the ranger

Portland Trailblazers
An article on Mal Brown's stupidity (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/mal-brown-hits-bedrock-bottom/story-e6frf9jf-1225881099000) contained this snippet about Phil Egan in his early days at Richmond:

Then there was Phillip Egan, nicknamed "Flagons" at Richmond in the early 1980s, an insult to his race with an insulting and unwarranted implication for him.
Brown Sr would be well advised to read the following from an interview by his friend Jon Anderson with Egan in the Herald Sun in 2006.
Egan told Anderson: "That (nickname) was given to me by Mark Jackson before my first game.
"That d---head said it so a couple of other players could hear and they picked up on it.
"But some (teammates) didn't like it and an under-19 player named Adam Pearson led the charge. He said, 'We can't have this' and asked me what I thought of it.
"I told him I was devastated and that my mum was in tears when I told her what some of them called me.
"So there was a team meeting and it was decided I would be known as Jacky . . . it gave me a stronger link to my Aboriginal identity. I didn't take it as derogatory and my mum was happy."
If Malcolm Brown chooses to emulate Mark Jackson, well . . . unusual, to say the least.

I'd never heard that before. Pretty shameful stuff but I'm glad it was sorted out in the end. Whatever became of Adam Pearson? Did Maurice Rioli or Michael Mitchell suffer the same kind of treatment?

Really poor form by Mal Brown, and just maybe indicative of his age and generation. Racism is by no means eradicated, but we all seem to be better educated in the ramifications of such derogatory comments these days. For f*** sake it's not the 1950's anymore.
The Phil Egan nickname was attrocious and not surprising it came from a meathead like Mark Jackson. No place for that type of crap in our great game.

For the record I wish we could stop seeing the media add former Richmond player (or legend!, WTF about 14 games or so?) Mal Brown, we want nothing to do with this flog, as every time he opens his mouth he drags the club back further into the dark ages.

Jacko, described as a dog of a bloke at every club he played for.

Imagine what is was like back then for aboriginal players with a mug like him walking around the place.

Adam Pearson came through the 4th at Richmond. He played Juniors at Tally Ho Junior Football club (Chadstone FC/ formally Syndal Tally Ho). He went on to play in a Premiership at Mitcham FC under the coaching of Ron Thomas. I met him at a reunion. If you contact Mitcham Past players you are likely to catch up with him. PS I randomly saw Adam in a photo on VFL facebook page and was searching him up myself and saw this feed.

ha , cheers mate i played tennis with his sister and recall his old man, a milkman would bring in the BIG M for the team , im talkin over 45 years ago lol

Played against Tally Ho as a junior. I was a tiny mid, but (chest out) B & F player. One game the coach took me off worried for my safety. And funniest thing I've seen on a footy field, one of their big bad arses chased one of our players around for must have been 5 mins or more... The ump let the game go for a while, but eventually everyone stopped and watched the chase around the ground. No one knew what to do.
Sorry to Phil Egan. Not sure how to get it back on track mods!

Played against Tally Ho as a junior. I was a tiny mid, but (chest out) B & F player. One game the coach took me off worried for my safety. And funniest thing I've seen on a footy field, one of their big bad arses chased one of our players around for must have been 5 mins or more... The ump let the game go for a while, but eventually everyone stopped and watched the chase around the ground. No one knew what to do.
Sorry to Phil Egan. Not sure how to get it back on track mods!
Similar memories of playing against Tally Ho. We had two games called off due to all in brawls. The ground was an absolute mud pit. Different times. Fond memories, funnily enough

That's nothing, try playing against Port Colts as a 10 year old. They all looked and played like Jake King, but they were bigger and nastier.