UmpiringFooty
Proud member of the BFUA
- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- North Melbourne
- Other Teams
- Geelong
- Banned

Take them both to the park and play fetch with the tenterfield terrior. Or bring both dogs inside and bring a soft toy that the terrior likes to play with and play inside. That's what I do when I'm house sitting at my sister in law's place. (you saw the pic of Izzy and Rexy)HELP!!! Any advice will be much appreciated.
I'm dog sitting two LITTLE dogs for three weeks, this is first week. One is 16, deaf and part blind and a sweetie, the other is 3, part Tenterfield terrior and active. Most the time the 3 yr old is great but the staffy over the back fence is being MEGA territorial when we go outside and I throw the ball for the 3 yr old, a female. I have a BIG back yard and we play ball close to the house, I throw it across the yard. Most the time she ignores him but at least twice a day, morning and late arvo she won't let it rest and will run up and down the dividing fence, a high pailing one with golden cane along the neighbour's side..The staffy's owners aren't home during the day and they do check him when he goes nuts in the late arvo. I've just had to calm the situation just now, squirting them both with the hose, didn't really work but have managed to get "my" dogs back inside..Do any of you in here have similar problems and what have you done to sort it out? One would think the staffy would be used to "my" two little ones by now....but no. I'm going out shopping soon and have a huge cage thingy that I will put these little dogs in., for their own safety really.
That staffy is lucky my late two are no longer with me..Bonnie would have let him known who was the BOSS.
HELP!!! Any advice will be much appreciated.
I'm dog sitting two LITTLE dogs for three weeks, this is first week. One is 16, deaf and part blind and a sweetie, the other is 3, part Tenterfield terrior and active. Most the time the 3 yr old is great but the staffy over the back fence is being MEGA territorial when we go outside and I throw the ball for the 3 yr old, a female. I have a BIG back yard and we play ball close to the house, I throw it across the yard. Most the time she ignores him but at least twice a day, morning and late arvo she won't let it rest and will run up and down the dividing fence, a high pailing one with golden cane along the neighbour's side..The staffy's owners aren't home during the day and they do check him when he goes nuts in the late arvo. I've just had to calm the situation just now, squirting them both with the hose, didn't really work but have managed to get "my" dogs back inside..Do any of you in here have similar problems and what have you done to sort it out? One would think the staffy would be used to "my" two little ones by now....but no. I'm going out shopping soon and have a huge cage thingy that I will put these little dogs in., for their own safety really.
That staffy is lucky my late two are no longer with me..Bonnie would have let him known who was the BOSS.
Play with both dogs inside your place. They will love it. Especially if they are little dogs. There's nothing better for them to be inside and up on your lap with a few soft plush toys around the younger playful one.
With the staffy if you know it's name tell it to shut up. He probably will listen to you.
We used to tell a dog that was next door to my family's holiday house to be quiet. As he would bark at Tigger. Funny thing was I met this other dog and he was the exact same breed as what Tigger was but was called Jack. So I would call out to jack to him to be quiet. He shut up after I told him off.
What are they like when they see a cat?
My sister in law's dogs will chase cats off the property and if they see the neighbour's cat from over the road (Drew Petrie's parents live opposite them) comes over to the front garden the dogs bark. But when I put on a video from youtube of a cat purring both dogs think it's a weird noise and start tilting their heads.I don't know..hee hee..my next door neighbour has a cat that adopted them but hardly ever see it. My money would be on the cat. Tho she let up a few barks the other night when a rock wallaby was grazing in the back yard..poor thing had two fences to climb to escape. There's a horse ranch around the corner from my street which goes past a paddock and the first time the little younger dog, Duskie, spotted the two horses, she was "yap yap yap"..LOL. Got told to "sssssssh". My two late dogs may they R.I.P. never bothered about the horses tho the first time one of the horses and Clyde clapped eyes on each other it was a "what the" moment. My yard is like a zoo at times, possums, wallaby, birds, the odd snake, lizards, all happening here. Thankfully the possums come out late at night and walk along a 6ft high fence and dogs are snoring by then.
he wasn't a happy camper on the drive there, he's not used to cars, not to mention being in a moving one, at one stage half of his body was under my feet while I was trying to drive. Was a little scary for a little bit as I was trying to navigate traffic 
Took my dog into the vet tonight to get treated for an abscess on his foot, and a hayseed deep in his ear. They told us he'd have to stay overnight while he's treated under anesthetic. Feeling very sorry for my mate at the momenthe wasn't a happy camper on the drive there, he's not used to cars, not to mention being in a moving one, at one stage half of his body was under my feet while I was trying to drive. Was a little scary for a little bit as I was trying to navigate traffic
![]()
Hope all goes ok for you and dog mate, what's his name? Breed? Got any pics?
Cheers Baz. Name is Aussie, he's a BC x Kelpie. I've got heaps of ripper pictures of him that we took of him on our new camera but BigFooty won't let me upload any due to the size which is a shame. I'll have a dig around for a smaller one.
![]()
There we go, Aussie enjoying an ear-scratch.
Just had a call from the vet. They're concerned the abscess is in fact a tumour, but they'll closely monitor it.
Cheers Baz. Name is Aussie, he's a BC x Kelpie. I've got heaps of ripper pictures of him that we took of him on our new camera but BigFooty won't let me upload any due to the size which is a shame. I'll have a dig around for a smaller one.
There we go, Aussie enjoying an ear-scratch.
Just had a call from the vet. They're concerned the abscess is in fact a tumour, but they'll closely monitor it.
Awww, he's beautiful.
Hope you receive good news from the Vet.