Pets

• Thread starter Thread starter Dan

HELP!!! Any advice will be much appreciated.

I'm dog sitting two LITTLE dogs for three weeks, this is first week. One is 16, deaf and part blind and a sweetie, the other is 3, part Tenterfield terrior and active. Most the time the 3 yr old is great but the staffy over the back fence is being MEGA territorial when we go outside and I throw the ball for the 3 yr old, a female. I have a BIG back yard and we play ball close to the house, I throw it across the yard. Most the time she ignores him but at least twice a day, morning and late arvo she won't let it rest and will run up and down the dividing fence, a high pailing one with golden cane along the neighbour's side..The staffy's owners aren't home during the day and they do check him when he goes nuts in the late arvo. I've just had to calm the situation just now, squirting them both with the hose, didn't really work but have managed to get "my" dogs back inside..Do any of you in here have similar problems and what have you done to sort it out? One would think the staffy would be used to "my" two little ones by now....but no. I'm going out shopping soon and have a huge cage thingy that I will put these little dogs in., for their own safety really.

That staffy is lucky my late two are no longer with me..Bonnie would have let him known who was the BOSS.

I'm dog sitting two LITTLE dogs for three weeks, this is first week. One is 16, deaf and part blind and a sweetie, the other is 3, part Tenterfield terrior and active. Most the time the 3 yr old is great but the staffy over the back fence is being MEGA territorial when we go outside and I throw the ball for the 3 yr old, a female. I have a BIG back yard and we play ball close to the house, I throw it across the yard. Most the time she ignores him but at least twice a day, morning and late arvo she won't let it rest and will run up and down the dividing fence, a high pailing one with golden cane along the neighbour's side..The staffy's owners aren't home during the day and they do check him when he goes nuts in the late arvo. I've just had to calm the situation just now, squirting them both with the hose, didn't really work but have managed to get "my" dogs back inside..Do any of you in here have similar problems and what have you done to sort it out? One would think the staffy would be used to "my" two little ones by now....but no. I'm going out shopping soon and have a huge cage thingy that I will put these little dogs in., for their own safety really.

That staffy is lucky my late two are no longer with me..Bonnie would have let him known who was the BOSS.
Take them both to the park and play fetch with the tenterfield terrior. Or bring both dogs inside and bring a soft toy that the terrior likes to play with and play inside. That's what I do when I'm house sitting at my sister in law's place. (you saw the pic of Izzy and Rexy)
Luckily both dogs are playful. Izzy's a little more playful than what rexy is. Rexy will play tug of war with you. Izzy plays fetch with you. They get a walk every day when it's not freezing weather and not extremely hot weather. Let the neighbours know that you're dog sitting and that their dog is constantly barking. Tell them tomorrow night that you're worried that their dog is scaring the other two dogs that you are looking after.

Tough situation when there's only three weeks up your sleeve Gab, normally time would see both sides settle down as the dogs get to know each other, they are both probably just wanting to defend territory/family and the barrier between just heightens the issue. Maybe let the Tenterfield play for a while in the whole back yard without the excitement of the the ball? Not a real lot you can do in such a short time in my opinion, sorry, but others may have some ideas.

Thanks guys for your input. The neighbours are aware, they are nice people actually, and have a "sin bin" for their dog. So do I so yesterday when things got "willing" I put little one in it. Throwing the ball in the park down the road isn't an option as it's not fenced and dogs off lead is a NO NO here due to the native wildlife and lots of bush land around. Walks have helped, even the older dog gets a spring in his step when it's walkies. I'll just keep my eyes and ears pealed for any ruckus and sort them out. The funny thing is that the first time the dogs came for just a visit, she took off to the house when the staffy got the barks up, but since then has her brave pants on. LOL.

Play with both dogs inside your place. They will love it. Especially if they are little dogs. There's nothing better for them to be inside and up on your lap with a few soft plush toys around the younger playful one.
With the staffy if you know it's name tell it to shut up. He probably will listen to you.
We used to tell a dog that was next door to my family's holiday house to be quiet. As he would bark at Tigger. Funny thing was I met this other dog and he was the exact same breed as what Tigger was but was called Jack. So I would call out to jack to him to be quiet. He shut up after I told him off.

Play with both dogs inside your place. They will love it. Especially if they are little dogs. There's nothing better for them to be inside and up on your lap with a few soft plush toys around the younger playful one.
With the staffy if you know it's name tell it to shut up. He probably will listen to you.
We used to tell a dog that was next door to my family's holiday house to be quiet. As he would bark at Tigger. Funny thing was I met this other dog and he was the exact same breed as what Tigger was but was called Jack. So I would call out to jack to him to be quiet. He shut up after I told him off.

I've triend the "be quiet Dexter" "shut up Dexter" "pull your head in Dexter" and so has his owners..he's just over territorial IMO. Besides needing a freaking good RUN..their backyard is really small, more for entertaining than an active breed and they don't have a front fence.

One of the little ones I'm looking after is 16 or 17, deaf and part blind and I have to keep an eye on where he wanders cos if he heads towards the back fence I have to get him because the yonger one will race up and IT IS ON!!! I now just grab her and take her inside to cool down for about 10 mins..I'm not stressing about it now as I'm the one in CONTROL.

Funny thing is the Curlews (birds) who visit my yard aren't bothered with the dogs nor they them..in fact the little dog is not so gutsy if she wanders near one,,they spread their wings and hiss and she takes off. Soooo hilarious.

What are they like when they see a cat?

I don't know..hee hee..my next door neighbour has a cat that adopted them but hardly ever see it. My money would be on the cat. Tho she let up a few barks the other night when a rock wallaby was grazing in the back yard..poor thing had two fences to climb to escape. There's a horse ranch around the corner from my street which goes past a paddock and the first time the little younger dog, Duskie, spotted the two horses, she was "yap yap yap"..LOL. Got told to "sssssssh". My two late dogs may they R.I.P. never bothered about the horses tho the first time one of the horses and Clyde clapped eyes on each other it was a "what the" moment. My yard is like a zoo at times, possums, wallaby, birds, the odd snake, lizards, all happening here. Thankfully the possums come out late at night and walk along a 6ft high fence and dogs are snoring by then.

My sister in law's dogs will chase cats off the property and if they see the neighbour's cat from over the road (Drew Petrie's parents live opposite them) comes over to the front garden the dogs bark. But when I put on a video from youtube of a cat purring both dogs think it's a weird noise and start tilting their heads.

Took my dog into the vet tonight to get treated for an abscess on his foot, and a hayseed deep in his ear. They told us he'd have to stay overnight while he's treated under anesthetic. Feeling very sorry for my mate at the moment :( he wasn't a happy camper on the drive there, he's not used to cars, not to mention being in a moving one, at one stage half of his body was under my feet while I was trying to drive. Was a little scary for a little bit as I was trying to navigate traffic :P

Took my dog into the vet tonight to get treated for an abscess on his foot, and a hayseed deep in his ear. They told us he'd have to stay overnight while he's treated under anesthetic. Feeling very sorry for my mate at the moment :( he wasn't a happy camper on the drive there, he's not used to cars, not to mention being in a moving one, at one stage half of his body was under my feet while I was trying to drive. Was a little scary for a little bit as I was trying to navigate traffic :p

Hope all goes ok for you and dog mate, what's his name? Breed? Got any pics?

Cheers Baz. Name is Aussie, he's a BC x Kelpie. I've got heaps of ripper pictures of him that we took of him on our new camera but BigFooty won't let me upload any due to the size which is a shame. I'll have a dig around for a smaller one.
1395234_10202261358512199_2055747206_n.jpg

There we go, Aussie enjoying an ear-scratch.

Just had a call from the vet. They're concerned the abscess is in fact a tumour, but they'll closely monitor it.

Cheers Baz. Name is Aussie, he's a BC x Kelpie. I've got heaps of ripper pictures of him that we took of him on our new camera but BigFooty won't let me upload any due to the size which is a shame. I'll have a dig around for a smaller one.
1395234_10202261358512199_2055747206_n.jpg

Just had a call from the vet. They're concerned the abscess is in fact a tumour, but they'll closely monitor it.

Fingers crossed for you and Aussie, he's a nice lookin' dog :thumbsu:.

btw you can use a lot of editing programs to resize pics so you can post them, just remember to "save as" to make a second file so you don't lose the original, or make a copy of the original with a different file name then resize that an post. Hope that helps.

No good mate, lets all put our fingers crossed. Vets get a bit over the top sometimes, so lets hope it is nothing :thumbsu:

Haven't looked here for a while sorry guys/gals, as it doesn't seem to be in the right spot - out of sight out of mind so to speak on my phone.

My dogs are going well...........other than Bruce (my Greyhound) catching the neighbours cat a month or so ago when I got in out of the car and he bolted. Shook the living **** out of it (he is a big boy, ultra placid normally), but after me giving a sharp right hook when I caught up he dropped it and just minor scratches/bleeding for both. Ruby my (usually protective) Ridgeback just watched the whole thing, she is scared of cats....haha

Very scary, but all good and neighbours were awesome about it as I fronted up and told them what happened and offered vet care etc.