Player Discussion Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter quirky

Anyone have any thoughts on Gavin Urquhart's game last night. I listened on MMM ands it seemed like he was getting a bit of exposure in the midfield. Role change after Harvey's injury?

stephen hill is having one hell of a game for freo 82 points with a bit of the 3rd qtr and all of 4th to go maybe he'll be one to benefit from palmer been out

im getting a mid for beams and ive got 403.7 k to spend which means i can get the likes of kornes, bruce, haYES, mitchell, power, murphy, simpson, bolten ect- question is who is the best im leaning towards kornes altho they are all good thoughts?

Out of all of those listed....Kornes wins.

if you want a player that is going to give you 90-100 pretty much every week get kornes. if you beleive someone can average above 100 from here on in choose them. presonally i picked up hayes last week ahead of kornes, dont know what got into me just a gut feeling we will see if it works out or not.

Bernie Vince anyone? 369K for a player that averages over 100 and often gets BIG tons is sensational value I reckon, probably better than you'll find anywhere else in the mids.

Pretty sure Cogs had in the 70s TOG again mate.

What are people's thoughts on Cogs? I know he is pricey but he is a proven player, has scored well in his first 2 games and could be a very handy 6th midfielder/cash cow.

Pretty sure Cogs had in the 70s TOG again mate.

What are people's thoughts on Cogs? I know he is pricey but he is a proven player, has scored well in his first 2 games and could be a very handy 6th midfielder/cash cow.

Thinking I might grab him this week for Rich.

My theory is he's about $100k more expensive than a rookie, but probably has $100k further upside over a typical rookie mid (say $325k to $350k as opposed to $225k to $250k). The other advantage is the higher scoring he should deliver, plus the job security compared to a rookie. He shouldnt be dropped unless injured.

Also, there is a chance he could return to boderline premium status and avg 90+ for the year. This would also save a trade you would have to make with a rookie.

The big downside is the question mark over his fitness. He has a horror record of injury. Saying that, most rookies will only play around half a season (give or take) as their bodies don't usually hold up for the 22 rounds.

I reckon all in all he is worth the punt. :rolleyes:

Thinking I might grab him this week for Rich.

My theory is he's about $100k more expensive than a rookie, but probably has $100k further upside over a typical rookie mid (say $325k to $350k as opposed to $225k to $250k). The other advantage is the higher scoring he should deliver, plus the job security compared to a rookie. He shouldnt be dropped unless injured.

Also, there is a chance he could return to boderline premium status and avg 90+ for the year. This would also saves a trade you would have to make with a rookie.

The big downside is the question mark over his fitness. He has a horror record of injury. Saying that, most rookies will only play around half a season (give or take) as their bodies don't usually hold up for the 22 rounds.

I reckon all in all he is worth the punt. :rolleyes:
i think he could achieve that. has scored well in his first 2 games back with only 70% tog. i think once he gets up around the 90% tog and gets used to the rigours of afl footy again he could well average 90. hes a similiar player to hayes and kirk. gets his 20-25 touches but also a heap of tackles. and he wont get tagged so thats a bonus. i think he will get 70 plus most weeks and is definetly capable of 100s. in his 2 full seasons he averaged 95(in 03) and 90 (in 05) so can definetly mix it with the premiums. i know theres some risks involved but huge reward if it pays off you could potentially buy a keeper for 180k:eek:

Buddy or J. Brown... which fallen premium has the better value do people think?

Brown on seasons form so far. You just don't know when Buddy is gonna explode though. Is a good chance for a big score this week against Essendon, especially with no Fletcher and Ryder playing in the ruck.

I'm tossing up between the two aswell.

With injuries hurting my side, I need to make some trades within my midfield

Thoughts on this midfield combo :

Bartel, Pendlebury, K Cornes, Judd, Boyd and M Murphy

i think he could achieve that. has scored well in his first 2 games back with only 70% tog. i think once he gets up around the 90% tog and gets used to the rigours of afl footy again he could well average 90. hes a similiar player to hayes and kirk. gets his 20-25 touches but also a heap of tackles. and he wont get tagged so thats a bonus. i think he will get 70 plus most weeks and is definetly capable of 100s. in his 2 full seasons he averaged 95(in 03) and 90 (in 05) so can definetly mix it with the premiums. i know theres some risks involved but huge reward if it pays off you could potentially buy a keeper for 180k:eek:

My sentiments exactly.
It would be a sideways trade (Beams) but as Captain Dreamer has said, he has the potential to be as good a Cow as a 86Ker.
And there is the hope of him being a keeper as you've said.

Regardless, it will save me from a donut this week and almost guarantee me a league win so I think I'll go for it.

Thanks guys :thumbsu:

My sentiments exactly.
It would be a sideways trade (Beams) but as Captain Dreamer has said, he has the potential to be as good a Cow as a 86Ker.
And there is the hope of him being a keeper as you've said.

Regardless, it will save me from a donut this week and almost guarantee me a league win so I think I'll go for it.

Thanks guys :thumbsu:
I love it when there is insightful, useful commentary on the boards. Seems a bit few and far between these days. Too much 'I'm trading out this guy who had an off week who should I get?' going on.

Perhaps we can start a new thread where only useful comments are allowed and anything else is deleted by the mods :D

I love it when there is insightful, useful commentary on the boards. Seems a bit few and far between these days. Too much 'I'm trading out this guy who had an off week who should I get?' going on.

Perhaps we can start a new thread where only useful comments are allowed and anything else is deleted by the mods :D
Exactly mate. Even start a "post what your thinking thread" then all the others can be used for what they are entitled and be more insightful.

Is buying Chapman for Richardson overkill considering I already had Steve Johnson, Jimmy Bartel and Gary Ablett? I don't plan on selling Ablett and would like to play all four at some stage.

This might not be the right thread for it, but what are the chances Cheney playing this week? I'll need him if Fisher's injured.