Thats really doesn't make sense as an argument.

No way he would play just ridiculous to suggest otherwise.

Hmmm. You'd think so but the poll is probably more reflective of how much Joel annoys opposition fans.

No way is the gap between the two so large for such a landslide poll result o_O

Pendles the better player is winning the poll, hell I hate Collingwood yet voted for Pendles as he is the better player, Change Selwood to Ablett and watch a landslide the other way.

40s? Wow, thought it was like a 12 year old. Thats extremely sad.

Poor Presti dirtied up when questioned about accepting accolades for a Collingwood win. The blokes never set foot on a oval now that's sad.

This miles well be you Adam H. You sad, sad, sad man.

View attachment 204395
Haha he thinks I'm somehow bitter I didn't play is his Podunk bush league. He was never good enough to make the big time and somehow thinks this qualifies him an authority on the game. He's nothing more than Australia's version of Uncle Rico from Napolean Dynamite.

Shouldn't you just stick to discussing tv dramas with your propeller head groupies.

HAHHAAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! Thats bloody hilarious. What a flog.

The Rising Star Award committee in 2007 thought Selwood was quite clearly better...
No, this is Bigfooty and "Duckwood" doesn't have a chance of winning a poll on here.

I'll just copy and paste my response from the other Pendle/Selwood poll on page 2 of this forum.

Based on pure aesthetics Pendlebury is probably considered better as he's just so smooth. However, Selwood is all class too even if he doesn't look as 'smooth' as Pendles. I'd take Selwood overall (and only just) because I think he is one of those 'moment' players that takes the bull by the horns when his teams needs something and gets it done. One of the best at dragging his team along...........cliche.....wills himself etc etc...... Bit corny but I reckon it's true.

However, just as I said Selwood's class doesn't pale against Pendles, choosing Selwood for his leadership isn't a poor reflection in any way on what Pendles also provides as a leader.

Both champs.

Selwood; 3 x B&F winner, 4 x All Australian, 3 x Premiership winner
Pendlebury; 4 x B&F winner, 5 x All Australian, 1 x Premiership winner

Poll should be a lot closer than what it is.
I'm guessing after 2016, folks will start changing their minds again.
Poll needn't necessarily be closer, but what would be close is the margin between the two players in most pundits' eyes

can't disagree with that at all. I'm certainly not saying Pendlebury is not a champion and of the best in the game, merely suggesting he is overrated in my eyes anyways. Selwood's vision and his ball use when in heavy traffic is just as good as Pendlebury but reading this thread, you'd think there was no comparison whatsoever.
In fact, I was dumb founded to read a Geelong supporters views just a few weeks ago stating Steve Johnson is a much more damaging user of the footy than what Selwood is.
I mean how often do the likes of Selwood & Pendlebury butcher the ball with every possession they gather?

Both champion mids obviously and both from an early age, albeit with contrasting styles (Pendles silky smooth, Sellwood a bull).

Both expereinced a quiet (by their lofty standards) 2015 (Selwood more so) and Pendles also quieter (than his absolute best) in 2014. However, I would have GAJ as the only player ahead of Pendles from 2010 - 2013 (Mitchell, Swan and Judd rounding out the top 5 mids, Selwood at 6) meaning I'd pick Pendlebury in a close one on career to date.

For those suggesting Selwood will be remembered for his 'free kicks' - that would be pathetic of so. He is a triple permiership gun, multiple B&F, AA, etc. He absolutely throws himself at the contest - of course he will get loads of free kicks. Sure, he has a technique that may 'milk' some but it is legal and advantages him and the team so why not - it is up to the tackler to tackle properly or the umpire to adjudicate correctly. Whilst it is effective, there is no reason Selwood should change. Besides, whilst Pendelbury may not 'milk' free kicks, he too is certainly a relatively frequent recipient of dubious or line ball decisions (which also should not be held against him in any way).

Pendlebury vs Selwood