Analysis Pies win! Cloke you superstar

Hope so :) nearly had one this year. Honestly a relief to me - with the whole MND thing that went so well as a charity, it would have been disappointing for the game to be a whitewash. But I sort of enjoyed it - even without a win. It was competitive for three quarters, Cloke was sensational after some serious critics, Elliot was what he is. It was a decent game to watch (and I had fears).

And how good is that Angus Brayshaw? I keep blinking to make sure I didn't dream him up
even though mcdonald got smashed yesterday he is a gun and i cant believe he is only 22

Find that hard to believe. Not doubting you TD, but I was there pretty early yesterday and Wittsy was on the ground having a kick with Kennedy, Broomy and De Goey. He can't have been too unwell. I think it was more a tactical change due to the good conditions more than Wittsy being crook. Either way it'll be interesting to see what we do against Mumford on Sunday.
Word from the club was a bit unwell and a bit sore - probably could have played.

even though mcdonald got smashed yesterday he is a gun and i cant believe he is only 22
I think I love you - not in a weird, freak stalker way but more in a general Bigfooty way.

Oddly, I think seeing how much TMac was hurt by losing to Cloke - that's great. He cares, so it could even be good for him. He certainly goes away from the game with a bag of learnings. And forget recent form, Cloke was back to his best. With a forward of his calibre, a few defenders are going to get beaten. Forget the recent blips, Cloke is my favourite current forward player when playing at his best. He has the whole package - contest body, keeps feet and a bit of style.

Can we swap him back and you keep Dawes and we get Cloke?

I think I love you - not in a weird, freak stalker way but more in a general Bigfooty way.

Oddly, I think seeing how much TMac was hurt by losing to Cloke - that's great. He cares, so it could even be good for him. He certainly goes away from the game with a bag of learnings. And forget recent form, Cloke was back to his best. With a forward of his calibre, a few defenders are going to get beaten. Forget the recent blips, Cloke is my favourite current forward player when playing at his best. He has the whole package - contest body, keeps feet and a bit of style.

That he was upset about losing to Cloke and seemed disappointed about being shifted onto a less dangerous forward shows character. Mcdonald reminds me of Alex Rance about 3 years ago. Great stopper with incredible physical attributes but a little hand on heart when he has the ball in hand. Look at Rance now though, who wouldn't want him as your CHB?

Angus Brayshaw is easily one of the best first year players I've seen in the last 20 years of footy. I rate him as highly as Ollie Wines. He is going to be better than Scully, Watts and Trengove combined for the Dee's. I can only imagine how much of a difference Petracca would have made this year. Was disappointed when he went down with an ACL.

:D. Honestly mate, nobody would've stopped cloke yesterday. (if only he could do that more often).
You blokes are way on the right track, don't think finals this year imo, but you will be challenging from next season.
Melbourne's spine is so talented, even max gawn is going to be, if not already a great ruckman, just has to work on his tank.
Hogan , well what else can be said, he was well beaten yesterday but has already shown enough in his debut year to show the footy world he is going to be something special for you guys.
Brayshaw will win the Rising star this year, you guys would've been rubbing your hands together collecting him and Petracca( please come to the club you barracked for) damn i wish we had Petracca.
All in all, Good luck for the rest of the season apart from round 18, when we meet again.

Hope so :) nearly had one this year. Honestly a relief to me - with the whole MND thing that went so well as a charity, it would have been disappointing for the game to be a whitewash. But I sort of enjoyed it - even without a win. It was competitive for three quarters, Cloke was sensational after some serious critics, Elliot was what he is. It was a decent game to watch (and I had fears).

And how good is that Angus Brayshaw? I keep blinking to make sure I didn't dream him up

That's a very good perspective. It certainly was great to see both clubs and sets of supporters get behind the MND cause. Pretty sure most Pie fans are impressed by Neil Daniher's courage in putting himself forward for this. Nicely put. I'm sure we're envious of a few of your players, especially Brayshaw. He'll be first class I reckon. Also Petracca to look forward to. I've said some pretty scathing things about Dees fans on this thread PG and now feeling bad about it! Thanks for showing me up for my stereotyping and best of luck for the rest of the season.

Totally okay. Tell you what, we can call it even if you give us Elliot - and as a gift you can have Watts, Toumpas and even Matt Jones (I don't think you will have heard of him but trust me, he's the whole package. Not as such a good package, but definitely a package of some description).

Angus Brayshaw is easily one of the best first year players I've seen in the last 20 years of footy. I rate him as highly as Ollie Wines. He is going to be better than Scully, Watts and Trengove combined for the Dee's. I can only imagine how much of a difference Petracca would have made this year. Was disappointed when he went down with an ACL.

That would not be Hard

Totally okay. Tell you what, we can call it even if you give us Elliot - and as a gift you can have Watts, Toumpas and even Matt Jones (I don't think you will have heard of him but trust me, he's the whole package. Not as such a good package, but definitely a package of some description).

:) good to see you also have a sense of humour. We're probably keen on those guys but more looking to do a deal on Tony Armstrong. Guessing your answer will be 'Yeah Nah'.

It's 1,000,000 years since we looked at a flag. Maybe even 2,000,000 - I forget the exact number. What I'm saying is that there are some problems without taking on board Tony Armstrong.

So yeah... Nah :)

...Bulldogs, Melbourne, GWS all have some quality young contested ball winnets so it's getting to the stage you can get torched by anyone. Guess we just need to have more depth in our midfield which should come with development. As some have mentioned Adams and Greenwood will be good in this area.

I noticed in quite a few stoppages our setup was awful. Nothing but Dees goal-side of a stoppage and that's where the ball would go, they'd clear. Rinse and repeat. Can't understand why we didn't mix up our positioning. Although I would also say that Vince was allowed to go as he pleased and that really bloody annoyed me - why they didn't have Swan give him a light tag I'll never know.

Jones killed us at that....every time

I agree. I reckon our set up has been dubious for years and while Jones is undoubtedly a gun, there will be one every week. Last week Dumont was getting out too easily, next week it'll be Shiel or Ward or Trelaor. We always leak like a sieve when playing Hawthorn. These run ons are coming from the centre bounce set up. Interested to see what impact Greenwood has in there. I really loved him as a contested player at North and hope he will have a positive effect.

If Collingwood could work out how to stop teams kicking 4-5 goals in 5 mins and I'll back us in for finals. I'm a bit worried how we'll back up in 6 days against GWS

The problem lies in the center square...midfield 4 just not getting it out often enough. Problem masked by good clearance stats elsewhere..

Adams was badly missed on Monday

The Varcoe one was correct. He shat himself and dropped the ball instead of just hanging on to it and pretending to try and get rid of it. The annoying ones for me were the non holding the ball decisions. I thought there were several great unrewarded tackles which could have gone our way

Yep...my only explanation at the time was that Travis got such a shock that a Watts tackle stuck...he was temporarily stunned and confused...

The rule has good intentions but were the problem lies is that when it happens the decision could go three ways. In the back, high tackle or contact below the legs. Makes it hard to watch.

That's the second time this year that White has been totally screwed by an interpretation of this rule. Both times he was essentially penalised for going for the ball...both times it should have been play on....

The Varcoe one was correct. He shat himself and dropped the ball instead of just hanging on to it and pretending to try and get rid of it. The annoying ones for me were the non holding the ball decisions. I thought there were several great unrewarded tackles which could have gone our way
At least 5 occasions a Melbourne player, even succession of players, simply held the ball for 3-4 seconds and then let go.
Minutes later a Collingwood player is done after a millisecond or when not even taking possession.
Pathetic umpiring at it's most pathetic.

Yep...my only explanation at the time was that Travis got such a shock that a Watts tackle stuck...he was temporarily stunned and confused...
Rumor is he dropped the ball because he was so keen to shake Watts hand.

At least 5 occasions a Melbourne player, even succession of players, simply held the ball for 3-4 seconds and then let go.
Minutes later a Collingwood player is done after a millisecond or when not even taking possession.
Pathetic umpiring at it's most pathetic.

That's similar to the one I almost got in a blue with a cheats fan over a few weeks ago. Bell was tailing Frost and the cheats fans were working themselves into a lather every time they laid a tackle so Bell comes up behind Frosty and I'm pretty sure as he tackles him the contact batted the ball out of Frosts hand so it's holding the ball, gifted goal. Is it holding the ball when an opposition player smashes it out of your hand? I mean he effectively had no chance to dispose of the ball because it had already been done for him. But the free was paid because the cheats fans were baying for blood. Seriously umpires need to show a bit more character and not always pay the grand stand decisions.