List Mgmt. Pick 65 - Welcome Thomas North

Adam Cerra will head up our recruiting team when he hangs up the boots:

" But Cerra said Fremantle had got a steal with contested ball specialist North at pick 65.

“He’s a real big-bodied inside mid that can do a lot of damage,” Cerra said of the 184cm and 84kg prospect.

“I’ve been playing against him and with him ever since we were juniors.”

“There have been games where he’s had 45 possessions in the TAC Cup, even as a bottom-ager.

“He can really dominate a game and turn it upside down.

I know they're mates but elite talent recognises elite talent!
Hope he's spot on.
He definitely gave a decent assessment of his best mate didn’t he.

Clever pick up from the club. He does seem to have the tools and determination to make it. I’m not exactly sure where and when the opportunity is likely to come for North. Our inside mid stocks are looking strong. He will have to force the club to pick him with wafl form.

I think you've said it yourself Gav 'You don't need best 22 you need 30.'
Gotta have troopers bashin' on da door.
Cerra reckons his mate will be.
Won't surprise me if he's right.
Hope so,if he's gonna develop and improve he's in the right place.
Exactly. With the age profile our list is developing there should be outstanding depth. If a realistic window does open for us then he sounds like the kind of trooper you want.

A quiet couple of games in the U18s championships appears to have dragged his flag down the pole.

He could be a real steal and we will see how well he transitions to playing against the bigger bodies. I'm hopeful that he could dominate for Peel alongside Banfield and force his way into the side.

He is the sort of player who would get the dream team profile to win a rising star. All those Eastern States people will know his name if he is averaging 100 points a game like he did at TAC cup level.

A quiet couple of games in the U18s championships appears to have dragged his flag down the pole.

He could be a real steal and we will see how well he transitions to playing against the bigger bodies. I'm hopeful that he could dominate for Peel alongside Banfield and force his way into the side.

He is the sort of player who would get the dream team profile to win a rising star. All those Eastern States people will know his name if he is averaging 100 points a game like he did at TAC cup level.
Being a lower draft pick makes him much more supercoach relevant than a Brayshaw or Cerra too

Have seen him play senior footy as a 16 yr old for his local club, didn't look out of place then.

Won't have a problem against bigger bodies, strong and very balanced.

As a ball-winner it might take longer to get into the AFL team? Not really sure how player development goes over there in the West.

Bit rich, isn't it?

Have seen him play senior footy as a 16 yr old for his local club, didn't look out of place then.

Won't have a problem against bigger bodies, strong and very balanced.

As a ball-winner it might take longer to get into the AFL team? Not really sure how player development goes over there in the West.

Bit rich, isn't it?

I took it like he was being humble...

As in 'you WA guys would know more than me' type of thing?

I took it like he was being humble...

As in 'you WA guys would know more than me' type of thing?
Yes, this is what I meant. In Vic they'd go through the VFL, really young guys through the VFL development squad.

I guess they all get appointed to a WAFL team in WA? I genuinely have no idea what Freo players do when they're not playing AFL.

If I was having a go, I guess I would have said something about surfing or wharves or getting blonde highlights.

I watched the highlights video and was surprised to see more outside play than inside, I definitely rate him as an inside player.

I guess they all get appointed to a WAFL team in WA? I genuinely have no idea what Freo players do when they're not playing AFL.

All Freo players play with Peel Thunder but used to be other clubs too.

Saw him at training this morning for the first time, he is a big unit!
With Blakely, Tucker, Cerra, Crowden and Brayshaw, it's gonna be hard for North to get a spot, especially as he doesn't seem to play a second position like the others just mentioned. Based on his videos, it really looks like he can play and the more clearance winning mids, the better, so I'm hoping he plays well for Peel and forces his way in. Fully expecting Mundy to play more forward, which could give someone like North a bit more of a chance.

So no pressure on young North but we used the pick we got from Balic on him. So long as he turns out better than Harley Balic we should be very happy :) j/k - although I do rate the kid and no reason he can't be better - crosses fingers.

With Blakely, Tucker, Cerra, Crowden and Brayshaw, it's gonna be hard for North to get a spot, especially as he doesn't seem to play a second position like the others just mentioned. Based on his videos, it really looks like he can play and the more clearance winning mids, the better, so I'm hoping he plays well for Peel and forces his way in. Fully expecting Mundy to play more forward, which could give someone like North a bit more of a chance.

I'm think with a midfield core this young, this skilled, this level headed and already boasting some reasonably soliid, match ready bodies... we can finally do what I've wanted us to do for ages, and put in place a rotation policy.

It lets us manage playing and travel loads, gives the injured guys longer to recuperate, and helps us keep everyone fresh for the push into finals.

The year we made the GF, I remember all of our stars suffered some little niggle during the year that gave them an enforced three to four week break mid season.... but they were conveniently staggered through the year, so everyone was in better nick come September.

As much as I like Cerra & Crowden, I reckon this boy could become a best 22 mid for us

All I know is that Peel is going to have one hell of a midfield next year.

Brayshaw, Cerra, Crowden, North, Banfield, Giro, Sherro, Sutty, Grey. Being feed by Jones/Meek.

Expecting Brayshaw and Cerra to play mainly for Freo but still leaves a lot of potential talent in the guts for Peel.

Believe the reason Meima quit BF was to focus on his new role as Peel midfield coach