Pev Retires

And now our most experienced midfielder after Mark McVeigh is Brent Stanton.

You can't go in with a team of 18-21 year olds. You need the experienced heads and seasoned bodies. Pev plays the in and under role. The only other midfielder currently playing that role is Jobe and he can't be expected to play it at 100% for 22 weeks.

There's infinitely more upside to keeping Peverill than getting rid of him. Why is it that once you're over 27 in AFL you're treated like you have leprosy?

Dead right. Horrible decision, and one Knights will have serious cause to regret.

Very sorry to see you go. But thanks for your tremendous commitment and dedication, Pev: you were a great servant of the club. :thumbsu:

i'm sure he'll find a new club.
he's still got 1-2 good years of footy left him.
someone will take him in the pre-season draft. :thumbsu:

unfortunate that his Essendon days will end prematurely, but i can understand and support the decision by Knights and the list management. we need to develop our midfield with new players, and Pev & JJ are not part of our plans.

goodbye Damien Peverill. i will miss you.
make sure you rip Knighter a new one at your new club. :D

It's now on the web site. And it's not retirement. Get on there and check out the scathing comments.

=========================================================
Friday, 22 August 2008
Craig Rowston for essendonfc.com.au
Page 1 of 1

Essendon Football Club today confirmed it had informed Damien Peverill he would not be offered a new contract beyond the 2008 season.

Peverill has played 142 games for Essendon since making his debut in 2001.

Essendon coach, Matthew Knights, described Peverill as one of the hardest working players he had coached or played against.

"Damien can be proud of everything he has achieved at this club. He has got every ounce out of himself as a player and set a great example for younger players that have come through the club," Knights said.

"These decisions are very difficult but we have set a direction that we want to take as club. It is important that we inject as much youth as possible into the club at the moment, particularly given the draft implications beyond this season and unfortunately that means making some hard calls and Damien was one of those."

Peverill said he understood the reasons behind the club’s decision but at 29, felt he still has something to offer at the highest level.

"I have loved being a part of the Essendon Football Club. Matthew has been up front with me and I appreciate that and understand the reasons. We are parting on good terms," Peverill said.

"I am looking forward to the next two weeks and playing the best football I can. I would like to thank my teammates and the Essendon fans for all the support they have given me during my time at the club.

"I will weigh up my options but I would like to think I can still play AFL football. My recent form has been solid and my body is in good shape. I will take some time out post-season to have a think about what I might do."
=========================================================

Thanks for everything, Pev. You gave us every ounce that you had. :thumbsu:

And good luck getting picked-up should you wish to continue your career.

Pev had to go. We need his spot on the list for another injury prone teenager. Injury prone teenagers = premierships.

Right descision IMO. Sad to see Pev leave this way, but it had to be done.

Damien Peverill has been one of my favourite players from this decade. He always puts his body on the line and never gave anything less than 100%. he was a great servant for the club. made it to AFL level the hard way. Always repected the opposition and was a great leader.

I'm gonna miss you Pev. I hope you have a nice life after football.

Pev had to go. We need his spot on the list for another injury prone teenager. Injury prone teenagers = premierships.

+1, although I think we've been pretty unlucky with our kids and things could have been different.

This decision with Pev could still work out for us, and that's why they pay the selection panel the big bucks and not us - but geez, I would have been happier if they'd found somebody who hadn't given 100% every time he ran out onto the field for us.

i'm sure he'll find a new club.
he's still got 1-2 good years of footy left him.
someone will take him in the pre-season draft. :thumbsu:

Seriously doubt anyone would take him, purely for the same reasons you are delisting him. Which clubs do you think will be interested in him, and why?

Sometimes tough decisions are made, and I think Knights is ruthless enough to make the hard calls. As much as I admire Rama's comeback, he should also be retired. A couple of years ago Laidley made a similar decision, in delisting Troy Makepeace, who was probably in our best 18. No one picked him up.

Nice to see some support for Pev on the EFC website, but it was still the right decision.

But then again, if they keep Rama then it's a very poor decision.

At a more developed club I reckon he would have been given another year, but getting all the good kids we can is crucial and I think these tough calls need to be made.

Seriously doubt anyone would take him, purely for the same reasons you are delisting him. Which clubs do you think will be interested in him, and why?

Sometimes tough decisions are made, and I think Knights is ruthless enough to make the hard calls. As much as I admire Rama's comeback, he should also be retired. A couple of years ago Laidley made a similar decision, in delisting Troy Makepeace, who was probably in our best 18. No one picked him up.

Dockers, simple
1) Why bother with recruiting staff when you can live off our crumbs
2) Solly and Pev are still the toughest midfield combo we've had
3) He'll be cheap
4) An ugly jumper takes the focus off his face
5) His stainless steel exterior won't rust in the sea breeze at Freo

That enough for you? ;)

would have rather seen pev running around next year in the red and black then dyson... oh well...

will miss ya pevs mate, you're a bloody legend!!

I always liked the guy

This guy has been getting more kicks per game than an angry mule and he works harder than a mule too! Got 33 disposals against the Doggies. He has been treated harshly by the Club - he must have pissed on the wheel of the President's car. :mad:

Nice to see some support for Pev on the EFC website, but it was still the right decision.

But then again, if they keep Rama then it's a very poor decision.

At a more developed club I reckon he would have been given another year, but getting all the good kids we can is crucial and I think these tough calls need to be made.

Caroline Wilson on "Offsiders" this morning seemed to think that Rama was going - or at least that is how I read her comments. She was talking about the large number of retirements to occur at the end of this season and singled Rama out for special mention. Does she know something we don't or is it general knowledge?

Or is it baseless supposition. I guess I shouldn't rule that out.

Caroline Wilson on "Offsiders" this morning seemed to think that Rama was going - or at least that is how I read her comments. She was talking about the large number of retirements to occur at the end of this season and singled Rama out for special mention. Does she know something we don't or is it general knowledge?

Or is it baseless supposition. I guess I shouldn't rule that out.

There was a quote in the HS from JJ today which confirmed Rama would in fact be retiring.

Good move by the Essendon coaching staff. Ramanauskas should follow. These are the decisions that need to be made for our club to move forward. That will make at least 4 places that we will fill with younger blokes next year. They are finally making the correct decisions at Windy Hill. We will give them a fitting send-off on Sunday and the club will move on with our new young and exciting list which is being built for sustained success.

Good luck in the future for all 4 blokes.

I doubt very much that Peverill will be picked up.

His only chance would be a side in the Top 8 who needs a lock down tagger.

Problem is he is not quick enough to lock down anyone as a tagger anymore. It has been three seasons since he has been any good as a pure tagger.

At least you know what you're going to get with Pev.

He'll work hard, he'll win footy and he'll get the ball going our way.

This makes Brent Stanton the most experienced midfielder on our list next season (providing we don't trade in anyone). Not sure that sits all that well with me.

At least you know what you're going to get with Pev.

He'll work hard, he'll win footy and he'll get the ball going our way.

This makes Brent Stanton the most experienced midfielder on our list next season (providing we don't trade in anyone). Not sure that sits all that well with me.

I would think that McVeigh and Welsh would be playing midfield next years based on this year even though in the past they have not been genuine midfilders.
As you would know Welsh has only started to struggle in recent weeks becasue he is playing injured. Before that he showed enough in the middle.
Its a rebuild, time for the thrid and fourth year players to step up and do their thing. If they are not up to it then the rebuild takes longer but it is time to push them along.

Ant, how do you think we're going to go in the next 2 - 3 years?

With all the delistings and retirements, Knights has shed a lot of blood which he had too.

Interested to read your thoughts on short term future.

I would think that McVeigh and Welsh would be playing midfield next years based on this year even though in the past they have not been genuine midfilders.

Between them they've played about 35 games in the midfield though.

As you would know Welsh has only started to struggle in recent weeks becasue he is playing injured. Before that he showed enough in the middle.

Yep, I don't doubt he'll become a good midfield option going forward.

Its a rebuild, time for the thrid and fourth year players to step up and do their thing. If they are not up to it then the rebuild takes longer but it is time to push them along.

Over a long season, you need options and you need experience and hardness. We've done a lot to rebuild our list over the last three years, we've lost a lot of experience and cut loose a lot of dead wood. But Pev isn't dead wood, he's playing good footy, he has experience and he isn't in his 30's.

I understand the what and the why's that have come with this decision, I just disagree with it.

Experience counts for a lot and so does setting an example to young players, highly important when you're rebuilding a list. Pev gives that.

pev definetly deserved another year given the form he is in now, but for Essendon to go forward they need to develop all the young players, harsh but good decision i think

Pev Retires