Player comparison thread

Marty Clarke, Trent Cotchin or Jed Adcock

I really can't decide, but ATM I've gone with Clarke, maybe a biased view so what do other people think?

Marty Clarke, Trent Cotchin or Jed Adcock

I really can't decide, but ATM I've gone with Clarke, maybe a biased view so what do other people think?
Fair amount of uncertainty in that group I'd say. As yet we don't know what roles Adcock and Clarke are going to play or whether Cotchin will receive extra responsibility. I think all three have potential. I'm hoping Marty is classified as a backman.

Thus i said "everyone has their own opinion"

I probably didnt say the next thing right. I was saying not to necessarily change your opinion because of me, but to change it so it is clearer to understand how many rookies you actually. Otherwise you can add extra words every time you post " I have 2 rookies starting who havnt played a game which i think are rookies, but i also have Rusling, Hentschel, Coughlan, Skipworth starting who i dont consider rookies"

Hey if your okay wasting your energy and time than go for it, say the extra sentence each time, otherwise consider them rookie for DT perspective so others can see how many you actually have, or man ycould say they have no rookies and some could say they have 5 but they have exactly the same side. Up to you what you do but i couldnt really care less.;)

Well not to confuse anyone or rock the boat too much(god for bid) at this stage i'm starting 4 rookies:rolleyes:

Whats the deal with everyone starting 5-6 rookies?

I think this ignores midpricers too much.

The way I see it, if you research it enough, you will be able to find some midpricers that will improve enough to become keepers, thus saving you a trade.

Comparitively, with 6 rookies, thats 10-12 trades already used up through upgrades.

All IMO though....

Starting 6 rookies

1) 100% chance you will score a zero before the season even starts
2) IIRC, i think both the last 2 winners have only had 1 zero the entire year each and with 6 rookies you gonna get heaps (possibly 2 a week for the first 5/6 rounds)
3) Causes you to use 12 trades straight up for upgrades of rookies, you need 6 for LTI (3 or more weeks). Meaning you have 2 for midprices or low end premium/keepers who dont quite reach that potential.
4) you will pretty much do bad (LOL)

Whats the deal with everyone starting 5-6 rookies?

I think this ignores midpricers too much.

The way I see it, if you research it enough, you will be able to find some midpricers that will improve enough to become keepers, thus saving you a trade.

Comparitively, with 6 rookies, thats 10-12 trades already used up through upgrades.

All IMO though....

Agree with this Lakey. But it also depend on what people call a 'rookie', for me a rookie is a player yet to play a game at senior level, but others classify players such as Coughland and Gumby and 'rookies' as they are at that basement price/ rookie price but yet have played AFL football. The term rookie is used in many different ways.

I agree with you with regards to the mid rangers as well, as seen by the convicts if you pick some of those difficult priced mid rangers it can all pay off for you.

I was playign around with the team planner and came up with this team. Have at it people? What are the problems other than the weak midfield? I also spent all the money other than $22400. I went for a solid backline and spent a bit extra in the rookies/ cheap players, as most of the cheaper rookies in the backline dont look game ready. I think all of my mids will improve in '09 and will only need 1 trade each to trade in for an under preforming gun.

Backs
Brendon Goddard
Corey Enright
Chad Cornes
Jason Gram
David Mundy
Shannon Hurn
Ricky Petterd

Mitchell Brown (EMG)
Michael Hurley (EMG)

Centre
Nathan Van Berlo
Jed Adcock
Tyson Stenglein
Ben Cousins
Paul Hasleby
Mark Coughlan

Daniel Rich (EMG)
Jason Davenport (EMG)

RUCKS
Dean Cox
Hamish McIntosh

Daniel Currie (EMG)
Joel Tippett (EMG)

FORWARDS
Matthew Pavlich
Steve Johnson
Adam Goodes
Scott Lucas
Alwyn Davey
Shaun Higgins
Chris Yarran

Scott Gumbleton (EMG)
Hayden Ballantyne (EMG)

Agree with this Lakey. But it also depend on what people call a 'rookie', for me a rookie is a player yet to play a game at senior level, but others classify players such as Coughland and Gumby and 'rookies' as they are at that basement price/ rookie price but yet have played AFL football. The term rookie is used in many different ways.

I agree with you with regards to the mid rangers as well, as seen by the convicts if you pick some of those difficult priced mid rangers it can all pay off for you.

The 6 includes Dangerfield and Skipworth as 'rookies'. Probably should say rookie price more than rookie.

Personally I believe that there is no right or wrong answer about how many rookies should or should not be selected. If you get your rookie selections right then you will be on top of the world, obviously if you get them wrong it could be an early end to the season but that is the risk you take and that is why we love DT.

If we take last year for example, lets say you selected: Hill, Gamble, Rioli, Kreuzer, Morton, Bird, Tippett, Palmer, Mackay, Taylor, Brown......so they may not have all been high point scorers but they did enough to make you some money.

Next year I believe there will be an even bigger supply of rookies who are able to do the job which you require of them. There are that many rookie forwards to choose from that coaches should not have a problem finding one to suit their needs. There are names such as: Ballantyne, Ziebell, Gumbleton, Yarran, Rusling, Walker, Hentschell, Grant.... The mids there are names like: Dangerfield, Skipworth, Coughlan, Sidebottom, Rich, Grimes, Hartlett, Ziebell, and in the backs there are names like: Petterd, Suban, Kite, Gallman, Hurley, Grimes, Barham...

There are plenty of options around and if you can select the right ones you will be happy as larry. This means you need to do some research. Read through the articles and see if you can spot anyhing, have a look at the NAB cup and read the reports, read some training reports and just keep your head up! Sure there is risk but the reward that is present is undeniable.

C88, Good post and comments. It similar to saying play to your strengths. If your a recruiting scout lets say, than you will know heaps about the rookie priced players, thus probably would choose a rookie/premium strategy. If you have little or no idea, or you may not want to risk too much like convicts than you would be more likened to a mid price/upgrade strategy.

If only all of us were recruiting scouts then:p.

I like the play to your strengths mentality, i also think you have to back yourself in with your selections more often than not, not every selection will come off but don't let them deter you.

If only all of us were recruiting scouts then:p.

I like the play to your strengths mentality, i also think you have to back yourself in with your selections more often than not, not every selection will come off but don't let them deter you.

Absolutely, and that is the key. Back your judgement and not worry if you get one wrong because you don't have to get them all correct if you play wisely.

Sometimes backing your judgment can play against you. An example of this could be N.Jones. Alot of people including me got caught in the hype of this player. We thought he was always going to go to the next step, but he didnt. This comes to the question how long do you give a player before you call it quits. If N.Jones avg's 70 over the first 6 rounds do you keep him or give him the chop. If you say after round 6, he still has 16 rounds to do really well he could avg 90 over the last 16 rounds or avg 70. Sometimes it can work with you and against which is where the luck plays a big part in this game, more than people think. Although it takes skill to do well.

Mate, if you get caught up in the hype of a player, then that isn't your own judgement.

This is more commonly referred to as being a sheep, and is the biggest sin bigfooty dters can commit. The shepherds laughed at those who picked jones because they picked Didak or Gia or Deledio or Richo etc

or M.Murphy which wouldve pocketed me an extra 25 points per round

25 x 22 = 550 points maybe even more and no trade wouldve been required.:mad:

Mark Harvey was on 6PR today, had a few interesting things to say.

• Haselby might be played off a HBF flank intially to try and protect him a bit. You imagine he'd still get a fair amount of ball but it will likely affect his scoring.
  • Pavlich and Tarrant most likely to be tried in 'diffferent' roles. For Pavlich I can only assume this means a few more games played in the midfield like he did this year. Not so sure on Tarrant, but he did say he was in the top 10 fitness wise, so a move to the midfield isn't out of the question.
  • Said he was looking for players like Gilmore to become the core of the team, which certainly seems like a good thing for his selection chances. Would be a good second ruck if he gets consistent games IMO.

Mark Harvey was on 6PR today, had a few interesting things to say.

• Haselby might be played off a HBF flank intially to try and protect him a bit. You imagine he'd still get a fair amount of ball but it will likely affect his scoring.
  • Pavlich and Tarrant most likely to be tried in 'diffferent' roles. For Pavlich I can only assume this means a few more games played in the midfield like he did this year. Not so sure on Tarrant, but he did say he was in the top 10 fitness wise, so a move to the midfield isn't out of the question.
  • Said he was looking for players like Gilmore to become the core of the team, which certainly seems like a good thing for his selection chances. Would be a good second ruck if he gets consistent games IMO.

Didn't mention anything about suban or ballantyne did he?

I dont think Suban will play at the start of the year may get games in the second half of the year. I think Ballantyne will play, he would of played around 10 games last season if he was on the list.

The interview has been posted on the Freo board. The thread is here

I think Suban will see a lot of games next year. He has everything going for him:

• Physically ready for AFL footy.
  • A part of a rebuilding team.
  • Ball magnet.

I expect him to either play RD 1 or to be in the side by about RD 5 once injuries and poor form have kicked in. He's one who I think could be worth having on your bench even if he's not named in RD 1. That's if you're not relying on rookies to play in your backline.

I think Suban will see a lot of games next year. He has everything going for him:

• Physically ready for AFL footy.
  • A part of a rebuilding team.
  • Ball magnet.

I expect him to either play RD 1 or to be in the side by about RD 5 once injuries and poor form have kicked in. He's one who I think could be worth having on your bench even if he's not named in RD 1. That's if you're not relying on rookies to play in your backline.

I'm not so sure TBH. He may be physically ready but i saw a bit of him last year and he really lacks endurance. Admittedly he should play in the back pocket so it shouldn't be a huge issue but i think Round 1 is expecting a bit too much from him. He is definitely one to keep an eye on though as he has potential to score well.

Just looking through the rookie backmen, there doesn't seem to be a huge amount of options at this stage. Obviously a lot can happen from now until the start of the year but the ones that stand out to me now are James Strauss, Ash Smith and Levi Greenwood. Then you have Hurley, Mitch Brown and Jack Grimes as a little more expensive options.

I'm not so sure TBH. He may be physically ready but i saw a bit of him last year and he really lacks endurance. Admittedly he should play in the back pocket so it shouldn't be a huge issue but i think Round 1 is expecting a bit too much from him. He is definitely one to keep an eye on though as he has potential to score well.

Just looking through the rookie backmen, there doesn't seem to be a huge amount of options at this stage. Obviously a lot can happen from now until the start of the year but the ones that stand out to me now are James Strauss, Ash Smith and Levi Greenwood. Then you have Hurley, Mitch Brown and Jack Grimes as a little more expensive options.

Thanks for that Cruiser, your insight into the draftees is greatly appreciated mate:thumbsu: Of the names you mentioned I personally like Grimes and Brown who are unfortunately the most expensive. I don't think Brown will be a great scorer but with the options of rookie defenders a 'Kurt Tippet' average will do me. Looks like he will play forward so he should outscore his twin.

The only stuff I know about Strauss is straight from your reports. What may scare off DT coaches with him is that if he's getting a game it's unlikely Petterd and Grimes are as well. I don't subscribe to the theory of 'at least one of them has to play each week' because ideally you need everyone making cash for downgrading.

I think Levi may get some games later on in the year but he has a lot of competition for a spot on the HB line.

I know nothing about Ash Smith.

I can see Hurley getting the odd game but it may just be filling in if Fletcher misses a couple. As people have mentioned already he should outscore Nathan Brown (COLL) due to his excellent footskills. But unlike Brown I can't see him being the stable bench player people are looking for.

Thanks for that Cruiser, your insight into the draftees is greatly appreciated mate:thumbsu: Of the names you mentioned I personally like Grimes and Brown who are unfortunately the most expensive. I don't think Brown will be a great scorer but with the options of rookie defenders a 'Kurt Tippet' average will do me. Looks like he will play forward so he should outscore his twin.

No worries mate, anytime. Agree on Brown, he looks like a safe-ish option.

The only stuff I know about Strauss is straight from your reports. What may scare off DT coaches with him is that if he's getting a game it's unlikely Petterd and Grimes are as well. I don't subscribe to the theory of 'at least one of them has to play each week' because ideally you need everyone making cash for downgrading.

Personally just not sure why they wouldn't give Strauss a guernsey in Round 1. I think he is a better player than Grimes and from what I've seen is fair superior kicking wise than either Jack or Ricky. Yes he has a few years less development but Strauss seems to play above his age. He is very sure of himself on the field, arrogant if you like and seems to have a good head on his shoulders. He is physically mature enough to play also and has no troubles endurance wise. I'd play him and I can fit him into the Dees line-up but maybe my bias kicks in a little. We'll just have to wait an see but he is pretty much a lock from me at this stage.

I know nothing about Ash Smith.

Very quick, strong and his footskills would have to be one of the best in the draft, off either foot I might add. 60 metres kicks and pace is what he could provide, needs to work on his decision making though. He is physically mature enough and it seems the Eagles are lacking those outside runners, he very well could be given a shot early. He is very versatile but may start downback. Again really hard to tell right now but he has the body and attributes to play in Round 1 for mine.

I can see Hurley getting the odd game but it may just be filling in if Fletcher misses a couple. As people have mentioned already he should outscore Nathan Brown (COLL) due to his excellent footskills. But unlike Brown I can't see him being the stable bench player people are looking for.

I does seem difficult to find a spot for Hurley in the Bombers line-up. I agree not the stable bench player just yet.