List Mgmt. Player Ages Thread

Willy Rioli, we have a problem if he's not high on our draft list.
Chris Cain, can play as a small fwd, is now playing more in the midfield but is easily AFL quality and around 25ish ready to go.
Sam Lloyd is probably haflway to being on our list considering our recruiting history of the past few years.

TBC straight swap for Daisy. Lock it in

Wouldn't that be nice. But I can't see it happening.

I reckon Hurley will probably miss the West Coast game so will probably come in for him I would say and all these sweet nothings will disappear.

Colyer, Davis, NLM, Hille, and maybe the rookie listed guys other than Dell'Olio are the only ones I'd consider trading. Everyone else has either shown they can hold their place or are still developing. Zero currency in those guys but who cares, maybe we get a late pick upgraded or something.

With Kav, Merrett, and a few others showing they are maybe only a year off being pretty handy players I don't think we need to bring in a Dale Thomas or Ryan Griffin type, I don't even think we'd have room in the cap for what those guys could demand.

Such class

Maybe it's time for you to leave and let the grown ups talk

Judging by the standard of the posting on Big Footy recently, especially the main board, I think it is the grown ups who have left, leaving the kids to talk.

Colyer, Davis, NLM, Hille, and maybe the rookie listed guys other than Dell'Olio are the only ones I'd consider trading. Everyone else has either shown they can hold their place or are still developing. Zero currency in those guys but who cares, maybe we get a late pick upgraded or something.

With Kav, Merrett, and a few others showing they are maybe only a year off being pretty handy players I don't think we need to bring in a Dale Thomas or Ryan Griffin type, I don't even think we'd have room in the cap for what those guys could demand.
Hille wont be traded. He will retire.

I'm a little bit excited on who we are going to gain from the TBC trade.

Unless he demands to be traded I doubt Adrian Dodoro will be stupid enough to mess with our ruck stocks.

I'm a little bit excited on who we are going to gain from the TBC trade.

If Hille were to retire and TBC does ask to be traded, what ruckmen would we likely have a go at trying to get?

A couple I can think of;
- Daniel Currie (N.M)
- Jesse White (Syd)
- Callum Sinclair (WCE)
- Paul Johnson (East Perth)
- Shaun Hampson (the scum)
- Max Gawn (Melbourne)

Not sure how many state league ruckmen are ready made, still need some development to get up to some sort of AFL standard could include;
- Michael Sikora (Ess VFL)
- Christian Eyres (Perth)
- Sevra Martin (Subiaco)
- Ben Brown (Werribee)

If Hille were to retire and TBC does ask to be traded, what ruckmen would we likely have a go at trying to get?

A couple I can think of;
- Daniel Currie (N.M)
- Jesse White (Syd)
- Callum Sinclair (WCE)
- Paul Johnson (East Perth)
- Shaun Hampson (the scum)
- Max Gawn (Melbourne)

Not sure how many state league ruckmen are ready made, still need some development to get up to some sort of AFL standard could include;
- Michael Sikora (Ess VFL)
- Christian Eyres (Perth)
- Sevra Martin (Subiaco)
- Ben Brown (Werribee)

Don't want those three. All terrible footballers. Gawn would be the one IMO. Ideally we'd keep T-Bell though

HaHa I completely agree. If we were desperate though would you take one of those three?

I cannot fathom why, WHY Max Gawn is not in the Melbourne side!

He is the future who is far, far to good for VFL level and seems to be getting better with every outing at AFL level. With the downward spiral of Mark Jamar surely the Dees should be looking to the future and that is surely Maximus Gawn?

As ordinary as Paul Johnson was, he won the Sandover medal last year (what?!?!!>?>!!> :eek::eek:) so obviously he is far to good for WAFL level and is a Victorian (went to my school incidentally when I was in year 8 he was in year 11/12 with Chris McCormack and Muscles along with the Cadd boys - THAT school footy side DOMINATED!!).

Just thinking out loud here but surely not ALL of Melbourne's youngsters are dud's? any worth looking at?

Haretuku?

More of a pinchhitter R/F, big unit, strong mark. Good competitor in the ruck but won't dominate.

I was thinking yesterday, despite us picking up Daniher, would we consider looking to take another forward/ruckmen? we can't put all our eggs in one basket.

To me, Daniher is just an oversized FF, you've got to be thinking, in a worst case scenario, do we want Joe as the no.1 ruck. I don't so I think we need 3 capable of playing in front of him in the pecking order.

Grab a mature ager to cover for Hille and leave it at that I reckon.

To me, Daniher is just an oversized FF, you've got to be thinking, in a worst case scenario, do we want Joe as the no.1 ruck. I don't so I think we need 3 capable of playing in front of him in the pecking order.

Grab a mature ager to cover for Hille and leave it at that I reckon.

I saw this dillema coming two years ago when we delisted Christian Bock (yeah that beanpole guy who was skinnier than Gregory) but failed to replace him with another youngster to develop over the past two years.

I guess it all comes down to what we are after with our no.3 ruckmen. Id like to think we will be after a 19 - 20 y.o ruckmen who could come in and play now but still have some development left in him.

Ultimately I'd like us to pick up a 24y.o+ as a no.3 ruckman and a rookie raw 18y.o ruckmen to develop over the next 4 years or so. That is what I would be doing anyways.

I'll easy up for now with the TBC tradie bait trolling - but I reckon we could have both Gumby and Daniher playing forward and share 20-30% of the ruck duty collectively while Paddy does the rest.

Out of the list of young ruckman who are at other clubs I would go with Currie. Here is a thought what are geelong going to do when all ruckman fit? McIntosh/Vardy/West/Blicavs, the Blicavs experiment has been a success tbh and I can't see them dropping him from the side.

I'll talk about Gumby that who I love and would be shattered seeing him in another guernsey. I won't talk about hypothetical trades but we do know the doggies and Freo have flag their intentions before with Gumby. He is a restricted free agent yeh? So that means if another club offers him X over X many years and if he wants to take it Essendons only way to retain Gumby is to better that offer, right?

Because personally I wouldn't mind having Hayden Crozier at Essendon.

Say T-Bell requests to leave and go to Collingwood. We demand a first round pick or, without knowing his contract situation, Steele Sidebottom. We then go for Max Gawn. We also draft Sikora. Who do we choose as the beanpole 4th ruck?

I saw this dillema coming two years ago when we delisted Christian Bock (yeah that beanpole guy who was skinnier than Gregory) but failed to replace him with another youngster to develop over the past two years.

I guess it all comes down to what we are after with our no.3 ruckmen. Id like to think we will be after a 19 - 20 y.o ruckmen who could come in and play now but still have some development left in him.

Ultimately I'd like us to pick up a 24y.o+ as a no.3 ruckman and a rookie raw 18y.o ruckmen to develop over the next 4 years or so. That is what I would be doing anyways.

I'd say Dan Currie would be perfect, although word is he wants out of north for more opportunities, so i guess as it stands now we don't fit that. daz77 suggestion of Tom Campbell isn't a bad one though.

I'd be looking at a rookie ruck probably next year, Even if we had the extra 2 rookie slots, i don't think we would've taken one last year, the rucks in last years draft were basically non existent.

Say T-Bell requests to leave and go to Collingwood. We demand a first round pick or, without knowing his contract situation, Steele Sidebottom. We then go for Max Gawn. We also draft Sikora. Who do we choose as the beanpole 4th ruck?

Ryder, Sikora, Gumby, with Gawn as the project who's also capable of coming in and playing.

List Mgmt. Player Ages Thread