Roast Peter Bell

Hahahahaha. It's hard for me to hold back here and not call you names but I'm just going to say it's not bullshit.

Since your so matesy with him why don't you go ask him yaself. Remind him the night he was showing off to a couple of chicks and provided me with a belt as my jeans were a little lose. I'm the bloke who threw it away and he cracked the shits. Long story short he carried on like a complete ******* while the likes of McManus, Sandi, scammer and I think Troy Cooke all kept their distance from the flog.

Then you can pm me tomorrow night with ya apology 👍
So, Bell is a good samaritan giving you his belt out of the kindness of his heart and you throw it back in his face? Then he's the dickhead? Prolly had your asscrack hangin out and were scaring the women.

No dickhead policy plz

Bell would be eating a bit of humble pie atm I’d expect, and owning to at least part of this fckup

Needs to learn from it, and quickly

It looks like the majority of this board are willing to back Bell and blame others for the Hogan situation which is okay if that’s the truth.

Bell is still on notice for me though until we see some tangible results. Seems to be some pros and cons with his influence so far.

He’s obviously actively pursuing a culture shift at the club with our player and staff changes which seems like it should add up to an overall positive. I’d say his trading has left something to be desired at times and it’s still unclear to me if his direction has been heavy handed and/or properly guided.

Bell has taken the mantle of head of accountability with Rosich and Lyon gone, and the way he has come in swinging changes since he started a couple of years ago.
The onus is really on him now for the club to start seeing some success next year, for which he would deserve the credit, but on the flipside if we continue to be mediocre or even track in the other direction then hard questions should be asked of him.

Look I understand it's hard for some of you to believe that your once heroic leader was a flog that night. But the way some of you who have absolutely no connection to the story flat out refuse to believe is hilariously sad a d quite wce-esq in your denial.

I guess we'll just have to wait for old mate who's BFF with him to come back and eat some humble pie. As for the rest of you non believers- right here🖕

Sure they can all kick. You'd kind of expect that in an elite level footballer.

All of them, except Dixon, were traded in. All of them had track records. Most of them were exercises in risk v reward and all of them came **** up.

Some more spectacularly than others.

Based on our direct and quantifiable experience, our club, more than any other in the competition, should know that success comes from the draft. Yet our club, more than any other in the competition, still goes to the trade table, expecting to sprinkle glitter on the misshapen turds of others.

We just did a spangly turd cleanout. Let us never go into trade week again with one eye closed to the facts and our fingers crossed in blind, blithering hope.

Historically we have done better in the draft with late picks than we have with rehabbing risky talent. Hell, we've done better in the rookie draft than we have with recycling rotten trades.

Makes sense to consistently do what you're better at.

I'll always be suspect on Bell.

I had a run in with him several years back at at the Leopold hotel. He wanted to fight me and my 4 mates to show off in front of these 2 women. I don't think he's the persona he shows on tv. Imo of course

Was he defending the honour of said women, if in fact true. Or is this a CNN story?

I imagine the same people would have been here a few years ago, blaming Bell if we didn't get the Hogan trade over the line.
Now it's somehow all his fault Hogan is loose unit with substance use and behavioural issues.
Always has to be someone else to blame.

As someone else mentioned in another thread, if you can't see actual progress in the way the club is going about it and enjoy some of the great footy we played last year and look forward to next season perhaps following footy with all its ups and downs isn't a good fit for you.

I’ve got a ripper story about Basil Zempilas, Thailand, 2 condoms & ironically a transvestite, but I don’t mention it in public. I just tell people I don’t like him.
There would be much truth in this story. I doubt Drummy has made this up about Old Mate. Back in the day when he used to party with a lot of the Eagles players, there was an establishment they liked to visit, and a particular type of person that Basil used to prefer to spend his time with.

But same - I don’t tell the story, I just say I think he’s a vile, abhorrent, appalling and egotistical human being, who also happens to be a shit commentator and an embarrassingly dislikeable ‘Perthonality’ 🤢

I imagine the same people would have been here a few years ago, blaming Bell if we didn't get the Hogan trade over the line.
Now it's somehow all his fault Hogan is loose unit with substance use and behavioural issues.
Always has to be someone else to blame.

As someone else mentioned in another thread, if you can't see actual progress in the way the club is going about it and enjoy some of the great footy we played last year and look forward to next season perhaps following footy with all its ups and downs isn't a good fit for you.

Ironic to say the least coming from you. You never had a problem taking potshots at Ross when he was the coach. Now that he's gone you don't want people blaming Bell? Frankly, I think Ross did more for this club than Bell and Longmuir ever have.

You blamed Ross for Josh Simpson leaving. How is the Hogan situation different? I remember you whinging that Walters wasn't brought back from Swan Districts quick enough. With the benefit of hindsight, you were completely wrong. Now you're in total support of trading away a talented player with off-field issues at a big loss for the club?

Maybe the reason people can't see actual progress is that there hasn't been any? Let's not forget you spent the last few years whinging about how ugly our football looked. It's amusing to me that you are so defensive of the clubs moves with actually the same win percentage and fewer goals per game.

Under Ross we got 2 brownlows, won finals away from home, won games away from home consistently, a grand final appearance, consecutive finals appearances, a McLelland trophy, broke multiple records and Bell ummm? Won a single final as a player? Longmuir kicked a goal after the siren and we didn't even make finals that year.

Laughable.

As far as I'm concerned, you are reaping all that you sowed.

Why do people here think a football manager gets things 100% correct every time? Totally unrealistic, the best people realise mistakes, learn, move on and improve.
The morbid fascination with negativity is soooo boring..

he needs to get the big things right. There aren't that many to get right.

Bell was totally unqualified for this role and he has already made a gigantic **** up. And its not about the trade. its about making it work.

Belly if you want out at your time is now.
I have a solution to your problems.
Come home to the club that Loves you .
Come home to the club that gave you success.
Come home to the club that needs all its past foot soldiers to move us up the ladder again.
You have done your job at Fremantle they have a good coach now and an exciting list that he could take to the promise land of a Premiership .
You can’t do anymore for them.

Thanks for coming along at a time when we were all starting to think rather poorly of ourselves.

*Takes another squizzy at the North Melbourne cluster*

On second thoughts, we're going okay.

Belly if you want out at your time is now.
I have a solution to your problems.
Come home to the club that Loves you .
Come home to the club that gave you success.
Come home to the club that needs all its past foot soldiers to move us up the ladder again.
You have done your job at Fremantle they have a good coach now and an exciting list that he could take to the promise land of a Premiership .
You can’t do anymore for them.

Wowee

Ironic to say the least coming from you. You never had a problem taking potshots at Ross when he was the coach. Now that he's gone you don't want people blaming Bell? Frankly, I think Ross did more for this club than Bell and Longmuir ever have.

I don't see the 2 things as having anything to do with each other. I was making the point that it was damned if you do, damned if you don't. People would have been furious if we'd had a chance at Hogan and not taken it. Now that's its failed its easy to have hindsight and say it's all Bell's fault.
People are welcome to have a crack at Bell & I'll disagree and argue if I think their arguments are misplaced. Just as you're doing with me.

You blamed Ross for Josh Simpson leaving. How is the Hogan situation different? I remember you whinging that Walters wasn't brought back from Swan Districts quick enough. With the benefit of hindsight, you were completely wrong. Now you're in total support of trading away a talented player with off-field issues at a big loss for the club?

Not a bad point, the situations do have some similarity. With hindsight I'm certain Simpson was never going to make it as a professional footballer and it was probably the right call to try to teach him some patience and discipline. At the time however I saw it as emblematic of Lyon's preference for effort over talent. I wanted to see Simpson play because he offered some flair and excitement at a time when our team was as stagnant and uninspired to watch as I've seen and to bring in Mayne who was half cooked at the time anyway in his place seemed crazy to me. Time has proved me wrong as it often does. I've never claimed to be infallible or even an expert, just another mug with an opinion and I value the ability to admit when I'm wrong.

Maybe the reason people can't see actual progress is that there hasn't been any? Let's not forget you spent the last few years whinging about how ugly our football looked. It's amusing to me that you are so defensive of the clubs moves with actually the same win percentage and fewer goals per game.
This is the bit where you lose me and part of what I was saying in my original post. This year was the first time since the peak of the Lyon era I actually dared to believe we could win every game we went in to as the team proved week after week that they were going to have a crack and stay in games right to the death. There was a palpable difference in the way the players were going about it on-field and talking about it off-field. Commentators in the media noticed it and started to admit there was something different about this Freo team. We are consistently talked about as a team on the rise now.
Every club and institution needs renewal now and then and this is looking like a really good one to me. I don't care how many numbers you bring up, we're different and we're on the rise. You of course are free to disagree and time as always will tell.

Under Ross we got 2 brownlows, won finals away from home, won games away from home consistently, a grand final appearance, consecutive finals appearances, a McLelland trophy, broke multiple records and Bell ummm? Won a single final as a player? Longmuir kicked a goal after the siren and we didn't even make finals that year.
Yes Ross was a very good coach for a few years, then increasingly a worse one. I will never have anything but respect for what he did but he lost the plot and it was time for change. Our last couple of years were horrible. We were getting thrashed regularly by the second half of the last couple of seasons. We had injuries but this year was no different and we still played tough, spirited footy right to the last quarter of this season.

I don't really understand the connection you're trying to make between what Lyon achieved as a coach and what Bell and Longmuir achieved as players.

Laughable.
As far as I'm concerned, you are reaping all that you sowed.
I've never sewn anything. I don't have anything to do with the running of the club. I'm a punter who follows the fortunes of the Freo Footy Club and comes here regularly to talk shit about it with other people.
If you mean I'm getting what I hoped for then you're right. I've never been happier with the decisions being made, the players we've recruited and the direction of the club in general.
It's entertainment, a game I watch for enjoyment and I'm enjoying it again. I think the best decision we ever made was to hire Ross Lyon and the second best was to get rid of him because he was done.
Intelligent people are capable of adapting their opinion to new information. At the time it was the correct decision to recruit Hogan, he was seen as someone we could finally replace Pav with. Yes he had some behavioural concerns but backed him in to come good. It obviously hasn't worked so we're cutting our losses. I don't know if its right or wrong I'm just making the point that at the time it was worth a crack and probably a lot of people complaining now are the same ones who would have complained had we not got it done. Damned if you do, damned if you don't.

I don't see the 2 things as having anything to do with each other. I was making the point that it was damned if you do, damned if you don't. People would have been furious if we'd had a chance at Hogan and not taken it. Now that's its failed its easy to have hindsight and say it's all Bell's fault.
People are welcome to have a crack at Bell & I'll disagree and argue if I think their arguments are misplaced. Just as you're doing with me.

Not a bad point, the situations do have some similarity. With hindsight I'm certain Simpson was never going to make it as a professional footballer and it was probably the right call to try to teach him some patience and discipline. At the time however I saw it as emblematic of Lyon's preference for effort over talent. I wanted to see Simpson play because he offered some flair and excitement at a time when our team was as stagnant and uninspired to watch as I've seen and to bring in Mayne who was half cooked at the time anyway in his place seemed crazy to me. Time has proved me wrong as it often does. I've never claimed to be infallible or even an expert, just another mug with an opinion and I value the ability to admit when I'm wrong.

This is the bit where you lose me and part of what I was saying in my original post. This year was the first time since the peak of the Lyon era I actually dared to believe we could win every game we went in to as the team proved week after week that they were going to have a crack and stay in games right to the death. There was a palpable difference in the way the players were going about it on-field and talking about it off-field. Commentators in the media noticed it and started to admit there was something different about this Freo team. We are consistently talked about as a team on the rise now.
Every club and institution needs renewal now and then and this is looking like a really good one to me. I don't care how many numbers you bring up, we're different and we're on the rise. You of course are free to disagree and time as always will tell.

Yes Ross was a very good coach for a few years, then increasingly a worse one. I will never have anything but respect for what he did but he lost the plot and it was time for change. Our last couple of years were horrible. We were getting thrashed regularly by the second half of the last couple of seasons. We had injuries but this year was no different and we still played tough, spirited footy right to the last quarter of this season.

I don't really understand the connection you're trying to make between what Lyon achieved as a coach and what Bell and Longmuir achieved as players.

I've never sewn anything. I don't have anything to do with the running of the club. I'm a punter who follows the fortunes of the Freo Footy Club and comes here regularly to talk sh*t about it with other people.
If you mean I'm getting what I hoped for then you're right. I've never been happier with the decisions being made, the players we've recruited and the direction of the club in general.
It's entertainment, a game I watch for enjoyment and I'm enjoying it again. I think the best decision we ever made was to hire Ross Lyon and the second best was to get rid of him because he was done.
Intelligent people are capable of adapting their opinion to new information. At the time it was the correct decision to recruit Hogan, he was seen as someone we could finally replace Pav with. Yes he had some behavioural concerns but backed him in to come good. It obviously hasn't worked so we're cutting our losses. I don't know if its right or wrong I'm just making the point that at the time it was worth a crack and probably a lot of people complaining now are the same ones who would have complained had we not got it done. Damned if you do, damned if you don't.
Well reasoned :thumbsu:

I've never sewn anything. I don't have anything to do with the running of the club. I'm a punter who follows the fortunes of the Freo Footy Club and comes here regularly to talk sh*t about it with other people.

So Ross got increasingly worse as a coach but you don't think it had anything to do with the list that had half the grand final team delisted or traded away and the fact he played youth over experience from about round 5, 2016 onwards?

It's just plain laughable to say that just because you dared to dream we could win every game that this was a better year. We lost the first 4 games of the year so we were never going to make finals and every single game apart from the saints game if we lost the first quarter, we lost the game. Just because you personally were happy with the aesthetics of a different gameplan doesn't make it better, that's vanity. We were in the 8 at Round 15 last year with a younger squad So it is not unreasonable to say we performed better last year than this without intangibles like how it made you feel. The fact you describe 2013 as 'as stagnant and uninspired to watch as I've seen' says a lot about your mindset.

Ross Lyon said after the Simpson debacle that he 'did not get seduced by talent' and that has been transformed by fans like you into saying he valued effort over talent. It's absurd. He doesn't pick the list, so once the list is finalized at the start of preseason he gives every player an equal footing by saying your talent alone will not get you a spot in the 22 (the team). You need to match that talent with effort.

If you want to call it getting what you hoped for in lieu of reaping what you sow then go for it.

The connection I'm making between what Bell and Longmuir and Lyon achieved is that by any metric, Lyon achieved more than them and helped the team achieve more. Yet he was made a scapegoat because fans like you don't know the difference between picking the list and picking the team and now that Lyons gone, Bell and Longmuir are the golden-haired children that can do no wrong. The hypocrisy is annoying to me and that's why I called it out.

You think the club has never made better decisions, the club has never drafted better and you are happy with the direction we're heading. Feel free to bump this next September when we're playing finals and I'll bump it if we don't.

I’ve already said you’re entitled to your view & me mine. It’s pretty obvious we’re not going to agree on anything so let time tell. I’m sure neither of us will be completely right or wrong.
I’m not into bumping old threads to say I told you so but knock yourself out.
I know I’ll still be here. Through thick & thin & calling it as I see it. Just like you. That’s what this place is for.

Roast Peter Bell