Geoff

Premium Platinum
East Fremantle
This is a message to all those “Bellie” antagonists. Get off his case. The guy is a champion. Yer, he may be making exceptions in his training routine but it’s on game day that counts and the guy is delivering. He never shirks. The hit from Hodge last night showed what he is made of and it’s nothing short of iron. All class.

I wonder if any of the naysayers (both on this board and in the media) will have the courage to admit that maybe they got it wrong, and that Belly is doing a fine job? I certainly won't be holding my breath.

If a few other players (particularly some of the older guys) took a leaf out Belly's book when it came to dedication and committment, we might not be sitting at 0-2 right now.

I think Freo look a lot more dangerous when he is picking up his possessions on the forward side of the centre square rather than the back half. Much more damaging to the opposition when that happens. I don't think the opposition mind as much if it occurs in the back half.

the same can be said for every single player in the league

Well, someones gotta help out the backline, and unfortunatley, most of the time, Belly's the only one who's interested.

the same can be said for every single player in the league

Nah - only those that are good disposers of the ball - otherwise they will just bomb it to the opposition defenders. The point is that Bell uses tha ball well and the opposition would be scared to have Bell with the ball 70m out from goal. Shouldn't there be other players doing the role of helping out across the defensive 50 which would free Bell up?

Well, someones gotta help out the backline, and unfortunatley, most of the time, Belly's the only one who's interested.
Probably true - but shouldn't be. I guess Pavlich working up the ground takes some of the space that Bell could fill - thus shifting him a bit further towards the back of the ground. I wonder if Tarrant wasn't there then Pavlich would work deeper in the 50 allowing Bell to work the area in the 50 to feed Pavlich and maybe another fast leading forward.

Seems to be that the solution to all the world's problems this week is to get rid of Tarrant. If he drop Tarrant this week Mark Harvey might single handedly correct global warming, cure AIDS and stop the war in Iraq.

The problem is the midfield sucks and the backline are under too much pressure. We are also missing a 'sweeper' with Johnson horribly out of form and both Thornton and Black unavailable. When these guys return, Bell will not be required down back anywhere near as much.

Probably right Chook in that the other midfielders helping across the back 50m might include someone like Black. It should preferably be someone who can be damaging if they ran through the lines. This would put all sorts of pressure on the opposition midfield and defence.

A fit Black and Thornton are the answers.

Although isn't Thorton going to be in and out of the side with his health issue? Black is probably the key as you said.

I think Scotty has his health issues pretty much under control. He had an injury interrupted pre-season, hence he's been missing and just making his way back through the WAFL. There is no reason he can't play the majority of the season.

I suppose we are getting a little off topic here, but from what I understand about his problem is that it is an ongoing thing he has to deal with. I had a mate with the same problem and it gets worse at times and ok at times.

That fair bump between Brown & Bell which both quickly got up from and continued play was good old fashioned footy that the AFL is trying to take out of the game.

No comment from GJ. You wanted him gone.....
Where are the Belly knockers at???
The little champ has a big heart and courage...
How could you not want that for one more season - regardless if he lives in Gero...

I suppose we are getting a little off topic here, but from what I understand about his problem is that it is an ongoing thing he has to deal with. I had a mate with the same problem and it gets worse at times and ok at times.
you are talking about the crohns disease right?

thats a lifelong thing AFAIK