Family & Relationships Petty Dealbreakers

• Thread starter Thread starter perthblue

The weird thing about Bali is that only a tiny percentage of Australians who go seem to acknowledge that it's (part of) a third world country and the main reason they go there is that they can't the same value for money elsewhere. If the Balinese enjoyed the same standard of living we do and their costs of living increased accordingly, tourism from Australia would be a fraction of what it is now.

i've not been to bali, but enough people that I don't respect the opinions of have told me how great it is and how I need to go with them 'next time me and the boys go' that It is at the very bottom of my travel destination wish list.
There are decent areas - the scuba diving is decent if you're into that sort of thing, and it's a short speedboat ride away from Lombok / the Gilis.

Kuta is possibly the worst place I've been to in the world. Worse than Nairobi or Dar es Salaam (which is a shithole), worse than King St on a Saturday night which is pretty close to my version of cbd hell.
I avoided bali for years due to the reputation but was pleasantly surprised by parts of the east coast on my way to Lombok.

I was going to say The Bahamas and Mexico are for rednecks, Ibiza and most of Spain and the South Coast of France are for chavs. No doubt a lot of bogans head to Bali but if youre going to ignore it entirely because you think it makes you a bogan youre likely missing out on something yourself anyway.

Having said all that f**k Kuta, seriously, weve destroyed that place.

Kuta is a shithole and I have no idea why you'd pay to go there when nicer places are barely farther away, but if I had half a dozen mates going I'd be down for sure. Some people spend a grand to go to a dusty patch 40 minutes from Moe to take ecstasy for four days and come back dehydrated, sunburnt, and ****ing depressed – you could go to Bali for essentially the same and spend five or six days swimming in pools and drinking beers and nursing hangovers talking shit with your mates. I used to look down on it but eh. Time and a place thing.

To me it's not much different to say Barcelona or Croatia, which Aussies always go to over in Europe. Croats don't have much good to say about Australians. I met a guy from one of the smaller seaside towns there and his family were in tourism for a while, housing and restaurants really, and got out mostly because it wasn't worth putting up with dickheadery. Aussies and Kiwis were the worst because Poms generally aren't paying the extra 50 quid and are set in their ways of Spain et al. You might not get Bintang written on the singlet but crews of young pricks in round sunnies and not rectangular Bollé knock offs are essentially the same when it comes to treating the local people, drinking, arrogance, and essentially just trying to root whatever.

Kuta is a shithole and I have no idea why you'd pay to go there when nicer places are barely farther away, but if I had half a dozen mates going I'd be down for sure. Some people spend a grand to go to a dusty patch 40 minutes from Moe to take ecstasy for four days and come back dehydrated, sunburnt, and ******* depressed – you could go to Bali for essentially the same and spend five or six days swimming in pools and drinking beers and nursing hangovers talking shit with your mates. I used to look down on it but eh. Time and a place thing.

To me it's not much different to say Barcelona or Croatia, which Aussies always go to over in Europe. Croats don't have much good to say about Australians. I met a guy from one of the smaller seaside towns there and his family were in tourism for a while, housing and restaurants really, and got out mostly because it wasn't worth putting up with dickheadery. Aussies and Kiwis were the worst because Poms generally aren't paying the extra 50 quid and are set in their ways of Spain et al. You might not get Bintang written on the singlet but crews of young pricks in round sunnies and not rectangular Bollé knock offs are essentially the same when it comes to treating the local people, drinking, arrogance, and essentially just trying to root whatever.
Real
If your not included then you wouldn't like it. If your on a lads holiday i'd be absolutely down.
Is Kuta really that bad?

Real
If your not included then you wouldn't like it. If your on a lads holiday i'd be absolutely down.
Is Kuta really that bad?
Kuta is ok, for what it is. Had plenty of fun times there, swim up pool bars, bars and clubs. So many better places in Indonesia, but depends what you are looking for I guess.

You'd go to the Gili Islands with your girlfriend or something on the cheap but you'd feel a bit weird being with a mate or two and spending every day basically drinking with just each other and swimming all day. Something a bit odd about that and carrying on like pissed idiots probably isn't going to make your guide appreciate you much either.

Isn't there a lot of scando girls in the Gilis? Have never made it there, but it sounds nice. Thought Gili T was supposed to be a bit of a party place. Mates on surf charters have stopped off there as they called it pussy island.

Yeah think Trawangan is but the others are a lot more older people/Chinese tourists. I guess it's all going to become popular and a road well stomped but what can you do hey.

Not sure if this is petty.
If she has more male friends than female friends.

Those who expect a text responded to within the hour or worse those who have endless text conversations and then get the shits if I sign off. FFS if something really is that important just ring me. If I'm busy or at work I can't have my phone glued to me.

The weird thing about Bali is that only a tiny percentage of Australians who go seem to acknowledge that it's (part of) a third world country and the main reason they go there is that they can't the same value for money elsewhere. If the Balinese enjoyed the same standard of living we do and their costs of living increased accordingly, tourism from Australia would be a fraction of what it is now.

True. But where else would they go? The more expensive exchange rate would be offset by a higher living standard which would hopefully result in cleaner streets and less poverty/beggers/rip off merchants. Still reckon you'd get plenty of tourism. It has (would have greater) vibe of SE Asian cities but with the beach/less overcrowding.

A lot would just stay here. Queensland is full of tourist towns that are closer, but people don't go there because it's $200 a night and $10 a beer, not $25 and $1.50.