Phantom Draft - 2006

• Thread starter Thread starter HBF

LOL Macca, sorry mate. It was between Batsanis, Davey, Frawley and maybe Hurley. Once snoopdog took Batsanis I basically committed to Davey. I rate Frawley highly, just that I'd already taken two KP, wanted another mid or small. His kicking isn't *THAT* bad, runs out of defence in vein to Dal Santo.

BTW I am passing for my last pick if it comes up b4 I can get back on.

Port still really need a big bodied midfielder with alot of aggression.

LOL Macca, sorry mate. It was between Batsanis, Davey, Frawley and maybe Hurley. Once snoopdog took Batsanis I basically committed to Davey. I rate Frawley highly, just that I'd already taken two KP, wanted another mid or small. His kicking isn't *THAT* bad, runs out of defence in vein to Dal Santo.

BTW I am passing for my last pick if it comes up b4 I can get back on.

no worries, as it is I'm happy with Dawes, it's just that Davey is a favourite of mine. I wouldn't have thought that taking 2 KPP would deter you from taking a 3rd given Adelaide's current KPP stocks, but no doubt you know Adelaide's list better than me.

Port still really need a big bodied midfielder with alot of aggression.

Cheers, I ended up going best available with the first 4 picks, and will recruit moreso for need with Port's later picks. Definately still a fair few agressive big-bodied midfielders left. There's one player left I want to get with my next pick, but if he's gone, I'll go with a big-bodied midfielder.

will we finish by draft day?

I'm sure we will. Won't have time for a PS or rookie draft by the looks of it though.

There's one player left I want to get with my next pick, but if he's gone, I'll go with a big-bodied midfielder.

You have done well so far mate, could you PM me and tell me who you are considering? and which big - bodied blokes you would be keen on?

Good pickup there Irel, I wouldn't be surprised to see Venturini end up at Birsbane on the 25th.

There are several players left that I perceive to be very similar in ability, so for the first time this draft I have decided to pick based on need. Port's young KPP stocks aren't great, I think Chaplin and Carlile will hold down the defensive posts pretty well, Willits and White have shown a bit up forward, but other than that there isn't much else coming through. So I have decided to go with Dawes ahead of midfielders I rate at a similar level. Unfortunately Dawes suffered a shocking knee injury, which will keep him out of action in '07, which subsequently will see him slide a fair bit in the draft. He was touted as a 2nd round pick prior to his injury, so assuming he fully recovers, he will be a steal this late. Was one of the dominant KPP at the Champs, although was in Hawkins shadow, so probably didn't get the accolades his performances warranted. He absolutely dominated at APS level (as you would expect someone of Dawes' quality to do). He has an excellent work-rate, has great hands below his knees as well as being good overhead. Is a smart player and will keep presenting, which is what you want your CHF to do. Rarely wastes the footy when he's got it, is a good set-shot at goal, and despite his phenomenal size and strength is rather agile for his size.

That was my final pick!

Pick 72 - Hawthorn - Leigh Adams - 176 cm - 83 kgs

Will write up more on my last 2 picks tommorow, just returned from a golf trip and i feel like i have been run over by a truck :(

Pick 72 - Hawthorn - Leigh Adams - 176 cm - 83 kgs

Will write up more on my last 2 picks tommorow, just returned from a golf trip and i feel like i have been run over by a truck :(

Nice pick up Hodgey. Definitely one the guys that was on my radar for Carltons final pick at #81.

73. Richmond - Matt Austin (North Ballarat)

One of our priorities is a genuine inside midfielder who can support Polo, Tuck and Coughlan. We feel the draft is light-on for that type of player this year with few interesting us. We aren't too key on the <180cm rovers and want a tall centre-square player.

With a late-round gamble we have got out the crystal ball and gone for Matt Austin who although by no means fitting the profile just yet - should develop into a genuine centreman.

At the moment he is light, inconsistent and restricted to cameos in a very strong and deep North Ballarat midfield. Sratching the surface and looking beyond the numbers we see a guy who has some genuine talent, class and skill. A tall midfielder who can play inside, win the footy and go forward and find a goal.

He is very bottom aged and this pick is an attempt at pinching a guy who we think will otherwise be an automatic choice in the guts for Vic Country next season and therefore a likely top-20 pick in 2007.

We have to get people to start PMing their preferences to someone (happy for it to be me) if your pick is coming up and you know you wont be online for a sustained period of time.

That would defeat the purpose of this draft. It's not a 'game'.

However, if he isn't on, another poster should take the pick.

Skipping Lingsfaces' pick isn't that bad an idea. I have Snoop Dog and BFTW pick's PM'd to me and TOA is online, so we could get a few done right now. Given it's late in the draft, the chances of us being after the same player is fairly minimal, and Lingsface can take his pick when he comes back online. Thoughts?

As long as LF gets to take it later.

Everybody has been preaching the need for validity within this process. If that's to be guaranteed, it's important that LF gets his selection, otherwise it kinda undermines the entire policy.

I wouldn't normally advocate something like this, but we are running dangerously low on time.

Snoop Dog selects Robert Eddy with pick #75.

Lingsface you can still pick as soon as you come online.

I take Alex Lee with my pick. Will give a writeup tomorrow. Dont have time at the minute.

BoyFromTheWest takes Grae Grant with the following pick.

Grae Grant (Perth). 189 cm 82kg Midfield / half forward. 2 years ago tied for the Sheahan medal with Leroy. Poor 05 but fought back from a knee injury to finish season in WAFL reserves where he kicked 5 goals in one game. Good pace, reads the play well. Excellent at clearances and takes a good mark. Excellent around goals. You don't lose ability you lose confidence and he got it back.

78: Adelaide
79: Sydney
80: West Coast
81: Carlton
82: Kangaroos

Round Six:
83: Port Adelaide
84: Richmond
85: St Kilda

Round Seven:
86: Port Adelaide
87: St Kilda