Player Watch Pick #5 (2018) - Connor Rozee (AFL Captain)

Boxx

Mar 2, 2014
Port Adelaide
Dallas Cowboys
Just a question, if Walsh or Rozee get injured this week and miss the rest of the season... are they still likely to be be favourites or are a few good games at the start of the season enough?

The guy's an absolute gun. Kenny really came through with the goods with this guy.
On ya, Kenneth.

Wasn't aware Ken was our recruiter?

Just wish Carlton would win some more games ***.

The GC game goes 12 seconds shorter and the Hawks game goes 2 seconds longer and they win both. Never trade a future pick to the Crows, their eternal kissed-on-the-dick-by-a-fairyness will come back to haunt you.

Arguing over who will win the rising star award in round 6 seems like a complete waste of time and energy.

Any conversation around the rising star nominees or winners is a complete waste of time and energy. The whole thing is nothing but a commercialised wank when you think about it. But it gives people something to talk about.

Nov 6, 2014
Port Adelaide
Yeah, I know, we are only a third the way through the season but here they are comparing Walsh and Rozee so far and looking at the position they are playing rather than just general stats.
They reckon it is a 2 horse race and both are standouts in a very strong draft. No wonder we were desperate to get Rozee.

The discussion starts at around 2:22 mark.

Walsh in 9 key stats for a wingman is above average or elite in 6 of the 9

Rozee as a half forward is above average or elite in all nine of his stats.

https://podcasts.apple.com/au/podca...the-cats-done-it/id1456705064?i=1000436865066

Feb 4, 2013
Port Adelaide
It's cos they've all got us pegged a small club. Can't be getting above their station. **** that. Here's hoping Chad, Zak and Xavier keep the swagger. **** Kochie, I want to be everyone else's least favourite team. **** the little old port Adelaide schtick. **** not having the nuts to close out close games. I want to feel the hate flow through them. I want to see more dickheads complaining about arrogance from us. Let em try and knock us down a peg or two, it'll mean we've climbed a couple. Bring it on.
why do you want Chad to keep the swagger?...Zac and Xavier i understand!

chickentendies

BeanCoiNFT Investor
Mar 26, 2017
Port Adelaide
Pretty ok with Walsh winning the rising star. He's a gun.

McGrath never deserved it though. The argument seemed to be "He's so good he'll be able to run through the midfield soon" meanwhile, SPP is running through the midfield.
And even disregarding that, Burton did a better job in the same role.

Tibbs

The Bearded ZERK!
Sep 9, 2013
Port Adelaide
Any conversation around the rising star nominees or winners is a complete waste of time and energy. The whole thing is nothing but a commercialised wank when you think about it. But it gives people something to talk about.
Carn ... We know what you say makes sense, but its football season mate! They are already starting to put the Brownlow around Patrick Cripps' neck!

Other than watch games on the weekend what else is there to do?
1] Moan about your coach
2] Blame the umpires for every loss
3] Argue over who will win Rising star/Brownlow

Seems fair enough to me!

Powerage

Absurd Caricature
Aug 14, 2014
Port Adelaide
Significantly undervaluing what Walsh is doing, has seamlessly stepped in and performing as a senior midfielder. He's certainly no stat rat.

ok I stand corrected. It was based on one match I saw him in and the comments of some others on here. And I didn't say he was, I said maybe this is. Geez.

*PAF

10k Posts Port Adelaide - Nathan Krakouer Player Sponsor 2015 Port Adelaide - Brendon AhChee Player Sponsor 2014 Port Adelaide - Jarrad Redden Player Sponsor 2014 Port Adelaide - Matthew Broadbent Player Sponsor 2013 Port Adelaide - Foundation Sponsor Port Adelaide - Captains Club 2012 Sponsor Port Adelaide - John Butcher 2012 Player Sponsor
Feb 17, 2005
Port Adelaide
Carn ... We know what you say makes sense, but its football season mate! They are already starting to put the Brownlow around Patrick Cripps' neck!

Other than watch games on the weekend what else is there to do?
1] Moan about your coach
2] Blame the umpires for every loss
3] Argue over who will win Rising star/Brownlow

Seems fair enough to me!
Whaaat? No Crows?

Nov 6, 2014
Port Adelaide
Nice write up about Connor.
My brother in law is livid his club (Crows) didn’t get him, especially as he is local.
I am still surprised our neighbours were so insipid at trade period and didn’t move heaven and earth even with live pick trading to get above us in the draft. When I looked at the hand we had at the end of last season I thought we had no chance of getting so high in a super draft. Well done Parker Crippa and Davies.

My brother in law is livid his club (Crows) didn’t get him, especially as he is local.
I am still surprised our neighbours were so insipid at trade period and didn’t move heaven and earth even with live pick trading to get above us in the draft. When I looked at the hand we had at the end of last season I thought we had no chance of getting so high in a super draft. Well done Parker Crippa and Davies.

People moaned about what we paid for pick 6, but the long game to get Rozee is exactly why we moved so quickly to get the Polec deal done. Shock and awe tactics and it has paid off in spades.

ESPN footy crew on the Rising Star.

http://www.espn.com.au/afl/story/_/id/26637283/afl-round-table-sam-walsh-vs-connor-rozee-better

Our AFL experts Niall Seewang, Jake Michaels and Matt Walsh dissect all of the main talking points ahead of Round 7.

Sam Walsh or Connor Rozee. Who will be better?
NS: I'm going the bankable, 15-year midfielder over the miraculous match-winner, so Walsh for me ... just. And that's not to disrespect the impact Rozee has had so far for Port. Walsh is just about Carlton's second-best midfielder already and his consistency is remarkable for a first-year player. Rozee will have the better highlights package, but I can't see Walsh having too many 'down' games - ever.

JM: I love Walsh, I really do. He's an elite runner and in two or three years will be one of the best midfielders in the competition. No doubt about it. However, I really love Rozee. I honestly can't recall a first year player being so clean and so skilled in the forward 50 and he's filled the Chad Wingard void for the Power in emphatic fashion. In the new age where goals are at a real premium, I want the guy that can kick them.

MW: 'Better' really isn't the right word as I think they'll both be excellent players capable of winning matches for their sides, but they play different roles. Walsh is a good ball user who runs all day and gets to good spots, while Rozee is a silky mover and finisher who won't get as much ball. Ideally you'd love both, but Walsh will have the better, more consistent career.

Sep 9, 2008
adelaide
Port Adelaide
People moaned about what we paid for pick 6, but the long game to get Rozee is exactly why we moved so quickly to get the Polec deal done. Shock and awe tactics and it has paid off in spades.

I was pretty critical of our trading but not the parts that led to us getting pick 5. The trades with freo and Brisbane were fine.

We should have been able to extract more value for Polec/pittard, hombsch and Wingard though.

In hindsight The Wingard trade looks good on the back of some good drafting.

Interesting article by Rece Homfray given what was written by both Connor and Reece in Connor's Diary of an AFL draftee in the SA Weekend magazine back on the eve of the start of the season

https://www.adelaidenow.com.au/life...t/news-story/7a28c691cd10373e4454c135714c7bed

“It’s hard though running with boys who have been here for five or six pre-seasons so I just try to stay positive, I know I’m only first year so I’ve got to be patient.” That theory however doesn’t apply to fellow draftee Kai Pudney who the Power took as a Category B rookie from the SANFL and is now arguably the best runner at the club.

“He’s ridiculous, I think he’s done a fair bit of athletics along the way, he’s one of the best runners at the club already,” Rozee said.

“I NEED TO BUILD UP MY MOTOR”

Rozee and his teammates were given three weeks off over Christmas and reported for duty again on January 10. It was time off from the club but not from running and they were all given individual programs to follow. “I got a fair bit out of the Noosa camp in terms of my fitness and I don’t think I lost anything over the break which was good,” Rozee says.

“Most of the younger boys got pretty similar programs for the break, we were training every second day which was mainly just running and a little bit of kicking as well. “I have a soccer pitch at Adelaide City just around the corner from my house so I did most of my running there.” “A typical session is probably a couple of two minute runs leaving everything out there, then some high speed bit in the middle with 50 or 60m sprints and end on a couple of three minute runs to gas yourself out.

“It’s all over in half-an-hour or 40 minutes. Overall we do a fair bit of running but the most we do is two or three minutes at a time, and for me the shorter stuff is a lot easier. “With the kicking I got one of my best mates who lives around the corner to come out and have a kick, otherwise I’d find a footy oval and have some set shots.” By February Rozee had noticed significant improvements in his running.

“The weather has been hot as well, our sessions have been 13 or 14km and sometimes three times a week, so I think I’ve got a fair bit fitter. “I’ve taken about 25 seconds off my 3km time trial time so I’m pretty happy with that. After the draft my running was the main thing to work on so to improve that shows positive signs.”
https://www.adelaidenow.com.au/life...t/news-story/7a28c691cd10373e4454c135714c7bed

Powerage

Absurd Caricature
Aug 14, 2014
Port Adelaide

interesting to see Boak ranked with Rozee and Howard as the fastest three over 20-40m at the Club. I would have thought Motlop.

I seem to remember Darren Mead was our fastest player over that kind of distance on our inaugural list. It’s a big difference between that and the 5-10 metre burst pace you see in games from players you think of as really fast.

Rozee seems to have both though.