List Mgmt. Player Ages Thread

I dont think Nick Dal Santo is that bad of an option. He's getting the number 1 tag in a shit team but in his prime he was an a grade miffielder. He's fast and skillfull and with Watson, Stanton, Goddard the most likely getting tagged when in the middle and half backs Hibbard and Dempsey also very likely to be tagged off half back in steps Dal for a 1 year contract on very little money to have one more crack at a flag. He wont get a player trying to shut him down and even if he does that opens up one of our other mids. Looks to me like he wants to leave St.Kilda and he has the right skillset for what we need.

Stupid comment, I class Dale Thomas same playing style as Zaha . . . Mid/Fwd Player and very damaging going forward !

Daisy Thomas best years were 2010-2011, 2012 he was pushed out from his position by Beams and Sidebum and 2013 is a write off. . .Zaha's best years are 2012-2013 so lets look at some stats for those 2 years of each player.

Dale Thomas

Stats...

David Zaharakis

Stats...

So with the two years for each player I have mentioned, 2010-2011 Dale Thomas Vs 2012-2013 David Zaharakis. Daisy averaged more in every stat besides Handballs and Behinds, and with the years I listed for each player they are the years they were the same age. There is no reason Daisy can't find the form again, as he wasn't the flavour of the month in 2012 and 2013 he is injured. He is still young and is a perfect age for our list as we are starting/about to start our premiership window . . .

He would be a HUGE asset to our team as we could have a rolling rotation of Zaha and Daisy from Middle to Forward line, Daisy also shows great defense with his tackle average for those years and thats what we need more of in the forward line aswell.

edit: I added the hyperlinks as the graphs stuffed up.

It is not in dispute that Thomas was a seriously good finisher (not that he is exclusively an outside player) in a side that probably ran deeper with quality midfielders than any side ever has. I've got no doubt that he is still is that player but that he is currently injured.

You suggested trades that got as serious as Pears, Gumbleton and our second round pick which is what I consider throwing the kitchen sink at a trade, especially at someone like Dale Thomas. To put it into some context we could have landed two mid 20s picks for Cale Hooker last year but he decided to stay (which I'm happy about). It is still quite clear that you pay a premium for valuable talls.

I'm very conservative when it comes to trading, and still think that both Pears and Gumbleton could be included in a post Fletcher side, so I'd want to see us land something that none of Merrett, Melksham or maybe even Gleeson/Colyer, could develop into (remember that it was a good 4 or 5 years before Thomas had those break out years you've referred to). Thomas is not that player.

To add further context, I would not have traded Goddard into the side because he would have costs what you've referred to and more which would have to be balanced against what he has brought to the club. I'd have no hesitation signing Thomas as a free agent on a serious contract (assuming proper management of the salary cap) but he is not good enough to justify the sort of price it will likely take to trade him in.

To put it completely on the table, there are five established stars who would add something to Essendon that, even as a total optimist about our list, I can't see us developing and who would justify huge trades: Ablett, Griffen, Dangerfield, Fyfe and Deledio (but only because we have enough quality to free him from a tag). Price tag and value makes each of them almost totally unattainable.

One thing on Collingwood numbers generally, I think that history is starting to reveal that they are inflated based on the way they were able to play the game. Much of the numbers have stayed the same for a lot of those players, for half of the impact, and it seems that it may be as much about lazy/non-existent defensive efforts as it is about being certain players being superstars.

If Pears is traded and Fletcher retires who do we have for depth?
Hurley could be moved back but then who do we have as depth at front if we trade Gumby?
Resting ruck? Sure but if we lose TBC then that option goes as well.

I'm not opposed to trading any of those three for the right deal, I just want to know what our plans are when it comes to depth as I don't know enough about who fills in behind them.

Yep, and if no one decides to bid on a player, the club then gets to use its second round pick on them instead.
Last pick actually, I believe. And now there's a new rule where if they don't go in the ND at all you can lock them in as a guaranteed F/S rookie.

As far as that role goes though I would be sniffing around Jared Polec from Brisbane. Still very young and has all the tools you could want in that sort of player - decent height, silky skills and blistering pace. Was a highly rated top-5 pick, played SANFL seniors as a kid, but has had a horror run with injuries and struggled to crack the team, so could be forgiven for wanting a fresh start. He perhaps needs a bit of a kick up the bum as far as his workrate goes, but sort that out and get him fit and you'd have a ripper player.
This is the sort of thing we need to look at. Best suggested target I've read. Have no idea what Brisbane think of him/whether it is realistic.
This might be a bit more contentious, but I'd also think about Sam Blease.

Sorry to break it to people but Dayle Garlett will be gone inside the top 40 if what I've heard is correct

Like he was last season ? He will get drafted if clubs deem his off-field behaviour/attitude to be acceptable. His talent is not in question here. Your source is not credible sorry!

If Pears is traded and Fletcher retires who do we have for depth?
Hurley could be moved back but then who do we have as depth at front if we trade Gumby?
Resting ruck? Sure but if we lose TBC then that option goes as well.

I'm not opposed to trading any of those three for the right deal, I just want to know what our plans are when it comes to depth as I don't know enough about who fills in behind them.

We're at the stage where we draft VFL/SANFL/WAFL players as depth (Shinners/Freezer etc) Say we trade both Pears and Gumby and Fletch retires, we have Ryder/T-Bell, Derp and Crameri as forwards, Hurley, Carlisle and Hooker as defenders. We draft Shinners and Freezer as KPP depth with our 3rd/4th/5th round picks, as well as Sikora as ruck depth.

Of course if we trade T-Bell we'd be foolish not to look at Longer from Brisbane

Tayte Pears for me is in a real interesting situation - he would be in the top 22 of most clubs and is only edged out of our side because Fletcher.. don't get me wrong I love Fletcher and want to see him go out on 400 games and a Flag but I think if he stays on next year we may lose Pears

Like he was last season ? He will get drafted if clubs deem his off-field behaviour/attitude to be acceptable. His talent is not in question here. Your source is not credible sorry!

I guess I should listen to a keyboard hero rather than the recruiters on the front line then?

What makes people think Pears is a lock should Fletcher not survive into 2014?

Serious question, what makes people seem so certain he is guaranteed a spot?

When he has played, has fletcher been there to? I'm not so certain we can carry Pears + Hooker + Hurley/Carlisle in the same back line. Fletcher plays small (despite being 198cm or whatever he is), hence why I'm not so certain Pears is a lock for his position. If only Luke Davis had come on this year instead of stagnating after injuries he could have been pushing for Fletcher's spot.

We're at the stage where we draft VFL/SANFL/WAFL players as depth (Shinners/Freezer etc) Say we trade both Pears and Gumby and Fletch retires, we have Ryder/T-Bell, Derp and Crameri as forwards, Hurley, Carlisle and Hooker as defenders. We draft Shinners and Freezer as KPP depth with our 3rd/4th/5th round picks, as well as Sikora as ruck depth.

Of course if we trade T-Bell we'd be foolish not to look at Longer from Brisbane

I really rated Freezer last year, he was exceptional. If I'd had got my wish and he played in the state game last year, he would have been talked about more as a draft prospect.

I don't think we are in a position to be drafting mature aged bodies for depth now, we should be getting game time into our kids.

If there is an exceptional 20 year old then yeah, take them if they fill a need for us, but don't be selecting ordinary mids that are taking games away from Hams, Kav, Merret etc.

Only exception should be a Ruckmen. We can all see that..

I guess I should listen to a keyboard hero rather than the recruiters on the front line then?

He has a point to an extent, though.

We're all keyboard heroes with an opinion to extent. Some of us have better sources than others, obviously.

Given Garlett's penchant for off-field wildness, I wouldn't yet be so sure he'll definitely go in the top 40 this year.

And that's not so much because of a lack of talent, but more because it is far from inconceivable that he could stuff up again at some point, given his history.

What makes people think Pears is a lock should Fletcher not survive into 2014?

Serious question, what makes people seem so certain he is guaranteed a spot?

When he has played, has fletcher been there to? I'm not so certain we can carry Pears + Hooker + Hurley/Carlisle in the same back line. Fletcher plays small (despite being 198cm or whatever he is), hence why I'm not so certain Pears is a lock for his position. If only Luke Davis had come on this year instead of stagnating after injuries he could have been pushing for Fletcher's spot.

I think both times he's come in this year he's been decent enough (given a bath by Cameron but wasn't really much he could do about it, they got quick ball and Cameron played in front).

I'm not certain he's going to just slot in post Fletcher and kill it, it's probably an unrealistic expectation, but in saying that he's been playing pretty good VFL footy, perhaps given a decent string of games he'll come in and perform.

I reckon he can play small though, gave the saints smalls a pretty good touch up if I recall.

As for Davis, as much as I like the lad, unfortunately I fear he's been passed by too many.

He has a point to an extent, though.

We're all keyboard heroes with an opinion to extent. Some of us have better sources than others, obviously.

Given Garlett's penchant for off-field wildness, I wouldn't yet be so sure he'll definitely go in the top 40 this year.

And that's not so much because of a lack of talent, but more because it is far from inconceivable that he could stuff up again at some point, given his history.

Ive heard from AFL recruiters that Garlett is firmly on a number of clubs radars.

He has cleaned up his off field act (started an apprenticeship - carpentry apparently), got himself in shape (didn't miss a session post xmas pre season) and the results in the WAFL, against grown men is super.

Yeah, people will look to what has happened, I had egg on my face more than most. I said glowingly, on FB, twitter, etc. that Garlett would go in the first round, but unknowingly missed altogether.

People are so obsessed with the perfect role models that they tend to forget that it is a sport, a battlefield that brings together all types of individuals. Hell, our fittest bloke is a smoker!

Ive heard from AFL recruiters that Garlett is firmly on a number of clubs radars.

You need a recruiter to tell you that ? He would be on the radar of every club and every recruiter in the country. If he is not then those recruiters and clubs aren't doing their jobs properly.

Still doesn't guarantee he will get drafted

what are you guys thoughts about jydon neagle looks like the alan didak type of player we need

You must have seen the article reffering to our current Father/Son options on the AFL website?

Sheehan has kept an eye on how the young crop has progressed, and nominated Jydon Neagle as the leader of the pack.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-06-13/sons-shine-on-bombers

Im not sure Neagle is an Alan Didak type of player (purely looking at that highlights package from that article), he is a Brad Johnson type of player. A mark and kick type who seems to have a knack of finding the goals (ave. a couple of goals a game for Murray) and is very strong above his head as evidence by his contested marking numbers (1 a game).

The impression Dlanod and Knightmare were giving from the D&T board, Neagle is a late round/rookie prospect.

Also a quick reminder we have Jedd Clothier as another option to take this year. A tall/medium midfielder who is a NSW Scholarship player despite playing his football in close proximety to Windy Hill with the Calder Cannons this year and further still the NSW Rams in the U18 championships and doing fairly well (alongside Neagle might I add).

Essendon has options pre draft this year;
- Jedd Clothier; NSW Scholarship Player (late - rookie range)
- Jydon Neagle; Merv Neagle's son (late - rookie range)
- Daniel Thompson; Bomber's son (played a few games with our reserves early in the year but looked WAY, WAY off the pace.)

For future reference next year
- Todd Van Der Haar; Paul's son
- Callum Daniher; Chris' son
- Jake Long; Michael's son (big wraps apparently)

He has cleaned up his off field act (started an apprenticeship - carpentry apparently), got himself in shape (didn't miss a session post xmas pre season) and the results in the WAFL, against grown men is super.

Yeah, people will look to what has happened, I had egg on my face more than most. I said glowingly, on FB, twitter, etc. that Garlett would go in the first round, but unknowingly missed altogether.

People are so obsessed with the perfect role models that they tend to forget that it is a sport, a battlefield that brings together all types of individuals. Hell, our fittest bloke is a smoker!

I don't know why the system would be dumb enough to ignore this guy even if his act isn't totally "together". Assuming that the more outrageous behaviour is under control why wouldn't a club with a culture like Geelong, Sydney and/or systems like Hawthorn and Freo not back themselves to get the best out of him. Surely an 18-19 year old is allowed to get it wrong without his past being held against him forever.

Given that Gartlett's skill set is basically everything that our club needs you'd think we'd be more interested in living our development mantra rather than telling the media about it. I'd be annoyed if we weren't looking at him again.

You need a recruiter to tell you that ? He would be on the radar of every club and every recruiter in the country. If he is not then those recruiters and clubs aren't doing their jobs properly.

Still doesn't guarantee he will get drafted

Im not speculating like 95% of people on this website. I've heard from people that actually matter in the drafting of players..

Take what you want out of it but some clubs have him pencilled in earlier than most think.

I don't know why the system would be dumb enough to ignore this guy even if his act isn't totally "together". Assuming that the more outrageous behaviour is under control why wouldn't a club with a culture like Geelong, Sydney and/or systems like Hawthorn and Freo not back themselves to get the best out of him. Surely an 18-19 year old is allowed to get it wrong without his past being held against him forever.

Given that Gartlett's skill set is basically everything that our club needs you'd think we'd be more interested in living our development mantra rather than telling the media about it. I'd be annoyed if we weren't looking at him again.

Would you be against selecting Garlett with our second pick? if his talent was on par with no.1 pick Lachie Whitfield last year, the chance to grab two first round quality picks would be oh so tempting and as you mentioned, he is EVERYTHING we are after.

Im not speculating like 95% of people on this website. I've heard from people that actually matter in the drafting of players..

Take what you want out of it but some clubs have him pencilled in earlier than most think.

You are speculating! If he goes on a 6 month bender starting tomorrow, do you think he will still get drafted ? You don't know the future.

List Mgmt. Player Ages Thread