Pets

• Thread starter Thread starter Dan

Had the day off on Thursday, so we took "the mutts" to the beach. Here's a few pics.

6402587087_9db62df584.jpg

6402579847_d46aa7e705.jpg

6402584761_f65fd473d8.jpg

6402577069_0b99b3041c.jpg

As you can see Archie loves the water, Marvin, not so much, we have to keep him on lead because he wanders away from the beach and doesn't always come when called.

Jack sleeps on the couch. The family are against having him sleep in the kennel outside, fair enough. He spends more time on top of it like its some sort of alter/throne :p than he does in it.

Hey Dan, how strong is that temporary fencing, if you don't mind me asking?

Is it strongly secured at each end?

We occasionally have the need to separate feuding pets.

Hey Dan, how strong is that temporary fencing, if you don't mind me asking?

Is it strongly secured at each end?

We occasionally have the need to separate feuding pets.

Yeah pretty secure, the pets can't get around or through it. We rented the fencing because of the chooks. The dogs weren't the problem, it was the chooks that would constantly peck at them.

The chooks showed no fear and they were cunning little evil shits :p

They no longer live with us anymore, they are living on a farm at a mates place. The temporary fencing will be gone in couple weeks.

Yeah pretty secure, the pets can't get around or through it. We rented the fencing because of the chooks. The dogs weren't the problem, it was the chooks that would constantly peck at them.

The chooks showed no fear and they were cunning little evil shits :p

They no longer live with us anymore, they are living on a farm at a mates place. The temporary fencing will be gone in couple weeks.

Thanks. I'll investigate further.

Our chooks were rescued from a battery hen place that was closing down. Before they got to our place they had never stood up, or walked, as far as I know. They didn't know what dirt or grass was and they struggled to walk.

It took them a few weeks to adapt and now they're fine.

I know what you mean about the dogs and the chooks. If the hens want to go from A to B and the lab (Tyson) is in the way they peck him and he moves.

I think they know who they're dealing with. They wouldn't try anything with the Maremma. In fact we never let them out when she's out of her yard.

They lay from time to time, but we give most of the eggs away. We don't like eggs that much.

Had the day off on Thursday, so we took "the mutts" to the beach. Here's a few pics.

6402587087_9db62df584.jpg

6402579847_d46aa7e705.jpg

6402584761_f65fd473d8.jpg

6402577069_0b99b3041c.jpg

As you can see Archie loves the water, Marvin, not so much, we have to keep him on lead because he wanders away from the beach and doesn't always come when called.

Archie looks like he HATES waters, NOT. Poor Marvin he's lumbered with a big happy active puppy. He is older than Archie and a rescue dog isn't he ? Mine don't mind the ocean but have a take it or leave it attitude.

Thanks. I'll investigate further.

Our chooks were rescued from a battery hen place that was closing down. Before they got to our place they had never stood up, or walked, as far as I know. They didn't know what dirt or grass was and they struggled to walk.

It took them a few weeks to adapt and now they're fine.

I know what you mean about the dogs and the chooks. If the hens want to go from A to B and the lab (Tyson) is in the way they peck him and he moves.

I think they know who they're dealing with. They wouldn't try anything with the Maremma. In fact we never let them out when she's out of her yard.

They lay from time to time, but we give most of the eggs away. We don't like eggs that much.

Chooks wouldn't last long in my yard if they were let loose. Snack on two legs as far as my dogs are concerned.:D

Archie looks like he HATES waters, NOT. Poor Marvin he's lumbered with a big happy active puppy. He is older than Archie and a rescue dog isn't he ? Mine don't mind the ocean but have a take it or leave it attitude.

The photos of Archie in particular remind me of the old (Carey era) late summer photos of the boys training down at the beach as part of pre-season training.

Now they trek through the snow!

Marvin is actually younger by about 6-12 months, but as anyone who has Labs would know, they are puppies for a long time (it's like they go from puppy to old dog with no time in between). At 5 1/2 Archie is still in puppy prime:)

Marv was adopted from another family member who could not keep him due to a change in circumstances, we adopted him (not technically a rescue dog).

A common sight at the beach (and at home) is Archie trotting around with Marvin about 4 inches behind like a little caboose. It's just that Marv likes to explore the Boobyallas at the top of the beach where we can't see him and beyond them is a road and houses. Not having been trained as a puppy he does not always come when called and is not at all road savvy.

His lead is a long retractable one and he still runs around and enjoys himself.

The photos of Archie in particular remind me of the old (Carey era) late summer photos of the boys training down at the beach as part of pre-season training.

Now they trek through the snow!

Would love to take the dogs to the snow to see how they react especially Archie, we get snow about 30-40 minutes away from home a couple of times a year, but haven't had the chance to get there with the dogs.

Marvin is actually younger by about 6-12 months, but as anyone who has Labs would know, they are puppies for a long time (it's like they go from puppy to old dog with no time in between). At 5 1/2 Archie is still in puppy prime:)

Marv was adopted from another family member who could not keep him due to a change in circumstances, we adopted him (not technically a rescue dog).

A common sight at the beach (and at home) is Archie trotting around with Marvin about 4 inches behind like a little caboose. It's just that Marv likes to explore the Boobyallas at the top of the beach where we can't see him and beyond them is a road and houses. Not having been trained as a puppy he does not always come when called and is not at all road savvy.

His lead is a long retractable one and he still runs around and enjoys himself.

My boo boo, don't know where I got that idea from.

Through trial and error I've discovered mine have had some training, they sit when asked and at meal times, will come when called, sometimes, know what "heel" means, the words "out of the kitchen/bathroom", and some other words. Not street savvy either and living on a busy road (on the island it's a busy one) I don't let them off the leash AT ALL. One time I slipped on a wet driveway during wet season, landed flat on face at full stretch and they took off, I called and Bonnie stopped so managed to get her, took a few minutes to talk Clyde into coming back.

They get excited when they hear the sound of a whipper snipper as they think it's the guy who mows my yard, recognise the Woollies/Coles delivery van when it pulls up and mega disappointment when it's only going to the neighbours. Just had a bit of a bark off here as the guy across the street came home and I think it was their way of saying "hello it's mark". No sneaking around here.

All you pet owners don't forget to sign your pet up for membership of the NMFC.

Had to call the membership department just now and my two are now members at $30 each. Can't wait to put their North medallion on their collars.

december182010001.jpg

Bonnie's excited to be a Roo Dog

dogssept2011002.jpg

and so is Clyde

Nice to see another staffy around here :thumbsu:

In my mind mate they are the best dogs ! smart and loving and just all round great dogs really ... my boys never been aggressive to other dogs or people and loves kids couldnt ask for any more !!

I like the look of your boy too mate hes a good looking pooch as well ! :thumbsu:

In my mind mate they are the best dogs ! smart and loving and just all round great dogs really ... my boys never been aggressive to other dogs or people and loves kids couldnt ask for any more !!

I like the look of your boy too mate hes a good looking pooch as well ! :thumbsu:

He's a good looking fella HB. Being two he must keep you on your toes.

I'm biased but I reckon my two are the best dogs. :D They're Lovers not fighters. :thumbsu:

Hey guys.

Moving out with the missus early next year, and providing we can find a place that allows pets, she was keen on getting a Rotti pup, anyone had any experience with them before?

They're not puppies for long and need a lot of time spent on them, like all dogs really. Exercise, Exercise and lots of hugs and discipline. Not cheap to buy/feed either.

Good luck with whatever you choose to buy. Maybe google the Rottie sites and get as much info as you can.

I'm biased but I reckon my two are the best dogs. :D They're Lovers not fighters. :thumbsu:

Nah, both wrong, Labs rule:p.

(hope this doesn't turn in to some bigdog.com bay 13 equivalent shit fight, ha ha).:D

Different strokes / Different folks etc. they are all great and we all love 'em

Were all biased when it come to our pooches :D and yep he definately keeps me on my toes ... sitting nice and calm one minute and the next hes trying to get into everything he's not supposed to ! funny thing is with dogs they know what they're not allowed to do but they will still give it a go.... he loves to test the boundaries cheeky fella :thumbsu: