Phantom Draft - Trial Run #1

ahah yehhh i always knew, as a good recruiter does ;) that guys always slip through and there will be surprises along the way.

I've actually sene this kids best this year, and i know others are sceptical. So was i after nationals but i saw him play after that and i was definately sold. he is a bargain at pick 35-40 no doubt at all!

However, i wouldn't be at all surprised if he was selected that low in the real thing- his value has dropped incredibly.

1st ROUND

1. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) ----------------------- Bryce Gibbs
2. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) ----------------- Scott Gumbleton
3. Kangaroos (Scottroo) ------------------------- Lachlan Hansen
4. Brisbane (Irel) -------------------------------- Mitch Thorp
5. Port Adelaide (johnson_26) -------------------- James Sellar
6. Hawthorn (LukeHodge15) ---------------------- Leroy Jetta
7. Geelong (Diablo14) ---------------------------- Matthew Leuenberger
8. Richmond (philhawk) -------------------------- Jack Riewoldt
9. St Kilda (Kingjames) -------------------------- Albert Proud
10. Collingwood (Snoopdog) ---------------------- Joel Selwood
11. Western Bulldogs (Grub29) ------------------- Eric McKenzie
12. Melbourne (Gilly1972) ------------------------ Clinton Benjamin
13. Fremantle (Wizard9) ------------------------- Tom Hislop
14. West Coast (Macca69/sinepari) -------------- Clayton Collard
15. Sydney (Macca) ----------------------------- Brock O'Brien
16. Adelaide (Thunderstruck) --------------------- Daniel Connors

2nd ROUND

17. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) ----------------------- Ricky Petterd
18. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) ----------------- Ben Reid
19. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) ----------------------- Chris Schmidt
20. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) ----------------- Gary Moss
21. Kangaroos (Scottroo) ------------------------- Bachar Houli
22. Brisbane (Irel) -------------------------------- James Hawksley
23. Port Adelaide (johnson_26) ------------------- Tom Hurley
24. Hawthorn (LukeHodge15) --------------------- Gavin Urquart
25. Geelong (Diablo14) --------------------------- Jarrad Harbrow
26. Richmond (philhawk) -------------------------- Caleb Mourish
27. St Kilda (Kingjames) -------------------------- David Armitage
28. Collingwood (Snoopdog) ---------------------- Nathan Brown
29. Western Bulldogs (Grub29) -------------------- Brent Renouf
30. Melbourne (Gilly1972) ------------------------- Grant Weeks
31. Fremantle (Wizard9) -------------------------- Rhyce Prismall
32. West Coast (Sinepari) ------------------------ Kirk Tippett
33. Sydney (Macca) ----------------------------- Nathan Djerrkura
34. Adelaide (Thunderstruck) --------------------- Justin Westhoff

3rd ROUND

35. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) ----------------------- Andrejs Everitt
36. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) ----------------- Jarryd Morton
37. Kangaroos (Scottroo) ------------------------- Jarryd Allen
38. Brisbane (Irel) -------------------------------- Sam Fielding
39. Port Adelaide (johnson_26) -------------------- Travis Boak
40. Hawthorn (LukeHodge15) --------------------- Josh Kennedy F/S
41. Geelong (Diablo14) --------------------------- Tom Hawkins F/S
42. Richmond (philhawk) -------------------------- Jackson Sheringham
43. St Kilda (Kingjames) -------------------------- Shaun Grigg
44. Collingwood (Snoopdog) ---------------------- Mitchell Brown
45. Western Bulldogs (Grub29) -------------------- :confused:
46. Melbourne (Gilly1972) -------------------------
47. Fremantle (Wizard9) --------------------------
48. West Coast (Macca69/sinepari) ---------------
49. Sydney (Macca) -----------------------------
50. Adelaide (Thunderstruck) ---------------------

I'm suprised he fell this far,

But Richmond pick Jackson Sherringham with their next pick. A brilliantly pacey player who has all the natural attributes to become a very good AFL footballer. I daresay his skills might need a little work, but as I mentioned, attributes like pace just can't be taught. Having already picked two KPP's in Mourish and Reiwoldt, Sherringham would be a good one to round off the draft for the Tige's. ;)

johnson_26 said:
Noooo.. Ill SelectTravis Boak, Geelong Falcons, 184cm and 82 kg. with pick 39 thank you very much...

Strong overhead midfielder, 184 cm in the mould of a cameron bruce styled centreman. Goes foward and kicks goals, has a nice leap, good hands, reasonably skilled by foot, as well a developed frame which wouldn't need much work.
Plays HFF/ CHanging on the ball (preferably centre) and will add extra class to a young and developing midfield

Great pickup J26. Was kinda hoping he'd slip though to my next pick. Oh well, my second option was..........

Gilly1972 said:

Great :rolleyes:

KING-JAMES said:
pick 43- shaun Grigg, ball magnet an best available again i reckon

Good pick up, could be a top 10 AFL midfielder if he improves his decision maiking, reminds me so much like andrew embley.

If M.Brown doesnt go soon, steal of the draft at this point almost, the next Fevola!

lads - have just arrived home.

will make selection in next 20 mins - have a couple I did not think would fall this far so need to do some final checks.

#44 - Collingwood - Mitchell Brown - 193 - 92 (Nth Ballarat Rebels)

Again very hard choice because there is another player I would have liked to take but I genuinely think this bloke was going top 30 and is now the best player still in the pool.

For those that do not know him he is from Nth Ballarat Rebels and I think is slightly bigger than his brother. Like Nathan can play a number of positions up and down the spine. Very physical and strong with hands and feet, great mark and a good kick. I think he has good awareness and could be a a real good CHF or CHB. At conclusion of champs I thought he was better than his brother but for the final game - in fact Kev Sheehan indicated he was unlucky not to be selected in the AA. Nice size and will develop well but not yet sure of best spot.

With Trav, Anthony and the two Brown boys I feel confident we have a very talented list of big blokes to take us fwd.

Interested in your comments....

Snoop Dog said:
#44 - Collingwood - Mitchell Brown - 193 - 92 (Nth Ballarat Rebels)

Again very hard choice because there is another player I would have liked to take but I genuinely think this bloke was going top 30 and is now the best player still in the pool.

For those that do not know him he is from Nth Ballarat Rebels and I think is slightly bigger than his brother. Like Nathan can play a number of positions up and down the spine. Very physical and strong with hands and feet, great mark and a good kick. I think he has good awareness and could be a a real good CHF or CHB. At conclusion of champs I thought he was better than his brother but for the final game - in fact Kev Sheehan indicated he was unlucky not to be selected in the AA. Nice size and will develop well but not yet sure of best spot.

With Trav, Anthony and the two Brown boys I feel confident we have a very talented list of big blokes to take us fwd.

Interested in your comments....

Did you consider Tom Collier? Another key position prospect who would appear to have a bit more run than the Brown boys. Also, we desperately need at least one young ruckman from this draft: come on down Sam Jacobs?

Edit: not criticising, Snoop. (I've been watching the draft with interest.)

Palmer Stoat said:
Did you consider Tom Collier? Another key position prospect who would appear to have a bit more run than the Brown boys. Also, we desperately need at least one young ruckman from this draft: come on down Sam Jacobs?

I rate mitch brown in the top 3 pure full-forwards, when he plays that position, in the draft, i think he will be a 50+ a year forward at FF, has the body, the athletisism, agility, but most importantly the footy brain, he is brilliant at bringing his crumbers into the game

Palmer Stoat said:

Yeah no problems - obviously gets a bit harder here but to be honest Tom Collier did not come into the 5 or so i was thinking of. I was probably going to go for a different type (in or out mid or ruck as you say)

I have watched Tom play maybe 5 times and I would not say he is overly quick. Also I felt that Mitchell's champs were very good and that he has an ability to play a couple of spots. Nothing against Tom but I have always thought 'rookie' with him.

philhawk said:
What's wrong with the picks? :confused:

I would have thought any Richmond fan would be happy with those boys coming. Sheringham very good player and Reiwoldt is the height replacement you need. Mourish is a talent.

When you get into this its a deep draft. Trav Boak at 40 odd is a bargain.

WESTERN BULLDOGS PICK 45- Tim Houlihan (North Ballarat Rebels)

I've taken 2 talls early and have decided to take another development midfield option.Houlihan has a huge upside athletically and on what I have seen his football is improving all the time.Probably look for a mature age key defender with the next one.

1st ROUND

12. Melbourne (Gilly1972) ------------------------ Clinton Benjamin
13. Fremantle (Wizard9) ------------------------- Tom Hislop
14. West Coast (Macca69/sinepari) -------------- Clayton Collard
15. Sydney (Macca) ----------------------------- Brock O'Brien
16. Adelaide (Thunderstruck) --------------------- Daniel Connors

2nd ROUND

17. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) ----------------------- Ricky Petterd
18. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) ----------------- Ben Reid
19. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) ----------------------- Chris Schmidt
20. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) ----------------- Gary Moss
21. Kangaroos (Scottroo) ------------------------- Bachar Houli
22. Brisbane (Irel) -------------------------------- James Hawksley
23. Port Adelaide (johnson_26) ------------------- Tom Hurley
24. Hawthorn (LukeHodge15) --------------------- Gavin Urquart
25. Geelong (Diablo14) --------------------------- Jarrad Harbrow
27. St Kilda (Kingjames) -------------------------- David Armitage
28. Collingwood (Snoopdog) ---------------------- Nathan Brown
29. Western Bulldogs (Grub29) -------------------- Brent Renouf
30. Melbourne (Gilly1972) ------------------------- Grant Weeks
31. Fremantle (Wizard9) -------------------------- Rhyce Prismall
32. West Coast (Sinepari) ------------------------ Kirk Tippett
33. Sydney (Macca) ----------------------------- Nathan Djerrkura
34. Adelaide (Thunderstruck) --------------------- Justin Westhoff

3rd ROUND

35. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) ----------------------- Andrejs Everitt
36. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) ----------------- Jarryd Morton
37. Kangaroos (Scottroo) ------------------------- Jarryd Allen
38. Brisbane (Irel) -------------------------------- Sam Fielding
39. Port Adelaide (johnson_26) -------------------- Travis Boak
40. Hawthorn (LukeHodge15) --------------------- Josh Kennedy F/S
41. Geelong (Diablo14) --------------------------- Tom Hawkins F/S
43. St Kilda (Kingjames) -------------------------- Shaun Grigg
44. Collingwood (Snoopdog) ---------------------- Mitchell Brown
45. Western Bulldogs (Grub29) -------------------- Tim Houlihan
46. Melbourne (Gilly1972) -------------------------
47. Fremantle (Wizard9) --------------------------
48. West Coast (Macca69/sinepari) ---------------
49. Sydney (Macca) -----------------------------
50. Adelaide (Thunderstruck) ---------------------

Pykie said:
Good pick up, could be a top 10 AFL midfielder if he improves his decision maiking, reminds me so much like andrew embley.
Pykie said:
I rate mitch brown in the top 3 pure full-forwards, when he plays that position, in the draft, i think he will be a 50+ a year forward at FF, has the body, the athletisism, agility, but most importantly the footy brain, he is brilliant at bringing his crumbers into the game
You're going way overboard with your praise there.

You don't just suggest that guys that will be drafted in the 2nd/3rd round are going to be Top 10 players or 50+ goal-kickers. The fact is, when they get to the AFL they'll be about 50/50 to even make it a career, if that.

Pykie said:

It wasn't a knock on Mitchell Brown, who was, I agree, very good at the U18s, but more a concern that, in the twins, we've drafted two players with -- not surprisingly -- practically identical size and athleticism. However, if the Browns really do have Collier covered for athleticism, as Snoop says, then no problems.

I'm just wary -- perhaps I've been reading too many of Weaver's posts -- about drafting too many big-bodied KPPs. We've already got Travis Cloke, who's around the 195cm (looks taller) and 100kg mark. Both the Browns look like they'll tip the scales at around the 100kg mark too after a couple of preseasons. Can one team really supprt three players of that size?

at 46, Melbourne selects - Daniel O'Keefe (Geelong Falcons) 183cm 74kg

Small forward/midfielder, still a bit skinny and raw but a good build for AFL, sure ball handler, good in traffic. Will take a little bit of time but has a lot of potential. Can play HBF, midfield or as a small leading forward, wasn't a prolific ball-winner in the champs but form has been very good and a proven goal kicker at TAC level. Feared he had done his ACL a couple of weeks ago, but was revealed to only be bruising so no worries there and he will attend draft camp......if he makes it, expect him to assume a small forward role, potentially freeing Davey up to spend more time in the midfield.

1st ROUND