Senior Player contract status list

Re: Uncontracted players at the end of 2011

According to an article in The Age, Jimmy's contract has been delayed because of the impasse between the AFLPA and the AFL about player payments and uncertainty about the salary cap:
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/vardy-gives-cats-vote-of-approval-20110818-1j054.html
the delay between the AFL and players' association in securing a new wage deal, in particular uncertainty over the salary cap, has meant Matthew Scarlett and Jimmy Bartel have yet to re-sign...

Which one would that be?

I still think that both Ling and Otto will play on. I also would not be surprised if Milburn declared his intentions to play on. All this could change, of course if Geelong won the premiership. It could then be considered a good way to go out.

Should the club think differently then they just may have to give one or more players a tap on the shoulder.

And Mooney is the only one who has confirmed retirement some time this year. But that was when he was in horrible form and had an injury. He's in superb form in the VFL atm, so fingers crossed Moondog can stay for one more :heart:

Moons is gone Churros. Definitely his final year.

Sad we can't give him a rousing send off from KP next week, but thats the way it goes.

A true warrior of the GFC.

I still think that both Ling and Otto will play on. I also would not be surprised if Milburn declared his intentions to play on. All this could change, of course if Geelong won the premiership. It could then be considered a good way to go out.

Should the club think differently then they just may have to give one or more players a tap on the shoulder.

Fair enough, personally I don't see it happening.

Reality is Milburn's about to turn 35, in a defence that is our oldest line as a group (only Taylor is a regular player under 25 and even he'll be 25 next year) unless they want to retire the whole defence at once he will go first which means now. Also noted the comments Dasher made earlier in the year and also recently about not going on for the sake of a milestone, and I reckon player and club will be happy to come to the agreement that this is it.

Ottens is problematic, ideally you'd want to keep him around to help transition Simpson/West/Vardy rather than have the three youngsters (although I note that the first two have mature bodies even if they aren't mature as players) but the sub rule makes it very very difficult, if not impossible to do that. You'd suspect the tap on the shoulder probably is coming, which is nothing against Otto who's had a great year, but having re-signed Vardy, and West and Simpson been here 10 years between them now, the club probably has to play them a lot next year which requires Otto to probably retire.

Ling's the only one who I think is a real chance of going on, and that's largely because he's the captain and his leadership is really valued around the group. Ideally you'd think the time is right for him to hand over to Joel though but we shall see.

Either way definitely a few retirements this year, just a question of which ones.

Gday all...

Over in the 'Who is the "big fish" that GWS have landed?' thread in the Scandals and Rumour forum a couple of posters have mentioned Stevie Johnson as a possible BIG fish signing for GWS....

Just wanted to reconfirm this post from fpm84.

I'm 99% certain that SJ signed a three year deal in mid-2009 (around the same time he got injured), which would take him through until the end of 2012.

Haven't heard any noise at all regarding GWS targeting SJ, so its a pretty unsubstantiated rumour... and if there were trying to lure him for 2012, other players like Goddard, Pendlebury would probably targeted over SJ. AND he'd be 30 going into that season...

Having said all that though, I personally wouldn't be opposed to it considering his age and hopeful compensation.

But probably nothing in it...

Doubt it. Wrong age for them. He'll be vets list eligible for 2013 so they'd have to offer him pretty nuts money for a 30 yo old too.

Wouldn't put it past Sheedy but would be quite surprised.

I hope West and Simpson get signed up soon.

Ive hear Richmond are sniffing around them in a big way...

We all seem to be pretty sure that West has a year to run on his contract, so if no worries there, we won't agree to trade him based on both his form and our lack of depth in young talls.

Simpson, no doubt Richmond would be sniffing, as would a few other clubs, does concern me. Hopefully he and Otto have had "the talk" and he'll sign a new contract soon. Definitely can't afford to lose him right now.

Fair enough, personally I don't see it happening.

I have serious doubts about it too now given that information.

Although I think that Wojac would have to get another contract. I think that he was on a one year deal. He still has great pace and the spring that he showed in that mark against the Pies on Friday indicates that his body is still in good nick.

Really could blame anyone for cashing in if they get the call ( especially if we get another flag) but I suspect most of our guys would be too old for them unless they are looking for a Captain type. Bartel would be worth top dollar to them but it looks like he has signed.

GWS look like they are lacking the Ablett type signing , and it would be better if the player comes from a good culture and process. So who knows they may end up dealing to get the right player even if they are under contract.

I think that they will have to look elsewhere if that is the case. And if it is true that Callum Ward will receive as much as Judd at GWS, then I hate to think what they will have to part with for a Ablett type signing. Are there any top quality players around 25/6 who are unsigned for GWS to pursue?

Really could blame anyone for cashing in if they get the call ( especially if we get another flag) but I suspect most of our guys would be too old for them unless they are looking for a Captain type. Bartel would be worth top dollar to them but it looks like he has signed.

It would be a sad day if that became the rule rather than the exception - to invert a saying.

It's not as if most players are living from hand to mouth these days. Most of those mentioned in dispatches are extremely well remunerated. And that is likely to get better when the terms of the new Collective Bargaining Agreement are settled.

I dips me lid to the likes of Bartel, Mitchell and Thomas who this week re-committed to their clubs despite being able to be substantially better off elsewhere.

Fortunately most players see there is more to footy life than having the largest bank account. May that continue in the AFL as I don't want us to go down the European soccer track where club loyalty is a tradeable commodity and the same clubs appear at the top of the table year after year. But that's just me!

Although I think that Wojac would have to get another contract. I think that he was on a one year deal. He still has great pace and the spring that he showed in that mark against the Pies on Friday indicates that his body is still in good nick.

Actually rabbi...he seems to be getting better!! His last two seasons have been very very good. \

And now better than ever, he is a lock in our best 22 IMO.

Like to see him in the hoops next year.

Agree on the first bit.

Ditto the second-to think we almost had to cut Wojo at the end of 09 because of the cap and he had to take a pay cut to stay on. Definitely looks like his body is in good shape and I'd say has one more year in him absolutely.

SJ....WTF?:eek:

Is this right?

http://www.geelongblog.com/wp/?page_id=3109

Wouldn't surprise me tbh, but would be very dissappointing......GWS could use his footy brain! :(

There is talk on another board that they reckon he is going to GWS.... Basically all it is tho is one person claiming they know someone who knows him stating that he is gone.. who knows

if we win a flag this year and he wants out for $, good riddance. Would be worth a great trade. I f we win a flag and he wants to stay, even better. If we bomb out badly in finals, and SJ was a poor contributor, interesting times.

Senior Player contract status list