Society & Culture Perth Bogans

• Thread starter Thread starter Hue_Jars

Pretty sure the Chevy badges are because GM owns Holden. I remember when that new Monaro came out a few years ago, seeing it on TV with the Chevy badges. So I don't think they're putting the badges on themselves.

Not that I'm a car guy at all, so who knows.

Tbh, I much prefer them to the English wannabes, who pretend to be English even though they've lived in Australia for 95% of their lives.

OP isn't original, or even creative. Sounds like a ********.

You're basing this on your single year of experience as an adult?

Wtf are you talking about? Yet to see a try hard pom. If anything poms try to be Aussies. ********.

How does the mining boom increase the number of bogans?

It doesn't, just increases their disposable income and the damage they can do to themselves and others.

Perth isn't just geographically isolated, mentality its quite isolate as well. You realise this more and more as you spend time abroad.

That said some of my best mates are Bogans, I've got a bit in me and Perth remains my favourite place on earth.

Tbh I reckon most of the problem bogans in Perth aren't fifo workers...it's more the young local tradies.

Blokes working hard on the mines to buy houses aren't generally out causing mischief, most in that position would have a Mrs with their balls in a sling.

Angst ( maybe the result of a bit of jealously) directed at the wrong people I reckon

In my experience anyway

I got told a story about a first year apprentice mechanic on the mines in WA earning 150k a year.

That's ****ing unbelievable. They cannot be that desperate for workers!

I'm sorry for not knowing more about a total shithole of a suburb.

Also, irrelevant to this topic of discussion.

Your head is in the sand if you think Perth is a classy place.

Yes, pointing out that the places you are criticising you know nothing about and have probably never been to is irrelevant to the thread.:rolleyes:

Where did I claim Perth is a classy place? I'm merely pointing out how ill-informed your opinion is. Stick to shit haircuts and dramatic monologues.:thumbsu:

I got told a story about a first year apprentice mechanic on the mines in WA earning 150k a year.

That's ****ing unbelievable. They cannot be that desperate for workers!

Know a guy who pressure washes haulpaks before they go into the workshop on more than that.

You aren't working 9-5 then going home to your house near the shops tho.

You aren't exactly going to fight a war either.

The point is that part of the reason mine workers get paid so highly is that mining companies aren't exactly getting overwhelmed with people wanting to work long hours in the middle of nowhere even if they get every third week off

Point is on a 2 on 1 off shift you work 14 12 hour shifts on the trot. ie you're working a 56 hour week even with the week off.

Nearly working 50% longer than a normal job. makes the big salaries more understandable

ps also what keyser said

Wtf are you talking about? Yet to see a try hard pom. If anything poms try to be Aussies. ********.

Took that one pretty personally.

Tbfh, a bloke with a user name of Hue_Jars shouldn't really be throwing stones re bogans, if you know what I mean.

The new fetish for middle classers to throw the bogan tag around is piss weak, it's as if they think they're making themselves look better by throwing another sub culture under the bus.

I suppose they are right, $120k to drive a forklift for two thirds of the year up North just isn't enough. I spent 3 years at Uni, am currently workings towards 2 post graduate degrees and these guys still earn 2.4 times more then I do. The ironic thing is that I have my forklift license also.
Resentment is an ugly trait.

I grew up in Perth. Have lived in Melbourne since I left school (although spend a lot of time in the US and Asia as well) and can say that i was in Perth a few weeks back for the Rotto swim. The thing I noticed (as i hadnt been home in 2 years) is that there are a heap of tradies in Perth now. ie more than ever and there seem to be a lot more bogans as a result (not saying all tradies are bogans mind you)

I think what has happened is that a lot of the "original" perth tradies are now working on the mines, many fifo. As a result, a lot of tradies from other states have come to Perth to either work on the mines or even come over thinking they would do that but then working in Perth to replace the original tradies. Also, Perths population has steadily increased the last several years, with a need for more infrastructure and housing as a result, hence more tradies. Net result, more tradies, home on their week off (fifo) and the big dollars up north have driven up the wage of Perth tradies, so more and more tradies around Aus are heading west to make their fortune.

Also, they seem more obvious cos they are no longer hanging out in a shed smoking bongs in Balga cos thats all they could afford to do back in the day, but are lapping James st continuously in a Maloo ute.

I

I think what has happened is that a lot of the "original" perth tradies are now working on the mines, many fifo. As a result, a lot of tradies from other states have come to Perth to either work on the mines or even come over thinking they would do that but then working in Perth to replace the original tradies.

A bigger proportion are probably those that come to perth from the sticks. All the work in WA isn't on the mines, Perth is booming and as such needs a lot of labour to fuel it's growth. Of course not all tradies have equivalent mine jobs, not much call for glaziers in an open pit for example:D

Wow - it is getting so hard to live nowadays.

Can somebody explain how to walk that fine line between being a hipster and being a bogan ?

Are people allowed to take care of their appearance and buy the latest fashion nowadays? Or are they just hipsters or hipster wannabes if they do that?

But if one is to go the other way and not care as much about one's appearance, they might be bogans? Or possibly just hipsters being ironic?

It seems the same people criticise hipsters and bogans so maybe they can help.

How does one get to be so cool without the pretention of being a hipster?

Only a matter of time until Perth is overrun with bogan hipsters or hipster bogans.

Then we really will have something to complain about.

Are you being ironic, Plugger ?

Because, if you are, and you have a picture of the original Plugger on your avatar with a mullet, as a tribute - you are possibly a hipster bogan already !!

An Eagles fan started this thread...how surprising.

I don't have a problem with the traditional bogan, in fact they are a declining breed in Perth. It's the cashed up bogans who are commonly found in middle class and/or new suburbs in Perth that think they are classy that are the problem. Give them alcohol and when they cannot pick up a chick they start looking for fights.

Completely agree.

What also shits me (and I think someone else said) about upper middle class society stamping the bogan label on everyone as a flavour of the month. It's like when they honestly thought the Kerrigans in 'The Castle' were 'just like them', makes my piss boil.

I'm someone who is nowhere near Bogan despite growing up in Rockingham but I'm lucky enough to get along with most people except cashed up Western Suburbs w***ers. Everyone has a story really.

Silent_Alarm, you have much to learn oh ignorant one.

Well said Mr Bojangles. (Great, great song btw).

I grew up in Kwinana, have lived in Kwinana and Rockingham but now live in Fremantle.

Because I still keep in touch with quite a few school mates, I come across a lot of "bogans".

I work in a blue collar industry as the GM of a company, so while I deal with other managerial types, I also on a daily basis deal with my staff. Some of whom are bogans. One Port Adelaide supporter in general who sports a classic mullet and whose favourite saying is "Do you believe in love at first sight? Or shall I flick my mullet again" I just promoted him by the way for his ability to take a young apprentice under his wing and guide him while still focusing on his own work.

Within my family, I have 2 doctors, (one a specialist, one a surgeon), a pharmacist, an industrial pharmacist, engineers, teachers, brick layers, plumbers, aged care workers and stay at home mums. Within the family, we have bogans and hipsters but mainly just people getting on with their lives.

Some people should try that - it's awesome !

What also shits me (and I think someone else said) about upper middle class society stamping the bogan label on everyone as a flavour of the month.

Speaking of stamping labels;)

Completely agree.

What also shits me (and I think someone else said) about upper middle class society stamping the bogan label on everyone as a flavour of the month. It's like when they honestly thought the Kerrigans in 'The Castle' were 'just like them', makes my piss boil.

I'm someone who is nowhere near Bogan despite growing up in Rockingham but I'm lucky enough to get along with most people except cashed up Western Suburbs w***ers. Everyone has a story really.

Silent_Alarm, you have much to learn oh ignorant one.

To be honest, it's not even the upper middle class ones that annoy me, it's coming from the ones who are no different themselves, as if they haven't actually had a look in the mirror.

You can always spot this type by their inability to spell "you're" correctly.

Well said Mr Bojangles. (Great, great song btw).

I grew up in Kwinana, have lived in Kwinana and Rockingham but now live in Fremantle.

Because I still keep in touch with quite a few school mates, I come across a lot of "bogans".

I work in a blue collar industry as the GM of a company, so while I deal with other managerial types, I also on a daily basis deal with my staff. Some of whom are bogans. One Port Adelaide supporter in general who sports a classic mullet and whose favourite saying is "Do you believe in love at first sight? Or shall I flick my mullet again" I just promoted him by the way for his ability to take a young apprentice under his wing and guide him while still focusing on his own work.

Within my family, I have 2 doctors, (one a specialist, one a surgeon), a pharmacist, an industrial pharmacist, engineers, teachers, brick layers, plumbers, aged care workers and stay at home mums. Within the family, we have bogans and hipsters but mainly just people getting on with their lives.

Some people should try that - it's awesome !

I'm the only one in my family with a uni degree, I've done a lot more travelling too but my family are still hard working blue collar types and without going on the mines own farms, houses and everything else they want, they'll always have more money than a white collar type like me and that's not through FIFO.

Speaking of stamping labels;)

I knew someone would pick me up on it but I forged ahead anyway :D

Isn't the point of higher education to learn? Rather than to receive a license to print cash.

Perth is a classic mining boom/gold rush city. Some people strike it rich, some people make their money providing goods and services to them. A lot of people see dollar signs and want in. It makes the city more diverse and interesting.