Phoenix's 2016 Phantom Draft

He was quite dominant in a midfield role last season with players like Keays and Wagner he's had a rather poor championships this year though I do think he has the tank to play midfield though because he showed it last year
You're right in that he played a much better role through the midfield last year and looked like a really exciting prospect for 2016. He hasn't shown that as much this year yet and I suspect with his height and the importance of KPPs, he'll end up developing more as a swinging KPP rather than a mid.
I hope he pulls out a great performance on Wednesday and I can move him back up the draft.

All correct except for this part. Any first round bid that is matched with a single pick does not get another pick back but gets the 90 points banked to be used in future years or at the end of the draft if you have a deficit. Guess its to stop having a single first round pick turned into a player and another pick.
Cheers for the feedback and the information.
I'll look at incorporating this into my next update.

Who the $%&* is Adam Hunter and why do you think Allison plays like him?
Was a defendet for the eagles. In 05/06 worsfold started chucking him forward and he was single handley able to change the momentum of the game when he went forward. Key cog in the 06 premiership.

From that vision Allison might be more like Embley.

Thanks for your comments.

Yeah Ainsworth and Gallucci would be a good outcome for the first 2 rounds, there are plenty of players around those picks I fancy as well.
It's going to be interesting to see if Carlton look to take their picks to the draft once more or target more young talent from GWS (eg. Steele/Marchbank/Tomlinson etc).

I'm really torn on which way to this year. The GWS deal sounds exciting and those players could help out immediately and would hasten our list revamp, whereas going the draft route is probably the way I would go. Either way I have faith in SOS and his team to make the right call.

SOS certainly has the runs on the board at the moment after building up GWS' list and now seeming to have to re-invigorated Carlton's too!

Phantom Draft - Round 1

1. Essendon - Hugh McCluggage
Best case scenario: Robbie Gray
185cm, 75kg, MID, North Ballarat Rebels
If Essendon keep the number 1 pick I believe they'll go for the silky skilled McCluggage. Essendon have been crying out for a dominant mid with high scoreboard impact for years and they can fill this need while taking one of the best mids in the draft. Has been improving week by week and is finding more and more of his own ball through the midfield, improving his contested side of the game while maintaining his outside dominance. If he continues to improve at the rate he has over the past year, could be just about anything.

2. Brisbane - Sam Petrevski-Seton
Best case scenario: Michael Long
181cm, 76kg, MID, Claremont Tigers
Petrevski-Seton gives Brisbane the skillful polished mid that they need to complement their hard-nosed midfield group. Also can go forward and have a strong scoreboard impact there and looks ready to go from round 1.

3. (Bid from Gold Coast) GWS (Using Collingwood's 1st rounder) - Harrison Macreadie
Best case scenario: Cale Hooker
196cm, 89kg, KPD, Henty
At this point I see no reason why Gold Coast wouldn't want to bid here for Macreadie. 1) Gold Coast could definitely use another strong KPD 2) If GWS match the bid, which they will, that just pushes Bowes further down the pecking order meaning they have to pay less for him. Possibly the most dominant KPP in the draft and a no-brainer decision for GWS to match.

4. Gold Coast - Will Brodie
Best case scenario: David Mundy
187cm, 80kg, MID, Murray Bushrangers
I believe that neither Essendon or Brisbane will want to put in bids at 1 or 2 - they both need the good news story of getting the player they most wanted out of the draft and I rate McCluggage and SPS as better prospects than Bowes anyway.
In such a case Gold Coast will be licking their lips for Will Brodie, the best contested mid in the draft. Looks strong enough to play from round 1 and may have as big an impact as Patrick Cripps early in his carrier. Will need to improve his scoreboard impact to become an elite midfielder but isn't far away. Gold Coast have been crticized in the past for going after the "flashier" type of players and if available Brodie will provice a bit more of the midfeild grunt they need.

5. (Expected Bid from Fremantle) Gold Coast (Using Melbourne's 1st rounder) - Jack Bowes
Best case scenario: Travis Boak
187cm, 78kg, MID, Surfers Paradise
Expect a bid from Fremantle and a no-brainer decision to match by the Suns. If they pull off this draft of Brodie and Bowes it will go a long way to off-setting possible defictions such as Prestia in the long-term.

6. Fremantle - Andrew McGrath
Best case scenario: Gavin Wanganeen
179cm, 75kg, MID/GEN DEF, Sandringham Dragons
Fremantle have youth needs right across the board and I think they'll just look at taking the best available. McGrath has been dominant across the Div1 Championships, whether being played in the midfield or down back. Especially loved his game when switched on to Ainsworth and was able to shut him down in the air as well.

7. Richmond - Daniel Venables
Best case scenario: Paul Chapman
186cm, 81kg, MID/GEN FWD, Western Jets
A high impact mid/forward who adds star class. Hasn't been s prolific as I'd like through the championships but when he gets it, good things happen. Has very good scoreboard impact and a high retention rate for having the majority of his posessions forward of centre.

8. Carlton - Ben Ainsworth
Best case scenario: Brad Johnson
179cm, 74kg, MID/GEN FWD, Gippsland Power
Ainsworth is a difficult one to place, a dominant forward throughout his junior years but at a height just under 180cm and mainly playing as a lead up forward he may slip down the pecking order. After drafting a couple of big forwards in the first round last year, a future forward line of McKay, Curnow and Ainsworth looks like it could be very dangerous. If Curnow and Ainsworth develop the ability to rotate through the midfield and McKay in the ruck this could really help their versatility as well.

9. Port Adelaide - Todd Marshall
Best case scenario: Darcy Moore
197cm, 87kg, KPF, Murray Bushrangers
Best available KPF prospect in this draft at the moment. Port Adelaide have a clear need to improve their KPF stocks and I think will look to do so if Marshall is available here.

10. (Expected Bid from St Kilda) GWS - Harrison Perryman
184cm, 75kg, MID, Collingullie
Best case scenario: Joel Selwood
Seems like a slight bloke and needs to hit the weight rooms once drafted, but at the moment he makes up with this with his aggression at the packs and smooth movement. Wins a lot of contested footy and GWS will be very happy to match just about any bid for him.

11. St Kilda - Jarrod Berry
191cm, 80kg, GEN DEF, North Ballarat
Best case scenario: Bob Murphy
St Kilda will be wrapped to get Berry here. Decent kicking skills and decent 1-on-1 ability in the back line, if not exceptional in either. Loves to run the footy forward out of the back 50 and is the type of player you really want in modern footy to capitalize on turn overs.
Provides strong leadership skills and can fit really well into a young team.

12. North Melbourne - Josh Rotham
Best case scenario: Andrew Mackie
192cm, 79kg, KPD/GEN DEF/MID, West Perth
Speaking of captilizing on turnovers, Rotham has been solid down back and with his strong athletic ability and height, he's exactly what North Melbourne would be looking for to improve their backline. Can play on talls or smalls and may even develop into a midfielder.

13. West Coast - Sam Powell-Pepper
186cm, 83kg, MID, East Perth
Best case scenario: Dustin Martin
Big bodied contested player that just goes hard at the contest. Not prolific but you can really feel his impact in the game, unlike a lot of other inside mids where sometimes you can hardly even notice them get the footy and suddenly they're on 20 possessions, you notice Powell-Pepper each time he attacks a contest.
Has been widely criticized for his disposal, and probably rightly so, however a lot of his possessions are under a lot of pressure as he bursts through packs and looks to drive the ball forward. This may, however, see him slip further down if clubs really focus on foot skills.

14. Western Bulldogs -Jack Scrimshaw
193cm, 80kg, KPD/GEN DEF, Sandringham Dragons
Best case scenario: Grant Birchall
With Boyd and Murphy getting on in age, I think it's the perfect time for them to pick up a player like Scrimshaw, have him develop under those two for the next couple of years to look to replace their position after that. Another one that can play on either talls or smalls down back and rebound the ball really well from defensive 50.

15. Adelaide - Jonty Scharenberg
186cm, 80kg, MID, Glenelg
Best case scenario: Matt Priddis
Adelaide will be stoked to pick up one of the best SA talents while also replenishing their inside mid stocks with Scott Thompson's possible upcoming retirement.
A strong, prolific inside clearance player who loves to tackle but needs to improve his disposal efficiency and scoreboard impact. Seems a natural footballer, has been ultra consitent and may be picked up before this.

16. (Expected Bid from Hawthorn) GWS (Using Geelong's 1st rounder) - Will Setterfield
190cm, 80kg, MID, Sandringham Dragons
Reminds me of: Ryan Griffen.
GWS will match this bid and be happy about it. A very tall midfielder who has the scope to do just about anything with his size and athletecism.

17. Hawthorn - Josh Battle
192cm, 90kg, KPF, Dandenong Stingrays
Best case scenario: Jack Darling
Battle is a hard one to judge. A smallish KPF in modern footy at 192cm but I've been impressed with what I've seen so far with both his 1-on-1 ability and his disposal by foot, including some pin-point I50s after leading up out of the arc.
With the unfortunate uncertainty around Roughead and the loss of Franklin some time ago I think Hawthorn will be happy to boost their KPF stocks.

18. Sydney - Jy Simpkin
181cm, 71kg, MID/GEN FWD, Murray Bushrangers
Best case scenario: Nick Dal Santo
Talented midfielder/general forward who could be the best/most damaging kick in the draft, however his season has been cut very short with a serious leg injury earlier this year.
Depending on his recovery he could be the steal of the draft, though he needs to develop his contested posession rate and this may be further reduced after his injury rather than developed.
Awesome work mate always very hard to do.. Agree McCluggage will go 1 at this stage and the academy boys will all drop. Bowes like Boak suprised me... has been compared to Pendlebury since u15s state carnival.
Sam PowellPepper will go outside top 20 imo. Poor foot skills and rarely gives the first option always takes them on trying to be a hero.
McGrath has impressed this carnival however McCluggage would be fav for the Lark medal at this stage

Awesome work mate always very hard to do.. Agree McCluggage will go 1 at this stage and the academy boys will all drop. Bowes like Boak suprised me... has been compared to Pendlebury since u15s state carnival.
Sam PowellPepper will go outside top 20 imo. Poor foot skills and rarely gives the first option always takes them on trying to be a hero.
McGrath has impressed this carnival however McCluggage would be fav for the Lark medal at this stage
Interesting comments on SPP - which I largely agree with as well. His possessions are really make or break, he has done some really awesome things but some terrible things too. He is leading the Clangers in the Div1 championships - having had 14 clangers from 36 touches, however 8 of those are frees against (also leading FAs). By all reports he is an amazing athlete and he will have a very good highlights reel. Does a club look to harness this talent and iron out his discipline/skill errors or not take the risk?

Great effort, its hard to get a lot of information when you cant get to any games, trust me I know haha.
You propose a few interesting points in this PD, first is your personal rating of Jacob Allison, it is possible his year drags him back a couple picks but I wouldn't expect him to go that late due to the credits his earned through last year. I think with the lack of KPF's in this years draft, you may of underrated Sproule. I love the idea of putting Pitman higher, I think Scharenberg and Graham have played very well although Pitman has gone unnoticed and could be a draft bolter. Also, I'm very unsure about McGrath, his performances in the U18 champs have been fantastic, I think he has a great chance of going high, but maybe pick 6 will be the highest he can go due to the talent ahead of him.

Great effort, its hard to get a lot of information when you cant get to any games, trust me I know haha.
You propose a few interesting points in this PD, first is your personal rating of Jacob Allison, it is possible his year drags him back a couple picks but I wouldn't expect him to go that late due to the credits his earned through last year. I think with the lack of KPF's in this years draft, you may of underrated Sproule. I love the idea of putting Pitman higher, I think Scharenberg and Graham have played very well although Pitman has gone unnoticed and could be a draft bolter. Also, I'm very unsure about McGrath, his performances in the U18 champs have been fantastic, I think he has a great chance of going high, but maybe pick 6 will be the highest he can go due to the talent ahead of him.
Thanks for the feedback.
Allison is definitely an interesting one - showed a lot last year but I feel he has slowed down massively this year. Keen to see how he goes tomorrow, hope he does well and I can push him back up the order but we shall see.
Sproule is one that has had a really good championships so far and I can definitely see him get bid on earlier. I admit I have not focused as much on the academy players as I just assume they'll all be picked up be their academy affiliates. We also saw a few players last year who were bid on a bit later than expected (eg Kennedy and Keays), will be interesting to see how that pans out this year.
Pitman is one I love and feel he has had a very strong championship. He's leading I50s (21) with a DE of 79% and tackles (27) while also have 5 goal assists, kicking 3 himself. Admittedly he's had an extra game to play but he's still got a bit of a lead on the next player non-SA player in both tackles (Mutch - 22) and I50s (Bolton - 16). Amazing stats. Next update may have him even higher, the main thing holding him back is his size (177cm).
McGrath is possibly one of my personal favorites. Just loved the job he did a couple of weeks ago when switched onto Ainsworth who was dominating at the time and then beat him a few times in the air, taking the contested mark himself. Has also shown real leadership abilities, ability to turn a game and ability to dominate through the midfield.

Thought I'd give the AA team a go before it's released in 30min.

FB: McGrath Macreadie Scrimshaw
HB: Graham Cox Rotham
C: McCluggage Brodie SPS
Foll: English Clarke Scharenberg
HF: Scheer Battle Venables
FF: Ainsworth Kerr Marshall
I/C: Bowes Pitman Perryman Mutch

My guess is you have no idea on Brisbane's needs and haven't been paying attention Brisbane need running defenders a small forward and Midfielders not tall defenders our tall defenders are set we just need to keep putting games into them
Thank you for your feedback - I do agree that Brisbane need running defenders but I think Brisbane do need at least one more quality KPP given their current KPP stock's performances and development.
Regarding the players I picked for Brisbane:

Ainsworth - A small forward/possible future midfielder (as you suggest they need)
Rotham - I see him developing into that more medium sized running type as you stated rather that a KPD (as in a Mackie/Enright type) as well as providing good leadership skills in the back line down the track which is needed.
Powell-Pepper - Dynamic midfielder that can also play forward of center
Cox - A quality KPP that can also provide quality rebound from defensive 50 which Brisbane lack.
Allison - Would be looking at hopefully developing into a midfielder, otherwise more of a medium defender or forward.

really appreciate the effort Phoenix, takes some gumption to put yourself out there with a PD, my thoughts on who you have us taking-

Ben Ainsworth a big tick for us and i don't mind Sam Powell-Pepper. i wouldn't be going Rotham if Simpking was available (you have him as the very next pick). also would definitely take Witherden over Cox whom you also had as still available. would love Berry to slide down to our pick 16.

i feel a draft of Ainsworth, Simpkin, Powell-Pepper and Witherden would fit needs a bit better than who you have us taking.

really appreciate the effort Phoenix, takes some gumption to put yourself out there with a PD, my thoughts on who you have us taking-

Ben Ainsworth a big tick for us and i don't mind Sam Powell-Pepper. i wouldn't be going Rotham if Simpking was available (you have him as the very next pick). also would definitely take Witherden over Cox whom you also had as still available. would love Berry to slide down to our pick 16.

i feel a draft of Ainsworth, Simpkin, Powell-Pepper and Witherden would fit needs a bit better than who you have us taking.
Thanks for that - I feel Rotham is still a really good fit for Brisbane while also being best available but can see where you're coming from. I really like Berry as well and I wouldn't rule him out as a top 10 candidate (I have him at 11 in my power rankings) as he still looked really impressive at times throughout the year despite ongoing injuries and was obviously AA last year as an underager. Clubs probably just won't want to take the risk that high so he certainly could get to Brisbane's second pick.

I see Scheer as being much more than an inside mid - I see him likely starting as a high half forward as he is very strong overhead and damaging forward of center. I can also see Bulldogs rating him best available here.
This is a really good effort Phoenix! I hear Carlton are in to SPS which means GC might end up with Brodie at 6... either way I think we would be happy...
Intresting that you have Scheer going last pick of the first round.. that would definitely make GC think twice about automatically matching but I hope they still would as he is a talent and as a local ,very valuable... it would be a good move by the Bullies, very strategic.. I reckon Rotham might suit them better or Cox.. at least I hope so because if Scheer is taken one spot lower, it makes a massive difference to the Suns with their 4 second round picks next year...
One question, do you think Bris and GC may look after each other and not bid on each others Academy players?

This is a really good effort Phoenix! I hear Carlton are in to SPS which means GC might end up with Brodie at 6... either way I think we would be happy...
Intresting that you have Scheer going last pick of the first round.. that would definitely make GC think twice about automatically matching but I hope they still would as he is a talent and as a local ,very valuable... it would be a good move by the Bullies, very strategic.. I reckon Rotham might suit them better or Cox.. at least I hope so because if Scheer is taken one spot lower, it makes a massive difference to the Suns with their 4 second round picks next year...
One question, do you think Bris and GC may look after each other and not bid on each others Academy players?
Wouldn't shock me at all if Brisbane didn't bid on Bowes, obviously there will be know outward collusion between the clubs but there could be on the inside.
The bid on Bowes could come anywhere and it wouldn't shock me if it went:
1. Ess - McClugg/McGrath
2. GWS - McClugg/McGrath
3. Bris - Ainsworth/SPS
4. GC - SPS/Ainsworth
5. Carl - Brodie
6. GC - Taranto
7. GC - Bowes (bid from Fremantle)

Even so, it doesn't might not even make a difference who GC end up taking.

RE: Scheer, GC will be crossing their fingers and toes he is bid on in the second round as I doubt they would hesitate to match that.

This will be my final phantom draft before the real thing on Friday. Going to post it now as it will be too tempting to change following EQ/Twomey's phantoms.
I'm also going to post it here rather than update the first page because A) unfortunately I've been very time poor the last couple of weeks so haven't been able to do pick by pick write ups as I wanted to and B) at least it's transparent in you being able to see what has changes since my previous update.
I tried to provide a mix of best available and needs when it was reasonably close.

1 Essendon ---------------- McCluggage
2 GWS -------------------- McGrath
3 Brisbane ---------------- Ainsworth
4 Gold Coast ------------- Taranto
5 GWS - matched bid ---- Setterfield
6 Carlton ------------------ SPS
7 Gold Coast -------------- Scrimshaw
8 Gold Coast matched bid - Bowes
9 Fremantle --------------- English
10 Sydney ----------------- Brodie
11 Gold Coast ------------- Berry
12 North Melbourne ------- Florent
13 West Coast -------- ---- Venables
14 GWS - matched bid ---- Perryman
15 Adelaide ---------------- Simpkin
16 Port Adelaide ----------- Hayward
17 Brisbane ---------------- Logue
18 Port Adelaide ----------- Marshall
19 Bulldogs ---------------- Rotham
20 Sydney ----------------- Gallucci
21 Essendon --------------- Battle
22 Brisbane ---------------- Powell-Pepper
23 Brisbane ---------------- Witherden
24 St Kilda ----------------- C. Cox
25 Gold Coast-matched bid- Scheer
26 Geelong ----------------- Ridley
27 Carlton ----------------- Kerr
28 Bulldogs ---------------- Bolton
29 Richmond --------------- Begley
30 Collingwood ------------- B. Cox
31 Essendon -------------- Clarke
32 Port Adelaide ----------- Scharenberg
33 GWS - matched bid ---- Mutch
34 Port Adelaide ----------- L. Ryan
35 GWS - matched bid ---- Spoule
36 North Melbourne ------- Parfitt
37 North Melbourne ------- Fisher
38 GWS - matched bid ---- Macreadie
39 West Coast ------------- Garthwaite
40 Coll - matched bid ------Brown
41 Fremantle -------------- Graham
42 GWS - matched bid ---- Cumming
43 St Kilda ----------------- Maibaum
44 Geelong ---------------- Drew
45 Brisbane matched bid-- Allison
46 Fremantle -------------- S. Walker
47 Essendon --------------- Williamson
48 Coll - matched bid ----- Daicos
49 Geelong ---------------- Lipinski
50 Adelaide ---------------- Atley
51 Sydney ----------------- Duman
52 Melbourne ------------ Poholke
53 Carlton ----------------- Romensky
54 WCE - matched bid ---- Waterman
55 Sydney ----------------- Long
56 Bulldogs ---------------- Himmelberg
57 Adelaide ---------------- Guelfi
58 Richmond -------------- Morrish
59 St Kilda ---------------- Stengle
60 Collingwood ------------ Lyons

Draft summary by club: (keeping in mind I have only done up to pick 60)

Ade 15. Simpkin 50. Atley 57. Guelfi
Bris 3. Ainsworth 17. Logue 22. Powell-Pepper 23. Witherden 45. Allison
Carl 6. SPS 27. Kerr 53. Romensky
Coll 30. B. Cox 40. Brown 48. Daicos 60. Lyons
Ess 1. McCluggage 21. Battle 31. Clarke 47. Williamson
Freo 9. English 41. Graham 46. S. Walker
Geel 26. Ridley 44. Drew 49. Lipinski
GC 4. Taranto 7. Scrimshaw 8. Bowes 11. Berry 25. Scheer
GWS 2. McGrath 5. Setterfield 14. Perryman 33. Mutch 35. Sproule 38. Macreadie 42. Cumming
Hawks ---
Melb
52. Poholke
NM 12. Florent 36. Parfitt 37. Fisher
PA 16. Hayward 18. Marshall 32. Scharenberg 34. L. Ryan
Rich 29. Begley 58. Morrish
St K 24. C. Cox 43. Maibaum 59. Stengle
Syd 10. Brodie 20. Gallucci 51. Duman 55. Long
WCE 13. Venables 39. Garthwaite 54. Waterman
WB 19. Rotham 28. Bolton 56. Himmelberg

Bris 3. Ainsworth 17. Logue 22. Powell-Pepper 23. Witherden 45. Allison

first one i have seen with Logue going that low, would love those 5 it if that is what happened on the night and can't see anybody i would prefer that you had as still available at our selections. plus of course we would match Declan Watson later on in the draft as well.