News Xavier Duursma departs for Essendon

The board is about 98% pro-Duursma.

This talk that this board is anti-Duursma is rubbish

There was definitely a lot of booing the moment he was drafted. I was never sure what was up with that.

Willsy10

Apr 3, 2014
Port Adelaide
At the time of selecting duursma at the draft it seemed like a lot more than 2% of this board was anti duursma.

I remember thinking it was a bit rough and way over the top. A part of it was probably supporters still sulking over the fact his pick was acquired from the wingard trade, the other part must've been the podcasts, etc.

On SM-G950F using BigFooty.com mobile app

JUSTWORK

Aug 25, 2013
Port Adelaide
At the time of selecting duursma at the draft it seemed like a lot more than 2% of this board was anti duursma.

I remember thinking it was a bit rough and way over the top. A part of it was probably supporters still sulking over the fact his pick was acquired from the wingard trade, the other part must've been the podcasts, etc.

I’m not sure it was “anti Duursma” though. Perhaps just people who hadn’t seen much of him and were unsure and perhaps had other players in mind.

PJ Power

Oct 13, 2003
Port Adelaide
Just thinking long-term, the selections of Duursma and Butters should really lock down our wings for the next ten years. If Rozee can develop into a high output inside-outside midfielder as well, and Drew, Powell-Pepper (and Atley) keep getting better, the midfield should become a strength of ours over the next three seasons. Especially under the tapwork of Hayes, and with Mead and Schofield to join our ranks.

I think this shows the value of good, systematic drafting, rather than what seemed like an ad hoc approach that plagued our drafting in 2013 (the Impey draft).

Visenfest

Chasing stability
Oct 3, 2013
Port Adelaide
Many posters form their opinion about a draftee based on what they have read or heard about that player. There's nothing wrong with that.

As for how Duursma has played during JLT, the board isn't overwhelmingly against him. There have just been some posters (myself included) who have seen him make a few howlers on field, and queried whether someone else might be a better option in round 1. It's fair debate, and not indicative of the board treating him as a whipping boy. I'm on the fence about playing him in round 1, personally. I think he'll be a good player and has done a lot right so far, but wonder whether someone like Mayes might be the better, more composed option right now.

Nov 6, 2014
Port Adelaide
All your points are fair enough but sadly the poor guy has been maligned by some prior to ever having a kick for us where everyone else have not been scrutinised so harshly. I reckon he's going to be a ripper but time will tell.
Portia was pretty annoyed we drafted him.. but if I recall correctly she also was against us spending the money to get Lycett. I respect her opinion but I think, or least hope, that she is wrong on both counts.

crafty_bernardo

Jul 5, 2013
Port Adelaide
The illusion of this “anti-Duursma” I think stems from other draftees available at our pick such as Stocker whom many rated higher and wanted

It Just Is

Jun 25, 2012
On cloud 9
Port Adelaide
Can suck it!
I was very pro Duursma pre draft and also think he’ll be in and out of the seniors this year. Playing on a wing at the moment would be on of the more demanding and specialised roles on the ground, especially if our midfield is struggling.

I’ve seen enough to suggest we’ve got an absolute ripper but 2019 expectations need the be realistic.

Jason K

Premium Platinum
Mar 1, 2014
Henley Beach
Port Adelaide
Portia was pretty annoyed we drafted him.. but if I recall correctly she also was against us spending the money to get Lycett. I respect her opinion but I think, or least hope, that she is wrong on both counts.

To be fair, the podcast guys are forming opinions on very limited vision. And they are being asked for those opinions, so, there's no foul for getting a couple wrong. There was a huge consensus that we should take Bailey Smith over Rozee, where I just couldn't see how Rozee wouldn't be 1st choice. Time will tell but we're really just guessing at this stage.

Except on Butters. He'll be a star

Nov 6, 2014
Port Adelaide
To be fair, the podcast guys are forming opinions on very limited vision. And they are being asked for those opinions, so, there's no foul for getting a couple wrong. There was a huge consensus that we should take Bailey Smith over Rozee, where I just could see how Rozee wouldn't be 1st choice. Time will tell but we're really just guessing at this stage.

I agree..was just stating what Portia said.

Kiss from a Rozee

Goddess
Bring Back the Bars
Nov 23, 2018
Port Adelaide
To be fair, the podcast guys are forming opinions on very limited vision. And they are being asked for those opinions, so, there's no foul for getting a couple wrong. There was a huge consensus that we should take Bailey Smith over Rozee, where I just couldn't see how Rozee wouldn't be 1st choice. Time will tell but we're really just guessing at this stage.

I reckon Rozee looked the riskier prospect compared to Smith based on the stats/highlights but the recruiters had been following him for years so obviously they have way more to go off.

I reckon the fact we've deployed Duursma onto the wing shows the plan we had for him meant he was well worth picking. Would be interested to see what Macca and Portia say on the podcast :D

Jason K

Premium Platinum
Mar 1, 2014
Henley Beach
Port Adelaide
I reckon Rozee looked the riskier prospect compared to Smith based on the stats/highlights but the recruiters had been following him for years so obviously they have way more to go off.

I reckon the fact we've deployed Duursma onto the wing shows the plan we had for him meant he was well worth picking. Would be interested to see what Macca and Portia say on the podcast :D

For me, Rozee's good is salivating. As yet, the only qaulity I have seen from smith is qauntity. As I said, time will tell.

Duursma was always going to be a player that on face value should play a lot of footy in year 1. He's tall, he's well built already, has a huge tank, good leadership skills. He was always going to be ready Year 1, Round 1 for AFL football.

I had concerns over his decision making and his kicking. Another concern was regarding his development arc and whether he is closer to his ceiling now compared to other draftees.

I'm on team X, hope he guns it.

Dalfino

#BringBackTheBars
May 10, 2014
Port Adelaide
Liverpool FC
I think Rozee probably has a higher ceiling than Duursma with his skills and flash but will be a longer return on investment with the time it will take to build his body and consistent presence in-game to the standard of AFL level. He will probably need some time in the Maggies at some stage to work on accumulating more of the ball and really dominating at that level. Duursma on the other hand has good size, stamina and toughness required to compete at the top level straight away. His composure and decision making will come under question, and there is no doubt he will make a few absolute blunders in his first year, but we need to persist with him in a similar way to Pittard (although hopefully with a better result in the end!) and continue to show faith in him instead of relegating him to the twos whenever he mucks up. If you had to leave one out based on preseason form, it would be Rozee.

Mar 1, 2014
People's Republic of Onkaparinga
Port Adelaide
Cronulla Sutherland Sharks

I think you are right with the Wingard connection. A few individuals obviously thought Wingard's leaving was a plot by Xavier Duursma to get himself drafted to Port.

I like what I have seen of this kid.

I like him. He's a good modern day footballer. Good size, can run all day. Every team needs a few of this type of player. I'm hoping he can develop into the player Cam O'Shea threatened to be but never became.

Chachi

Jan 10, 2013
Port Adelaide
Fu** No
I like him. He's a good modern day footballer. Good size, can run all day. Every team needs a few of this type of player. I'm hoping he can develop into the player Cam O'Shea threatened to be but never became.
If you compare him to O'Shea again I will report you to the Mods.....

Boxx

Mar 2, 2014
Port Adelaide
Dallas Cowboys
Serious question... is OShea still on Carlton’s list?

I'm talking marauding wingman O'Shea circa 2013 not hapless turnover merchant defender O'Shea circa 2016.
What about hapless, hopeless, turnover merchant defender O'Shea 2012 version. No one is in that class.