Ricky_15

south dragons
I'm a little frustrated at the moment as i'm sure the majority of us are.

I think in 2010

We need to Delist atleast about 7-8 players who arnt cutting it:
E.g. Bell, Robbo, Miller, Bartram, Bell, Dunn, Mcdonald

As long as we have about 8-9 experienced players in the side i think we will be in good shape moving forward.

As of next year Butcher and Scully (assuming we get them) should be played consistently and i believe they are both ready to step in and play AFL.

Having a forward line of:
Sylvia Watts Bate
Wona Butcher Jurrah

looks alot healthier moving forward as oppose to having Robbo, Miller or Newton who just take up space.

The Backline looks fantastic for the future with Cheney and Bennel looking like Keepers and our tall backmen like Garland, Warnock, Rivers and Martin can mix it with the big boys.

Hopefully Scully and Blease will give us some improvement in the middle and maybe hit a target consistently because we lack skilled kickers in the side. ( If only we had afew more Aaron Davey's)

Its pivotal that Mclean and Sylvia step up because they both cant find consistency at the moment where they are the stages of their careers where they should be able to play good footy on a weekly basis.

I still dont believe Our four mediocre ruckman are going in the right direction so its pivotal to trade for a mobile and capable ruckman.

Make Brad Green captain as well because he's the only one at the moment that really goes in at every contest and has pride in playing for the MFC.

By the way: Its to early to single out Bailey, If we are in this position next year than we have some serious issues.

How does everyone else see 2010 playing out?

It's really hard to see when we'll suddenly jump out of our rut and how far we will go. We have a lot of talent on our list, even more by the time the draft is done.

Will we move up slowly, maybe winning 7 or so games or will it be a sudden jump into the 8 maybe?

If Garland comes back then we have a solid key defence of Garland, Rivers, Frawley and Warnock. Martin took a very big step back tonight but still has a chance.

Our forward line will still be our biggest issue. Watts and Jurrah will still be very young. Our midfield will improve with Blease, Strauss and possibly Scully adding some much needed pace. They will compliment Jones, Moloney and McLean nicely.

Possible 2010 team:

B: Cheney Frawley Bennell
HB: Rivers Garland Bruce
W: Morton McLean Davey
HF: Sylvia Watts Jurrah
FF: Wonna Butcher Maric
R: Johnson Grimes Moloney
Int: Scully Jones Green Meesen

That is a team to get excited about and I haven't even put in Blease and Strauss! There are no players in that team without a good future at our club, except for say Bruce and Green but they aren't too old and are still very good contributers and the rucks are still an issue.

In addition, we'd still have Bate and Warnock that I couldn't quite squeeze into that team.

If Garland comes back then we have a solid key defence of Garland, Rivers, Frawley and Warnock. Martin took a very big step back tonight but still has a chance.

A bit hard on Martin there, he did ok in the ruck/ forwardline and was played on Stanton/ Monfries in the backline, bit tough when you're playing on someone half your size/weight.

Will be delisted -
Newton - Still contracted but doing nothing.
Bell - That bump ruined his career.
Dunn - I like him, but he has been 'Millered', jack of all trades, master of none.

To be moved on -
Whelan - Still my favourite player, but is getting on in years and showing it.
Mcdonald - Love him to bits, but is in the same situation as Whelan.
Robertson - Needs a big body in the forwardline, and we can't give him one, he was monstered by Fletcher tonight.
Wheatley - No spot for him anymore, will most likely retire...
Bruce - Imo he's just filling the spot until Morton is ready to step up and take it.

Bate's a good player IMO and he is in our best 22. When we get 2 good KP forwards he will make an excellent foil. He's not overly quick, but he's a very smart player.

Agreed- Bater is good overhead and has a nice kick on him too. Always gets in good positions too.

Is it just me or does anyone else think he looks 'off-balance' all the time? Maybe its coz he runs funny and is a 'lefty' but he looks awkward to me like he's constantly about to trip over himself? meh maybe im smoking too much!

speaking of- Col- hows ur 'Mexican Bocce team' going? Heard their dominating? :D

OUT: Brad Miller, Lynden Dunn, Daniel Bell, James McDonald, Russell Robertson, Michael Newton, Paul Wheatley, Trent Zomer, Matthew Whelan.

Miller - we have to be honest here, he won't be in our next premiership team.

Dunn - I like him, but he's been ruined by coaching. Play him in the one position for **** sake. I just hope they don't do the same to Martin.

Bell - has never been the same since Ben ****ing Johnson.

McDonald - love him to bits, but he can't play for much longer.

Robertson - diving hack, get him out. Not good enough, should have traded him to the Dogs a few years back.

Newton - is still contracted, so could get off.

Wheatley - could be a bit harsh on him, but I don't see a spot for him with Grimes playing some decent footy.

Zomer - admittedly I haven't seen much of him, needs to do more.

Whelan - love him, won't be in our next premiership team.

Delist - Bell, Dunn, Newton

Retire - Robertson, Whelan, McDonald, Wheatley

speaking of- Col- hows ur 'Mexican Bocce team' going? Heard their dominating? :D

The whole team was struck down with the bubonic plague last week unfortunately, so we've had to withdraw from all competition's indefinitely... :(

Its a good thing the World Cup's still 1 and half years away. We've got time to re-group and prepare for Latvia in 2011..

The whole team was struck down with the bubonic plague last week unfortunately, so we've had to withdraw from all competition's indefinitely... :(

Its a good thing the World Cup's still 1 and half years away. We've got time to re-group and prepare for Latvia in 2011..

Beautiful Python-esque quality about that post Colin :D

As far as the overall issue goes here, well, everyone else's thoughts match well with my own - basically, as I said on another topic, we're a 2/3-year work in progress, being optimistic.

OUT: Brad Miller, Lynden Dunn, Daniel Bell, James McDonald, Russell Robertson, Michael Newton, Paul Wheatley, Trent Zomer, Matthew Whelan

Overall I'd say this is a pretty sound assessment, although I reckon you're calling it too early on Dunn.

I'd hope that Miller will lift himself a bit, and that the obvious deficiencies in his game will be improved at least somewhat before the end of the year too, but I suspect this won't happen. Whether he would miss the cut at the end of this season, or whether he gets culled next year, I'm not sure.

Disappointing though, because he's got heart, and I've liked that about him.

Newton, Wheatley and Whelan - again, going to get culled either at the end of this season or next.

Robbo & McDonald, yeah... I don't see them playing another season.

On second thoughts, I agree with you, and would like to keep Dunn on the list. It's just getting frustrating seeing him 2 weeks in the side and then 6 weeks out. The 2 weeks he's in, he plays in the midfield and then forward for 5 minute blocks.

Just play him out of the goal square for **** sake!

Delist- Newton, Miller, Bell, Johnson or Jamar (if you can pick one to be worse than the other)

Trade- Rivers

retirees- Robbo, Wheatley, Whelan, Mcdonald

Delist- Newton, Miller, Bell, Johnson or Jamar (if you can pick one to be worse than the other)

Trade- Rivers

retirees- Robbo, Wheatley, Whelan, Mcdonald

You're figuring on Jamar being delisted? Jamar's the best ruckman in our squad right now IMO. If he wasn't injured now, he'd be a guaranteed starter.

And if he was culled, who'd you replace him with?

I'm not too sure who you'd find to perform Riv's role any better than Riv does right now either...

ah yes Latvia 2011... the dream is still alive! and that damn bubonic plague! always gets elite Mexican bocce players in their prime! :D

You're figuring on Jamar being delisted? Jamar's the best ruckman in our squad right now IMO. If he wasn't injured now, he'd be a guaranteed starter.

Jamar is clearly our number one ruckman. Johnson plays like a big midget. He needs to concentrate on ruck every training session cause you get picked as a ruckman. Not a midfielder.

I think in 2010

As long as we have about 8-9 experienced players in the side i think we will be in good shape moving forward.

As of next year Butcher and Scully (assuming we get them) should be played consistently and i believe they are both ready to step in and play AFL.

Sylvia Watts Bate
Wona Butcher Jurrah

looks alot healthier moving forward as oppose to having Robbo, Miller or Newton who just take up space.

The Backline looks fantastic for the future with Cheney and Bennel looking like Keepers and our tall backmen like Garland, Warnock, Rivers and Martin can mix it with the big boys.

Hopefully Scully and Blease will give us some improvement in the middle and maybe hit a target consistently because we lack skilled kickers in the side. ( If only we had afew more Aaron Davey's)

Its pivotal that Mclean and Sylvia step up because they both cant find consistency at the moment where they are the stages of their careers where they should be able to play good footy on a weekly basis.

I still dont believe Our four mediocre ruckman are going in the right direction so its pivotal to trade for a mobile and capable ruckman.

Make Brad Green captain as well because he's the only one at the moment that really goes in at every contest and has pride in playing for the MFC.

By the way: Its to early to single out Bailey, If we are in this position next year than we have some serious issues.

Nice, thoughtful and constructive post mate, I think you' ve pretty much hit the nail on the head there.

Re - Miller, well as much as he's never going to be an A grade KPF, I think we need his aggression and leadership in the forwardline for the next season or two, especially with Jurrah and Watts learning the trade.

I'd like to see Dunn given more chances to make his name as a forward, but everyone else you've mentioned has to go.

The plan for 2010 is more or less the same as 2009. Cut back the list once again, and insert some more quality youngsters into the team. There should be a large handful of retirees/delistees (depends on their contractual status, for example, I think Newton still has another year left), which means that we can stock up before the Gold Coast come and pillage the 2010 draft.

Just on that note, we are lucky that our fall began in 2007 and not 2009 or 2010. I feel sorry for the next team that bottoms out, they won't receive a quarter of the rewards that us and Carlton have had recently. Going into next season, we will have 9 players drafted in the top 21 since 2007:

Cale Morton
Jack Grimes
Addam Maric
Jack Watts
James Strauss
Sam Blease
Tom Scully *
John Butcher *
Late First Rounder

* Assuming we don't draft anyone else at #1 and #2.

Re - Miller, well as much as he's never going to be an A grade KPF, I think we need his aggression and leadership in the forwardline for the next season or two, especially with Jurrah and Watts learning the trade.

I'd like to see Dunn given more chances to make his name as a forward, but everyone else you've mentioned has to go.

I agree on Miller. With Robertson going, we will need some experience up forward. Miller takes a key defender and provides the physical work in the forward line. I would hate to see us throw Watts and Jurrah into the deep end next season with no protection, getting the biggest and best defenders every week.

As for Dunn, it has come to the stage where he either plays forward or gets delisted. He isn't a natural midfielder, nor is he a great tagger. A decision needs to be made, because it benefits no one to have these 22-23 year olds caught in nomansland.

The plan for 2010 is more or less the same as 2009. Cut back the list once again, and insert some more quality youngsters into the team.

I disagree. I expect a much improved team in 2010. With some players reaching the 30-40 games by the end of it, I'm looking to win 7-8 games.

And if he was culled, who'd you replace him with?

I'm not too sure who you'd find to perform Riv's role any better than Riv does right now either...

one of our older ruckman need to go, they both have had plenty of game time to improve but they havent. whenever they get the ball you know its going to be a turnover, or failed attempt at goal. i would replace meesen with the one who goes. meesen is fast for a tall and can kick.

Jamar has improved leaps and bounds and that's just from his 2 games this season. Dominated the hitouts in both games beating the opposing rucks combined total on his own in both games. He seems to be a lot more mobile and was covering a lot more ground the he previously did, his ground work is still solid and he has improved his contested marking. Not to mention he knows that kicking is a last resort and always looks for the best option first before kicking if he has too.

PJ in my opinion seems to be stuck in reverse, while he had a decent period of form a while back recently he's been making one stupid mistake after another. Needs to start playing like a ruckman and not try play as a midfielder, that's when he does his best work because he's not trying to do too much.

However I don't agree that we need to move one on, 4 ruckmen on this list is fine and we'd be in trouble if we had less. Look at it now, PJ was the only ruck option we had this week and we were stuck with only him for about 2-3 weeks while all Jamar, Meesen and Spencer were injured. None of them need to be moved on.

I think in 2010

Sylvia Watts Bate
Wona Butcher Jurrah

Pretty good summary, although Sylvia has ha a consistent year this year and his last 5 weeks have been out standing. Mclean has battled hard all year was slow to start and is suffering from a lack of pre season but still avg 23 touches a game and is getting better each week.

About trading for a mobile ruckman, they aren't lentiful at the moment and believe meesen could fulfill this role next year with Jamar.

I would like to see us continue with the youngsters and hopefully see Struass by years end. Scully looks ready made so would be exciting to see Watts Blease Strauss Scully all in the side round 1 next year.