Perspective *Long*

• Thread starter Thread starter Moo

The DVD and book of this post are out next week at Nile.com

Simply these are the rants and venting of a simple supporter but one who stands 100% behind the club.

First what people need to understand is that Harvey and Co are undertaking our first re-build, I mean W Coast fans joke that it is a build not a re-build and this is closer to the truth than a lie.

Right from day 1 of our club we went with a list with a fair few experienced bodies and in the past we have traded in a fair few older bodies. It got us to a prelim, however a prelim does not keep you warm at night.

You either support a rebuild or you don't ...you can't support it for a year or two and then get sick of the losses or performances and go after those who inititiated the rebuild. If your in - your in for at least 4 years IMHO.

Look at the figures for the last 10 years (which includes 1999 the year where Drum actually went to the draft)….they tell the story.

First 4 Rounds
Most talent is found within these first 4 rounds …they are important picks. Over a decade all things being equal we should be averaging just a tick over 4 per year (taking PP’s into account).

We average 3.4 over this period.
The seasons before Harvey/Bond we average 3 picks inside the 4 rounds.
The seasons before H/B minus 1999 we fall to 2.7 picks
Harvey/Bond are averaging 5 picks inside 4 rounds

Total Picks Used
Not the greatest indicator but seeming we were a basket case in 1998, and have endured 2 to 3 bad years for every good – there should have been a good sprinkling of cleanouts in this time. The trouble is our clean outs have not been replenished via the draft but by trading (including rookies)

We average 8.5 picks per draft over this period.
The seasons before Harvey/Bond we average 7.6 picks
The seasons before H/B minus 1999 we fall to 7.2 picks
Harvey/Bond are averaging 12 picks or 10 if you want to deduct the re-rooks and recycled

First Rounders
Now if the first 4 rounds are important – round 1 is gold.

We average 1 first rounder picks per draft over this period as you would expect and as does Harvey/Bond.

However takeout 1999 and the average is 0.7 and a number of these were trade affected (we bargained down).

Hill, Palmer, X, Drum, X, Dunn/ Murphy, Schammer, Polak, X, Haselby/Pav/Brown

Average Draft Pick (plus I'm not referring to 2006)
OK not a lot of science to this but our average pick in the ND during this time is 35, take out 1999 and it is 38 – for Harvey/Bond it is 36.

We can analyse and explain this in a number of ways …however I would say to you that 10 years is a long time in football and whilst it may appear to be easy, we are still reaping the reward of 1999 a decade later.

The years in between this have killed us. We know we have a development plan in place that has (i) very good talent identification (ii) a strong will towards holding onto draft picks (iii) capable of making the tough decisions.

The club is on the right track for the first time in a decade, there should be an overwhelming outcry from us that we are doing the right thing and we need to get behind this club.

It is not Harvey’s fault that he is still having to manage a list that has the likes of Thornton (#66 2000) Gilmore (#35 rookie draft 2002), Dodd (#51 rookie draft 2002) Murphy (#10 2003) Campbell (#27 2003) Peake (#43 F/S 2003). At nearly any other club these 5 would be gone – let alone be 5-10 year players …can’t cut it all in one go as the draft strengths ebb and flow and we still need to field a team. *No disrespect intended to these servants of our club – however most of these are past their AFL competitive use by date

Plus shove this could of started a year earlier clean out crud – (i) 2007 was a shallow draft – no use recruiting the next Stribling or Collard (ii) If it took Harvey a season to learn what no one else has learnt in a decade …I’ll live with that thank you very much.

From the 2006 draft we have 2 players active and after this year that might be 0.
2005 – 3 active and after this year it may be 2
2004 – 1 active (and he was last pick in the rookie draft being re-listed)

The previous 3 years from a youth perspective this season represent 6 players, next season the contribution may be 3 players from 3 years of drafting.

Even if you rate Harvey as the worst game day coach in the history of football – I tell you this he should still go down in your book as the best leader of our club in it’s short history.

Seriously for the first time ever our club is on the right track for long term success, if that means I have to watch Peake fall over whilst Hall develops, and why I have to gamble that a Hinkley or Walters comes on rather than packaging picks for a Bateman or Wells …that is a price I am prepared to pay.

Support the club we love but be warned there is at least one more year of severe pain ahead.

Great post Moo. Interesting to see the drafts presented that way. Perhaps those supposed fans having a sook yesterday and typing fold the club may want to consider WHY we are, where we are, instead of blowing up.

You would think if we continued this policy for a decade, and we were lucky/ talented enough to select decent players for the most part, then we will not hover around the bottom 8 all the time with the odd season pressing for the 8 and finals.....

Great post Moo. Interesting to see the drafts presented that way. Perhaps those supposed fans having a sook yesterday and typing fold the club may want to consider WHY we are, where we are, instead of blowing up.

You would think if we continued this policy for a decade, and we were lucky/ talented enough to select decent players for the most part, then we will not hover around the bottom 8 all the time with the odd season pressing for the 8 and finals.....

Name one other club that has used their draft picks in the way we have between 2000-2006?

Or better still, name any other club (bar Carlton re. the Judd trade) who have traded their first round draft pick for a player since 2000?
Did they do it more than once?

We are suffering because of list mis-management. And it will continue until we are rid of our "depth" players and the new breed (last year onwards) come through the ranks. Harvey deserves to see out his "journey" far more than Cuddles did.

Na

Or better still, name any other club (bar Carlton re. the Judd trade) who have traded their first round draft pick for a player since 2000?

Didn't Collingwood trade away their first round pick for Cameron Wood?

The club is on the right track for the first time in a decade, there should be an overwhelming outcry from us that we are doing the right thing and we need to get behind this club.

It is not Harvey’s fault that he is still having to manage a list that has the likes of Thornton (#66 2000) Gilmore (#35 rookie draft 2002), Dodd (#51 rookie draft 2002) Murphy (#10 2003) Campbell (#27 2003) Peake (#43 F/S 2003).

Support the club we love but be warned there is at least one more year of severe pain ahead.

Great Post Moo, and espically agree with the highlighted above.

Name one other club that has used their draft picks in the way we have between 2000-2006?

We traded 1st round draft picks for Stenglein (2005) and Chick (2003).

Pretty sure that North traded 1st round picks to Hawthorn for Hay and Thomson.

Geelong traded a 1st round pick for Ottens.

And I think Adelaide coughed up a first rounder for Carey.

That's off the top of my head - and may not be entirely correct.

Probably line ball between North and yourselves as to who made the biggest mistake, but the major beneficiary of those mistakes was Hawthorn who arguably won a premiership on the back of those trades.

Moo,more bovine logic.These are the points Ive been trying to make through various posts but your knowledge and eloquence far surpasses my average attempts.Great post.

We traded 1st round draft picks for Stenglein (2005) and Chick (2003).

Pretty sure that North traded 1st round picks to Hawthorn for Hay and Thomson.

Geelong traded a 1st round pick for Ottens.

And I think Adelaide coughed up a first rounder for Carey.

That's off the top of my head - and may not be entirely correct.

Probably line ball between North and yourselves as to who made the biggest mistake, but the major beneficiary of those mistakes was Hawthorn who arguably won a premiership on the back of those trades.

I guess the difference is our first rounders were pick 6 (Bell trade), pick 1 (Croad, Mcpharlin) and pick8/13 (Tarrant) so all inside the top 10.
WC (Stenglein, Chick) and Sydney (Jolly) used later first round picks to get players that proved important in successful teams. North tried the same but it didn't work out.
Adelaide was the only other to trade a high first rounder for Carey - pick 4, which became pick 2 after Carlton got punished, was gained by trading Kane Johnson to Richmond. North used the pick to get Wells.

Good work Moo. Can I suggest you release a spoken word version??? I might need it for the trip to Geelong.:D

Well done Moo....far too much time on your hands whilst your wife is away....will send her back.
I shudder when I look at our 2004 draft in particular - come on down Copping and Stribling as our first two picks in that years ND......ouch.

I'll digress a little and share a story of Chris Bond who was kind enough to speak to my son and I when we were flying east in November last. He was a fantastic bloke and basically said that the next two years were going to be the toughest the club had faced. They were going to have to go to the draft very hard and plow all the resources into getting the right kids and fast tracking them as they club had missed the opportunity to refresh the list in the previous years. I think we are in good hands.

I agree with you Moo. We are further behind the rebuild (or "build") path than we should be, and that's a little frustrating. But it's going to be a long lean few years ahead.

Well done Moo....far too much time on your hands whilst your wife is away....will send her back.

Now let's not do anything hasty Milko.

Great post Moo ... And I too think the next few years are going to be tough! Not sure how I am going to be able to watch Peake / Schammer spend more time on their butts than on their feet!

I totally believe in the rebuild and am happy to come with the pain that is associated with it, so I am going to post by theory.... We should trade Pav....

Pav has been the best player our club ever has had, by a long margin. He has played in very average teams for so long and has done everything possible to lift the team, which is why we should trade him. As one of the greatest players of our club we should let him go off and try to win a premership with someone who is going to contest one. At the same time if we manage to secure 2x first round picks, this will only help us in our rebuilding, which is critical.

Imagine getting an extra Lucas / Panos / whoever in this draft...

I totally believe in the rebuild and am happy to come with the pain that is associated with it, so I am going to post by theory.... We should trade Pav....

In theory, you're a flog.

Makes me laugh at all the morons jumping on here and suggest we trade our best 2 players (Pav/Sandi)... no club is going to ever be able to get their hands on 2x first round draft picks, nor hand over their first pick + a player... those days are over, so get on with your lives...

FFS, they are the franchise players that you build teams around. Trade them and we'll be worse off than we are now. Get rid of the deadwood first and then you'll see quality coming through. And we won't have to read or listen to the Chicken Littles of the world talking shit like they are now.

In theory, you're a flog.

Makes me laugh at all the morons jumping on here and suggest we trade our best 2 players (Pav/Sandi)... no club is going to ever be able to get their hands on 2x first round draft picks, nor hand over their first pick + a player... those days are over, so get on with your lives...

FFS, they are the franchise players that you build teams around. Trade them and we'll be worse off than we are now. Get rid of the deadwood first and then you'll see quality coming through. And we won't have to read or listen to the Chicken Littles of the world talking shit like they are now.

Oh dear ... another keyboard warrior.

If this club wants to move forward (which apparently we have been trying to do since '95) tough decisions need to be made. Na dmy giving Pav the opportunity (if he wants to) to have the opportunity to play in a Premiership team would be a honourable move on behalf of the club.

I'm sure Adelaide would be plenty interested in getting Pav, and would make a very decent offer for him. Which would be a win-win

(and by the way I never had mentioned trading Sandi :eek:)

Oh dear ... another keyboard warrior.

If this club wants to move forward (which apparently we have been trying to do since '95) tough decisions need to be made. Na dmy giving Pav the opportunity (if he wants to) to have the opportunity to play in a Premiership team would be a honourable move on behalf of the club.

I'm sure Adelaide would be plenty interested in getting Pav, and would make a very decent offer for him. Which would be a win-win

(and by the way I never had mentioned trading Sandi :eek:)

I understand where you are coming from. but what if pav doesnt want to go? i mean he loves our club, has been our greatest ever player, what if, when the club said to him, "mate we love you, but we are rebuilding and will be for 4-5 years, we think its in your best interest to hunt a flag with someone else" and he turns around and tells them to get f..ked, i love this club and you couldnt drag me away, what would you do then? because i honestly believe that pav LOVES freo, and would rather go down with the ship, then bail at this point... are you suggesting we force him out? because i honestly dont think our club could survive if we were to kick pav out, i reckon all respect and hope would be lost, it would be an unmittigated disaster if our club was seen to dump the best thing that has ever happened to the fremantle football club

I would never force Pav to leave! I have man love!

But if you said to him: mate thanks, you are the biggest legend of the club ever, and have done everything possible to try to make this club successful. If you want to go we will do everything possible to make it happen for you.

If he wants to be part of the rebuild (and then possibly miss out on the glory because his body is ****ed from being foreced to play in the centres when clearly he is one of the best forwards in the league) then bring it, as the club definitely will need some older heads around the club to protect the cubs as they grow...

I just think the club needs to be proactive in re-building the list, and needs to explore every option (and boy would it hurt when he kicks 15 goals on Dodd next season!).

It would also be a tremedous gesture from the club to its most loyal servant