Jascave

Jun 17, 2005
Sandringham
Hampton Rovers
It’s been 45 years since the introduction of colour TV in Australia, and with that in mind thought it would be a good idea to select an ‘All Australian’ side from 1975 until this season.

You can pick players from these competitions-VFL/AFL, SANFL, WAFL, TAFL.

The criteria for selection is as follows:
-Must have played in the competitions listed above from 1975-2020
-Must have won a Brownlow, Magarey or Sandover Medal
-Must have played at least one or more State of Origin game.

The team must consist of the following:
-Starting 18
-4 interchange
-4 emergencies
-One coach
-One assistant coach.

Sent from my iPad using BigFooty.com

It’s been 45 years since the introduction of colour TV in Australia, and with that in mind thought it would be a good idea to select an ‘All Australian’ side from 1975 until this season.

-Starting 18
-4 interchange
-4 emergencies
-One coach
-One assistant coach.

This will end well. Cue SANFL clowns nominating blokes who come over to the VFL and couldn't get a kick as they were deadset cowards eg. Cornes

-Starting 18
-4 interchange
-4 emergencies
-One coach
-One assistant coach.

Mate that's a pretty rubbish selection criteria
No Silvagni, Rance, Scarlett etc
No McLeod, Milburn, Jones etc
No Riewoldt, Carey, Ablett, Matthews etc

If a brownlow is a must then here is my team (i know nothing of other leagues). Backline is impossible except Glendinning and Wanganeen.

FB: Gavin Wanganeen - ??? - ???
HB: Chris Judd - Ross Glendinning - Simon Black
C: Paul Kelly - Ian Stewart - Keith Greig
R: Gary Dempsey - Greg Williams - Gary Ablett Jr.
HF: James Hird - Bernie Quinlan - Malcolm Blight
FF: Kelvin Templeton - Tony Lockett - Adam Goodes
Int: Peter Moore - Len Thompson - John Platten - Michael Voss
Em: Jim Stynes - Nathan Buckley - Jason Akermanis - Shane Crawford.

Basically could pick your midfield from 30 blokes.

If a brownlow is a must then here is my team (i know nothing of other leagues). Backline is impossible except Glendinning and Wanganeen.

FB: Gavin Wanganeen - ??? - ???
HB: Chris Judd - Ross Glendinning - Simon Black
C: Paul Kelly - Ian Stewart - Keith Greig
R: Gary Dempsey - Greg Williams - Gary Ablett Jr.
HF: James Hird - Bernie Quinlan - Malcolm Blight
FF: Kelvin Templeton - Tony Lockett - Adam Goodes
Int: Peter Moore - Len Thompson - John Platten - Michael Voss
Em: Jim Stynes - Nathan Buckley - Jason Akermanis - Shane Crawford.

Basically could pick your midfield from 30 blokes.
Guess you could throw Goodesy to FB

Yeah thats probably the only option lol.
The team wouldnt lose a centre clearance and would kick a goal on every forward entry so no need for a backline. May as well put Cooney down there,

A side selected that could play 2020 footy rather than 1980s footy (and no medals criteria)

Bartlett Carey Hird
Blight Franklin Ablett

Judd Voss Buckley
Madden Dusty Ablett

McLeod Knights Enright
Scarlett Silvagni Wangas

Michael Goodes
Roos Matthews

Emergencies: Cox, Reiwolt, Robran, Aker

Coach: Matthews
Asst: Clarkson

B: Brad Hardie, Gary Dempsey, Gavin Wanganeen.
HB: Nathan Buckley, Ross Glendinning, Mark Ricciuto.
C: Paul Kelly, Greg Williams, Shane Crawford.
HF: James Hird, Bernie Quinlan, Malcolm Blight.
F: Jason Akermanis, Tony Lockett, Adam Goodes.

Foll: Peter Moore, Chris Judd, Gary Ablett Junior.

I/C: Russell Ebert, John Platten, Stephen Michael, Michael Voss.

Emer: Nat Fyfe, Robert Harvey, Dane Swan, Michael Aish.

Sorry OP hate coaches as a rule. Down back bit hard, but enough tall versatility.

Apologies to the OP but I’ve gone for best AA team with Brownlow winners ineligible instead of compulsory.

B: Enright Scarlett Silvagni
HB: McLeod Grant Hodge
C: Hawkins Watson Matera
HF: Richo Carey S Johnson
F: Matthews Franklin Ablett
Foll: S Madden Pendles Selwood
I/C: Cox Pavlich West Gray
Emerg: J Brown Dunstall Neale Roos

Just quietly, reckon this team would beat any all-Brownlow team which is a slight indictment on the Chas

Apologies to the OP but I’ve gone for best AA team with Brownlow winners ineligible instead of compulsory.

B: Enright Scarlett Silvagni
HB: McLeod Grant Hodge
C: Hawkins Watson Matera
HF: Richo Carey S Johnson
F: Matthews Franklin Ablett
Foll: S Madden Pendles Selwood
I/C: Cox Pavlich West Gray
Emerg: J Brown Dunstall Neale Roos

Just quietly, reckon this team would beat any all-Brownlow team which is a slight indictment on the Chas

I think your team might be a bit tall and slow, but I like your thinking

A side selected that could play 2020 footy rather than 1980s footy (and no medals criteria)

Bartlett Carey Hird
Blight Franklin Ablett

Judd Voss Buckley
Madden Dusty Ablett

McLeod Knights Enright
Scarlett Silvagni Wangas

Michael Goodes
Roos Matthews

Pretty good team.
Think you could replace Enright with Bruce Doull though. He was a 21st Century footballer playing in the 70's and 80's. A supremely good lockdown defender who was hugely attacking (the prototypical 'perfect' modern defender), fast, athletic, tough and incredibly skilled.

-Starting 18
-4 interchange
-4 emergencies
-One coach
-One assistant coach.

‘Must have won a premiership at hawthorn’

-Starting 18
-4 interchange
-4 emergencies
-One coach
-One assistant coach.

The brownlow criteria is moronic. No wayne carey, matthews or ablett. The three best players.

Bartlett Carey Hird
Blight Franklin Ablett

Judd Voss Buckley
Madden Dusty Ablett

McLeod Knights Enright
Scarlett Silvagni Wangas

Michael Goodes
Roos Matthews

Hird would be a terrible pocket player. Not a great rover of the pack. not a great marker. He adds little value down there. Should be on a flank or midfield.

plus i think hawkins shows that tony lockett would dominate this era as well. Perhaps even more easily without the muddy wind swept games at subruban grounds and a much stronger rules against defenders wrestling and pushing in the back.

My team:

B: G.Ayres M.Scarlett. B.Doull

HB: J.Rantall. P.Knights. A.Rance

C: C.Bradley. R.Ebert (c). Peter Matera

HF: G.Ablett snr. W.Carey. W.Johnston

F.T.Lockett. J.Dunstall. L.Matthews

R: S.Madden. B.Robran. B.Cable

INT: D.Martin. S.Michael. M.Aish. G.McIntosh

EMERGENCY: G.Ablett jnr. D.Weightman. G.Dempsey. C.Judd

Coach: Ron Barassi

Assistant coach: Alastair Clarkson

Chairman of selectors: Ted Whitten snr

I think your team might be a bit tall and slow, but I like your thinking
Maybe. It's not too lumbering. I did go for 3 tall backs, but that's pretty common these days, as a lot of teams pick 3 tall forwards. Picked Richo on a flank ahead of guys like Riewoldt or a genuine pacy flanker because he had a season on a wing and was the best runner at Richmond as well as being 6'6". Gray, Matera and Ablett are exceptionally quick, but yeah, could probalby do with another speedster.

My team:

B: G.Ayres M.Scarlett. B.Doull

HB: J.Rantall. P.Knights. A.Rance

C: C.Bradley. R.Ebert (c). Peter Matera

HF: G.Ablett snr. W.Carey. W.Johnston

F.T.Lockett. J.Dunstall. L.Matthews

R: S.Madden. B.Robran. B.Cable

INT: D.Martin. S.Michael. M.Aish. G.McIntosh

EMERGENCY: G.Ablett jnr. D.Weightman. G.Dempsey. C.Judd

Coach: Ron Barassi

Assistant coach: Alastair Clarkson

Chairman of selectors: Ted Whitten snr

Not sure what is more Lol worthy. ablett jnr in the emergency Or dustin martin in the side or the ridiculous starting midfield. Craig bradleys seelction is a joke.

Hird only had one season where he averaged atleast 2 goals a game. Only 340 goals for his career. There are like 20 players more worthy of that foward pocket spot.

He was originally a forward, and won a Brownlow at 23 years old playing as a mobile CHF. He averaged 6-7 marks per game over the first 5-6 years of his career, before becoming a mid/flanker after numerous big injuries in the late '90s.

Hird only had one season where he averaged atleast 2 goals a game. Only 340 goals for his career. There are like 20 players more worthy of that foward pocket spot.
Did you watch him play? Or are you just going by stats? There’s not a player in the history of the game for whom stats are more misleading regarding his actual impact on games