Plead Guilty. Found Not Guilty?

golions

Jul 10, 2000
Brisbane Lions
I dont know much about how the AFL tribunal works but about two weeks ago I heard that David King (of the KangaPoos) pleaded guilty to striking Chris Heffernen(I think) and he was found not guilty by the tribunal because of a lack of video evidence.

How does that work? I thought if you plead guilty you wouldn't need any more evidence than that because it is coming from the person who has committed the offence?

Could someone please explain this to me?

David King pleaded "not guilty" for the striking charge. The tribunial couldn't take the case due to a lack of evidence and thus gave the player the benefit of the doubt. Close followers of the tribunial will know that North and Essendon players have a habit of finding unique, yet plausible reasons why their own teammates and not the opposition players caused their cuts and bruises. Unlike those whingers from Brisbane who not only blame all and sundry, but will dob in an opposition player. Not only that, they're too gutless to do their own dirty work, and so, get the Queensland media to do it for them.

Anyway, players can plead guilty to wrestling charges and come out of it with a fine, as Byron Pickett did the other night.

ALL RIGHT, ALL RIGHT

I heard that David King pleaded GUILTY on the NEWS. So I was wondering how he could be found not guilty

Now i Know that he pleaded NOT GUILTY. So because of a lack of video evidence he was found NOT GUILTY.

FAIR ENOUGH

(Do you want me to apologize?)

SORRY. IT WAS MY FAULT FOR BEING IGNORANT (happy?)

Settle down

geeze...

Brissy, crying when it doesn't even effect them.

eek.gif
rolleyes.gif
tongue.gif
biggrin.gif
eek.gif
rolleyes.gif
tongue.gif

WHAT'S NEW

[This message has been edited by Rooboy 96 (edited 23 August 2000).]

Rooboy, not only are they crying, but Go Lions spat the dummy too. A bit like Heuskus the other week and Leigh Matthews on the weekend and not forgetting all those assistant coaches leaving like rats* off a sinking ship. Must be the weather. Or the water. Or could it be that their footy team isn't as good as they think it is....nah...couldn't be. Could it?

*Obviously the term "rat" does not apply to Matthew Armstrong who is an ex-Roo and all.

p.s. Where is GoLions? Or have you disappeared like your midfield did on the weekend against Carlton (or in any other high pressure match for that matter)?

[This message has been edited by Shinboners (edited 23 August 2000).]

oooo how i lurrrrrrrve north fans.. make an honest mistake and they pounce liKe shannon grant onto brent harveys lap on a cold night in *snicker*

yes.. leigh blew up.. coz leighs a knobend..

heuskes got out coz leigh treated him like a sack of shit.. it's well known leigh never really cared for adam n said some rather nasty stuff to him

i dunno what exactly it is but there's a definite friction between nth and bris.. maybe it's liKe a pair of eagles fighting over a carcass for dinner... and nth are bitter coz bris came out the winner
tongue.gif

just pay the guy an honest mistake n get over it ladies *awaits the comebacks*.. oh btw on another posting u asKed rooboy.. tis spelt Akermanis
smile.gif

OH yes, and we love Brisbane fans too. Some of us may hate you over Fitzroy, but we know that plenty of you hate us because we ruined your premiership dreams of '96 and '99. Normally we wouldn't really care except you guys still haven't stopped whining about those games and this year's one. I mean, out of all the close games that North have been in this year, the Lions fans were the worst....whinge about this, whinge about that, a conspiracy about this, a conspiracy about that...fer-christs-sake, you wearn't good enough, you lost, get over it....the Melbourne fans were pretty managimous about defeat and their team outplayed us for all but 10 minutes of that game.

Anyway, time for you guys to change bandwagon from the Lions to your cricket team.

I think there is a better place to be discussing this. I will bring it back to life.

Crybabies is back.

> plenty of you hate us because we ruined your premiership dreams of '96 and '99.

Damn straight.. if we didn't get upset that we were knocked out what kinda supporters would we be.. at the same time i acknowledge we obviously didn't play well enough to get there.. I ain't whinging about it but I'm hardly gonna like the fact we've been knocked out a few times by em

> Normally we wouldn't really care except you guys still haven't stopped whining about those games and this year's one. I mean, out of all the close games that North have been in this year, the Lions fans were the worst

The 99 game was a heartbreaker but not everyone that supports the lions "whinges" about it... we talk about it sure especially with the 99 match coz we were cut down when we were apparently travelling like a bull out of a gate... this years match I remember the umpiring was the most pathetic I've ever seen clearly helped nth... i still think we deserved to lose after our pathetic 2nd qtr.. doesn't alter the fact the umps were useless.. I'm not using the umps as an excuse for our loss.. we lost coz we played useless footy for half the match.. but the umpiring was a point up here because alot of people felt hard done by.

As for the crybabies thing.. pffffft whatever.. just because we don't have the long history or in your eyes the same kind of passionate, traditional supporter base do we not have a right to question the way things happen in the afl ??

oh and let me guess... I'm whinging because I support Brisbane and I have a legitimate question... god forbid i try to argue a point in a logical manner.. Sure I don't liKe north the team.. they are a team that thrives on beating us at every opportunity.. plenty of clubs go through patches like that and it keeps interest in the game... but why the need for the unhealthy spiteful attitude towards brisbane supporters.. as hard as it may be for you to fathom longjohn there are decent people and dipsticks in every grouping in life.. blind dislike is the primary characteristic of ignorance..

please reply with the "you're one of those dipsticks" or the "listen to brisbane boy have a whinge" comments... you'll only serve to prove what you did when you started your silly little crybabies topic

Dear Napalm,

I might be missing something here, but how does writing something like "pounce like Shannon Grant onto Brent Harvey's lap" arguing a point in a logical manner?

From what I've read on this board, the Essendon fans have been happy to dish it out on North. But while most of them post about how much they hate our players, at the least, they give credit where credit is due and at least recognise that Carey and his mates do know how to play the game. The only other mob that seems to hate us as much as Essendon is Briswhine (nice of your fans to invade the North forum after we beat you this year too), but I can't remember the last time any Briswhine fan paid us any credit at all. So, you should expect that for as long as the Briswhine fans have a go at our club (and hell, some of the things you've said about us have been pretty spiteful too), we're going to have go back.

Best regards
Shinboners

Yes indeed Shinboners, even though we have our little slanging matches, eh Rooboy, and I get pissed off with Roo guys mouthing off to my old mate Bazza Young, I still have the utmost respect for the Roos.

Unlike the Briswhiners and the West Coast w***ers, who squeal like stuck pigs at the tribunal and to the madia, the Roos know to act dumb at the tribunal. It's the Australian way, don't lag!

Cheers.

Golions & all you roo fans

I heard the same item. It was on Sports Tonight and they did say he had pleaded guilty. I remember because I said to the missus at the time, "Typical Sydney story. No idea of the facts".

Now why do you Roo fans stoop to the level of the Bomber fans when it was obvious that either the story was wrong or golions was mistaken?

Simple error either way. Didn't deserve the shellacking you lot are dishing out.

> I might be missing something here, but how does writing something like "pounce like Shannon Grant onto Brent Harvey's lap" arguing a point in a logical manner?

everyone's entitled to one cheapshot.. as you'll notice in the players we dislike thread.. these 2 i don't care for.. i hardly think that you could take that comment seriously..

>at the least, they give credit where credit is due and at least recognise that Carey and his mates do know how to play the game.

I don't seem to remember insinuating the roos couldn't play football.. this is your general opinion of the way brissy fans think of the roos... sure some are like that.. on a personal level, it is quite evident i dislike the roos.. but I never said they couldn't play quality football... 7 prelims in a row.. anyone that suggests they can't has issues and I have never suggested such a thing... if u note in my previous posting it says brisbane didn't deserve to win... hence north were the better team on the day.. this would suggest to me that the credit due them was given for outplaying us.

>but I can't remember the last time any Briswhine fan paid us any credit at all.

bout 10 seconds ago now

>(and hell, some of the things you've said about us have been pretty spiteful too)

I don't deny that... As I have said I dislike the roos.. but I haven't said anything about their fans and the issue here is not the team it's the follower your hassling for asking what in his mind is a legit question

>So, you should expect that for as long as the Briswhine fans have a go at our club we're going to have go back.

It wasn't anyone havin a go at your club.. it was a lions fan askin a question as he was confused... I'm sure he ain't the first guy on the planet to be confused by somethin in the media and all you guys have to do is tell him what the case really is n move on.. The confrontational attitude towards him is the only thing that compelled me to post here in the first place... the guy wasn't whinging in the slightest.. just look at things objectively before being confrontational.
smile.gif

Thanks Servo for sticking up for me.

I knew I heard right.

Can someone please find out for certain whether he pleaded guilty or not guilty?

The nwe'll know once and for all...

There has been enough fireworks here over the past few weeks to suggest that most people would not be out of place on the St Kilda or Richmond boards.

Just put one of Michael Gudinski's Mushroom record artists on and relax.

Go sainters!

Plead Guilty. Found Not Guilty?