Society & Culture Perth Bogans

• Thread starter Thread starter Hue_Jars

Bogans - well they're everywhere, cashed up or not. Large cities breed them like flies. A moron's a moron - cash or no cash.

Absolutely agree. I have family friends in perth whom i'm close with. I find they have some narrow minded views which have been cultivated due to living in perth. Narrow minded opinions are less likely to be challenged in the most isolated city in the world.

The Bogan Test. 1 point each

1. Do you have a tattoo (bonus 5 points if you have tatts of your kids faces)
2. Do you listen to AC/DC and similar rock
3. Do you prefer a pub counter meal over a restaurant (bonus point if you prefer franchise steakhouses)
4. Do your kids have names spelt phonetically (Leesa, Jayne, Darryn, Debra etc)
5. Do you say any of these words: grouse, spewin', sweet, sensational
6. Do you wear footy apparel on the street
7. Do you clip your mobile phone to your belt
8. Do you have a rats tail (bonus 3 points if your kids have them)
9. Do you wear a singlet with jeans

Or http://thingsboganslike.com/the-full-list/

They were striking not too long ago cos they had to give their donga to someone else on their weeks off.

This is bullcrap - if your on such big money you surely cant complain.

Dont see our diggers in Afghanistan complain when they have to move house every night in a desert earning less than these prics.

From experience, miners do like to have a whinge.

I reckon you'd be wrong on that count, the diggers would be earning plenty and tax free too!

Yeah I'm white collar, and sure some guy driving a loader up north is earning more than me...but I live 20 min from home, am not breathing in red dust all day and eventually should earn a lot more.

If someone isn't out there digging holes then I'm out of a job...good on em
Not only that. They may be earning 50% more than you but when the bubble bursts like it did back in 2007 there'll be a glut of 'toys' (jet skis, boats, cars etc) available on gumtree at great deals and it is the perfect time for those with stable, well paying jobs to upgrade their houses.

Op also forgot
RIP Brockie stickers
V8 Utes
Chest tattoos (ala Bra Boys)

Tbh I reckon most of the problem bogans in Perth aren't fifo workers...it's more the young local tradies.

Blokes working hard on the mines to buy houses aren't generally out causing mischief, most in that position would have a Mrs with their balls in a sling.

Angst ( maybe the result of a bit of jealously) directed at the wrong people I reckon

In my experience anyway

Prefer working (mostly) from home in a low-stress, low-risk IT professional services job for $90k than a FIFO job in appalling conditions that pays double that. No jealousy here :).