Toast Pies land Sanderson

PIEWITHSAUCE

Sep 29, 2014
I'm pretty sure I read something recent from Collingwood recently saying that two more line coaches were to be added (edit : ninja'd above) - - so Sando + one more was my expectation.
I reckon they will promote Tapping.

As do I. there was the quote about 2 more coaches and the AFL article today by Peter Ryan says "more changes are possible after the VFL finals"

Sanderson was on future stars last weekend not surprisingly talking about draft prospects. He mentioned a few players he liked and also gave an insight in a few African kids they had in the studio. Hopefully he's established a good rapport with all players during his AIS role and we can bring a few in like Buckley and his underage squad.

Saintly Viewed

30k Posts 10k Posts Collingwood - Tyler Brown Player Sponsor 2020 Collingwood Magpies - Brayden Sier 2019 Player Sponsor Collingwood - Jaidyn Stephenson Player Sponsor 2018 Collingwood Board Goal Kicking Tip Comp Collingwood - Matthew Scharenberg Player Sponsor 2017 Shiny Penny
Aug 10, 2015
Good appointment, terrific CV.
Can only be of benefit.

Dynamics

Jul 23, 2007
Good stuff, happy with this.

The friendship only confirms that Sanderson and Buckley will get along well.

Sanderson's achievements and experience make him more than qualified to be an assistant coach. We all know our last two forward line coaches weren't up to it and now we have a bloke with pedigree in the job.

Welcome back Sando.

Oct 6, 2004
collingwood
Putting aside whether he will make a good assistant or not (which only time will tell), it is handy to have someone who has worked with the kids coming through.

Buckley did this prior to his coaching appointment, and it is the reason we landed Treloar and Adams. He had already developed a rapport with them before heading into the system.

For that reason I'm happy.

However, I'd like to see some new coaches added to the ranks who has coached at other sides in 2016 and can bring some external IP. I feel we have too many 'Collingwood' people. Good clubs get a wealth of knowledge from a lot of sources. Although Sanderson has coaching experience at a number of clubs, he hasn't been internally involved in an AFL club for a few years. The game moves pretty quick. I'm hopeful of 1 good signing of an assistant from another club in the next few months.

May 7, 2011
Wangaratta
Celtics, Tottenham, Oakland Raiders
If you were going to make any coach the "ball movement" specialist I think in the modern game it would either be the defensive coach or the midfield coach, not the forward coach. Ball movement inside the forward zone isn't as important as getting it in the forward zone the right way I reckon. Because if you get it inside the forward area properly and accurately, the ball movement once forward almost takes care of itself.

I still think Harvey and Sanderson should be swapped here, Sando down back/ball movement and Harvey up forward, but it is what it is so let's see how it goes.
Ball movement and forward line to me suggests improving the quality of our 'inside 50's' - a clear and stated area of weakness for us.

May 7, 2011
Wangaratta
Putting aside whether he will make a good assistant or not (which only time will tell), it is handy to have someone who has worked with the kids coming through.

Buckley did this prior to his coaching appointment, and it is the reason we landed Treloar and Adams. He had already developed a rapport with them before heading into the system.

For that reason I'm happy.

However, I'd like to see some new coaches added to the ranks who has coached at other sides in 2016 and can bring some external IP. I feel we have too many 'Collingwood' people. Good clubs get a wealth of knowledge from a lot of sources. Although Sanderson has coaching experience at a number of clubs, he hasn't been internally involved in an AFL club for a few years. The game moves pretty quick. I'm hopeful of 1 good signing of an assistant from another club in the next few months.
Agree with the idea.
Rivers and especially Balme probably brought Gèelong IP; Gubby from GWS - would be nice to bring in more from Sydney or Hawthorn at some point.

May 7, 2011
Wangaratta
I'm pretty sure I read something recent from Collingwood recently saying that two more line coaches were to be added (edit : ninja'd above) - - so Sando + one more was my expectation.

As do I. there was the quote about 2 more coaches and the AFL article today by Peter Ryan says "more changes are possible after the VFL finals"
Maybe Rocca will get sent out on work experience...

Ketchup

May 9, 2009
Tottenham Hotspur, Aberdeen FC
I think it's a fantastic appointment. Thought he did a great job at Adelaide.

Usually I'm anti hiring of Buckley's mate, Im not too fussed with this one, coaches of Sanderson's quality can only help. And at the end of the day, if we're s**t next season Buckley is out of a job, so it's in Sanderson's and Buckley's best interest to be told what's best, not be another yes man!

peter9789

Aug 25, 2009
I like the appointment for a number of reasons

1. Worked through the Premiership years at Geelong so would have learnt a lot.

2. Has coached at a senior level with Adelaide so knows what it's like in the heat of the kitchen.

3. Worked with young development players at AIS for past 2 years so would have developed his knowledge about relating and teaching young players.

Now all we need is a ruck coach!

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

DAWESOME!!

Sep 7, 2008
Great appointment. People forget how highly regarded he was at Port and Geelong. Obviously didn't make too many friends at Adelaide, but some people just aren't cut out for the top job.
And you would think he will have learned a lot from his experience at Adelaide. I reckon he would. Most professions, people don't get one chance at leadership and then get branded as a failure for the rest of their life.

Good appointment.

Open question if anyone can answer.

Thought I recall reading somewhere that if we under spent in the Footy Dept this year we can carry over to next year without penalty (paying the extra tax).

Anyone know if this is right or just wishful thinking on my part.

I'm assuming he's the forwards coach then. A shrinking coaching panel is interesting. I wonder where the money which is freed up from that decision will be spent within the football department cap?

Less coaches to sack if things go pear shaped?

jackcass

10k Posts Magpie Service Medal Collingwood - Josh Daicos Player Sponsor 2021 Collingwood - Tyler Brown Player Sponsor 2020 Collingwood Magpies AFLW - Sarah Rowe Player Sponsor 2019
Oct 8, 2007
Bendigo
Great appointment. People forget how highly regarded he was at Port and Geelong. Obviously didn't make too many friends at Adelaide, but some people just aren't cut out for the top job.

Rumours suggest he had no trouble making friends.