Phuket

Stayed at the Horizon Beach Resort. Pretty good. Been in both October and September.

Don't eat at the hotel's, can eat for 1/5 of the price at the local resturants. A good one is Subai Subai, but you can work out were a good place to eat is for yourself.

Depending on family, who your going with tours I would really reccomend would the the John Gray See canoes, pretty expensive(100 Aussie Per Person), but worth every penny, and then some. Something I will remember for my entire life. Also Fantasea a stage show, the Thai version of 'Varekai' by Cirque De La (Sp?)

You'll find plenty to do, a trip around the island is good on a motorbike. Happily share anymore info if ya want. Good holiday destination. Not sure if you know but Patong is very 'Western' and built exactly to target tourists. If your looking to be in the 'town' bars, clubs, nightlife, shopping Patong is perfect, if your just looking to laze around, maybe look at Karon or Kata to the south or maybe Bang Tao Bay to the north(Probally abit to quite).

Depends who he is going with. Wouldn't take a family to Laos. Can't comment on Cambodia as I have never been.

Laos is great though.

Looking to go to Phuket (Patong) sometime in April or July, just wondering if anyone here has been there? Where did you stay? How was it?

Cheers

I went to Bangkok and Phuket in March 2007. I stayed at the Patong Merlin in Phuket and it is by far the best hotel in Thailand. If you walk to the back of the hotel you have the beach. I went with my mum and stepdad, it is suitable for most ages.

There are places for families, men and women. At the back of the hotel, just a bit down the road the have an Australian bar where you can go and watch the footy, A.F.L of course, at the front of the hotel, all women's dreams come true, they have a huge market with clothes, makeup, jewellery, watches, wallets, handbags, everything that a women could ever ask for.

For the family, the have resturants down the road from the hotel, if you are looking for non-thai things to eat. The thai-boxing is more of a guy thing, but we all went to it, and it was a fun night.

A few places that i recommend to go to is the Siam Cobra Show and across from that is a shooting range and also to viit the island safari where you can ride an elephant, watch the elephants perform a show and also feed them for a little bit extra.

I went to Bangkok and Phuket in March 2007. I stayed at the Patong Merlin in Phuket and it is by far the best hotel in Thailand. If you walk to the back of the hotel you have the beach. I went with my mum and stepdad, it is suitable for most ages.

There are places for families, men and women. At the back of the hotel, just a bit down the road the have an Australian bar where you can go and watch the footy, A.F.L of course, at the front of the hotel, all women's dreams come true, they have a huge market with clothes, makeup, jewellery, watches, wallets, handbags, everything that a women could ever ask for.

For the family, the have resturants down the road from the hotel, if you are looking for non-thai things to eat. The thai-boxing is more of a guy thing, but we all went to it, and it was a fun night.

A few places that i recommend to go to is the Siam Cobra Show and across from that is a shooting range and also to viit the island safari where you can ride an elephant, watch the elephants perform a show and also feed them for a little bit extra.

How many times have you been to Thailand?

Amari Coral is also a top hotel, located on its own private beach

I stayed at the Sheraton Grande Laguna, really nice hotel. Been there twice now. It is about 20 minutes from Patong which can be annoying if you want to go into town a lot. It all depends on what you want to do, relax or shop ? Hire a boat and go on a trip to the Phi Phi islands for a day, you can go snorkeling and stay away from the big ass boats with heaps of people on them.

Stayed at the Merlin Beach Resort about 5 mins over the hill from Patong. Its the sister resort to the Patong Merlin one in town. This place was amazing. 3 massive pools, situated in between 2 beaches either side and close enough to Patong to be not far away from the shops/bars etc. Would highly recommend this place.

The only other Resort in Patong that looked anywhere near as good was the rebuilt Holiday Inn.

Yer Holiday Inn looks fantastic. Knew people staying there when we were there. Rooms are really nice and the pools are good aswell. Pretty pricey though.

I went to Bangkok and Phuket in March 2007. I stayed at the Patong Merlin in Phuket and it is by far the best hotel in Thailand.

My parents have stayed at both Patong Merlin and Merlin Beach that is 5 minutes away (by shuttle bus) and both said the Merlin Beach was a hell of a lot better than Patong Merlin. Although it was a lot further from the main strip.

im going to phuket in 2 weeks...what's the nightlife there like? Am pretty interested as im going with about 6 other mates and were looking to go out a fair bit, but relax as well. We just miss out on the full moon party which is shattering

the full moon isnt in phuket. the nightlife in phuket is great. when i went i reckon the banana disco is the best nightclub there. went to tiger and a place called safari which both wernt bad. plenty of bars there, couple of good irish pubs, theres an aussie bar which is alright.

Bannana Disco is sweet. Defo go there.

Go Bangla Road at night. The Aussie Bar and the Dragon Bar are two I reccomend. Nightlife is great.

im going to phuket in 2 weeks...what's the nightlife there like? Am pretty interested as im going with about 6 other mates and were looking to go out a fair bit, but relax as well. We just miss out on the full moon party which is shattering

Fantastic if your into Thai prostitutes...

If not it's a bit hard as the are in every bar/club just about in Patong (apart from the pricey ones).

Bannana bar and tiger were the best joints we went to. Seductions was also ok..

tons of tourists around so meeting new people is really easy!!

Fantastic if your into Thai prostitutes...

If not it's a bit hard as the are in every bar/club just about in Patong (apart from the pricey ones).

Bannana bar and tiger were the best joints we went to. Seductions was also ok..

tons of tourists around so meeting new people is really easy!!

haha nah i think ill steer clear of the thai girls. One of my mates is very innocent so hopefully we can get him some action with one of them

You have a better chance of the Cats going back to back than steering clear of those girls. Vororious. They will have the six of you sized up nad know about your mate before you have even sighted them. A bunch of lads is Xmas. LOl You guys would hit the falang news in Pattaya if you steer clear, it trades in exactly those kinds of stories.

But you will have a lark. The full moon parties happen on Koh Phan nhan but happen if the moon is full or not. It just gets ramped up if it is full. You can make the trip reasonably easily from Phuket if you want but if esconced and paid up in Phuket I wouldnt bother too much.

Have fun and watch your drinks.

Lived in Thailand for 3 years and there are a gazillion places better the Phuket to go to, which is barely a step above Pattaya in seediness.

It's easy to travel between Bangkok / Hua Hin / Koh Tao / Koh Phangan / Samui and from there to Krabi / Koh Phi Phi on the west side.

Koh Chang / Samet also very laid back and easy to get to from BKK.

I went to Hua Hin and stayed at the Evason Hua Hin & Six Senses Spa; it is really ****ing nice. Its chilled out, a few nice restuarants, a nice pool.. I would only go there to chill out and relax, not much else to do there.

went there last july stayed at sunset beach resort just north about 5min drive to that main strip was really good, going in april again (18-27) and staying and the novatel looked really nice last time. also heading to the full moon party too cant wait!

Maby we should have a bigfooty meet up? haha.. I fly out on the 1st Feb for 10 days, staying at the Patong Beach Hotel. The one right next to the banana disco, so hoping its allright, going with 4 other mates should be good :thumbsu: first time for me as well, kind of a graduation from uni thing!

Phuket