Pick #33: Jeremy Howe

• Thread starter Thread starter Deestroy

Didn't Robbo get the ass for being Robbo? Interesting pick considering he comes from a woeful league.
Perhaps a question better directed to Matt Burgan but yeah hopefully he is a little more accountable.

Didn't Robbo get the ass for being Robbo? Interesting pick considering he comes from a woeful league.

Mate, I've seen 2 of your posts tonight... and both have been extremely negative. If you don't have anything to contribute, sit down and stfu.

I like the fact he is 20 and has played in a 'state league' adnd is a proven goal kicker/game buster...i prefer this to same generic midfielder who plays most of his footy at school boy level in the APS.

With him and Jurrah in the same forward line we will need an air traffic controller just to control the air space above J Watts’ shoulders.

Mate, I've seen 2 of your posts tonight... and both have been extremely negative. If you don't have anything to contribute, sit down and stfu.
What's your problem?
Did Robbo get the ass for being Robbo? I would of thought so.
Is the TSL a woeful league? Definately, close to the worst state league in Australia.

I would off thought that we needed a strong, tall ruck\forward who can help out Jamar as well as Watts and Jurrah and some speedy runners off half back cos I thought we looked very slow against the Kangas and I think we never filled any of those needs.

We recruited a player that makes Watts look like Barry Hall, then we recruited a 20 year old state player from Tassie, where the hell has he been for 3 or 4 years? If we got Cook at 33 and Howe at 50 then I would be happy. Our last 2 picks are key talls as well so no real variety in our picks.

In the end we got no bargain pick or a player who looks like filling a hole next year. I hope I'm wrong and Prendagast gets the last laugh but personally I think we have underachieved at the draft this year when I thought it was impossible to underachieve at this draft.

What's your problem?
Did Robbo get the ass for being Robbo? I would of thought so.
Is the TSL a woeful league? Definately, close to the worst state league in Australia.

I would off thought that we needed a strong, tall ruck\forward who can help out Jamar as well as Watts and Jurrah and some speedy runners off half back cos I thought we looked very slow against the Kangas and I think we never filled any of those needs.

We recruited a player that makes Watts look like Barry Hall, then we recruited a 20 year old state player from Tassie, where the hell has he been for 3 or 4 years? If we got Cook at 33 and Howe at 50 then I would be happy. Our last 2 picks are key talls as well so no real variety in our picks.

In the end we got no bargain pick or a player who looks like filling a hole next year. I hope I'm wrong and Prendagast gets the last laugh but personally I think we have underachieved at the draft this year when I thought it was impossible to underachieve at this draft.

How someone can say this without anyone from the draft playing a game of AFL yet is beyond me - just because some Bigfooty experts had a different top 25 doesn't mean anything. This is our recruiting departments job remember, they know what to look and more about players scope/strengths/weaknesses than you or anyone else on Bigfooty does.

Let them play and prove their worth before judging them.

This is our recruiting departments job remember, they know what to look and more about players scope/strengths/weaknesses than you or anyone else on Bigfooty does.
This is the same crap I used to get when I bagged Cameron's recruiting and where did he get us? We were on our knees because of him. Until we win a premiership we should be questioning the recruiting department.

Personally I don't think that we are in a situation of going on a needs basis for me that's for a top 4 team not for a team that has just finished 12th.

I'm gonna be interested in how North go next year cos I think they recruited a lot better than us this year.

How someone can say this without anyone from the draft playing a game of AFL yet is beyond me - just because some Bigfooty experts had a different top 25 doesn't mean anything. This is our recruiting departments job remember, they know what to look and more about players scope/strengths/weaknesses than you or anyone else on Bigfooty does.

Let them play and prove their worth before judging them.

Well said Mijhaa:thumbsu: Please people don't get too caught up on internet hype. If you've seen the draftees play live multiple times then fair enough, I could understand people being disappointed. Don't base it on BF consensus and a couple of vids on youtube.

The draft didn't pan out how I was expecting either based on what I've read, but when has it in recent years with BP in charge? I remember when everyone was crying about picking Gysberts too early last year based on where he was being ranked in the phantom drafts, and that turned out ok.

I remember when everyone was crying about picking Gysberts too early last year based on where he was being ranked in the phantom drafts, and that turned out ok.
I was happy with Gysberts getting recruited. I knew it was a midfielders draft and I knew that a lot of midfielders were pretty even around that pick.

The first 2 picks don't fill me with the same confidence. Cook has question mark on his pace and his weight. Watts has been slammed for being too weak and we are going to help him out by putting a weaker, slower version of him out there. It doesn't make sense, it tells me that they hope to never get a pick this high again so they have to grab a tall with it and I don't agree with it. The game is so quick and so defensively minded players with question marks on thier pace and strenth are going to get gobbled up.

We should of went for best available cos we can't afford not to, we have seen what happens when we get it wrong. We can't afford another Luke Molan.

As for Howe, he must be the highest picked smokey since the draft become professional.

As for the other 2 if they make it then that is a bonus.

We should of went for best available cos we can't afford not to, we have seen what happens when we get it wrong. We can't afford another Luke Molan.
The FD did go best available, it just so happens that their best available didn't line up with yours or the BF hype

Dean Bailey quoted on the HUN site as saying "We tried to draft the best player that we thought was available at pick 12", so get it out of your head that because we didn't take Atley or Smith or whoever YOU rate higher that we didn't take BPA, the only opinion that matters is those making the actual selection, and according to them we went BPA

The FD did go best available, it just so happens that their best available didn't line up with yours or the BF hype

This from Barry Prenderast..

We had a slant towards talls, but we ... just thought that the players we picked were pretty much the best available at those particular picks.

I read this as him saying we went tall rather than best available.

This from Barry Prenderast..

I read that as we went BPA, but when close call go tall, not tall no matter what, that to me is how a BPA strategy always works

Im sure if Heppell fell through we wouldnt have Cook so I agree, but I still think we went hard at the tall players after that.

Anyway Im looking forward to seeing more of these kids - I cant get the AFL video highlights on the net from outside Oz.. :mad:

As I commented on last night just after he was picked, one of the sport managers from last nights draft who was commenting on SEN clearly said that it was either Lynch or Cook. They were both interviewed by Melbourne. Lynch was gone, so we took our other option. Give this kid a break, he isn't going to play a role this coming season and may not do much in 2012. In a few seasons when he has bulked up and gotten stronger, he could be EXACTLY what we need. Tall, strong, reads the play well and a great kick.

Love the speccies, but like the vision and neat foot skills from the footage as well. Obviously a lot easier in Tassie league than AFL

Also I'm a fan of Tasmanian forwards - Robbo, Reiwoldt, Richo, Royce Hart obviously but our own Brad Green and Ricky Petterd (can claim) are Tasmanians who can take a mark.

Nice to see he can spell Jeremy as well unlike that guy the Tigers picked last year.
Does Brad Miller, being born in Hobart, qualify as a "Tasmanian forward"?

I agree with that. Besides Lycett who isn't a good kick Cook was the only rated tall left and he more than likely wasn't going to be around at pick 33 so they went for him early.

The same probably applies to Howe, he was training with Collingwood who had a few picks before our pick 50 so we went early with him as well.

Prendagast is either gonna look like a genius or a fool with these 2 picks there is no in between.

As for Howe, he must be the highest picked smokey since the draft become professional.

Christian Howard says hi... Can you please stop talking like some big noting draft expert? Just generally.

i think he knows that mate. with LITTLE STINGA its always all or nothing

he raises some VERY valid points for such an idiot. i tend to agree with many of them
BS, I agree with you that there are some valid points there but BP and his team put alot of time and research into the players and even meet them. There would be plenty
of pro's and con's we don't hear about. I have faith.

It appears we have the new cult player of the draft. Its actually quite funny. Jurrah and Howe... haha

I agree with LS as well.

Im not saying it wasnt the right pick with Cook though. He was the best tall left at our pick (All Australian CHF lets not forget) - and we are going to score the best 16 year old in the country who is another mid next year - so going tall wasnt the wrong thing.

I rate Cook - he's smart, calm and reads the play very well. Clever marking ability and a beautiful kick. I think he'll be a player.