Society & Culture Perth Bogans

• Thread starter Thread starter Hue_Jars

Isn't the point of higher education to learn? Rather than to receive a license to print cash.

Perth is a classic mining boom/gold rush city. Some people strike it rich, some people make their money providing goods and services to them. A lot of people see dollar signs and want in. It makes the city more diverse and interesting.

You're right, it is to learn but a majority of people see higher education as a way to earn more money and that's why you do it.

I'm now just checking to see if I've posted anything as your instead of you're.

Resentment is an ugly trait.

I think its ridiculous they still find the nerve to complain about what they get paid etc. Hardly anyone does 2 and 1 these days anyway and from what I've seen there is a lot of flexibility to tailor a roster to suit individual needs.

Relatively where I am, fresh out of uni I'm about level where I would be anywhere in the world. I resent them based on the fact they don't realise how lucky they are. Most of these guys have no tafe/uni qualifications, have to work long hours (which most people do), earn a truckload for a very simple basic job.

Yes I agree the hours are long, and FIFO isn't ideal but mining is a worldwide game and nowhere else in the world do they have an opportunity to earn anywhere near that amount for similar work, FIFO etc. Yet its not enough and they still have to complain and go on strike cause its not enough. The part I resent is reading in the papers how they aren't earning enough, or watching some stupid strike occur somewhere along the terrace

When was the last strike at a mine in WA?

I am not familiar with any major industrial action at the mines for years.

I remember the old days of guys striking because there was not enough varieties of ice cream and also the maggot/maggot strike, but was not aware it was much of an issue at the moment.

They were striking not too long ago cos they had to give their donga to someone else on their weeks off.

This is bullcrap - if your on such big money you surely cant complain.

Dont see our diggers in Afghanistan complain when they have to move house every night in a desert earning less than these prics.

From experience, miners do like to have a whinge.

I remember some discontent regarding the changing of dongas but not a strike. Can anybody find a link anywhere?

I'm not trying to start a fight with you but trust me, life is too short for resentment. There's lots of people bagging mining bogans but that's different to resentment. Do yourself a favour and cut it out of your game. You'll be better for it. If other people are on a good wicket then don't let it worry you.

The Bogan Test. 1 point each

1. Do you have a tattoo (bonus 5 points if you have tatts of your kids faces)
2. Do you listen to AC/DC and similar rock
3. Do you prefer a pub counter meal over a restaurant (bonus point if you prefer franchise steakhouses)
4. Do your kids have names spelt phonetically (Leesa, Jayne, Darryn, Debra etc)
5. Do you say any of these words: grouse, spewin', sweet, sensational
6. Do you wear footy apparel on the street
7. Do you clip your mobile phone to your belt
8. Do you have a rats tail (bonus 3 points if your kids have them)
9. Do you wear a singlet with jeans

The Bogan Test. 1 point each

1. Do you have a tattoo (bonus 5 points if you have tatts of your kids faces)
2. Do you listen to AC/DC and similar rock
3. Do you prefer a pub counter meal over a restaurant (bonus point if you prefer franchise steakhouses)
4. Do your kids have names spelt phonetically (Leesa, Jayne, Darryn, Debra etc)
5. Do you say any of these words: grouse, spewin', sweet, sensational
6. Do you wear footy apparel on the street
7. Do you clip your mobile phone to your belt
8. Do you have a rats tail (bonus 3 points if your kids have them)
9. Do you wear a singlet with jeans

Apart from the bold, that's an entirely different generation of bogan. We're talking the new cashed up bogan.

The thing that pisses me off about the WA fifo workers is that my old man works on a mine in the middle of nowhere in NSW for half of what they get, and he's probably more educated. He also sabotaged my efforts when I put an application in there cause he doesn't want me working on a mine and sees no future in it. That annoying trait of being a parent where you're children simply must become a doctor or lawyer or business manager and absolutely nothing less.

Apart from the bold, that's an entirely different generation of bogan. We're talking the new cashed up bogan.

The thing that pisses me off about the WA fifo workers is that my old man works on a mine in the middle of nowhere in NSW for half of what they get, and he's probably more educated. He also sabotaged my efforts when I put an application in there cause he doesn't want me working on a mine and sees no future in it. That annoying trait of being a parent where you're children simply must become a doctor or lawyer or business manager and absolutely nothing less.

Why doesn't your dad get a job in WA then? :confused:

Yes I agree the hours are long, and FIFO isn't ideal but mining is a worldwide game and nowhere else in the world do they have an opportunity to earn anywhere near that amount for similar work, FIFO etc.

You sure about that?

I can assure you this bit is completely and utterly false

Your old man should harden up and get a job in WA. I can see what he's saying about not wanting you to work on a mine. Smart young people do a 3 year stint and have enough for a large deposit on a house. Dumbarses spend their money living it up, pissing it up, and then flying to thailand for hookers that are actually cheaper here.

As said earlier in this thread, its not like the CUBs are just being handed bulk money for nothing. They are doing a lot of hours. If you sit down and work out the hourly rate, its not a lot higher than tradies here in the city. The lifestyle of FIFO is rubbish. I'd much rather go home every night and have my weekends to socialise.

The whole point of going to uni is to build a career that will last you into the future. Not just a flash in the pan money making venture.

Yeah I'm white collar, and sure some guy driving a loader up north is earning more than me...but I live 20 min from home, am not breathing in red dust all day and eventually should earn a lot more.

If someone isn't out there digging holes then I'm out of a job...good on em

Yeah I'm white collar, and sure some guy driving a loader up north is earning more than me...but I live 20 min from home, am not breathing in red dust all day and eventually should earn a lot more.

If someone isn't out there digging holes then I'm out of a job...good on em

When I was in Perth I was in a similar situation to you (Except 10 mins from work). Living in Leederville is not living to work by any stretch, its living for the lifestyle.

However comparing future salaries between white collar and blue collar workers is crystal ball stuff, things change very quickly and everyone gets their time in the sun.

Now I'm not sure what kind of white collar worker you are, but your presuming you'll rise to the top of your field. The main advantage of being blue collar (That I see) is the ability to work for yourself, white collar in most cases we are always answering to the man.

End of the day I think the only thing we can hope for is finding ourselves with a job that we aer good at and gives us the lifestyle we are happy with. I absolute hate the whole White Collar vs Blue collar crap.

Environmental scientist. Green collar maybe? :DDon't work for a massive company but as of last week was lucky enough to get the gig running the department.

Don't have to rise to the top in my field by any means. even a lower position in a larger company will see me getting a good earn. Just want some management experience first tho

government is doing a good job at making us more indespensible which is good

by no means have anything against the blue collar Blokes (thought that was clear). Just not something I'd want to be doing for my whole working life

This describes me pretty much:

3/4 sleeve tattoo
drive a VS commodore (in my defense I dont want to spend money on cars so I will drive this until it dies)
work fifo (in an office, not on a machine)

To the people who hate on the cashed up bogans. Do you believe they should work a lower paying job because of their class? Who's the idiot, the guy who makes $120k+ a year doing meanial work or the liberal arts major on $45k a year?

This describes me pretty much:

3/4 sleeve tattoo
drive a VS commodore (in my defense I dont want to spend money on cars so I will drive this until it dies)
work fifo (in an office, not on a machine)
Bogan central.

To the people who hate on the cashed up bogans. Do you believe they should work a lower paying job because of their class?
Nope, we just think you're a bunch of knobs.

many people have explicitly captured what it is that is so unlikeable:

That they've bogans? No
That they're earning big bucks? No

Yes:

Because they're all swanning around like champions with their new found wealth: full sleeve tatts, trendy (debatable) but aggressive clothing. To sum it up perfectly:

They think they're the shit.

brains >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> braun

Having moved to Perth 3 years ago for an office job after uni I dont think the "bogans" are that noticeable. Unless it's of the "My family" SUV variety. I find it more noticeable in Adelaide, Melbourne & Brisbane.

They exist but I haven't had much need to go east of the airport, north of Morley or south of Freo --> I don't go to Northbridge generally, i don't find it unsafe it's just shit.

Avoid going past these extremities and I find it hard to spot a "bogan". Actually there's a pub in Innaloo next to a liquor barn --> that has every type of throwaway bogan type.

Well, I just tortured myself through all this thread and am thoroughly glad I no longer live in the city of my birth because it's quite clearly unbearable due to the hordes of people who've decided to get out into well paying jobs in uncomfortable locations.

I've been in the mining game since 1983, in a variety of places, residential and FIFO, and it's treated me very, very well thanks very much.

Bogans - well they're everywhere, cashed up or not. Large cities breed them like flies. A moron's a moron - cash or no cash.