Pick 12

• Thread starter Thread starter MileHigh

Sheppard cant kick. For a running half back flanker his skills arnt that great as shown with a 55.7 k/e and 65% d/e...

rubbish... lets move on to something else

Where do you see Kennedy playing at AFL level C23?

Anywhere at this stage. Don't think he is restricted.

Measured in at 192cm at the DC, could be still growing as he's still only 17 so could fill out and become a KPP. Showed plenty playing as that third tall down back or even as the CHB. Could be a handful out of the square with his speed and if he can develop a little more of a tank, could push up and play on the wing. Attacks the footy, has great athleticism, speed and has really improved his footskills, great skills for a fella of his height. Can go to ground a little easy on occasions (would have a bit to do with him still being light on) and hasn't really put in consistent performance but has only been in the system for 1 year, has plenty of talent.

Could go on about him for a while (ask Splendini :p), probably won't go as high as i think due to his consistency and doesn't really have the runs on the board so to speak, 43 would be a steal though IMO.

By the way was just stirring TG with the Sheppard comment, i don't mind him and wouldn't really be against him at 12 though i prefer others.

just saw youtube footage on Joel Houghton, pretty impressive. What do you think?

[youtube]<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/bcfsx7HrWzI&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/bcfsx7HrWzI&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>[/youtube]

Looks very lively. Doubt he'd be left at 43 though?

Very agile for his hight.

Measured in at 192cm at the DC, could be still growing as he's still only 17 so could fill out and become a KPP. Showed plenty playing as that third tall down back or even as the CHB. Could be a handful out of the square with his speed and if he can develop a little more of a tank, could push up and play on the wing. Attacks the footy, has great athleticism, speed and has really improved his footskills, great skills for a fella of his height. Can go to ground a little easy on occasions (would have a bit to do with him still being light on) and hasn't really put in consistent performance but has only been in the system for 1 year, has plenty of talent.

Could go on about him for a while (ask Splendini :p), probably won't go as high as i think due to his consistency and doesn't really have the runs on the board so to speak, 43 would be a steal though IMO.

By the way was just stirring TG with the Sheppard comment, i don't mind him and wouldn't really be against him at 12 though i prefer others.

Ayden would love to read this, your talking about his favourite subject :p

After watching limited vision over the year of the draftees of 09 I can now say im on the Tapscott bandwagon. Looks like a hard at it player, has great size, so could slip into the 2010 best 22 (No Pressure). As you would all know he has a great kick.

I'm all for picking a KPP but best available is the way to go. If he is there as 12 would be hard for WH not to take him.

Out of the KPPs, Panos looks the goods. Would be happy with Talia too. I'm not sold on Butcher so hopefully he is gone by our pick. But then again this is just watching limited vision.

Sheppard cant kick. For a running half back flanker his skills arnt that great as shown with a 55.7 k/e and 65% d/e...

The stats are a bit misleading.:confused: Contested Footy also says:
Although Bradley Sheppard spent much of his younger years as a forward, Sheppard has really thrived in his 2009 role of a rebounding defender. He managed an average of 16 possessions in the U18 championships, and had an efficiency rating of just over 75%.

Bradley Sheppard's pace and accurate long kicking has been a real asset to him, and he clearly prefers to use his feet to dispose of the ball having gathered twice as many kicks than handballs in the WAFL.

It's been made quite clear, having had a look at this guy and a number of other players, that his kicking is a strength of his.
Anyway, Port Adelaide will probably pick the local boy in Tapscott in Pick 8 or 9 for those who are on his bandwagon.
Wayne Hughes will, as always, pick the best available player(s) in the draft. Most of the experts reckon Sheppard will go late first round-early second round.
Otherwise if we go tall we will probably get the second or third best tall in the draft this year. My gut feeling is Melbourne will pick Butcher, touted as the best tall in this year's draft, with pick 11 if he doesn't get picked up earlier, so we may be able to pick up someone like Carlisle, Black or someone else.:thumbsu:

I like Sheppard but I would rather go for a KPP in Butcher, Talia, Carlisle (in that order) unless someone slides such as Tapscott or Lucas.

He actually reminds me a little of Russell (the player he is now), with his run and carry and good foot skills. We do need more polished foot skills coming out of defence but with more midfield depth it pushes the better users of the ball to the flanks at times, so we should be okay in that area next year.

Here is a KPP who could go anywhere in the draft, on potential could be a first-rounder but with a long injury history might slide down to as far as the third round.
[youtube]0e1r_qYKNJg&feature=player_embedded[/youtube]
From the AFL website:
Benjamin Griffiths (Eastern Ranges, VIC)
Height: 198cm, Weight: 99kg, DOB: 17/09/91
Recruited from: Blackburn
Outstanding in aerial contests, some recruiters believe Griffiths is a certain top 20 pick, with others believing he could be a back-end second rounder or early third-round choice.
Draft range: 10-35

Very much a gamble but on potential could be a selection that pays off very highly.:thumbsu:
Kouta is said to like him as well.;)

I have a question for the guys following the draftees who is better Talia or Carlisle, from what I've seen i would say Carlisle but i am not sure

Thanks mate.
Just haven't seen nearly as much U18 footy this as I would have liked, so appreciate the brief description.

Very much a gamble but on potential could be a selection that pays off very highly.:thumbsu:

Will be a decent player if he gets his body right. Great bloke and wish him the best in the future.

Too risky..

Sheppard is a very tidy kick. Theres a reason his teamates like to give him the footy coming out of defence. Don't recruit players based on stats. I don't think he'll go this early but if i were to pick any player in this draft after about pick 5 that I thought was a sure bet to play 200 games he'd be it.

Is anyone at all interested at Lewis Jetta be he available at 12? He is not the same as Betts, Garlett and Yarran he is more a Wingman/Centreman. It may be too many small aboriginal players for some peoples likings but he is a dead set gun and would be amazing to unleash on the wing for us, we havent ever really had a quick footy smart wingman recently. Yes we have Kad Simpson, but can you imagine if we had Jetta on one wing and Kad on the other or Andy Walker also. At 43 we might find a KPP that slips like Griffiths.

Thoughts?

I'm not pushing Carlisle for pick 12, but that was a ripping kick to his teammate on the wing @ 2.47. :thumbsu:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qa9FGYpeegM

There isn't much to Carlisle at 83 kgs...

How much pace could he lose (or keep) once he puts on the muscle needed to play a KPP?

Carlisle looks as quick as Josh Kennedy and Travis Cloke who are the same height...

Here is a KPP who could go anywhere in the draft, on potential could be a first-rounder but with a long injury history might slide down to as far as the third round.
[youtube]0e1r_qYKNJg&feature=player_embedded[/youtube]
From the AFL website:
Benjamin Griffiths (Eastern Ranges, VIC)
Height: 198cm, Weight: 99kg, DOB: 17/09/91
Recruited from: Blackburn
Outstanding in aerial contests, some recruiters believe Griffiths is a certain top 20 pick, with others believing he could be a back-end second rounder or early third-round choice.
Draft range: 10-35

I was keen for him at #27 .. but now I've given up .. because he wont make it to Pick #43.

His 'highlight' package was only 1.33, what happened in the rest of the game :p:o

YouTube recruiting pays dividends...

He described how he played in that game as being "poo poo". :cool:

He actually stepped up in the last quarter and both he and Talia provided a spark that got VM back into the game.....needs to spend 6 months with that quack in germany to get his body right :)