Pick 26 - Jayden Post

• Thread starter Thread starter _RT_

Re: Pick 26 - Jaydyn Post

Post_portrait_246a.jpg

LOL !!! I swear Jaydyn has that Richo look about him, or is that just my imagination running wild.

Post might just edge McGuane out when he has developed a bit due to his run, carry and height.

I think a backline of will cover the talls and provide a lot of damaging run. McGuane - as tough and dependable as he was this season doesn't really provide much forward thrust.

Newman Rance Thursfield
Moore Post McMahon

With a backline like this I would have a utility on the bench such as Polak, Shulz and McGuane could also play the role who could plug gaps in the back line or go forward to stretch the opposition defense at times.

Post_portrait_246a.jpg

LOL !!! I swear Jaydyn has that Richo look about him, or is that just my imagination running wild.
Shit he does too, if someone can get a picture of Richo from 1993, they would look exact, even have the same hairdo's!!!

can somebody give me some insight in to how he tested at the state sreening seesion. would be interested to know how he tested in the 20m sprint, beep test, 3km time trial etc.any info would be appreciated cheers

Post might just edge McGuane out when he has developed a bit due to his run, carry and height.

I think a backline of will cover the talls and provide a lot of damaging run. McGuane - as tough and dependable as he was this season doesn't really provide much forward thrust.

Newman Rance Thursfield
Moore Post McMahon

With a backline like this I would have a utility on the bench such as Polak, Shulz and McGuane could also play the role who could plug gaps in the back line or go forward to stretch the opposition defense at times.

i think that captain Newman has to prove his value to the team this season and become primarily a player that plays through the middle and the wing - as both a negating and inside midfielder. His role in the back half should be replaced by a fit raines. Personally i think Raine's (when he was at his best) provided much better run, and was also a slightly more effective spoiler and man marker than Newy.

I am expecting tuck, Johnson - along with Thomson, polo, Hislop, Newy, jackson, and Cogs to provide our engine room with an aggressive, tough, in and under defensive - contested ball / clearance machine - that will provide more than enough handballs to dish out to the speedy, highly skilled types of cotchin, deledio, McMahon, raines, foley, tambling, edwards, & white.

But it is time for Newman to become a first class, consistent midfielder - he is captain now, he accepted the responsibilty - and i expect my captains (as we all demanded and abused from Johnson) to lead from the front in attitude, performace and influence. Captains don't just be reliable back pockets in my opinion.

WESTERN Jets over-aged footballer Jayden Post was the first player from his club to get picked up at the AFL draft on Saturday, with the lanky centre-half-back taken by Richmond in the second round.

Nineteen-year-old Post, who was a rock in the Jets’ backline all year in the TAC Cup, was grabbed at pick 26, before big-name talls such as Shaun McKernan and Jordan Roughead.

Richmond recruiting manager Francis Jackson said people should not be surprised he went so early.

“I think if people sat back and watched his performances - he won the Jets’ best and fairest, took 15 marks in their last semi-final, so I think a lot of clubs rated him highly, he had nine or 10 interviews so there was plenty of interest,” he said.

Indeed, Post was outstanding in the Jets’ semi-final match against Dandenong, where he picked up 33 possessions and took 15 marks in a best-on-ground display.

“It was outstanding, he played at both ends, but he was on our radar from the start of the year and we followed his progress,” Jackson said.

Jackson said the Tigers were considering him as a versatile key position player, and would not restrict him to centre-half-back.

“I think he can play both ends, he pinch-hit at both ends this year. With his ability to read the play and his overhead marking skills, he’s able to play at both ends.”

Jackson said the Tigers had focused on talls in this year’s draft, with the club using its first pick on Sandringham giant Tyrone Vickery.

“If everything goes to plan with the Gold Coast and West Sydney coming in, we’ve got our structure right with having those talls with Tyrone (Vickery) and Jayden ... just to get those quality talls in was very important,” he said.

Jayden%20Post.jpg

Nothing wrong with foot skills:thumbsu:

Post is a tall, athletic key position player who can play at either end of the ground. He is an outstanding overhead mark, reads the game very well and is a renowned for his foot skills. He is also versatile, being able to play at either end of the field. Post was one of the leading lights for the Western Jets’ at TAC Cup level in 2008, and was rewarded by being named best and fairest. The Tigers believe Post was a bargain selection at pick 26, as they expected him to be snapped up earlier in the draft.

Jayden Post profile

can somebody give me some insight in to how he tested at the state sreening seesion. would be interested to know how he tested in the 20m sprint, beep test, 3km time trial etc.any info would be appreciated cheers

Ran 14.02 beep and 20m in 3.02 at state screening. Quite impressive for such a big man.
His agility also impressed at the screening but i'm not sure of exact results.
In seperate testing during the Jets' pre-season he ran 3.2 km in about 12.30 and recorded a standing vertical leap of 64cm and running leap of 83cm.

Hope he turns out to be a gun for you guys, spewing we didnt take him at #23...

Ran 14.02 beep and 20m in 3.02 at state screening. Quite impressive for such a big man.
In seperate testing during the Jets' pre-season he ran 3.2 km in about 12.30 and recorded a standing vertical leap of 64cm and running leap of 83cm.

sounds even more impresive. is his name spelt jayden or jaydyn as in the op title. it better not be spelt jaydyn:mad:

thanks for that bachar43. gee some good results there especially the beep test.yea im hoping he can come into the side next year and play a few games. he should suit our style of play with his run and carry.im hoping in 3 years or so he can play the same role richo played on the wing this year, he looks to have all the attributes required for that position.

svJAYDEN_wideweb__470x361,0.jpg

New posting gives career a giant kick

Brent Diamond | December 3, 2008

WESTERN Jet Jayden Post admits an AFL career was a distant dream this time last year.

Post, who turns 19 on Friday, was dropped from the Jets after round one last season but a move to centre half-back provided the launching pad to a startling 2008 that culminated in him winning the Barry Round Medal for the Jets' best and fairest.

"The team started winning a lot last year, so I found it hard to get back into the team," Post said.

"They brought me back in and threw me down back and from there I started playing some good footy and building on it each week."

The transformation for the Altona Juniors prodigy was complete when he was selected at No. 26 by Richmond in the national draft on Saturday.

Sourced from The Age click to read ther whole article.

On advice from the top we're no longer allowed to post full articles. http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=521066&page=1

It's Jayden.

It's was originally a typo somewhere else as well because I remember thinking the name had a ridiculous spelling until I saw it corrected the next day in the paper.
bugger be cause i said to someone "good (jaydyn) post" i proply look a bit silly now.

post sure does love those jean shorts.

Post_portrait_246a.jpg

He does a little around the mouth, lips and eyes. Also that slightly goofy look :D

2008_RichardsonM_Profile_md.jpg

Jayden%20Post.jpg

Nothing wrong with foot skills:thumbsu:
Post is a tall, athletic key position player who can play at either end of the ground. He is an outstanding overhead mark, reads the game very well and is a renowned for his foot skills. He is also versatile, being able to play at either end of the field. Post was one of the leading lights for the Western Jets’ at TAC Cup level in 2008, and was rewarded by being named best and fairest. The Tigers believe Post was a bargain selection at pick 26, as they expected him to be snapped up earlier in the draft.

Jayden Post profile
That's what they said about Casserley and Hughes:o

g'day mate im pretty sure he got 3.02 in the 20 metre sprint which is very good for a big man!:thumbsu:

yea someone on the other page sais the same i think it was bachar43. yea pretty impressed with that time , he also got good results for most of the other testing.

That's what they said about Casserley and Hughes:o
Casserly was DOGGED by injuries, if he ever got fit, he would've easily made it in AFL.

And Cleve has shown us what he can do, now he is fully matured, his body is right, all he needs is to perform consistently at AFL level.