But he needs to be a third string when the other guys
come back!!!
At north the fans treat D.Morrell the same way
but every team needs these players!!!

Also curious if you guys think it will be
Mcleods year for the brownlow???

Over + out
Digby
I have always said that Perrie will never let you down as far as having a crack goes. He is a goodoverhead mark but apart from that he doesn't offer anything else.

His skills below his knees are almost non existant and his field kicking iss shocking. He was good from set shot in the wizard cup but has gone back to his old habits. Having said that, I would keep him on the list as he is a VERY good back up.

I don't think McLeod is a chance for Brownlow this year. Wanganeen just about has it in a bag. Wangas is having a sensational season. I reckon he would have some 15 votes so far.

Re: re-PERRIE

Originally posted by digby
AS an outsider i believe you guys a very hard on
Perrie!He probably will never be a superstar
but he normally gives a marking option whick to me is your
only weakness!
He was your best player for me against the LIONS
which i went to the game!!
But he needs to be a third string when the other guys
come back!!!
At north the fans treat D.Morrell the same way
but every team needs these players!!!

Also curious if you guys think it will be
Mcleods year for the brownlow???

Over + out
Digby

We probably are a little harsh on Perrie at times, but also at times he does let himself down a bit,

I call it as I see it, and I gave Perrie our best player against Brisbane on this board. Also I agree that his role is the 3rd string, not the main man, and every team needs 'em.

I'll probably be proven wrong but Macca has to be some chance for the Brownlow as with 12 rounds after this week, no one player could have it in the bag yet. After all, 12 x 3 votes = 36 are still available.

Stiffy, Perrie was superb again today, 2 BOG's in 3 weeks in my books.

The umpires can only be called F***cking cheats and I make no aplogies for that. F***ing cheats!! 23 Geelong to 12 Adelaide was the official AFL count. How many did we miss out on, while they got 2 charity goals from frees in the 3rd quarter.

Even the goal umpires got in the act. Actually it was one goal umpire. Paid Geelong a goal that clearly was manhandled by a Geelong player up to a foot in front of the line. His follow up act was to give a point for Doughty's goal claiming it was touched - it certainly was - one foot over the line.

Those umpires should be jailed - the burglars.

Milburn won't play next week. Or the next week either. Has to get at least 2 weeks if not more for that cowardly attack on Welsh. Filthy ****er!!

Originally posted by macca23
Milburn won't play next week. Or the next week either. Has to get at least 2 weeks if not more for that cowardly attack on Welsh. Filthy ****er!!
How bad was that punch to the ribs when Welshy had already disposed of the ball.

In the first incident I tought he raised his elbow but would probably get off. He is proving to be a bit of a filthy player.:mad:

As mentioned before, Perrie played really well today. Always tried his best and never gave up. Lead well and did a lot of tough less-rewarding stuff.

Quick question: why is is nickname 'Sarge'? Does he look like a policeman or something?

Originally posted by crowsfan
Quick question: why is is nickname 'Sarge'? Does he look like a policeman or something?
I think its to do with the way he always presents himself on the field and sort of leads by example as he is probably one of the hardest workers around.

Originally posted by crowsfan

I think there was a tv how with a character called Sargent Perrie in it - in fact the show might have been called that.

Another top effort by Sarge. I just hope Carey returns next week as he needs some help in the forward line. ie. We still lacked targets across FF, although it was good to see Welshy back.

Originally posted by Jars458
Perrie was superb again

All you knockers should apologise.

I apologize! I was wrong and admit it. He played the game of his life last Sunday. Still needs kicking practice though;)
Also I thought he was called Sarge because he was a Beatles nut and was always playing "Sergeant Pepper".

Ian was great against Geelong. He is marking with confidence, he's as fit as a Mallee Bull and without him we would have lost on the weekend.

Begs the question; will we fit Carey Stevens Welsh and Perrie in the same forward line?.... along with Ronnie Burns of course.

Burton will probably pinch hit in there too.

Im startin' to salivate again:D

Originally posted by topjars
Ian was great against Geelong. He is marking with confidence, he's as fit as a Mallee Bull and without him we would have lost on the weekend.

Begs the question; will we fit Carey Stevens Welsh and Perrie in the same forward line?.... along with Ronnie Burns of course.

It will be difficult. I recall Stiffy mentioning that Stevens was on the radio saying his body can't handle it anymore, so how about something like:

Stevens Carey Burns
Welsh Perrie Ladhams

and Burton on a wing coming forward as he does.

Perrie will be even better when taking defender three or four instead of defender one or two!

Pretty formidable!

I will start salivating once we get them all back. We haven't had a game all year, where all our forwards have played together. Can't wait until they are all back as it will give our forward line a much more potent look & hopefully allow us to win rather than lose games where we have had more of the ball, mor inside-50's, etc. The key will be to get them all on the park prior to finals, so they have a chance to mesh.

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
I will start salivating once we get them all back. We haven't had a game all year, where all our forwards have played together. Can't wait until they are all back as it will give our forward line a much more potent look & hopefully allow us to win rather than lose games where we have had more of the ball, mor inside-50's, etc. The key will be to get them all on the park prior to finals, so they have a chance to mesh.
Hear hear!!!!!!

But I agree with napsyd about playing Stevens and Carey at FF line and Perrie at CHF. If it doesn't work out you can always change the mix. Burns out of the posket and Welsh across HF along with a resting onballer. That forward line would be just about as good as Port's (Who I rrate as the best forward line in the comp):)

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Hear hear!!!!!!

But I agree with napsyd about playing Stevens and Carey at FF line and Perrie at CHF. If it doesn't work out you can always change the mix. Burns out of the posket and Welsh across HF along with a resting onballer. That forward line would be just about as good as Port's (Who I rrate as the best forward line in the comp):)
resting onballer? Pffftt... what about the Birdman?!

Originally posted by DaveW
resting onballer? Pffftt... what about the Birdman?!
I would cringe every time he touches the leather. Would play him off the bench or accross half forward. If we are to play 3 talls we need crumbers around them Birdman is NOT a crumber. Welsh, Buurns and resting onballers are all very good crumbers.;)

In case ya missed it...
Perrie takes final chance with one grab
By ANDREW CAPEL
03jun03

WHO would have thought? When Adelaide assessed its player list at the end of last year, the talented but inconsistent Ian Perrie came perilously close to being dumped. Ten rounds into 2003 he is the Crows' unlikely saviour, being their most consistent key forward and the team leader in contested marks.

With Adelaide's undisputed best forwards Mark Stevens and Wayne Carey playing just 11 of a possible 20 games between them, Perrie has shouldered the extra responsibility superbly, helping the club to a handy 6-4 record.
He has not been particularly flashy but he has been effective, giving the Crows a target and creating openings for his smaller team-mates with his ferocious attack at the ball and body as well as his strong tackling.

Perrie, 24, capped off his fine form – he acknowledged this was his best start to a season during his six years with Adelaide – with a career-best 11 marks against Geelong at Skilled Stadium on Sunday, a performance which earned him two votes in The Advertiser Merv Agars Medal. Perrie is the only Crows player ranked in the top 15 in the AFL in contested marks, holding down 15th spot with 19. The next highest ranked Adelaide player is captain Mark Ricciuto with 11. Collingwood's Chris Tarrant heads the individual leaders with 29.

Without Perrie's strong marking Adelaide might have been in dire straits. Even with him it sits at the bottom of the contested marks table with 106, along with cellar dweller the Western Bulldogs.

Overall Perrie has taken 51 marks for the season – one less than the leading Crow, Tyson Edwards.

But it could all have been so different had the Crows not given the powerful left-footer, who had managed just 37 games in his first five seasons with Adelaide after crossing from East Perth, one last chance.

"My future was uncertain at the end of last year and when I was given another chance I think it gave me the chance to put things in perspective and take a bit of a different attitude towards football," Perrie said.

"I've just really wanted to enjoy my footy this year and I've gone out there with the attitude to be loose, just to do my best for the club.

"I've got nothing to lose because I've pretty much got a bonus year, with them saying we're going to give you another crack."

Perrie, an imposing 191cm and 96kg, always has been a hard worker. Now he is getting reward for his efforts with his one-grab marking a feature of his play.

"I've been working hard on it (marking) at training and it came to the fore in the game (against Geelong), everything started to stick for me, which was good," he said. "But I have a tendency to be inconsistent, so that's something I've really got to improve on."

Perrie is the only Crows player ranked in the top 15 in the AFL in contested marks, holding down 15th spot with 19.

Overall Perrie has taken 51 marks for the season – one less than the leading Crow, Tyson Edwards.

Who would have thought during the pre-season that Perrie would be our leading contested mark taker.

51 marks from 9 games equates to 5.67 marks per game of which 2.11 are contested.

Fair dinkum if Clarke or Biglands had Perrie's hands they would bein top 5 ruckman in the comp.;)

Originally posted by Leaping Lindner
Also I thought he was called Sarge because he was a Beatles nut and was always playing "Sergeant Pepper".
Well, if he did and still does, I don't blame Perrie -- it's a catchy tune. Good taste! :cool: Anyone else like the song?