Players from other teams you can't help but love and hate

To me the poster boy for a hawthorn team that is awfully happy with themselves after winning a solitary final. Too much hype.
Is the natural reaction to winning a final supposed to be disappointment?

Winning a final as a young side, you would go into the next season thinking you could do at least one better - that is a reasonable approach, it isn't arrogance.

You can't blame the players for how much the media was hyping up the team.

There's a lot of players to like in this League. I have a soft spot for all the ex Collingwood boys, especially Ginniboy, who has a great footy brain. I like players who have a dip, like Langford from the Bombers or Powell-Pepper Pots.

Above all though the Bont. All that is good about footy in one bloke.

Hate? Well that's a strong word, but the alternate spelling is Silvagni. Scragging overdramatic sook. "Sorry dad" jfc.

I get annoyed at the usual suspects, Toby frogmouth Green and Tom bedwetting sook sniper Lynch. Guy like Sicily, May, Papley, I reckon they're more worthy of sympathy than scorn but you don't have to like them.

Like watching Bontempelli, Wanganeen Milera, Gawn and Hogan.

Don't hate, but Sicily must be a hard watch for Hawks fans when he seems to be constantly trying to push, barge and cuddle opposition players. Get on with the game.

Love any player who reminds me of Cyril: Kosi, Shai, Ryan, Rankine, Bobby Hill

Hate tends to be reserved for players involved in racism/homophobia. Tex, Finlayson, and that little dh from the Gold Coast.
This from a Hawthorn supporter. Maybe you should include your club?

Hypocrite.

Jeez, there is a lot of 'hate' here for Nick Watson.
The kid is just in his 2nd year of AFL football ffs.

If you hate him for the nickname, blame Cal Toomey. Watson didn't pick it himself.

If you hate him for drawing high tackles, then maybe just have a think about how often he gets to the ball first and draws the contact from men 30cm taller and 30kg heavier than he is. You might not like the Selwood action, but gee the kid is tough.
If you hate him for the goal celebrations, I get it, but players from every club celebrate goals. Get with the times.

For me, you've gotta love the blokes that lead from the front - Bont, Gawn, Cripps types.

Personally, I find it hard to 'hate' people I don't really know. But Balta is definitely up there.
Every team has players that will look to bend the rules to receive a free. Its that his first action is took look to draw a free every time that I think is what's especially grating.

Quite fancy:
-De Koning lads
-Pies Cameron
-Jack Higgins, what a bloke, no love, apart from from me and Ross!
-Rowel, grrrrr!
-Cal Ward, my mob.
-Weitering, rock solid.
-Mr Darcy.
-Flying Ryan.

Love - George Wardlaw, he’s bouncy, has great hair, and likes classical music.

Young John McEnroe was a maths prodigy and his parents used to wheel him out when they were hosting dinner parties to impress guests by calculating equations.

Similarly I can see young George being brought out by his parents to give piano recitals in a little dinner suit at home in front of visitors. It just seems likely to me.

Racism was mentioned.

And from what was investigated at Hawthorn with their Indigenous players, if you can’t see the hypocrisy here, then I can’t help you.
Oh, I see. Because of a racism investigation at Hawthorn, I should embrace Taylor Walker, because objecting to his racist behaviour would be hypocrisy. All makes sense I spose.

Love: Gawn, Dunkley, Berry, Doedee, Warner, Gulden, H.Young, J.Cameron. Plenty of others but they are the main ones.
Dislike: Cox, Stringer, Dangerfield

Just recently realised I don't really 'hate' any of em.

Probably the tipping point was Isaac Smith. How the heck did I ever dislike him?

Love
Bont (My overall fav) , Gawn, Rowell, S.Taylor, Darcy, Libba

Neale, Butters, Naicos, P.Cripps, Z.Merrett, Guilden, C.Daniel, Farrell, Humphries, Pickett, Dawson, Sicily, Trainor (early crow), Xerri, Zorko (Lol), J.Cameron, C.Cameron

****wits/Punchable
Curtis, De Goey, Hipwood, Stringer, Voss
Interesting call on Hipwood, what did he do?
I know he is a weird looking unit but seems to be a nice bloke by all reports? 😂

Players from other teams you can't help but love and hate