Plane tickets booked, GF tickets plan underway

Feb 10, 2000
London
Essendon & Arsenal
For those who could give a toss out there the news is that I will be back in Melbourne town v.early Preliminary Final day (just in time to see us blow it again I hear you cynics cry!)...

Bernie has a point. Melb, Bris, Carlscum and possibly North will all be honest come finals time (at least) and possibly HAwthorn and the Dogs too. So this is a bit of a risky strategy... but hell, as the old Mike Brady song goes "TO be there for the big one is my aim"...

Dutch

PS. Arch - back on level terms big guy - 2 rounds left - who's going win???

Dutchy,

Remember, we may be drawn to play a Friday Night preliminary Final, you never know. With so many night games this year, it may be the clubs preferred option, if we are allowed a choice.

Will you make it then ?

Don't worry, we won't blow it. I have supreme confidence in the boys. Hopefully, history is going to be made in the next five weeks. It is unbelievably exciting.

5 wins to go, and we achieve the unthinkable. Who would have thought ?

WE have been focussed for all 20 games so far, so I'm sure prelimnary final day, will have us even more focussed. I'm not cocky. Just confident. I think we can do the impossible, and have an undefeated season.

The players want it desperately, I've heard. They want o have their names as the greatest combination of all time. At least from a statistical point of view. Can anyone stop a team that wants it that badly ?

Hopefully not.

I've got to get my AFL members GF tickets (whether we are there or not), on Sunday morning after the prelimnary final. I'll be lining up early.

Definitely mate.

IF the PF is on a Friday night I will be very pissed off. Flying from Heathrow on Thursday night gets me into Tulla at 5.30am... on SATURDAY!!

Pretty apprehensive about the finals at the best of times!!

Dutchman,

At the Melbourne Arts Centre Essendon supporters started lining up for GF tickets about a week ago. There must be a real buzz around Windy Hall at the moment. Good Luck to all, I hope you enjoy the ride.

Okay Dutchman, when the finals start, we'll take suggestions on a watering hole to meet up and get something organised. Arch, get your ticket to Melbourne organised, okay? I reckon a Thursday night might be good...everyone can go and see their team train (if North don't make it, I may come and see the Bombers train with you guys) and then we can meet up in town afterwards and talk footy.

ok then- ill bite the bullet and just book a flight -eventhough- im still wondering if ill even be able to get a ticket to the PF (but hopefully somoene can help me out in that regard?). But am willing to sit in line for however long it takes.
If I can get to meet the allmighty Max (and brag about my impending tipping victory (hehehe- gotta be confident dont ya ???)
then it'll be worth the trip anyway.(plus catch up with all my rellies and ex-pat Perth pals).

The soon to be heavily in debt- A-man.

:)

Great stuff Arch & Shinner - gotta get Sainter, Grendel, Pess, BSA, Dave, EF and Danno involved in this.

I'm relying at this stage on a couple of mates to try to scounge me either a AFL members or MCC members ticket... otherwise its gonna have to be the scalp option...

Arch - be afraid - be very afraid, I've got a good feeling about my tips this week...

Ps. BTW Arch its all a myth, I know f$$K all about footy these days!!!

shins you champ.

Ill email you again first thing tommorrow.

A.

maxxy- i think our tipping duel is kinda like two blind fencers swinging wildly. But maybe ill do some research this week rather than going on gut feelings.
PS- My bet this week went out the toilet.
Got 2 from 4 and lost my cash. Dandy eh ???

We should also try and get to the VFL Grand Final too. I think it might be scheduled at Arctic Park. And if the Saints make it, we should all put aside our own allegiences (unless of course, your team are the Saint's opponents.....although with the way the Murray Kangaroos have done this year, it's not something I'll have to worry about), we should stand side by side with Sainter and cheer his boys on in support.

Max, count me in, providing we make it (after last year I'm not taking anything for granted!). I may be able to help with the tickets too. Guest passes are about $60-70 for the prelims (at least they were two years ago!).

When's the VFL GF Shins?

Dave,

Don't get me started.

Mind you, I'm (almost) happy to sit through any pre-match drivel the AFL serve up provided that North are playing in the main game.

Still, the AFL got one thing right with the motorcade of retiring champions and it's always great to give recognition to some of the great players that have played the game.

Good idea the VFL game - we certainly won't be involved so I'm happy to get behind the sainters.

Dave, thanks for the kind offer. Should be alright for the PF tickets...but I'll let you know if I need late help... and of course provided its not on a Friday night.

Not taking anything for granted either. IF it all goes pair shaped I'm going skiing at Falls!

Dutchman

Why don't you arrange to get here a day early

Given that there will definately be two preliminary finals in Melbourne, they can't both be on the Saturday. It would be impossible.

One will be on a Friday night at the MCG, while the other will be on Saturday afternoon at the MCG.

I see it as a 50/50 chance whether we will be playing on a Friday night. I hope for your sake it is Saturday afternoon, but with the amount of night matches we have played this year, I feel Friday night will be our preferred option.

Sounds like a good idea to me!

I should be at the GF too. As a redcoat unfortunately but it will get me to the game.

I'm pretty sure the VFL Grand Final is the week before the AFL one. It should be interesting because players from the senior team can be dropped down to the VFL finals providing they have played at least six VFL games.

Luckily, work and the airline have come to the party and I can get to Malbin on Friday morning - hence there will be no missing the PF if its on a day early (provided, of course, we don't go out in straight sets!)

Thanks for the Friday night PF warning guys - would have been really pissed to have come all that way and missed it.

Dutch AKA MaxCrow AKA Chris

Ps. Thanks for the note Richmond Fan #1 - but I think I've still got a ways to go on that 300 club...

maxxy- ok- i may have given you the edge in the tipping, as Ive gone for three (yes 3) upsets- so I could fall flat on my arse now.

Im a bit of a gambler, so have taken a punt- at the business end of season 2000-

Go me !!!!

A.

Lets say if we DO get to meet for a beer in melb- the loser has to buy the other a jug of VB.
Sound fair ????

Plane tickets booked, GF tickets plan underway