Petition/Letter to the Club demanding an external review (now with PDF link in OP)

Doctor B

Jan 17, 2015
Glenelg
So is that saying Bucky will recommend we do things as he did at the power

On SM-G965F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Another good call Marty

In the corporate arena, Brian led strategic reviews and change management programs in the structural reform of two large South Australian government departments. He then spent three years overseeing state efforts in key economic development activities to generate increased trade, investment and jobs as Chief Executive of the Department of Trade and Economic Development.
Brian then moved out of the public sector in mid-2010 and has taken up private sector Board Director roles. He has also formed his own consultancy company.

He is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and holds a Bachelor of Science and a Diploma in Education. He has performed the role as Chairman of various national and state government committees in the spheres of training, education and also economic development.

He currently sits as a Director on six diverse Boards and acts as Chairman of five of these.

marty36

Aug 17, 2009
Another good call Marty

In the corporate arena, Brian led strategic reviews and change management programs in the structural reform of two large South Australian government departments. He then spent three years overseeing state efforts in key economic development activities to generate increased trade, investment and jobs as Chief Executive of the Department of Trade and Economic Development.
Brian then moved out of the public sector in mid-2010 and has taken up private sector Board Director roles. He has also formed his own consultancy company.

He is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and holds a Bachelor of Science and a Diploma in Education. He has performed the role as Chairman of various national and state government committees in the spheres of training, education and also economic development.

He currently sits as a Director on six diverse Boards and acts as Chairman of five of these.
So he's a school teacher

marty36

Aug 17, 2009
Another good call Marty

If you want to be the best get someone from hawthorn to do it

Jul 2, 2008
Surely the calls for the external review should be even louder now given the embarrassment that is the Fogarty treatment this year.

What an absolute farce, the kid is a gun, one of the best forward debutants AFC has had and now being labelled as one of the best kicks for goal in the comp by Lloyd.

Pathetic to the point of having a young player so disgruntled we risk losing him.

Player development must be reviewed along with everything else.

I reckon it’s worth 1000x the price we paid. Actually, probably 1,000,000 times isn’t out of the question. What a load of s**t. “Look, we accept it’s taken resources from our footy dept, but it’s now cost neutral. But here’s the kicker, it’s worth s**t tins on the open market, has been a brilliant acquisition. Obviously not because it’s returned profits back into football, but because if we sold it, and we wouldn’t, we’d make heaps of money. Not that we’re going to sell it, it’s too valuable to sell.”
I think it's only 12

Elite Crow

30k Posts 10k Posts TheBrownDog
Mar 21, 2008
adelaide
I didn’t hear all of Will Goodings and Rowie this morning but Goodings said any review started now won’t be finished in time and we shouldn’t be signing anyone until it’s done.

Also said supporters won’t cop anything less.

He’s saying all the right things and he should be interviewing Fagan or Chapman, don’t think he’d let them off with spin.

Anyone hear all of it?

May 24, 2006
Car 55
Redbacks, Sturt, Liverpool, Arizona
What was the timing of Richmond's review?

And Geelong's back in the day?

There's no need to sign our assistants early. No one is poaching them. They'll still be there in a couple of months if the review comes back saying they're not the problem.

Elite Crow

Mar 21, 2008
adelaide

There's no need to sign our assistants early. No one is poaching them. They'll still be there in a couple of months if the review comes back saying they're not the problem.
Not sure but it’s not so much a matter of re-signing our duds, it’s securing quality replacements who will be stitched up

May 24, 2006
Car 55
Not sure but it’s not so much a matter of re-signing our duds, it’s securing quality replacements who will be stitched up
It wouldn't be a next season fix that's for sure

Mar 23, 2008
I doubt there is anyone in power at the AFC who is brave enough to initiate an external review, nor anyone with the desire to have his/her position scrutinised. I’m betting on the usual “we review internally every year” bullcrap to brush aside talk of a full external review.

Even with an external review, we will never know the results and won’t be able to gauge what needed action is taken or ignored. The admin/board doesn’t have to act on any review and I’m betting it wouldn’t.

May 24, 2006
Car 55
They'll try to limit the scope of any review too.

"The fan base has deep-seated mistrust of the club's administration stretching right back to the lies, cover ups and ongoing silence relating to the Tippett contract.

This unresolved issue makes it impossible for anyone to move on."

Because those responsible got away with it without any meaningful ramifications means that they feel they can carry on however they like now, keeping the public in the dark, forging ahead unquestioned and unsupervised. They answer to no one except themselves.

Elite Crow

Mar 21, 2008
adelaide
Spoke to an ex player who played not so long ago for us. He also said, the club is too corporate. Its not a club.. its more like a company/business. It lacks culture and it lacks inclusiveness.
That’s clear. For as shitful Port have been, they rarely lose players and kept them when they were really poor. Their players speaking glowingly of the club.

Whereas we have players choosing to leave even once we made the GF.

I feel our club is broken and it has no chance of being fixed with the current admin and board.

ThePrideOf

F*& the power
Aug 1, 2017
That’s clear. For as s**tful Port have been, they rarely lose players and kept them when they were really poor. Their players speaking glowingly of the club.

Whereas we have players choosing to leave even once we made the GF.

I feel our club is broken and it has no chance of being fixed with the current admin and board.

This is deep seeded. I mean this guy played in the mid/late 2000s and was saying abvout the club.

He also played at other "clubs" and said Adelaide was unique like that.

Its a sterile 100% corporation, where they woudl show upto teh club and feel like they shoudl bewalking in witha suit and tie.

I dont think this is what it should be about.

Need to get back to playing for the jumper and not playing for the P&L and Balance Sheet.

I remember a guy in the local soccer league... he would get paid on a thursday night... instead of pocketing it.. he put the money behind the bar and let his team mates drink for free after training.

I mean i know is not about getting blind drunk.. its the gesture... its the team building and comradery.

Pizza and Soda water at Dons house doesnt fix the problem. They will just show up on monday to the same environment.

Also.. dont give me this crap like promotinga . "high performavce culture" you can do this anyways... this is about how the players feel as part of teh club...

There is alot that has eroded strategically and culturally with the club... the move into Ancillaries like eSports etc... its trying to turn it into a US based sports team like an NFL team.. this is great for trying to boost profits.. but in Australia.. guess what you have to win.. and win premierships.. and your core is Sponsors and memberships. you dont get either of those if you arent winning

Jul 17, 2006
Glenelg
This is deep seeded. I mean this guy played in the mid/late 2000s and was saying abvout the club.

He also played at other "clubs" and said Adelaide was unique like that.

Its a sterile 100% corporation, where they woudl show upto teh club and feel like they shoudl bewalking in witha suit and tie.

I dont think this is what it should be about.

Need to get back to playing for the jumper and not playing for the P&L and Balance Sheet.

I remember a guy in the local soccer league... he would get paid on a thursday night... instead of pocketing it.. he put the money behind the bar and let his team mates drink for free after training.

I mean i know is not about getting blind drunk.. its the gesture... its the team building and comradery.

Pizza and Soda water at Dons house doesnt fix the problem. They will just show up on monday to the same environment.

Also.. dont give me this crap like promotinga . "high performavce culture" you can do this anyways... this is about how the players feel as part of teh club...

There is alot that has eroded strategically and culturally with the club... the move into Ancillaries like eSports etc... its trying to turn it into a US based sports team like an NFL team.. this is great for trying to boost profits.. but in Australia.. guess what you have to win.. and win premierships.. and your core is Sponsors and memberships. you dont get either of those if you arent winning
Very well said.

Walsh offered us brief hope of change but since the Trigg/Craig era onwards so much has changed for the worst.

I used to vehemently disagree with Port fans assertions we were a corporation because the Crows really were the Pride of South Australia, meant something to this community, and had a rich SA footy tradition as their foundation.

Both SA clubs were generated from amazing tradition (as much as I hate Port), and both have then created new traditions as AFL clubs. The difference is we (actually not 'we' but 'they', the AFC admin who in no way do I identify with as they are ruining my club), do not embrace our tradition and culture in a meaningful way. There is no longer any distinctive pride in the club representing their city, state and supporters. The way they act, it's just a professional sporting corporation who could get easily relocated anywhere and nothing would change about how they operate...almost totally divorced from their origins and fan base.

In no way am I suggested we limit our focus to SA supporters, and I've never been an advocate of only recruiting SA people/players...this isn't about that. It's about having a club with some semblance of soul and passion that those from far and wide can join and embrace, much like an SA kid drafted to a Vic club would embrace their heritage.

Right now we might as well be renamed the Bland Football Club, or Vanilla, or Generic, or Blah.

The 'club' is we can even call it that anymore is insular rather than inclusive.

They make us ashamed rather than proud.

And they have compromised in just about every aspect of elite standards you can mention.

Why would any coach want to come here?
Why would any player want to come here?

It's an utter disgrace what they've done to our club.

ThePrideOf

F*& the power
Aug 1, 2017
Very well said.

Walsh offered us brief hope of change but since the Trigg/Craig era onwards so much has changed for the worst.

I used to vehemently disagree with Port fans assertions we were a corporation because the Crows really were the Pride of South Australia, meant something to this community, and had a rich SA footy tradition as their foundation.

Both SA clubs were generated from amazing tradition (as much as I hate Port), and both have then created new traditions as AFL clubs. The difference is we (actually not 'we' but 'they', the AFC admin who in no way do I identify with as they are ruining my club), do not embrace our tradition and culture in a meaningful way. There is no longer any distinctive pride in the club representing their city, state and supporters. The way they act, it's just a professional sporting corporation who could get easily relocated anywhere and nothing would change about how they operate...almost totally divorced from their origins and fan base.

In no way am I suggested we limit our focus to SA supporters, and I've never been an advocate of only recruiting SA people/players...this isn't about that. It's about having a club with some semblance of soul and passion that those from far and wide can join and embrace, much like an SA kid drafted to a Vic club would embrace their heritage.

Right now we might as well be renamed the Bland Football Club, or Vanilla, or Generic, or Blah.

The 'club' is we can even call it that anymore is insular rather than inclusive.

They make us ashamed rather than proud.

And they have compromised in just about every aspect of elite standards you can mention.

Why would any coach want to come here?
Why would any player want to come here?

It's an utter disgrace what they've done to our club.

As you have rightly summarised... the club has a disconnect with its culture, fanbase and playing group.

This will be no easy fix with an "internal review".

When people say... "dont panic" or "its not as bad as you think it is" lets look at some pragmatics:

1 - My Son wanted to leave before 3 qtr time as he was completely disinterested in the game style/effort/committment of the side. He is showing less and less interest in wanting to go.
--> replicate this against another 20,000 parents and their children. There is your future supporter base who is already disengaged.

2. Can you answer the questoin of what the club truly stands for? i think you will get a plethora of different responses.
--> this means there is a lack of clear vision that the club is portraying

3. Are you confident in the clubs leadership/management?
--> Most will either say no.. or hesitate. These are the guys and girls running the show... if you have no confidence in these people... what hope do we have.

For those who havent seen Chernobyl... it kind of reminds me of that. Internally... they reviewed... they insulated it... however, the effect of it is still felt today.

In my opinion.. and it is only my opinion... IT IS AS BAD AS WHAT I THINK.

The crows wont listen to me (although they really should) from a corporate perspective.. and whilst trying to remain completely incognito... i was invited by Rob Champan to attend a function where he did commend me on my business efforts and successes etc here in SA... only to think... mate... i could do a much better job than you at the helm... but i poliutely thanked him for his kind words. So... i guess you could say.. i do have some respect from the Chairman on things related to strategy and business.

I am just here to share and listen and learn... as the rest of you who are committed to the greater good of the Adelaide Footy Club.

Tex200

10k Posts Podcaster
Dec 24, 2008

This article was dated 12 Sep 2016 saying the review took 10 weeks. So they must have started it well before seasons end.

The article is an interesting read. Why wouldn’t we just use Ernst and Young as well, given they have specialists in the field

hey shorty

Jun 15, 2005
AUFC, Everton, Sturt
This article was dated 12 Sep 2016 saying the review took 10 weeks. So they must have started it well before seasons end.

The article is an interesting read. Why wouldn’t we just use Ernst and Young as well, given they have specialists in the field

When I heard EY did the Tigers review I was somewhat stunned....their name is mud in our house.

Tex200

10k Posts Podcaster
Dec 24, 2008
As you have rightly summarised... the club has a disconnect with its culture, fanbase and playing group.

This will be no easy fix with an "internal review".

When people say... "dont panic" or "its not as bad as you think it is" lets look at some pragmatics:

1 - My Son wanted to leave before 3 qtr time as he was completely disinterested in the game style/effort/committment of the side. He is showing less and less interest in wanting to go.
--> replicate this against another 20,000 parents and their children. There is your future supporter base who is already disengaged.

2. Can you answer the questoin of what the club truly stands for? i think you will get a plethora of different responses.
--> this means there is a lack of clear vision that the club is portraying

3. Are you confident in the clubs leadership/management?
--> Most will either say no.. or hesitate. These are the guys and girls running the show... if you have no confidence in these people... what hope do we have.

For those who havent seen Chernobyl... it kind of reminds me of that. Internally... they reviewed... they insulated it... however, the effect of it is still felt today.

In my opinion.. and it is only my opinion... IT IS AS BAD AS WHAT I THINK.

The crows wont listen to me (although they really should) from a corporate perspective.. and whilst trying to remain completely incognito... i was invited by Rob Champan to attend a function where he did commend me on my business efforts and successes etc here in SA... only to think... mate... i could do a much better job than you at the helm... but i poliutely thanked him for his kind words. So... i guess you could say.. i do have some respect from the Chairman on things related to strategy and business.

I am just here to share and listen and learn... as the rest of you who are committed to the greater good of the Adelaide Footy Club.
+1 with a 10 year old who always makes us stay to the end....not Saturday, wanted to leave at 3/4 time.