Pies must achieve sustained success

There is no magic fungi in my tea... The leaves are predestined by the gods. I also consult with the spatter marks on the china after the morning constitutional and it also confirms a period of sustained success. oh ye of little faith..
They might be doing an LSD in the water thing around your area, would explain a few things.
I checked the bowl out this morning, got a good glimpse of where I think we'll be at post 2020. No gods involved.

I have been thinking about our plight to reach the pinnacle of winning a flag or flags especially since we have fallen short the last 2 years.

Circumstances and injuries have added to our woes.

We are in the midst of signing our 3 most important players in Grundy,Degoey and Moore.We must sign all three very soon no if's or buts.

These guys along with Treloar ,Adams, Crisp,Maynard and the likes of Beams, Sidey and of course Pendles and,Howe are our core group.Remembering that the last few mentioned are getting older and we have the likes of our younger brigade coming through.This is the group that really need to lift for us to have sustained success.Players like Sier, Daicos, Murphy,The brown Brothers,kelly etc is where a huge improvement must come from.

I don't know what it is , but i have had this nagging feeling that if we can just win a flag with this group and the flood gates will completely open up.

Gees if the Tigers can win 2 flags in three years,we stopped them from winning 3 in a row (because if they played the Eagles they would have beaten them i believe),surely this current group we have can win multiple flags,no doubt.

Your thoughts ????

Who are our elite young midfielders that are going to replace Sidebottom Beams Pendlebury Treloar in 3 years? Sier Brown Brown Daicos Wills still have to prove they can be AFL players, let alone A grade superstars.

We probably have 1-2 more chances to challenge with this group in 2020 and 2021 before we need to rebuild and have another crack when Grundy Moore De Goey are late 20's and still going.

Mohammad Amir retired at "27"... looks 31... debuted at 17... Strange hey.

But na, THIS kid is definitely 16...

What's the chance he retires at 28 due to old age?

It's been said many times . . .

BUT . . .

Injuries have cruelled us in the last 2 years - we made the GF/PF IN SPITE OF injuries.

Some of those injuries have been self inflicted and worsened - IMHO - by the deplorable state of our training ground which everyone at the club is in pointless denial over.

A complete changeover of training/fitness staff has occurred, and the huge upsurge of injuries roughly coincide with changing training facilities.

Not rocket science.

FIX THE DAMN TRAINING SURFACE!

It's not that hard - although pricey

It's time Eddie and the board stopped penny pinching over the stupid AFL tax . .

FIX THE GROUND

HIRE FULL TIME SPECIALIST COACHES.

Win flag/s.

I agree with all those things you said to a point, the training surface, the lack of spending (and spending in the wrong areas).

However all of those things even if they were corrected would not guarantee a flag or if we would've had one in the last two seasons - I'd speculate that as a likely, but is speculation none the less.

I'd like us to go back to Gosch's paddock for training............. seems the club whether or not under Ed's direction would not or could not go back.

At least then we could confirm which training surface causes less injuries.

I think our list is approaching the cliff perilously. But concerned about two years time when Pendles/Sidebottom/Beams/Roughead/Howe etc are all two years older and nearing the end. Our mid rangers are average footballers who we won’t expect much more out of. Save for our four youngish superstars there’s not a great deal to be super optimistic about.

Our middle part of the season was abysmal. It could very quickly become the norm
Is there a club in a better position than us with Grundy, De Goey, Moore and Stephenson headlining the list of players either hitting their prime or yet to hit it? With middle-aged Treloar, Adams, Langdon (pray he recovers), Elliott and Crisp to name a handful beside them, I reckon we have heaps of time on our side to prepare for our next tilt whether this one is successful or not. Of course this changes if any key personnel leave, but I'm not going to pretend any of those are dangers of leaving yet.

Pendlebury and Sidebottom's athletic profiles suggest they could continue playing good footy for many years yet. In fact, the player I worry most about replacing funnily enough (maybe beside Pendles) would be Roughead at full-back but he only turned 29 this month, so I reckon we can expect some more good footy from him.

I personally am very bullish on the future of this list.

I agree with all those things you said to a point, the training surface, the lack of spending (and spending in the wrong areas).

However all of those things even if they were corrected would not guarantee a flag or if we would've had one in the last two seasons - I'd speculate that as a likely, but is speculation none the less.

I'd like us to go back to Gosch's paddock for training............. seems the club whether or not under Ed's direction would not or could not go back.

At least then we could confirm which training surface causes less injuries.
No argument on lack of certainty.

I have a nagging suspicion that the club realized they made a horrendous mistake in moving training to our current facility but are either too pigheaded/frightened to admit it . . or . . got themselves locked into an airtight contract that would be disastrous financially to break.

The contract possibility would be the most damaging and annoying for me.

I have lower expectations, but not as low as some. Our list still has too many clear holes to be considered a dominant team that can expect multiple flags. We should be good enough to stay around the top 4 over the next few years, and could swing a flag on the back of good form/luck, but could improve those chances with improving aspects our list.
Our list has some clear holes because key players are injury prone. I was really hoping we would trade them on, and particularly Moore and Elliot. As good as they are they are useless to us if they don’t play. We could have got something for them, if they have another year of injuries their value decreases significantly.

Who are our elite young midfielders that are going to replace Sidebottom Beams Pendlebury Treloar in 3 years? Sier Brown Brown Daicos Wills still have to prove they can be AFL players, let alone A grade superstars.

We probably have 1-2 more chances to challenge with this group in 2020 and 2021 before we need to rebuild and have another crack when Grundy Moore De Goey are late 20's and still going.
3 years is a long time. Draft, random development, trade, free agency etc

We lack a killer instinct to win a flag. The only time it’s ever been displayed was against Port last year at the MCG and Adelaide at Adelaide this year.

No argument on lack of certainty.

I have a nagging suspicion that the club realized they made a horrendous mistake in moving training to our current facility but are either too pigheaded/frightened to admit it . . or . . got themselves locked into an airtight contract that would be disastrous financially to break.

The contract possibility would be the most damaging and annoying for me.

Door number 3 on that one, the club would admit it was for the good of the club - injuries to your employees is not something you don't dance around for fear of being "wrong"

I have been thinking about our plight to reach the pinnacle of winning a flag or flags especially since we have fallen short the last 2 years.

Circumstances and injuries have added to our woes.

We are in the midst of signing our 3 most important players in Grundy,Degoey and Moore.We must sign all three very soon no if's or buts.

These guys along with Treloar ,Adams, Crisp,Maynard and the likes of Beams, Sidey and of course Pendles and,Howe are our core group.Remembering that the last few mentioned are getting older and we have the likes of our younger brigade coming through.This is the group that really need to lift for us to have sustained success.Players like Sier, Daicos, Murphy,The brown Brothers,kelly etc is where a huge improvement must come from.

I don't know what it is , but i have had this nagging feeling that if we can just win a flag with this group and the flood gates will completely open up.

Gees if the Tigers can win 2 flags in three years,we stopped them from winning 3 in a row (because if they played the Eagles they would have beaten them i believe),surely this current group we have can win multiple flags,no doubt.

Your thoughts ????

We need an A grade key forward. I.e. someone like Tom Lynch. Otherwise, we will hover around the 2nd to 6th but never quite make it.

2018 was our chance with a “point of difference” forward line (mid sized mobile forward), but I think that’s dropped away.

Doesn’t mean we can steal one, if injuries etc hit other clubs, just means it’s highly unlikely.