Players to be delisted???

• Thread starter Thread starter King Crow

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Players to be delisted???

Originally posted by napsyd

I doubt there would be too many Centrals, North, Eagles or West Adelaide legends who would want their sons playing for Port Adelaide either.

There is a few North fans that don't want these guys playing for Port either!Watching Josh Francou in PAP colours still gives me heartburn!!!!!
PAP did well scoring The Eagles and thus entitling them to both Torrens and Woodville father/sons.
How is it Port get six clubs and we get four?

As far as the trade goes.......

Marsh to Hawthorn(need a ruck)
Chick to Fremantle("need" Chick)
Some average Fremantle player to The Roos(who will then go on to be a superstar like the others)
And we get Carey!

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Players to be delisted???

Originally posted by Leaping Lindner

There is a few North fans that don't want these guys playing for Port either!Watching Josh Francou in PAP colours still gives me heartburn!!!!!
PAP did well scoring The Eagles and thus entitling them to both Torrens and Woodville father/sons.
How is it Port get six clubs and we get four?

As far as the trade goes.......

Marsh to Hawthorn(need a ruck)
Chick to Fremantle("need" Chick)
Some average Fremantle player to The Roos(who will then go on to be a superstar like the others)
And we get Carey!

Note to Crows fans, Ben Marsh is worth diddly squat and no other club would be interested in him, he should be the Crows first delisting.

Carey for Marsh, that's the funniest trade yet.

Originally posted by King Crow

Did Gallacher play well in the SANFL? must admit didnt pay that much attention to the Eagles this year.

gallagher plays for the legs not the eagles and hes been doing ok, i dont think hes been fantastic for norwood but hes doing pretty well at the moment

Originally posted by crazed_crow

gallagher plays for the legs not the eagles and hes been doing ok, i dont think hes been fantastic for norwood but hes doing pretty well at the moment

Ofcourse he plays for Norwood, stupid me was thiking bout that reject victorian David Gallacher who played for the Eagles :o

The Dogga v Gags debate is interesting. Personally I haven't made my mind up who is better. Dogga is harder at the ball in the Bickley mould & is a great kick for goal, particularly on the run. Gags has better aerobic capacity, probably better skills both right & left feet, but probably not quite as reliable for goal. I suppose the point is that we probably don't have room for both in the side (unless we have a few injuries) & could afford to trade one as part of the Carey trade. As has been mentioned we also have Reilly in the wings & there is big wraps on him. Don't forget Mattner too, who could also be worth trading, although I see him being groomed as a 2nd tagger behind Stinger (with Shirley delisted).

Has someone got the full Crows' list, including rookies that they can cut & paste into a message, so a proper analysis of each player can be done?

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Players to be delisted???

Originally posted by Zombie

Note to Crows fans, Ben Marsh is worth diddly squat and no other club would be interested in him, he should be the Crows first delisting.

Zombie, this is one of the few time I agree with you - we have buckleys of getting Carey for Marsh. I would happy to get anything for Marsh. Perhaps he could be traded with a draft pick for Caracella?

Originally posted by ****
Wayne Carey to Adelaide
Michael Doughty and 1st Round Draft Pick to Kangaroos

Would anyone have any objection to this (hypothetical) trade? Is it realistic?
I have said all along that if we are to trade players, it should be our 2nd tier midfielders that we have plenty of. However, I would try Dogga or Gags + 2nd round draft pick 1st. ;)

i think the two fighting for their spot in the side explains the "biff" they had earlier at training. i think gary will find it hard to have them both playing on the fiedl at the same time cos we already have heaps of midfielders, but it would be great to see them play along side each other, cos they r both gonna b superstars in the future

u gotta be joking! as the crows would even contemplate getting rid of gags or dogga, they r both fantastic

My point is that we can't fit them both in the side, so why not trade one. Consider our midfield - McLeod, Ricciuto, Goodwin, Johnson, Bickley, Stenglein, Edwards, Bode & Ladhams. This leaves not much game time for Doughty, Gallagher, Reilly & Mattner. With big wraps on Brent Reilly & Mattner being more of a defensive type, I believe the other 2 are tradeable. Harsh I know, but we are better off getting another ruckman or 2 & key defensive player.

yeah, thats a good point, but i dont wanna think about it because id hate for the crows to get rid of my fave player again...

first it was mods
then it was bretty james
and to think now it might be dogga

yeah, thats a good point, but i dont wanna think about it because id hate for the crows to get rid of my fave player again...

first it was mods
then it was bretty james
and to think now it might be dogga
Trading Mod & delisting James were both bad moves IMO. However, I would only trade Dogga or Gags if it was a win/win trade. If we do a pathetic deal like the Mods trade, we are better off keeping them.

this is totally off the subject, but many crows supporters dont realise that jamesy actually didnt get delisted. in his last year, he got so sick of gary putting on the bench for the whole game that when the season ended and they offered him another contract, he just rejected the offer. Pretty reasonable considering that theres no point being on the list if ur gonna be on the bench every week. But wouldnt he fit right into the side at the moment? doing a fantastic job at norwood!!

what exactly did we end up getting for mods? i have a shocking memory

Was it a 3rd & 4th round pick or a 4th & 5th round pick? I'm sure Sabre will remind us that it was peanuts.

binks hasnt been too great, but picking up stinga has proven to be good for the club

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Players to be delisted???

Essendon want Marsh....

Originally posted by ant
Picks 29 and 34? from memory....we picked up Stenglein and Beinke I think......

I couldn't remember who the second player was but we definately got Stenglein with one of the picks for Modra. As much as we all loved Modra, I don't think anyone would argue that Stenglein for his whole career is better than 2 years at the end of Modra's career.

That is one trade where we have definately won, although trading away a club champion is always controversial.

We won in the Shaun Rehn trade too. We got the number 12 pick from Hawthorn. Considering Rehn went on to play just 2 (only average) years with the Hawks. We used that number 12 pick to get Bode from Port. If we didn't trade Bode we would've picked up Kane Cornes with that pick according to John Reid two years ago, although Port used it to get Shaun Burgoyne.

Yeah, you're right, 29 (Stenglein) and 34 (Beinke) for Mods. I reckon we ended up in front there.

I reckon the Shaun Rehn trade will happen again with Carey. We wanted heaven and earth from Hawthorn for Rehny, but all we got was a first round pick (which we used well by trading for Bodey). I reckon all we'll end up giving North is our first round pick for King Carey.

Footy karma.

Getting Beinke/Stenglein and Biglands all with draft picks 29/32? and 34 was great recruiting from the Clubs.

Rhett Biglands will be an elite ruckman in the enxt 2 years, if he isnt one already.

Finally we have a ruckman who doesnt appear to be a deadset stiff around the ground - > Clarke and Rehn

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Players to be delisted???

Originally posted by sapaul

Essendon want Marsh....

No they don't, get your facts straight. Marsh asked the Crows if he could sound out Essendon, the Crows basically said, "Yeah Go for it, we don't want you".

At No stage has Essendon ever expressed any interest in B.Marsh. He will not be playing AFL next year.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Players to be delisted???

No they don't, get your facts straight. Marsh asked the Crows if he could sound out Essendon, the Crows basically said, "Yeah Go for it, we don't want you".

At No stage has Essendon ever expressed any interest in B.Marsh. He will not be playing AFL next year.
Stranger thing have happened. Consider we traded D Gallagher. Hmmm, Carlton need a ruckman with Allan walking out...;)

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Players to be delisted???

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Stranger thing have happened. Consider we traded D Gallagher. Hmmm, Carlton need a ruckman with Allan walking out...;)

I think Carlton would be the ones laughing in that trade, heard of B.Nelson?

Marsh will not play AFL again.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Players to be delisted???

I think Carlton would be the ones laughing in that trade, heard of B.Nelson?

Marsh will not play AFL again.

Yes, Ben Nelson is clearly better than David Gallagher. And by the way, why would Marsh specifically say "Essendon"?

Obviously some linking between player & club.