Peter Scanlon

• Thread starter Thread starter Z_K

All I need to know is....

Can I call him moneybags?

We do not need his money, we need his ability to do a McGuire and lift the profile and professionalism of the club to a new level so we can go from a struggling position to one where nobody would every question our ability to remain a Melbourne club.

But can we have a little bit of money? Just a teeny weeny bit...

Jason, not ideal, but we can look past it. Surely?

Corrigan, Scanlon and Reith could save the footy club and I would lose a little bit of my soul. Not ideal, but I would cave.

C'mon mate. You can't tell me that a bit of healthy competition does the country any harm? As long as there is a happy medium that is.

Look at the way the trade unions have ruined France's economy by endless strikes and unreasonable demands. It got to the point where France's work force became so uncompetetive the economy went into the spin.

Scanlon is our man. As bad as it sounds, but he may be our last hope. Not because our finances are so dire, but because noone else seems to have the charisma to go against the flow.

As it stands, it seems the entire country wants us to relocate - even people who don't give a crap about AFL footy.

Chris Corrigans right hand man during the Patricks Wharf dispute, was the brains behind the attempt to break the Maritime Union Of Australia.

Mini Series called 'The Bastard Boys' coming to our screens later this year - based on this dispute. I wonder how Scanlon is portrayed in this.

Corrigan, Scanlon and Reith could save the footy club and I would lose a little bit of my soul. Not ideal, but I would cave.

You and Contra where the two posters i was thinking about when i finished typing my post about Scanlon.

It may be a case of having to dance with the devil if Scanlon gets involved; but always no where the exit is unless you want to get caught out.

I was always interested to run into him at a Cotorie function; probably abit of a tense moment as he realised that he was from one side of the political spectrum, and i was from the other!

Lidge Quote:

Mini Series called 'The Bastard Boys' coming to our screens later this year - based on this dispute. I wonder how Scanlon is portrayed in this.

Can't wait for it to go on tv; was meant to be in the crowd for the shooting of the series in Melbourne a couple of months ago but couldn't make it.

A word of warning to anyone here hoping Scanlon would fit the "white knight" role. I happen to know him and he is a great bloke.......................................................BUT......................................................................................when you employ somebody in such a major role you need to check their track record, especially their track record in similar sporting organizational situations.

Peter went to school at St Josephs North Melbourne. St Jo's began an amateur footy club, which went on to be very successful, known as North Old Boys Amateur Football Club. That club operated successfully both on and off field from their inception in the 60's till a couple of years ago. Peter's brother was the last President of the club and, as such, was the custodian of the club during what proved to be it's most challenging time.

Peter was obviously close by if required, with the club struggling for players and most importantly for cash, and was always thought to be there to ensure the club would be fine (being a wealthy club supporter whose brother was the president). To cut a long story short, North Old Boys was merged with StPat's Ballarat last year, completely disenfranchising the club to the point where virtually none of it's founding members even recognise it as being their club anymore.

The justification for the merger was "well, we'll have heaps of players to draw from now and we're much better off for money", all backed by the Scanlons.

I wouldn't hold my breath.......

Peter is undoubtedly one of the smartest business brains in Aus. but to assume that he has the same passion for the club as us members is, in my opinion, way off the mark.

I hope I'm wrong, as he could save our club with the spare change from his pocket. The bloke is loaded and will be even further up the BRW list next year but, all I'm saying is, tread warily as he'll be brilliant at making us survive, but in what form?

T'toes

A
I hope I'm wrong, as he could save our club with the spare change from his pocket. The bloke is loaded and will be even further up the BRW list next year but, all I'm saying is, tread warily as he'll be brilliant at making us survive, but in what form?
T'toes

I'd rather merge with a Melbourne team than relocate. At least with a merger you have a Melbourne base, where u can watch training, the silverware stays in Melbourne and your HOME GAMES are in Melbourne !

Then again, thats only if it was GC V's Meger and we are way off in thinking about that.

Interesting post TT.
There are major differences between the two situations though.
One thing to help an amateurs club and totally another to get involved at a National level and not only help the club that hopefully means something to him, but also a chance for some glory in the media which many rich folks crave.

He might just see it as a chance to lift his public profile.

Hoping for that anyway. After all he is the only seriously rich supporter I know of.

Ouch. Not just your soul at risk, the old Shinboners would spin in their graves.

I would have to keep telling myself Scanlon made all his money in the lolly business.

I think we need to move away from the concept of a "chequebook saviour". There are precious few examples in Australia of corporate sympathisers emptying their wallets to remove sporting teams debt.

And rightly so. What Scanlon should be about is using his know how to build a sustainable business model where the club can be self sufficient at some point. Otherwise when he goes or loses interest in p!ssing his $$ against the wall then we are in the same position as when we started.

The question to ask is what can he bring to the club other than his personal wealth.

PS If he's going to be President doesn't he have to be an elected director first? And how is that going to happen any time soon given that he's not on the ballot papers tomorrow evening?

I think we need to move away from the concept of a "chequebook saviour". There are precious few examples in Australia of corporate sympathisers emptying their wallets to remove sporting teams debt.

And rightly so. What Scanlon should be about is using his know how to build a sustainable business model where the club can be self sufficient at some point. Otherwise when he goes or loses interest in p!ssing his $$ against the wall then we are in the same position as when we started.

The question to ask is what can he bring to the club other than his personal wealth.

PS If he's going to be President doesn't he have to be an elected director first? And how is that going to happen any time soon given that he's not on the ballot papers tomorrow evening?

I think the board can appoint a chairman (like Carlton did with Pratt) who doesn't have to be an elected director.

I agree wtih your sentiments re saviour vs businesman. Thats the problem at the moment. I believe all the energies of the current administration are going into the GC being our saviour as opposed to trying to develop realistic business plans to save the club as a Melbourne based club.

What have we seen the board produce in the last 5 years that works towards a secure Melbourne future?

Collingwood is out buying up hotels as a cash stream to support them financially while we have nothing.

Where are the visionaries?

Thats the problem at the moment. I believe all the energies of the current administration are going into the GC being our saviour as opposed to trying to develop realistic business plans to save the club as a Melbourne based club.

What have we seen the board produce in the last 5 years that works towards a secure Melbourne future?

Collingwood is out buying up hotels as a cash stream to support them financially while we have nothing.

Where are the visionaries?

That's the bottom line I feel. The vision is sun, surf and whatever becomes of our club from joint / new ventures with SEQ business groups. :(

Whether a 'white knight' becomes involved, it may all be too late to re-establish the force in the already ultra competitive Melb market as the club & AFL is hell-bent in re-locating us. The re-development of Arden Street is the last thread of hope I reckon.

That's the bottom line I feel. The vision is sun, surf and whatever becomes of our club from joint / new ventures with SEQ business groups. :(

Whether a 'white knight' becomes involved, it may all be too late to re-establish the force in the already ultra competitive Melb market as the club & AFL is hell-bent in re-locating us. The re-development of Arden Street is the last thread of hope I reckon.

I have a gut feeling that the Arden st re-development will simply end up being our Melbourne point of contact for Melbourne based supporters. The place NMFC people can go to buy their club tickets, merchandise and be used as a training base when the Roos play in Melbourne.

Not a good thought but the Swans do it already.

I still reckon a relocation to the northern corridor of Melbourne is a winner. Forget their up and coming team, the only reason the Dogs are out of relocation danger is because of their unique access to a whole region of potential support.

It's what we could create in that burgeoning area from Craigieburn and beyond. Scanlon and that pokies magnate (can't recall his name) appear the perfect candidates to get the ball rolling on this. We could potentially get federal, state and local council support on something like this. Sure we lose Arden St, but I'd rather this alternative over the GC option any day.

I still reckon a relocation to the northern corridor of Melbourne is a winner. Forget their up and coming team, the only reason the Dogs are out of relocation danger is because of their unique access to a whole region of potential support.

It's what we could create in that burgeoning area from Craigieburn and beyond. Scanlon and that pokies magnate (can't recall his name) appear the perfect candidates to get the ball rolling on this. We could potentially get federal, state and local council support on something like this. Sure we lose Arden St, but I'd rather this alternative over the GC option any day.

Bruce Mathieson?

T'toes

I will do some digging this afternoon and see if I can get some population growth figures for this region. I am hesitant to support any initiative that removes Arden St as our base, but agree that it's better than the alternative. It would have to be a solid commitment. We would have to undertake community building that might not directly translate into a cash injection initially. Something I think the club steers clear off far too often IMHO.

I was always interested to run into him at a Cotorie function; probably abit of a tense moment as he realised that he was from one side of the political spectrum, and i was from the other!

No offence, I don't know you from Adam, but do you really think this bloke would give a toss? Can there be tension when one side doesn't have any particular regard for the other?

Interesting post TT.
There are major differences between the two situations though.
One thing to help an amateurs club and totally another to get involved at a National level and not only help the club that hopefully means something to him, but also a chance for some glory in the media which many rich folks crave.

And if I understand right, North Old Boys' main problem was securing enough players to field a team. Nothing moneybags can do about that in an amateur league. If there is no desire to play for a team, he had to let it go.

Good point, and the value to Carlton of ******** Pratt is really the business acumen and the people he walked in the door with. They are sweeping a broom through the joint and getting rid of the rot.

The constitution allows for up to 12 directors. The shareholders can simply insert up to 3 more directors anytime they wish. And that could effectively be done by two or three majority shareholders deciding they want it. From there, the full board would have to vote on a Chairman.

making the club financially viable long term is obviously the task at hand, which must include restructure of the entire organisation and putting it on solid business rails.

However, reducing debt and putting some much needed capital to start with may be something that Scanlon could do, as well as getting rid of the current complex shares system which always puts as at risk of a hostile take over.