Player Nicknames

• Thread starter Thread starter stevie20

Re: Player Nicknames?

If you do a search, I think you might find a few threads on this board and on The cratching Post about nicknames.

There's one that has Brazilian names for the boys, it's quite funny!

I call Steven Johnson "boofhead"after a player called him that when he first came to Geelong.Seems like the name suits after what he has done.

Tom "The Chrome Motorbike" Harley
Josh "Not Rex" Hunt and the previous Sam "Not Josh" Hunt
Kane "Turbo" or "Turnover" Tenace

Just to name a few.

I like to call
andrew mackie
Mac Attack

usually after i say that out comes a few swear words too

Not gonna bother givin Prismall a nickname coz i dont wanna get to attached to him, coz i reckon if he dont break into the seniors for lots of games this year he'll be at another club next year, hes too good to be playin in the reserves.

I used to call brent moloney baloney ( not clever i know) even though i thought of him much higher than baloney. but then he went an i thought nope, never again :(

Your Geelong player nicknames

Everyone has their own nicknames for different players, and I thought we could start a thread and compile a list. I'll get you started with some of mine.

G Ablett Jr: Gazza, Little Gaz, Yablett, Brownlow, The Baby Jesus, G2, Sequel,

Bartel: Jimmy, Jimeh, Jimmy B, Elvis, The King, Charro, JB, James Bartels

Blake: The Big Blake, Inanimate Rod, Mr.Bean, Dopey, Baby Giraffe, Nimble, Bambi, 'Don't ****ing turn it over', Trust

Ottens: Bradley!, Unit, Mr September, Buttons, Otto, BO, The Big O, Billy Zane

Ling: The Pink Ling, The Ginger Ninja, He’s a ranga sir, The Paddlepop Lion, CLing Wrap, Ringa Ding Ding, The Mayor, Clang

S.Johnson: Stevie J, Johnno, Party Tricks, Magic Johnson, Dog, Copperfield

Chapman: Chappy, Nananananananana Chapman, Manchild, Chappion

T.Varcoe: The 5 jumper, Ninja, Brudda, The TV, Prime Time, Snacks, Donny, The Flying V

Enright: Coray, Boris

Wojcinski : Wojak, Monica, Bomba, Woj, Woja, Moose, Wodja, Wheels, The Heyfield Flyer

Selwood: The wood salesman, The Timber Merchant, The Boy Wonder, Superstar, Bunnings, Pup, Kid

Byrnes: Shazza, The Poison Dwarf, Vintage, Monty, Boo- Urns, Shagga, Shanningans, Shanka

Rooke: The Caveman, Manimal, The Unmade Bed, Rocknrolla, Maximus, Rook Star, Party Tricks, Jesus Rooke, Captain Caveman, The Bushranger, MAX, The 70s pr0n star, The Wolverine, The Bearded Bulldozer, Slapsy, Pigpen, Maxy pr0n Mo, Wolfman, Boreno,
Animal, Joy of Sex (JOS), The Rookie Monster, Rookie the Wookie

Mooney: Moondog, Moon unit, Moondogga, Big Bad Cam

Kelly: The Rolls Royce, Nedrick

Hawkins: Tomohawk, Manchild, Hawk, Tomcat, Hawkybear

Corey: Joe, Smithy, Forrest Gump

Taylor: HarI, Q9

Harley: HarlI, Harls, Chromey, The Hog

Hunt: Howitzer, C Bomb, Tripod

Stokes: Our little Aussie Hero, The little Aussie Battler, Stokesy

Scarlett: Scarlo, The General, Sideshow Bob, Scarls, Gunner's Boy, Scatter

D. Johnson: Johnson, Chappy Mak II, The Anchor Man

Mackie: Big Mac, The Mack Attack, Truck, Big Mac, Chest, Smackie

Milburn: Dasher, The Old Man

Tenace: Black Jack, Turbo, Kane not Able, Ten-Archie

Djerrkura: Djidi, Jitty, Dijimon

Gamble: Vegas

Lonergan: Rainbow, Domsey

Hogan: Hulk, No Tricks Hogan, McLovin

Simpson: Jumbo

A.Varcoe: Output

Re: Nicknames

Gary Ablett Jnr - Little Gaz

Shannon Byrnes - The Poison Dwarf (one of Ronny James Dio's
nicknames, IIRC. Shannon's short, and he CAN be damaging)

Cameron Ling - The Orange Blanket

Mark Blake - Inanimate Rod (does bugger-all around the ground, plus Rod references his more active dad)

Josh Hunt -Howitzer (kicks out past the 50 like a piece of field artillery)

Travis Varcoe - Ninja (he just bobs up out of nowhere sometimes)

Selwood - The Timber Merchant. But I blatantly flogged that from crosby.

Stokes - Our Little Aussie Hero/The Little Aussie Battler

Ling - The Ginger Ninja (also flogged, from winty IIRC)

Byrnes - Watching the qualifying final, there was that passage of play where Shannon scooped it up one handed on defensive fifty, turned his opponent inside out, and went streaking down the wing. As the cheering turned to increasingly desperate shouts of 'KICK IT! KICK IT!' two thoughts occurred to me in close succession:

a) he's going to **** this up

b) that would be vintage Shannon - does something good, gets ambitious and undoes all his own hard work

Sure enough he sells someone into trouble and we eventually get done for holding the ball. Shot off a message to my mate saying 'Just had a moment of vintage Shannon' and it became the phrase of the finals. When he was hopeless early in the GF instantly got a message - 'vintage'. He turns Raph Clarke inside out in the last and I replied that it was 'vintage Geelong.' So Shannon is now 'vintage'.

Ottens: UNIT!

Ling: "But he's a ranga Sir" (yes I yell the whole lot out)

Wojo: Monica

Rooke: Manimal

Mooney: Moonunit

Hawkins: Man Child

Can't think of many others

Harry Taylor - The Q9 (This is very important, and you should all take it on board)

Ottens - Mr September

Rooke - The Unmade Bed

rooke = RocknRolla, me and my mate call him this so often we expect other to know who we're talking about when he speak about him and his exploits.

scarlo = the general

other nicknames are pretty much the same as everyone elses