yakamoto

May 8, 2008
perth
As someone else has pointed out we essentially swapped Weller and Crozier for pick 2. It will be of some interest to follow the careers of these three in the next few years. Pity we didn't end up with Martin in lieu of 2 but given that Weller and Crozier were going we couldn't realistically have done better deals than we ended up with.

yakka man

Aug 27, 2010
Peel Thunder

Nightrain

Mar 21, 2017
Anyone else hear Michael Thompson on 882 this morning?

For those that didn't, he basically said that the Suns knew what they were doing in trading this years' pick 2 for a former pick 13 with elite skills that had been developed in a senior team over the past 3 years. So basically a quality and ready made 21 year old midfielder with zero "go home factor."

He then went onto to list all of the pick 2's and 5's from the last 7 years drafts, which by the way are as follows.

Year : Pick 2 : Pick 5
2010 : Harley Bennell : Jared Polec
2011 : Stephen Coniglio : Matt Buntine
2012 : Josh Kelly : Kade Kolodjashnij
2014 : Christian Petracca : Jordon De Goey
2015 : Josh Schache : Darcy Parish
2016 : Tim Tarranto : Will Setterfield

He then said that the risk of picking dud with either of these two picks were the sole reason that the Gold Coast Suns took pick 2 for Weller.
Mate, Michael Thompson is a void filler. I posted similar of his diarrhoea on 6pr the week before when he was having a go at us for not drafting a Pav replacement and then contradicted himself in saying that Richmond just won a premiership without a dominant forward.

6pr just get him on to fill the space between commercials. What he really wants to tell you is how much he loves the Eagles but that will only last for so long so he just says the first thing in his head and tries to wing the rest. Reckon Thommo would benefit in a career change as a food critic. The fraud is a puppet masquerading as a sports journo with cred. Says a lot about the level of sports journalism in this state.

wayToGo_

Oct 24, 2015
I do like how every draft with the top prospects you can almost guarantee one will play like Fyfe, one like Danger and one like Dusty.

Can they not lower the expectations just a tad? Although I suppose "plays like Tom Lamb" might mean they don't even get drafted.

free at last

Aug 16, 2009
south of lat 32
Hopefully our draft selections don't have steady girlfriends right now & up until we select them....And they hook up with some local girl once they've settled in,end of story.

wayToGo_

Oct 24, 2015
Hopefully our draft selections don't have steady girlfriends right now & up until we select them....And they hook up with some local girl once they've settled in,end of story.
Why are we waiting...? Lloydy should send over a plane load of Perth ladies right now. That's not only how we keep the ones we pick but potentially open the doors to trading in non-West Aussies when their GFs get pregnant and need to come back to WA.

#crossedtheline ?

Nodgey

Aug 14, 2007
SDFC, Liverpool, Scorchers
I do like how every draft with the top prospects you can almost guarantee one will play like Fyfe, one like Danger and one like Dusty.

Can they not lower the expectations just a tad? Although I suppose "plays like Tom Lamb" might mean they don't even get drafted.

Oi. He was drafted before Blakely you know....

Ahhhh never gets old

youmewe

Dec 22, 2014