Phantom Draft - Trial Run #1

Yep

PM Friday November 17 List Lodgment Two.

Our phantom draft should start 9.00AM Saturday 18th November. Everyone should have sufficient time to organise themselves to be available on that or another agreed day. Maximum of half hour to make your selection. The draft should be finished in 24 hours maximum.

irel said:
Yep

Our phantom draft should start 9.00AM Saturday 18th November. Everyone should have sufficient time to organise themselves to be available on that or another agreed day. Maximum of half hour to make your selection. The draft should be finished in 24 hours maximum.

So for folks who have sudden situations (eg the wife makes them go buy groceries, crying babies etc), they'll just PASS? Even top round picks?

BigCat2 said:
So for folks who have sudden situations (eg the wife makes them go buy groceries, crying babies etc), they'll just PASS? Even top round picks?
No, like with every other phantom draft. If you're unable to comply with the rules and regulations do not volunteer, otherwise you provide a list of preferences for your picks to another participant to post on your behalf.

Last year's phantom draft was done via PM's through a central co-ordinator. Maybe should be considered again?

irel said:
Yep

This draft wont be run over 24 hours, just isnt practical with getting 16 people online all at the same time.

Im happy for it to take 1 week, even 2 weeks.

Reasons why ????

Promote discussion about the players.

Give recruiters a chance to write up a bit of a profile for people to have a look at.

Also Snoops idea sounds good.

I reckon we should also do a little thing at the end around what our strategy was and why we selected those blokes.

Around early November would be a good time to start i reckon.:thumbsu:

Thoughts.

LukeHodge15 said:
This draft wont be run over 24 hours, just isnt practical with getting 16 people online all at the same time.

Reasons why ????

Give recruiters a chance to write up a bit of a profile for people to have a look at.

I reckon we should also do a little thing at the end around what our strategy was and why we selected those blokes.

Thoughts.

Sounds good although I'll have exams around then. Would have to start at around the 7th (at the earliest) for me to be sufficiently active. Happy to have it take a week or so, although obviously there will have to be some time limit, and contigency lists organised.

macca69 said:
Sounds good although I'll have exams around then. Would have to start at around the 7th (at the earliest) for me to be sufficiently active. Happy to have it take a week or so, although obviously there will have to be some time limit, and contigency lists organised.

At a guess, I reckon 70 Picks will be taken.

5 Picks a day for 2 weeks
OR
10 Picks a day for 1 week.

The draft slows over a day and we only get 1 pick, then we start to make some parameters.

Should be pretty easy to monitor progress and keep the draft progressing pretty well.

Maybe we could start the thing around very early November ????

We have 15 pretty keen guys here that should make this a pretty interesting game of cat and mouse.

BRING IT ON :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

The more people discus their picks and why they selected that player in a position is what i reckon we are after. :thumbsu: :thumbsu: [ Hence why i think it will take up to 2 weeks]

There will be a 100 Phantom drafts on this forum. The group gathered in this Phantom Draft has at least seen the class of 2006 play. So should make for a pretty controversial calling out of some players names at some pretty unexpected times. Also many people in this Phantom Draft have some pretty good inside infomation about certain clubs, so that should maybe make things interesting as well.

Adelaide - Thunderstruck
Brisbane - Irel
Carlton - HugeBluesFan

Collingwood - SnoopDog
Essendon - McPhee_is_a_gun

Frementle - Wizard_9
Geelong - Diablo14
Hawthorn - Lukehodge15

Kangaroos - Scottroo
Melbourne - Gilly1972
Port Adelaide - Johnson_26
Richmond - Weaver
St Kilda - KingJames
Sydney -
West Coast - Macca69/Sinepari
Bulldogs - Grub29

Update

Guys in RED are keen.

-still waiting on 4 guys.
-havent a coach for Sydney still :confused:

LukeHodge15 said:

Reasons why ????

Thoughts.

WTF, one to two weeks??? :rolleyes: The order of the draft will not be confirmed until 17th November. Starting it before 17th will not reflect the real draft at all.

I thought the point of this exercises was to get as close as possible a Phantom Draft to reflect what may happen in the real one. Doing the draft in an incorrect order and having days to make a decision makes a mockery of the process IMO.

Agree on a write up on the strategy and reasons why etc...

irel said:
WTF, one to two weeks??? :rolleyes: The order of the draft will not be confirmed until 17th November. Starting it before 17th will not reflect the real draft at all.

I thought the point of this exercises was to get as close as possible a Phantom Draft to reflect what may happen in the real one. Doing the draft in an incorrect order and having days to make a decision makes a mockery of the process IMO.

Agree on a write up on the strategy and reasons why etc...

By early Novemeber the lists should be 95% correct i reckon. I could be wrong :confused: But im assuming clubs should have swept the broom through the deadwood by then.

Want this draft as real as possible but want to promote good heathy discussion as it progress also. :thumbsu: If it means starting early November to achieve this at the cost of 1 maybe 2 clubs taking an extra pick late in the draft then i reckon its a good thing not a bad thing.

The guys in this draft have some awesome opinions and i wanna hear all of them.

Also

"My names LukeHodge15 and i have a problem, I'm a DRAFT JUNKIE, can't get enough of it :p :p "

Like i said be4, there will be 100 Phantom Drafts in this forum. Probably 1-3 a night leading up 2 the draft. Want this one heaps different to all of them.

Early November is my choice, but what do others think ???

LukeHodge15 said:
By early Novemeber the lists should be 95% correct i reckon. I could be wrong :confused: But im assuming clubs should have swept the broom through the deadwood by then.

Want this draft as real as possible but want to promote good heathy discussion as it progress also. :thumbsu: If it means starting early November to achieve this at the cost of 1 maybe 2 clubs taking an extra pick late in the draft then i reckon its a good thing not a bad thing.

The guys in this draft have some awesome opinions and i wanna hear all of them.

Also

"My names LukeHodge15 and i have a problem, I'm a DRAFT JUNKIE, can't get enough of it :p :p "

Like i said be4, there will be 100 Phantom Drafts in this forum. Probably 1-3 a night leading up 2 the draft. Want this one heaps different to all of them.

Early November is my choice, but what do others think ???

So, you are suggesting we do Phantom Draft - Trial Run version two. Nothing different or even attempt to get as close as possible to reflect the real one?

As far as opinions and comments there has been so much already written up about every possible draftee that it's almost information overload.

If you are a DRAFT JUNKIE, there will be as you say, hundreds of Phantom Drafts happening, so you'll have an opportunity to participate in as many as you like. However this one was/is to reflect the reality of the real one.

What you are suggesting is nothing different to the hundreds of others that will start soon enough on this forum.

This is what I am suggesting.

* We start once the order of the draft is known (Officially 17th November)
* Allocate a time limit of ?? for each pick
* If the participant is unable to post during the specified time, a list of their preferred choice should be PMd to another participant who has already selected for that round.
* Our Phantom Draft should be completed before Burgatron's, AFL Phantom Draft comes out. (Two days prior the real one.)

irel said:
This is what I am suggesting.

* We start once the order of the draft is known (Officially 17th November)
* Allocate a time limit of ?? for each pick
* If the participant is unable to post during the specified time, a list of their preferred choice should be PMd to another participant who has already selected for that round.
* Our Phantom Draft should be completed before Burgatron's, AFL Phantom Draft comes out. (Two days prior the real one.)

agree with all that :thumbsu:

irel said:
So, you are suggesting we do Phantom Draft - Trial Run version two. Nothing different or even attempt to get as close as possible to reflect the real one?

This isnt about getting as close to the real one at all. Its about putting ur opinions out there by selecting players u RATE and looking back in a few years and saying .......... WOW :eek: How did i select him at 4 or what a bargain he was at 53 ?

We dont want a replica draft of what is commonly already percieved as the order players will most likely go.

IMO this draft is about who U RATE & what ur clubs needs are.

Thats the way im approaching it anyways.

LukeHodge15 said:
This isnt about getting as close to the real one at all. Its about putting ur opinions out there by selecting players u RATE and looking back in a few years and saying .......... WOW :eek: How did i select him at 4 or what a bargain he was at 53 ?

We dont want a replica draft of what is commonly already percieved as the order players will most likely go.

IMO this draft is about who U RATE.

Thats the way im approaching it anyways

Who I like can not possibly be reflected in a "Phantom Draft" because guys I like may not be available at the picks I have.

Doing a Top 50 or top 80 will give you an indication of how I rate the draftees.

A "Phantom Draft" by it's very nature is about "reflecting" the real one. Otherwise why call it a Phantom Draft. Just submit your list of top 50 draftees to Grub and we'll know how you or I rate the potential candidates.

IMO it is about the skills and abilities of the participants to select according to a strategy, to analise club's needs and try to mirror their club's outcome on the day.

It's a "PHANTOM" draft exercise. It is not a list of who we rate or not. I rate Gibbs but it's unlikely I will get a chance to tell everyone why I rate him. It's pointless as I will be selecting my next, next or next choice whoever that may be at pick 4.

Personally I would like to do it over a week or so. Find it hard to do all in a night as I suspect you couldnt get everyone online on one night.

Why dont we do one before and one after Nov 17? The one before could be slower - the one after could be quicker.

Are we going to do a rookie?? Got my 170 players all listed in order now pursuant to what I think each club will be looking for.

Just read that delistings have to be finalised by October the 31st.

Happy to start things up early November.

these are the main dates from here, so theres got to be something worked out around these...

List Lodgement One
2pm Tuesday October 31, 2006. Maximum of 35 players, Rookie Promotions, Father/Son selections, Retained (second-year) Rookies

Draft Nominations Close
2pm Wednesday November 15

List Lodgement Two
2pm Friday November 17

Delisted Players Nominations Close
2pm Wednesday November 22

2006 NAB AFL Draft, held at Victory Room, Telstra Dome
10am Saturday November 25

Uncontracted Listed Players Nominations Close
2pm Tuesday November 28

List Lodgement Three and TPP Estimates; International Rookie Player Nominations
2pm Friday December 1

Delisted Player Nominations Close
2pm Friday December 8

NAB AFL Pre-Season Draft
10am Tuesday December 12

NAB AFL Rookie Draft
10.30am Tuesday December 12

it looks to me like we wont know how many picks or who will be available till 17th nov.

HugeBluesFan said:
Perfect Hodgey.
Why not start on Nov 1?

If the 1st is on a weekend it could be a problem ? Derby day.:D

But yeah i reckon around the 1 st could be a goer. :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Even if we do it on the 17th, we will be guessing to some extent as to how many picks clubs will be using in the pre-season draft.

LukeHodge15 said:
If the 1st is on a weekend it could be a problem ? Derby day.:D

But yeah i reckon around the 1 st could be a goer. :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Even if we do it on the 17th, we will be guessing to some extent as to how many picks clubs will be using in the pre-season draft.

The 1st is a Wedneday. Why not start it at say 12 midday or something. That way we can start it when most people are at work, and you have an allotted time to make yur pick.

If you don't, you miss out and someone (Maybe you Hodgey) could take the pick for them.

We can't let it drag out like it did before.

LukeHodge15 said:
That's the point of a phantom draft? Certainly you'll be guessing how many picks clubs leave for the PSD if you do it now or the 17th. Even Burgatron's on AFL.com has PASS as a selection. What's the rush? We all know you're a draft GURU. If you want to show the rest your exceptional knowledge of the draftees post the profiles of your top 50 or 80 or 100. Whatever! But if you want to do a Phantom Draft than lets do one giving it all the respect and seriousness it deserves.

I'd rather do a Phantom Draft to get as close as possible to reflect the real one. By the 17th we will know just about as much as there is to know about the club's lists and perhaps their intentions.

irel said:
That's the point of a phantom draft? Certainly you'll be guessing how many picks clubs leave for the PSD if you do it now or the 17th. Even Burgatron's on AFL.com has PASS as a selection. What's the rash? We all know you're a draft GURU. If you want to show the rest your exceptional knowledge of the draftees post the profiles of your top 50 or 80 or 100. Whatever! But if you want to do a Phantom Draft than lets do one giving it all the respect and seriousness it deserves.

I'd rather do a Phantom Draft to get as close as possible to reflect the real one. By the 17th we will know just about as much as there is to know about the club's lists and perhaps their intentions.

i think i agree with this.

by the way hodgey, any chance of getting some copies of the tapes youve got off you? im hanging to watch some footy already ;)

irel said:
That's the point of a phantom draft? Certainly you'll be guessing how many picks clubs leave for the PSD if you do it now or the 17th. Even Burgatron's on AFL.com has PASS as a selection. What's the rush? We all know you're a draft GURU. LOL Thats funny, Scott Clayton is worried already about his job already:D :D:D :D If you want to show the rest your exceptional knowledge of the draftees post the profiles of your top 50 or 80 or 100. Whatever! But if you want to do a Phantom Draft than lets do one giving it all the respect and seriousness it deserves.

Thats where i will be playing a different game to u. U gotta back ur opinion on the players that u have seen and predict wether they will make in the big time.

IMO this draft is about who U RATE & what ur clubs needs are.

Will be drafting absolutely, towards my teams needs and will structure my draft picks accordingly. But u gotta back ur judgement on the players u have seen during the year IMO.

Be interesting to hear some of the other recruiters opinions ??