Pick 11

Sure enough there it was on the back page! Good stuff.

geez, back page.....what paper's that, hobart mercury? must be absolutely starved of footy news for a swans yarn to get that kinda prominence

it wouldn't even be back page at the tele in sydney, i'd think....

geez, back page.....what paper's that, hobart mercury? must be absolutely starved of footy news for a swans yarn to get that kinda prominence

it wouldn't even be back page at the tele in sydney, i'd think....

You guessed it! Shockingly thin sports section and the Swans never get a birth so it was a weclome surprise!

We need another big tall. Leo is getting old and Craig and Teddy can't take them all.

Another big forward would be nice too but we've got Grundy, Barlow and Playfair for that as well.

I wont try and pretend to know anything about Playfair but we have LRT down in defence and he looks to have a very similar body type to Playfair.

LRT is a bulkier type, i think, physically stronger
i really liked the look of LRT in our loss to the pies, he looked more composed than previously

LRT is a bulkier type, i think, physically stronger

LRT is a beanpole. Are you telling me that Playfair even thinner :eek:

i really liked the look of LRT in our loss to the pies, he looked more composed than previously

Yes he did look better but still watching him try to pick the ball up from the ground while running is still the funniest thing in the world.

There's something not quite right about that sentence.

y'reckon you can be a bit more specific???

to me, LRT looked physically stronger, more solid across the shoulders and chest, in the past he was bit of a beanpole but ... i dunno, maybe it was my imagination or wishful thinking

i still reckon he'll be a star for us, he's just going to keep improving

to me, LRT looked physically stronger, more solid across the shoulders and chest, in the past he was bit of a beanpole but ... i dunno, maybe it was my imagination or wishful thinking

I was just being sarcastic, but i suppose i can see where you're coming from, LRT definitely has bulked up over the past 2 seasons, but he's still not bulky. If Playfair is more of a beanpole than LRT, then he must be a very rangy man lol.

from memory, he is

Your right it was,nt your imagination he has bulked up in the shoulders and chest.Obviously worked hard at it during time out due to foot injury.You are also right with your earlier point that he looked good against collingwood,in fact walking out of the MCG shattered,not because we bowed out but who we bowed out to,i said to a mate he was the one positive to take out of the game.Because he is underrated my many i dont think people realise hoe much we missed him this year.Considering it was a final,after such along layoff it was a very good performance.Swans supporters have plenty to be excited about with LRT as over the next couple of years,much to peoples shock he will develop into one of the games premier defenders.So now we,ve put the Jolly saga to bed we finally agree on something positive.Oh by the way good to see you and mj23 have kissed and made up.:D

he never kissed me!!...did he tell you he kissed me???! that lying bstard, i'll never trust him again

We could get a good ruckman in John Shaw from Sandringham Dragons. He dominated against Kreuzer from what the stats say in there only encounter this year.

The Swans could be the first team in history to have 22 Ruckmen in a team.

at least we wouldnt have Leo in our team then. Geez he gets realllllllllllllly annoying. who can replace him? Haelen Kay? Vic Country representative.

haha, yeh spose, but if hes still available when our last pick comes round, i reckon take him.

Our last live pick is almost certainly going to be at no 26. You want to draft him then?

But can't agree with those who said we have enough rucks on our list. We have one solid, seasoned and pretty durable ruck who we can expect to be a mainstay. We have one excellent ruckman past his best (but still decent enough) who'll be gone in a year or two. We have one who has managed fewer than 50 games in about 7 years, is perpetually injured and probably only survived the chop because he's under contract.

Then we have an 18yo whose just left school and another whose played 3 games of AFL in his entire life.

This time next year, we could be down to Jolly, Currie and the Beanstalk.

Rucks take a while to come along and most don't make it. You need a swag of them in their early development years to increase your chances of having at least one decent one when he hits his 22nd or 23rd year. Or you have to prepare yourself to forever trade top picks to get someone half decent.

Our last live pick is almost certainly going to be at no 26. You want to draft him then?

But can't agree with those who said we have enough rucks on our list. We have one solid, seasoned and pretty durable ruck who we can expect to be a mainstay. ................
.......to get someone half decent.

I reckon u have hit the nail on the head there. Its better having more rucks than none.

I reckon he wont be gone at 26. No one has said anything about him on these phantom drafts, so there is nothing saying that he will go before then. Itd good to see him go tho, hes pretty good.

We could get a good ruckman in John Shaw from Sandringham Dragons. He dominated against Kreuzer from what the stats say in there only encounter this year.
Kruezer never rucked against John Shaw this season.

I don't believe Shaw will be picked up as there alot of other Ruckman in this draft with more upside then Shaw. If the Swans were going to select another Ruckman pick 26 might be a good time to do it as this draft has a number of potential AFL ruckman but is weak in other areas.

I would be very shocked if we don't pick up a KP in our first round, but a ruck/KP in the second round might be good. Maybe a project player like Joel Smouha? Rucks a bit but has the stamina/running ability to develop as a KP further down the track.