Photo scandal - we're next

From what I gather Gilbert cohersed her into having group sex with other players, got her pregnant and then abandoned her. Now IF this is all true we have to remember that she is/was a 16 y.o at the time.

For women in their twenties with a little more experience of how the world works you can say (but yet be pointed to as a caveman) that they should have known what they were getting into BUT this is a 16 y.o for christ sakes ... I remember how I was at that age ... you think you know everything and you know nothing. You can make huge mistakes at that age given the crowd you hang around with. Sure she seems like a bit of an attention seeking twit ... but weren't we all at that age?

Footballers can get the pick of women at bars and clubs etc ... I am sorry but when they are picking up 16 y.o for lewd sex games that is just taking it too far. Gilbert deserves everything he gets and more. Anyone else who was involved with her as well ... big shame on them for mine.

For all those that never had a thing to do with her (possibly Roo) then I do feel for him and I would be stamping Gilbert's papers!

I cannot say I agree with a 16 y.o going out with anyone older than 18 but the law is the law ... but on purely moral grounds group sex and the like using a 16 y.o with you and your mates in your mid to late twenties is just taking it way too far.

There is right and there is wrong and if your moral compass can see nothing wrong with that then I suspect you have already bought your first class ticket to hell.

Well said mate. .. especially the part in bold. .. She might have been stupid but what teenager isn't a little stupid and impressionable. ..

Most teenagers can be stupid and impressionable.
This one though has set up an agenda and looks likely to follow through to the endth degree, irrespective of court rulings.

I'm surprised good old Max hasn't grabbed her yet and taken her under his wing.
Keep an eye out for a nice spread (excuse the pun) in a mens magazine within the next 12 months.
She knows what she is up to, don't you think?

I cannot say I agree with a 16 y.o going out with anyone older than 18 but the law is the law ... but on purely moral grounds group sex and the like using a 16 y.o with you and your mates in your mid to late twenties is just taking it way too far.

I went to Uni from the ages of 28-34, and dated/ hooked up with a heap of girls in the 18-21 year old age range.

I saw nothing 'immoral' with it. Just a whole heap of awesome.

There is right and there is wrong and if your moral compass can see nothing wrong with that then I suspect you have already bought your first class ticket to hell.

Looking forward to it.

It is an interesting debate and no doubt there is an element of blame on all sides. It would appear that the saints players that got involved with her in the first place were sailing very close to the breeze and that she was just barely legal and I dont doubt the girl was subsequently poorly treated or at the very least I believe that she believes she was poorly treated. Legal or not, a 16 year old girl is impressionable and fragile. Surely they knew this or at the very least should have. What are the various seminars and sessions they do telling them?

And Gilbert, man does he have some splaining to do. What it suggests, although there is no evidence of it, it certainly points to a network and embedded (no pun intended) culture of lewd picture sharing among players that extends beyond teammates to be AFL wide. How else can we explain that she seems to have pics of more than just the few saints players initially involved. Unless of course that turns out to be a BluePrider and she doesnt have any more pics. She has threatened and the deadlines pass but this could also mean that she does have the pics but the legal threat is now scaring her.

To some the Saints admins actions now look like those of a bully, having won their injunctive order stopping her they want to pursue her further. If I was their public relations manager I would be counselling them to offer her compassion, therapeutic counselling and looking to end the saga rather than prolonging it.

Perhaps some good can come from this though. Perhaps yet another code of ethics will be disseminated to the players and more of them will start to understand the true hidden text in the social contract they enter into when they sign on to be AFL players and the AFL will learn that saying you have a respect for women code is not enough, you have to live it not just say you will and that in future when another woman is caught up in an "incident" the AFL will do more than attempt to protect their brand at all costs.

Spot on 30YB

I went to Uni from the ages of 28-34, and dated/ hooked up with a heap of girls in the 18-21 year old age range.

I saw nothing 'immoral' with it. Just a whole heap of awesome.

Looking forward to it.

Dude, I think he's talking about coercing a 16 year old school girl into group sex with a bunch of intimidating famous guys. Doesn't exactly sound like your uni days, but I'm sincerely glad you enjoyed them.

All of the above, it must be remembered is alleged by the way.

What evidence is there that she was coerced into group sex?

She herself has admitted that she actively pursued footballers...

Although seriously, what sort of moron would ever want to hook up with someone this emotionally immature?

There is a cult of celebrity in this country, as there is in most western countries and the end result of this obsession are people with a bigger opinon of themselves than should be the case and a sense of being bullet proof. Just ask Ben Cousins.

People being wronged by others occurs all the time in our society but because of who is involved in this situation it is blown out of all proportion.

I have compassion for the teenager involved here, emotionally she is still a juvenile and her reaction is not neccessarily unexpected. However she pursued AFL footballers searching for what, glamour and celebrity by association?, a serious relationship?, I don't know but I believe its been established that she was not forced into being with them.

Conversely I have compassion for the players who have been unceremoniously dumped in the public spotlight, particularly the ones who have had nothing to do with the girl. However, I find it hard to fathom that Gilbert if he was the 'boyfriend' had no idea she was only 15 or 16.

This is a society wide issue and unfortunately for AFL players they are still 'just' members of our society, are not bullet proof and need to act accordingly; ie have respect for yourself and those you come into contact with and use that mushy thing in your head called your brain, because if you don't any wrong you commit, if it makes the public arena, will be magnified many times.

There are no winners here and the only positive is that perhaps we might stop and think about how we conduct ourselves towards others, regardless of our station in society.

This would be a massive wake up call for footy players, should they choose to take notice and should be a wake up call for the rest of our society. However, unfortunately I am supremely confident something of this nature will occur again, whether it be by a 'celebrity' or one of the rest of us.

As Benny put it, such is life.

What evidence is there that she was coerced into group sex?

She herself has admitted that she actively pursued footballers...

Although seriously, what sort of moron would ever want to hook up with someone this emotionally immature?

This is the one thing we'll never know - what exactly what was said between Gilbert and KD. Did he promise her the world, did the "I'm serious about you, I'll take you home to meet my parents," etc, or was he pretty blunt about his intentions? And what did she say? Fact is, we'll never know. One thing though, she was 16 for crying out loud and he should've known better.

At day's end, if he got her pregnant at 16 and shirked his responsibility, then i don't really blame her for being p*ssed off and wanting to vent anger. And while her actions are probably quite excessive and misdirected, they're understandable if he got her pregnant.

Hmmm. Not so sure how well thought out this opinion is.

Even if you believe St Kilda's side of the story.

Zac Dawson was clearly 'involved' with a girl he met in school uniform.

He may or may not have made her pregnant. If he did, he shirked his responsibility when the going got tough.

I don't know if you've noticed but 16 year olds (as she was then), can quite often do immature things. So if you sleep with one, (allegedly) cause them to become pregnant and also happen to leave explicit photo's of famous people in their vicinity, you probably should take some responsibility for some extremely foolish actions.

So far he has only taken responsibility for taking and keeping photos of his teammates on his computer in compromising positions (which, in NDS's case is already pretty weird behaviour).

Yes, the simplistic argument is that these photo's are private property and shouldn't be distributed, but when you piece together the whole story, St Kilda's hands are pretty damn dirty. 'Good on St Kilda'? Hmmmm.

Its not hard to get.

Dont worry about all the allegations but just the facts here.

She consented and somewhere along the line a St Kilda player has mistreated her, in her view.

She planned to do this, it wasnt like Fevola who is just stupid enough to send them to mates. Fevola isnt a nasty bloke, far from it he just doesnt use his brain.

If she hadve come out and said, "It was immature, I really shouldnt have stolen someone elses property that wasnt mine".She instead comes out and wants an apology from the Saints players.

How many times, have we seen a AFL footballer be found guilty or been at fault with any sexual incident with a woman?

Same in rape cases, the men are always presumed guilty and names are dragged through the mud for the majority of the time the case is thrown out.
However rape is a serious issue, and not all women are lying.

We expect AFL players to be regular members of the community and not be given special treatment, but if this was a local trip (and it happens often) no-one would batter a eye lid.

Its still not too late, but she wont change her attitude because she a selfish and vindictive lady.... no 'chick' is a better word that describes her.

She may be immature, but she has brain and knows exactly whats shes doing.

If she was right, why have her parents basically disowned her?

Why do these St Kilda players deserve for private pictures to be put out in the wider community?

BP, I guess lara bingle could ask the same question about her picture.

At day's end, neither the Saints or Bingle deserved to have their pictures spread wide and high.

But why do we blame KD for spreading the Saint boys and say Bingle shouldn't react when her picture was spread? Fev didn't go to the media, but he clearly passed it on, knowing that it would be passed on again.

Why do these St Kilda players deserve for private pictures to be put out in the wider community?

They may not deserve it but everybody is and should be accountable for their actions. The player was told to delete them and he didn't. Now he would never have thought ahead to this current situation as being a possible consequence but it would never have got to this if he had done as requested.

You're not going to be able to predict the future but the future doesn't give a s**t whether you deserve it or not.

BP, I guess lara bingle could ask the same question about her picture.

At day's end, neither the Saints or Bingle deserved to have their pictures spread wide and high.

But why do we blame KD for spreading the Saint boys and say Bingle shouldn't react when her picture was spread? Fev didn't go to the media, but he clearly passed it on, knowing that it would be passed on again.

Intentions were sooo different and thats the sticking point for me.

Fevola didnt want the world to know, and this bloke has an IQ of a napkin and just wanted to have a laugh. Yes the results are similar but he isnt a nasty bloke and i can forgive him for that.

Kim Isabella Duthi is just a nasty person.

Intentions were sooo different and thats the sticking point for me.

Fevola didnt want the world to know, and this bloke has an IQ of a napkin and just wanted to have a laugh. Yes the results are similar but he isnt a nasty bloke and i can forgive him for that.

Kim Isabella Duthi is just a nasty person.

Yep, agree Fev didn't want the world to know, but he certainly wanted a lot of people to know. Bingle didn't want anyone to know. Yes, he ain't a bright spark, but is Kim Duthi?

Seeing this girl on youtube she looks like a girl wrecked emotionally and confused, rather than a nasty person. Let's say if a footballer got your sister pregnant at age 16 then p*ssed off in reaction your sister ran to the media, would you say she was nasty or just confused?

Its not hard to get.

Dont worry about all the allegations but just the facts here.

She consented and somewhere along the line a St Kilda player has mistreated her, in her view. *Yes, her assertion is that she was left pregnant without the father taking responsibility. That's her issue. She's not asserting rape.

She planned to do this, it wasnt like Fevola who is just stupid enough to send them to mates. Fevola isnt a nasty bloke, far from it he just doesnt use his brain. *Fevola isn't 17 years old.

If she hadve come out and said, "It was immature, I really shouldnt have stolen someone elses property that wasnt mine".She instead comes out and wants an apology from the Saints players.

How many times, have we seen a AFL footballer be found guilty or been at fault with any sexual incident with a woman?

Same in rape cases, the men are always presumed guilty and names are dragged through the mud for the majority of the time the case is thrown out.
However rape is a serious issue, and not all women are lying.

We expect AFL players to be regular members of the community and not be given special treatment, but if this was a local trip (and it happens often) no-one would batter a eye lid.

Its still not too late, but she wont change her attitude because she a selfish and vindictive lady.... no 'chick' is a better word that describes her.

She may be immature, but she has brain and knows exactly whats shes doing.

If she was right, why have her parents basically disowned her?

I think you need to separate whatever feelings rile you about this girl from the clear lack of judgment on both sides of this problem. You bring up the issue of rape a few times. This girl is not asserting that she was raped. She is asserting that she was left pregnant at 16 and dumped by the father who refused to take responsibility. Then ignored by the AFl and the St Kilda Football Club. This is her assertion.

As for her parents, I wouldn't take their point of view as any indication of anything. All evidence suggests that they have guided her very poorly.

She is asserting that she was left pregnant at 16 and dumped by the father who refused to take responsibility. Then ignored by the AFl and the St Kilda Football Club

Like all the womans groups keep telling us, AFL players are just like the rest of the community.

This doesnt give her the right to do what she did.

Other innocent people have been hurt by her.

Thank god the law will catch up with this chick and might put her back on the right road and put her off and other girls in pursuing celebrities for a bit of fun.

Apparently she has a personality disorder.

Whatever that is.

She appears to have problems, be they emotional or whatever, and its reasonably safe to say she lacks maturity (IMO). For what its worth, so does Fevola (also IMO).

But clearly 'consent' is not the issue here. She had capacity to consent (in both the legal and practical sense). Im not going to distinguish between gender and go easier on her becasue she's a chick. She made a poor decision, but the decision was hers to make.

Shes obviously upset, and arguably being at least a little vindictive.

Dont get me wrong, I feel for her, Ive been 'played' myself. But I certainly didnt respond (and nor do I condone her response) like this.

I recall a situation in America where the opposite opccured. A 17 year old guy forwarded lewd photos of his ex gf she had sent him (she was 15) to his classmates after she ditched him. He got done for child pornography as a result (and was charged as an adult under the relevant US law) and was placed on the sex offender register.... for ever.

I was sypathetic (the punishment didnt fit the crime) but at the end of the day, what he did was wrong. When Fevola did it it was wrong. When this girl did it, it was wrong.

Apparently she has a personality disorder.

Whatever that is.

you can check it here

That ain't too good if she suffers from personality disorder, depending on the degree. Explains a lot, though

About 10 years back I went out with a girl with a personality disorder, it lasted a whole six weeks. Some of it was UNBELIEVABLY wild, but basically her emotions were all over the place, amongst other things. She was extremely unpredictable, ie. "I'm round the corner and pick you up in 30 secs," then role up 20 minutes later talking about some bizarre car crash that never occurred.

Personality disorder can be more unpredictable than depression.

She wasn't nasty, was actually a real good person, but trying to deal with her emotions was f*cking me up. Hence the 6 weeks

Like all the womans groups keep telling us, AFL players are just like the rest of the community.

This doesnt give her the right to do what she did.

Other innocent people have been hurt by her.

Thank god the law will catch up with this chick and might put her back on the right road and put her off and other girls in pursuing celebrities for a bit of fun.

I don't know if it's even worth writing this because you seem to be missing the point.

Not I nor anyone I've read on this post is arguing that this girl had a right to do what she did. The conversation has largely been about discussing Dawson's behaviour with regard to taking the photo's, storing them and his alleged involvement in a teenage pregnancy (which is a matter of conjecture).