people who cry out ball at the footy !!

chev1977

Jun 11, 2000
Adelaide, SA, Australia
Adelaide Crows
Dont you hate it when you watch the footy and people scream out BALL (usually in a close game) every time a player has only just got to and touched the ball and hasn't held it for a great length of time.

I know what your going to say ! people are trying to influence the umpire's to give away free kicks but it is useless as it does not happen in that example!

come on every clubs supporters do it !!

at least you or I do not and that is a good quality in a supporter.

I also never boo and opposition team
And I clap the opposition if there is something uncanny and special about their way of play..

On ya Chevy

I clap the opposition too, gave Jakovich a standing ovation when he came out onto the SCG on Sunday.

But sometimes when the Swans are playing an opposition team that I really really dislike (Dogs) I'll give em heaps, just like everyone else.

Ytry4 - Sydney footy fans know more about footy than you might like to believe. Sydney people who take the trouble to follow the game and go to Swans matches do know what they are looking at mate - i assure you. Also alot of Swans fans and football people up here generally are ex-Southerners anyway.

I don't scream 'Bawllllll' everytime a player is tackled, but I do when the umpires miss a legitimate tackle and the tackled player just hangs on to it or throws it away.

Get a life chev.

Doesn't everyone go to the footy to vent frustrations ? Shouting Ball is just one of the ways.

Most people don't give a rats and don't even imagine others are analysing them.

It's like all that rubbish about family areas - to avoid louts. There has been family areas at the footy for years now - ususally the sparsely filled areas.

Well aren't you an inspiration to us all chev. I can't think of how bored I would be at the footy if I was you. Calling ball every 2 mins is part of the fun, booing the opposition is as well, and telling Carey what a w***er he is is a laugh.

I'm not going going to sit in a seat and politely clap when the opposition scores. When the opposition stuffs up I will laugh my head off and tell them how stupid they are. When the opposition concedes a point I will tell them how gutless they are, and when my team does it I will tell them it was smart play to take the safe option.

Chev, you are not a real football supporter, your one of the chardonney (spell) set.

I agree with Pessimistic and ILW

I could never imagine watching a football game without being able to scream ball.

How I react during a game is totally different to when I get home. I find it hard to believe that every second person claims that they do not laugh when the opposition make a mistake or jeer when the opposition concede a behind. It is a part of the game. When I get home, I would like to think that I become rational again. But supporting a team is an emotional thing and tensions run high.

I'm no angel at the footy

I mererly stated people who cry BALL for the sake of it (because there are people who do it)

To be quite honest I cry BALL when it is called for eg. when a bloke smothers the ball with no attempt to dispose of it ! or when a player has the ball and runs with it way more than 15 metre's without bouncing it !

Not an un-educated fan who cry's BALL just to look like he/she know what they are talking about!

Come on guys I thought you would have known that ?

Chev1977,

Are you telling me that when a player runs too far, you shout at the top of lungs "BALL !!!!!"

Ha ha ha. You idiot ! Do the people around you run away from you, when you perform this obscure act ?

*ROTFLMAO*

read your rules sunshine !

if you do not bounce the ball every 15 metres it is deemed "holding the ball" correct ? you even said it yourself ! that is when you should cry ball !

or are you just creating grief ?

if that aint holding the ball then what is ?

you twit !

**LMFAO**

dunno what you do in south australia chev but we call out How long, or too far, but then again you croweaters always were a strange bunch, probably how you got the nickname croweaters, oh yuk eating crows is disgusting, the meat would be all tough, or don't you cook them first you hillbilly. Oh no now i've offended all the south australian the can read, Both of them!

Well it all comes down to were you come from !

In America they call Tom-a-to Ta-ma-to

or Alumin-um were we say Aluminium

so basiclly were both right !! but the use of BALL in that contex is correct.

We call Bannana kicks, Checkside kicks what is the difference they mean the same thing

you just want to be an arseh*le ! You probably stole money from your mothers purse when you were a kid didn't you arseh*le

all you waqnt to do is cause shit !!!

what just for being here ? You are like a Nazi in WW2 just want to wipe out a race for the sake of it !

you just want to pick for the sake of it

wait till people read this "you wont be a liked man"

do you have ICQ my number is 63700874 and maybe we can debate this now are you still on-line (and this goes to anyone else !)

lol I I liked the last comment

seriously it was f**cken funny !!

oh shit why cant it be like this not arguing!

If you say funny comments like that all the time I'd love to sit and have a few beers with you

*ROTFLMFAO*

*LOL*

After reading through this thread I don't mind Chev1977 as much any more. He is good for comedy value. The fact that he honestly doesn't realise what an idiot he is saves him to some extent and makes his tireless posting funny rather than irksome.

Don't be concerned, our eastern brethren. Most South Australians are not like him and, like all other footy supporters, we also shout "how far!?" or "too far!" when a player runs more than 15 metres.

people who cry out ball at the footy !!