Picola District FL - General Thread 2009

Anyone know how Jesse Hill is travelling? HE is playin 4 Berrigan i think? A good mate of his. He could have been anything! He is a gun or was when i played with him at Lavi and Albury

Match Between Mathoura and Yarra, good old fashion grind:thumbsu: First off want to thank Pace and his crew for the great service and atmosphere provided throughout the day:thumbsu: Pace was right in his pre match summary it was a close contest, Mathoura took the early lead in the first quarter, with great use of the ball in front of goals... But to the Young hoppers credit they kept themselfs in the game with a late goal. All day Mathoura had the lead, But yarra's poor use in front of goal killed them!! About 5-6 sitters (and I mean sitters:eek:) as I was pulling what hair I have left in my head out!!! But to Mathoura's Credit they Created some good oppitunities when It counted and converted:thumbsu: Also it was the biggest crowd i've seen at Mathoura, good support from both clubs, well done.

Yea very good summary I think BS, a somewhat unusual feeling amongst the club after the game, the players did enough in the end to win, but as you stated Yarroweyah weren't without there chances and in my personal opinion did dominate certain aspects of the game. The addition of Noonan certainly has added to the weirs experience, another might not go astray, and the continual improvement amongst their younger brigade puts the club in a great position for the future.
Also wouldn't be surprised if the leagues B&F winner is amongst the weirs ranks.;)

Katandra got over the line against Rennie. (For those travelling to Rennie in the future... go nearly all the way around Lake Mulwala and look for the sign saying RENNIE 20, which points left)

All the scoring was done at the one end. Quarters 1 & 3 were woeful by Katandra. I think we kicked 2.10 in the last... which was disappointing. After playing 0 good quarters against Waaia and 2 good ones against Rennie... 4 good ones will be needed this week against the Tigers.

Wondering if anyone can shed some light on the Tungamah V Rennie game this week? Will it be a close game or Tungamah to $hit in? With a bit a luck the BEAR might make a special ANZAC day appearance. Looking forward to a few beers behind the goals at the Pub End of the Ground.:thumbsu:

I would wager 100 + points... Rennie will keep many sides honest this year, but as Tungamah showed last week they are again the team to beat.

Any thoughts on the Round 4 game - Mathoura vs Deni? I've heard they're both pretty good.

will have to see after this week but should be a good game of footy timbercutters coming off 2 wins deni have also had 2 wins and kicked good scores in both ill back the cuters in at home

Katandra got over the line against Rennie. (For those travelling to Rennie in the future... go nearly all the way around Lake Mulwala and look for the sign saying RENNIE 20, which points left)

All the scoring was done at the one end. Quarters 1 & 3 were woeful by Katandra. I think we kicked 2.10 in the last... which was disappointing. After playing 0 good quarters against Waaia and 2 good ones against Rennie... 4 good ones will be needed this week against the Tigers.

yeah to get to rennie all you pretty much do is go through yarrawonga across the traffic bridge and follow that road for a fair while around lake mulwala, you'll see a little sign saying rennie on the left just before a place called linley park, if you get to a caravan park called denison county you've gone too far :thumbsu: oh and the road when you turn left isnt very good

Hoppers V Bulldogs game was a slog, Neck and Neck all day. Hoppers in Ian Oliver and Nick Sim to fast for bulldog players all day, But No 20 for dogs (Davis??) played a top game on Jimmy Daniel keeping quite for most of the day. Bulldogs Too strong in 1 on 1 contests over the ground in wet condtions, Taylor played a great game of wet weather footy. Again Hoppers could'nt finish off when it counted, but they are a very young side many positives to come out of game.:thumbsu: and will learn from this. Well done to the dogs they desvered to win in a slog fest:thumbsu:

anyone care to share thoughts on how the league split is working. i personally think it has gone alrite so far with some good close encounters. has become hard to pick winners due to how even it is.

Couldn’t agree more, the North Comp seems to be very even. Has been some very close games which is what you want to see. It was good to see the ‘U’ competitive against Blighty the other day also.

The split seems to be very successful from what I have seen... less travel better margins... more optimistic clubs. Another club in the SE group to make 9 would make it good, so that all clubs play each other twice.

Any ideas on where finals will be played. The way I see it the NW Granny will be the week before the SE one.

What is everyones tips this weekend? think i big game this weekend will be berrigan v blighty should be a good one, hope the saints get up.

The split seems to have worked extremely well especially for the clubs within the North West conference who struggled to compete within the old 16 clubs concept.
Most sides within the league look to have a genuine chance at this early stage of upsetting any other club within the league on any given day.
Todays game at Mathoura was an absolute rip snorter and not at all because of the result, it was an extremely good standard of footy by both sides with plenty of highlights, none more so than Mathouras Luke Henson's banana from the boundary around 50 out to put his side in front in the all important 3rd term.

Kudos to the Kats for playing a night game @ home.

They should have done more often over the years. Anyone know why it hasn't been done more often? Balls you'll know, a man of all useless information.! Well in this case useful information.:D:D:D

The split seems to have worked extremely well especially for the clubs within the North West conference who struggled to compete within the old 16 clubs concept.
Most sides within the league look to have a genuine chance at this early stage of upsetting any other club within the league on any given day.
Todays game at Mathoura was an absolute rip snorter and not at all because of the result, it was an extremely good standard of footy by both sides with plenty of highlights, none more so than Mathouras Luke Henson's banana from the boundary around 50 out to put his side in front in the all important 3rd term.

I agree great to see how even this comp has become. After 4 rounds all teams except 1 (wunghnu) are seperated by only 1 win and no team has gone un-defeated.

Pace having beaten both Strathy and Deni by similar margins who is your pick for this weeks game between the two and why?

I agree great to see how even this comp has become. After 4 rounds all teams except 1 (wunghnu) are seperated by only 1 win and no team has gone un-defeated.

Pace having beaten both Strathy and Deni by similar margins who is your pick for this weeks game between the two and why?

Hmm intimidator with some inside knowledge would have thought Deni were red hot favorites i reckon

Well from what i hear also it should be a 1 sided affair, up to 8 - 10 players will be missing from strathy's line up ( nearly as bad as wunghnu's 12 man inj list ) on sat due to inj & unavailability ( no taylor, cole, shadbolt etc ) but you never know do ya! Good luck :thumbsu:

Yeah mate very similiar 12 out of starting senior side, 9 from last weeks game.......but as you say you never know. Hoping the Deni boys may have a few extra in the ressies as pulling out all stops to get a side up there.

Haven't played, can't get a game.
However from an onlookers point of view, I would think it would be a fairly even clash, if both sides had the same personal as when we played them.
Where's Dicko and JB at injury wise ?

Haven't played, can't get a game.
However from an onlookers point of view, I would think it would be a fairly even clash, if both sides had the same personal as when we played them.
Where's Dicko and JB at injury wise ?

So you not having a run tomorrow pace? (fitness or injury?) How the boys looking, you're travelling pretty well at this stage ( jj & pev must've been just what you's were looking for :D)